DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is made in response to applicant’s amendment submitted on 01/12/2026. Claim 1 has been cancelled. Claims 2-21 have been newly added. Claims 2-21 are currently pending in the application.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 2-3 and 7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 13-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,217,706. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the broader claim limitation of claim 1 of the current application is met by the narrower claim limitation of claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,217,706 as shown in the following tables and the discussion thereafter.
Current Application
U.S. Patent No. 12,217,706
Claim 2, (New) a display apparatus comprising:
a substrate comprising a display area and a peripheral area adjacent to the display area;
a first data line disposed in the display area, the first data line extending in a first direction;
a first input line disposed in the peripheral area, the first input line extending from the peripheral area towards the display area; and
a first connecting wire electrically connected to the first input line in the peripheral area, the first connecting line transferring a first input signal from the first input line to the first data line,
wherein
the first connecting wire comprises:
a first connecting line disposed in the display area and extending in the first direction; and
a second connecting line electrically connected to the first connecting line through a contact hole and extending in a second direction intersecting the first direction,
a first dummy line extending in the first direction from the first connecting line, the first dummy line being disconnected from the first connecting line; and
a second dummy line extending in the second direction from the second connecting line, the second dummy line being disconnected from the second connecting line.
13. A display apparatus comprising:
a substrate comprising a display area and a peripheral area outside the display area;
a switching thin film transistor disposed in the display area and including a semiconductor layer and a gate electrode;
a first data line disposed in the display area and extending in a first direction, the first data line electrically connected to the switching thin film transistor;
a first insulating layer between the switching thin film transistor and the first data line;
a second insulating layer between the first insulating layer and the first data line;
a first input line disposed in the peripheral area; and
a first connecting wire electrically connecting the first input line to the first data line,
wherein
the first connecting wire has a substantially bent shape in the display area and comprises:
a first connecting line disposed in the display area and extending in the first
direction; and
a second connecting line disposed in the display area and extending in a second
direction intersecting the first direction, the second connecting line being electrically
connected to the first connecting line, wherein one of the first and second connecting lines is between the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer, and the second
insulating layer is between the first connecting line and the second connecting line,
a first dummy line extending in the first direction in the display area, wherein the first
dummy line and the first connecting line of the first connecting wire are arranged along a same line with a first gap therebetween; and
a second dummy line extending in the second direction, wherein the second dummy line and the second connecting line of the first connecting wire are arranged along a same line with a second gap therebetween.
15. The display apparatus of claim 13, wherein a first portion of the second connecting line of the first connecting wire is electrically connected to the first
connecting line via a first contact hole defined in the second insulating layer between the first connecting line and the second connecting line.
Claim 3 of the present application corresponds to claims 14 of US Patent No. 12,217,706.
Claim 7 of the present application corresponds to claims 15 of US Patent No. 12,217,706.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-7, 13-14, 17 and 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murade et al. (US. Pub. No. 2007/0045626, hereinafter “Murade”) in view of Shin et al. (US. Pub. No. 2012/0127414, hereinafter “Shin”), further in view of Hashimoto et al. (US. Pub. No. 2005/0128416, hereinafter “Hashimoto”).
As to claim 2, (New) Murade discloses a display apparatus [figure 1, display device] comprising:
a substrate [figure 1, array substrate 10] comprising a display area [figure 1, image display region 10a] and a peripheral area [figure 1, peripheral area surrounding 10a] adjacent to the display area;
a first data line [figures 3 and 7, first data line 6a in the display area, extending in the first direction] disposed in the display area, the first data line extending in a first direction;
a first input line [figure 7, first input line 91 disposed in the peripheral area extending from the peripheral area towards the display area] disposed in the peripheral area, the first input line extending from the peripheral area towards the display area; and
a first connecting wire [figure 7, first connecting wire 116 electrically connected to first input line in the peripheral area] electrically connected to the first input line in the peripheral area, the first connecting line transferring a first input signal from the first input line to the first data line [figure 7, first connecting line transfers first input signal VID from first input line to first data line],
wherein
the first connecting wire comprises:
a first connecting line [figure 7, first connecting line 116 extending in the first (vertical) direction] disposed in the display area and extending in the first direction; and
a second connecting line [figure 7, second connecting line 116 extending in the second direction (horizontal) direction electrically connected to the vertical portion] electrically connected to the first connecting line and extending in a second direction intersecting the first direction.
Murade does not disclose a second connecting line electrically connected to the first connecting line through a contact hole;
a first dummy line extending in the first direction from the first connecting line, the first dummy line being disconnected from the first connecting line; and
a second dummy line extending in the second direction from the second connecting line, the second dummy line being disconnected from the second connecting line.
Shin teaches a display apparatus [abstract, a liquid crystal display device] wherein a second connecting line electrically connected to a first connecting line through a contact hole [figure 3b, a first connecting line 235 and a second connecting line 550 are electrically connected to each other via a first contact hole ch2, paragraphs 64-65].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the display apparatus of Murade to have the first connecting line and the second connecting line electrically connected to each other via a first contact hole in an insulating layer between the first connecting line and the second connecting line, as taught by Shin, in order to reduce the overall thickness of the display device, simplify the manufacturing process steps and reduce the manufacturing cost (Shin, paragraph 16).
Murade, as modified by Shin, does not disclose a first dummy line extending in the first direction from the first connecting line, the first dummy line being disconnected from the first connecting line; and
a second dummy line extending in the second direction from the second connecting line, the second dummy line being disconnected from the second connecting line.
