DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
An Amendment filed on 07/08/2026, responding to the Office Action mailed on 05/04/2026, has
been acknowledged and entered into the record. The present Final Rejection is made with all the
suggested amendments being fully considered. The amended claims of the present continuation application is now distinct from those of the parent application. There the double patenting rejection is withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
On pages 6-9 of the remarks filed on 07/08/2026, with respect to rejection of amended Claim 1-8, Applicant argues that Kim fails to teaches each and every claim limitation recited in Claims 1-8 and summarized as point (a)-(l) in the remarks. These arguments are fully considered but are not persuasive. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show non-obviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). As such, while Kim alone does not, the combination of Kim/Yang/Tsubaki teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1-4 as outlined in the rejection below. Therefore, the previous rejection of Claims 1-4 is maintained and a new rejection is made for the newly added Claims 5-8 in view of the previously cited references and newly found reference of Huang et al.
On page 10 of the remarks filed on 07/08/2026, with respect to rejection of amended Claim 1, Applicant argues that the combined structure of Kim with the double lithography patterning technique of Yang and the use of actinic rays or radiation as taught by Tsubaki fails to teach using two mask having complementary geometric patterns, the first exposed portions are removed during the first lithographing process while the second unexposed portions are removed during the second lithographing process, as claimed in the present application. These arguments are fully considered but are not persuasive. As outlined in the rejection below, Yang teaches using two masks 420, 460 having complementary geometric patterns because the line/space ratio of first mask 420 is 3 and that of the second mask 460 is 1/3 (see Fig. 5A and rejection below). Further note that while Fig 5A of Yang shows only the masks and the mask patterns and does not explicitly show the steps of the first exposed portions removed during the first lithographing process and the second unexposed portions removed during the second lithographing process, Fig. 3A-3C explicitly shows two lithography steps indicated as 1st exposure and 2nd exposure using two masks 100 and 120. Based on these figures, the first exposed portions and the second exposed portions can be mapped onto the intermediate and target pattern shown annotated Fig. 5A below. Therefore, the rejection of Claim 1 and all pertinent claims dependent on Claim 1 is maintained.
On page 10 of the remarks filed on 07/08/2026, with respect to rejection of Claim 6, Applicant argues neither Kim, Yang, nor Tsubaki discloses three consequent etching process to form the trenches. These arguments are fully considered but are not persuasive. Kim et al. does teach the above limitations as outlined in the rejection below (see rejection of Claim 6).
On pages 10-11 of the remarks filed on 07/08/2026, with respect to rejection of Claim 8, Applicant argues neither Kim, Yang, nor Tsubaki discloses how to uniformly apply the photosensitive layer on the ARC layer by a spin-coating process and a soft baking process is performed on the photosensitive layer to remove a solvent remaining with the photosensitive layer. These arguments are fully considered but are not persuasive. The combination of Kim et al. and Yang does teach the above limitations as outlined in the rejection below (see rejection of Claim 8).
On page 11 of the remarks filed on 07/08/2026, Applicant argues that the mere fact that a reference could be modified to produce the patented invention would not make the modification obvious unless it is suggested by the prior art. These arguments are fully considered but are not persuasive. The examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, the motivation to combine is found in the secondary references and are clearly described below in the rejection of each and every claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Rejection Note: Italicized claim limitations indicate limitations that are not explicitly disclosed in the primary reference, but disclosed in the secondary references.
Claims 1-4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20060024945 A1), in view of Yang (US 9097975 B2) and Tsubaki et al. (US 20080187860 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Kim et al. teaches a method of processing a substrate comprising:
forming a sacrificial layer 103A on the substrate 100 (Fig. 12B: 100, 103A, paragraph 0092);
forming an antireflective coating (ARC) layer 104A on the sacrificial layer 103A, wherein the ARC layer 104A is contact with a top surface of the sacrificial layer 103A (Fig. 12A: 104A, 103A, paragraph 0095);
forming a photosensitive layer 105A on the ARC layer 104A, wherein the photosensitive layer 105A is in contact with a top surface of the ARC layer 104A (Fig. 12A: 105A, 104A, paragraph 0096, 0097);
placing a first mask over the photosensitive layer, wherein the first mask has a plurality of first transparent portions and a plurality of first opaque portions;
performing a first lithographing process to remove portions of the photosensitive layer exposed to actinic radiation and form an intermediate pattern on the sacrificial layer 103A (Fig. 12A: 0096, 0097), comprising:
blocking the actinic radiation by the first opaque portions of the first mask to form a plurality of first exposed portions of the photosensitive layer;
allowing the actinic radiation through the first transparent portions to pass through and irradiate the photosensitive layer to form a plurality of first unexposed portions of the photosensitive layer;
and removing the first exposed portions of the photosensitive layer to form the intermediate pattern on the sacrificial layer;
placing a second mask over the intermediate pattern, wherein the second mask has a plurality of second transparent portions and a plurality of second opaque portions,
wherein the second opaque portions are arranged above the first unexposed portions, wherein edges of the second opaque portions are offset from edges of the first unexposed portions;
performing a second lithographing process to remove portions of the intermediate pattern shielded from the actinic radiation and form a target pattern on the sacrificial layer, comprising:
blocking the actinic radiation by the second opaque portions of the second mask 460 to form a plurality second unexposed portions of the intermediate pattern;
allowing the actinic radiation through the second transparent portions to pass through and irradiate the intermediate pattern to form a plurality of second exposed portions;
and removing the second unexposed portions of the intermediate pattern to form the target pattern on the sacrificial layer;
and etching through the target pattern 105A and the ARC layer 104A to form openings in the sacrificial layer 103A and in the ARC layer 104A (Fig. 12A: 105A, 104A, 103A, Fig. 12B, paragraph 0097, 0097).