Hashimoto teaches a display apparatus comprising a first dummy line extending in the first direction from a first connecting line [figure 7, first dummy line 109 extending in the vertical direction from a first connecting line 108], the first dummy line being disconnected from the first connecting line [figure 7, first dummy line 109 and first connecting line 108 are arranged along a same line with a first gap therebetween (disconnected from each other)]; and
a second dummy line [figure 7, second dummy line 109 extending in the tilted direction] extending in the second direction from a second connecting line, the second dummy line being disconnected from the second connecting line [figure 7, second dummy line 109 and second connecting line 108 are arranged along a same line with a second gap therebetween (disconnected from each other)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the display apparatus of Murade to comprise a first dummy line extending in the first direction from the first connecting line, the first dummy line being disconnected from the first connecting line; and a second dummy line extending in the second direction from the second connecting line, the second dummy line being disconnected from the second connecting line, as taught by Hashimoto, in order to function as common lines provided in the peripheral region (Hashimoto, paragraph 21).
As to claim 3, (New) Murade, as modified by Shin and Hashimoto, discloses the display apparatus of claim 2, except for wherein the first connecting line and the first dummy line have a same layered structure and the first connecting line and the first dummy line have a same layered structure. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the first connecting line and the first dummy line have a same layered structure and the first connecting line and the first dummy line have a same layered structure, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an- invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
As to claim 4, (New) Murade, as modified by Shin and Hashimoto, discloses the display apparatus of claim 2, except for wherein the contact hole is located at an end portion of the first connection line and an end portion of the second connection line. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the contact hole located at an end portion of the first connection line and an end portion of the second connection line, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an- invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
As to claim 5, (New) Murade, as modified by Shin and Hashimoto, discloses the display apparatus of claim 2, except for wherein the second connecting line and the second dummy line have a same layered structure. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the second connecting line and the second dummy line have a same layered structure, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an- invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
As to claim 6, (New) Murade, as modified by Shin and Hashimoto, discloses the display apparatus of claim 2, wherein the first connecting wire is not electrically connected to the first dummy line and the second dummy line [Hashimoto, figure 7, first dummy line and second dummy line 109 and first connecting line 108 are arranged along a same line with gaps therebetween (disconnected from each other)]. In addition, the same rationale is used as in rejection for claim 2.
As to claim 7, (New) Murade, as modified by Shin and Hashimoto, discloses the display apparatus of claim 2, further comprising an insulating layer is interposed between the first connection line and the second connection line, and the contact hole penetrates the insulating layer such that the first connection line and the second connection line are electrically connected to each other [Shin, figure 3b, an insulating layer 240 is interposed between first connection line 550 and second connection line 215, the contact hole ch2 penetrates the insulating layer to electrically connect the first connection line and the second connection line]. In addition, the same rationale is used as in rejection for claim 2.
As to claim 13, (New) Murade, as modified by Shin and Hashimoto, discloses the display apparatus of claim 2,
wherein the first connecting line and the second connecting line are disposed on
different layers [Shin, figure 3b, first connection line 550 and second connection line 215 are disposed on different layers]. In addition, the same rationale is used as in rejection for claim 2.
As to claim 14, (New) Murade, as modified by Shin and Hashimoto, discloses the display apparatus of claim 2, further comprising a data pad portion disposed in the peripheral area [Murade, figure 7, data pad portionVID1-VID6, ENB1-ENB4 in the peripheral area], wherein
an end of the first input line is electrically connected to the data pad portion [Murade, figure 7, an end of first input line 91 is electrically connected to data pad portion], and
another end of the first input line is electrically connected to the first connecting line [Murade, figure 7, another end of 91 is electrically connected to the first connecting line].
As to claim 17, (New) Murade, as modified by Shin and Hashimoto, discloses the display apparatus of claim 2, wherein the second connecting line is electrically connected to the first data line in the display area [Murade, figure 7, second connecting line 116 extending in the second direction (horizontal) direction electrically connected to the vertical portion is electrically connected to first data line 6a].
As to claim 20, (New) Murade, as modified by Shin and Hashimoto, discloses the display apparatus of claim 2, except for wherein the first data line and the first connecting line of the first connecting wire are disposed on a same layer. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the first data line and the first connecting line of the first connecting wire disposed on a same layer, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an- invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
As to claim 21, (New) Murade, as modified by Shin and Hashimoto, discloses the display apparatus of claim 2, except for wherein the first connecting line is disposed above the second connecting line. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the first connecting line disposed above the second connecting line, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an- invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-12, 15-16 and 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: None of the prior art, made of record, singularly or in combination, teaches or fairly suggests the features presented in the combination limitations of dependent claims 8-9, 12, 15 and 16, such as “comprising a third dummy line disposed in parallel with at least a portion of the first dummy line, wherein the third dummy line extends over the second connecting line and is not in contact with the second connecting line, and the insulating layer is disposed between the third dummy line and the second connecting line”, recited by claim 8; “comprising a third dummy line disposed in parallel with at least a portion of the first dummy line, wherein the insulating layer includes a dummy groove or dummy hole located at a portion where the third dummy line and the second connecting line overlap each other”, recited by claim 9; “comprising a fourth dummy line disposed in parallel with at least a portion of the second dummy line, wherein the fourth dummy line extends below the first connecting line and is not in contact with the first connecting line, and an insulating layer is disposed between the fourth dummy line and the first connecting
line”, recited by claim 12; “comprising a second data line disposed in the display area between the first connecting line and the first data line, the second data line being separated from the first data line and extending in the first direction, wherein the second connecting line extends below the second data line and is not electrically connected to the second data line”, recited by claim 15; and “the first connecting wire comprises a third connecting line disposed in the display area,
the third connecting line extending in the first direction, and the third connecting line is electrically connected to the first data line in the peripheral area”, recited by claim 16.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NAN-YING YANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2629