Yang et al. teaches a method of processing a substrate comprising the following limitations not disclosed in Kim et al.:
placing a first mask 420 over the photosensitive layer, wherein the first mask 420 has a plurality of first transparent portions (no-fill regions of first mask 420) and a plurality of first opaque portions (pattern-filled regions of first mask 420) (see Fig. 5A: 420, column 10, lines 11-30);
performing a first lithographing process to remove portions of the photosensitive layer exposed to actinic radiation 410 and form an intermediate pattern 440 on the sacrificial layer (Fig. 5A: 440, 410, column 10, lines 11-40), comprising:
blocking the actinic radiation 410 by the first opaque portions (pattern-filled regions of first mask 420) of the first mask 420 to form a plurality of first exposed portions (no-fill regions of intermediate pattern 440) of the photosensitive layer 210 (Fig. 3C: 210, column 9, pages 1-14, Fig. 5A: 440, 410, column 10, lines 11-40);
allowing the actinic radiation 410 through the first transparent portions (no-fill regions of first mask 420) to pass through and irradiate the photosensitive layer to form a plurality of first unexposed portions (pattern-filled regions of intermediate pattern 440) of the photosensitive layer (Fig. 5A: 440, 420, 410, column 10, lines 11-40);
and removing the first exposed portions of the photosensitive layer 210 to form the intermediate pattern on the sacrificial layer 190 (Fig. 3C: 210, 190, column 9, pages 1-14);
placing a second mask 460 over the intermediate pattern 440, wherein the second mask 460 has a plurality of second transparent portions (no-fill regions of second mask 460) and a plurality of second opaque portions (pattern-filled regions of second mask 460) (Fig. 5A: 440, 460, column 10, lines 11-40),
wherein the second opaque portions (pattern-filled regions of second mask 460) are arranged above the first unexposed portions (pattern-filled regions of intermediate pattern 440), wherein edges of the second opaque portions (pattern-filled regions of second mask 460) are offset from edges of the first unexposed portions (pattern-filled regions of intermediate pattern 440) (see Fig. 5A: 440, 460, column 10, lines 11-40);
performing a second lithographing process to remove portions of the intermediate pattern 440 shielded from the actinic radiation and form a target pattern 510 on the sacrificial layer (see annotated Fig. 5A: 440, 510, column 10, lines 11 – 40), comprising:
blocking the actinic radiation 450 by the second opaque portions (pattern-filled regions of second mask 460) of the second mask 460 to form a plurality second unexposed portions of the intermediate pattern (see annotated Fig 5A: 450, 460, column 10, lines 11-40);
allowing the actinic radiation 450 through the second transparent portions (no-fill regions of second mask 460) to pass through and irradiate the intermediate pattern 440 to form a plurality of second exposed portions (see annotated Fig 5A: 440, 450, 460, second exposed portions, column 10, lines 11-40);
and removing the second unexposed portions 530 of the intermediate pattern to form the target pattern 510 on the sacrificial layer (see annotated Fig 5A: 530, 510, column 10, lines 11-40);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Kim et al.’s teachings with Yang’s teachings in order to come up with the claimed invention. Doing so, would enable semiconductor devices with high resolution pitch as recognized by Yang (Column 3, Lines 14 – 16).
While the combination of Yang and Kim et al. teaches substantial elements of Claim 1 as mentioned above, the combination fails to explicitly teach:
the radiation is actinic radiation
Tsubaki et al. discloses a method of processing a substrate that uses actinic radiation for the exposure of the photosensitive layer employed for multiple development processes in which solubility in a positive developer increases and solubility in a negative developer decreases upon irradiation with actinic radiation (Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the exposure radiation of Kim et al./Yang to actinic radiation in order to perform multiple development processes with a single photoresist layer as recognized by Tsubaki et al. (Abstract).
Regarding Claim 2, Yang et al. teaches the method of claim 1,
wherein the first and second masks 420, 460 have complementary geometric patterns (see Fig. 5A: 420, 460, 440, column 10, lines 11 – 40),
wherein a length S of each of the first transparent portions (no-fill regions of first mask 420) is equal to a length S of each of the second opaque portions (pattern-filled regions of second mask 460) (see Fig. 5A, column 10, lines 11 – 40);
wherein a length 3S of each of the first opaque portions (pattern-filled regions of first mask 420) is equal to a length 3S of each of the second transparent portions (no-fill regions of second mask 460) (see Fig. 5A , column 10, lines 11 – 40).
Regarding Claim 3, Yang teaches the method of Claim 2, wherein the length S of each of the first transparent portions (no-fill regions of first mask 420) is less than the length L=3S of each of the first opaque portions (pattern-filled regions of first mask 420); wherein the length S=3L of each of the second transparent portions (no-fill regions of second mask 460) is greater than the length L of each of the second opaque portions (pattern-filled regions of second mask 460) (see Fig. 5A , column 10, lines 11 – 40).
Note than L=3S according to annotated Fig. 5A and column 10, lines 27-28.
Regarding Claim 4, Yang teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the intermediate pattern 440 is formed using a positive-tone development, and the target pattern 510 is formed using a negative-tone development (Fig. 5A: 440, 510, column 10, lines 11 – 40).
Regarding Claim 8, Kim et al. teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the photosensitive layer 105A is uniformly applied on the ARC layer 104Aby a spin-coating process (paragraph 0096), but fails to teach wherein a soft baking process is performed on the photosensitive layer to remove a solvent remaining with the photosensitive layer.
However, Yang teaches wherein a soft baking process is performed on the photosensitive layer to remove a solvent remaining with the photosensitive layer (column 1, lines 50-65).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Kim et al.’s teachings with Yang’s teachings in order to include a soft baking process performed on the photosensitive layer to remove a solvent remaining with the photosensitive layer. Doing so would accelerate the rate of removal of any remaining solvents in the photosensitive layer, as recognized by Yang (column 1, lines 60-63).
Annotated Fig 5A of Yang (US 9097975 B2)
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20060024945 A1), in view of Yang (US 9097975 B2) and Tsubaki et al. (US 20080187860 A1), as applied to Claim 1, further in view of Huang et al. (US 20150200130 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Kim et al. teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
forming an insulative layer 101 on the substrate 100, wherein the insulative layer 101 is in contact with a top surface of the substrate 100 (Fig. 12A: 100, 101, paragraph 0092);
and forming a buffer layer 102A on the insulative layer 101, wherein the buffer layer 102A is in contact between the insulative layer 101 and the sacrificial layer 103A (Fig. 12A: 102A, 101, 103A, paragraph 0092);
wherein a thickness of the insulative layer 101 is greater than a thickness of the sacrificial layer 102A (see Fig. 12A: 101, 102A, paragraph 0092),
wherein the thickness of the sacrificial layer 190 is greater than the thickness of the ARC layer 200 (see Fig. 3C: 190, 200),
wherein the thickness of the ARC layer is greater than a thickness of the buffer layer.
Huang et al. teaches a method of processing a substrate comprising the following limitations not disclosed in Yang et al.:
wherein the thickness of the ARC layer 414 is greater than a thickness of the buffer layer 410 (Fig. 4A: 410, 414, paragraph 0035, 0038).
Note that according to paragraph 0035, the buffer layer 410 has a thickness from about 100 Å to about 300 Å and according to paragraph 0038, the ARC layer 414 has a thickness from about 500 Å to about 2000 Å.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Yang et al. and Huang et al. in order to have the thickness of the ARC layer be greater than a thickness of the buffer layer. Doing so would ensure better suppression of reflected light, thereby reducing standing waves and unwanted exposure variations in the photosensitive layer.
Regarding Claim 6, Kim et al. teaches the method of claim 5, wherein etching the target pattern 105A comprises:
performing a first etching process to remove portions of the ARC layer 104A and the sacrificial layer 103A exposed by the target pattern 105A, wherein portions of a top surface of the buffer layer 102A are exposed through the openings (Fig. 12A: 104A, 103A, 105A, Fig. 12B: 102A, paragraph 0097, 0098);
performing a second etching process to remove portions of the buffer layer 102A, wherein portions of a top surface of the insulative layer 101 are exposed through the openings (Fig. 12B: 101, 102A, Fig. 12B: 101, 102A, Fig. 12C: 101, paragraph 102);
and performing a third etching process to remove portions of the insulative layer 101, wherein portions of the top surface of the substrate 100 are exposed through the openings 106 (Fig. 12D: 100, 101, 106, paragraph 0103).
Regarding Claim 7, Kim et al. teaches, the method of claim 6, further comprising: removing the buffer layer 102B/102C, the sacrificial layer 103C, and the ARC layer 104B from the insulative layer 101, wherein the openings 106 form a plurality of trenches through the insulative layer 101 to the top surface of the substrate 100 (Fig. 12B: 104B, 101, Fig. 12C: 102B, 103C, 101, Fig. 12D: 106, 101, 100, paragraph 0102, 0103, 0104).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HAMNA FATHIMA IQBAL/Examiner, Art Unit 2817
08/10/2026
/Kretelia Graham/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2817