CTNF 19/058,812 CTNF 100980 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 12-151 AIA 26-51 12-51 Status of Claims This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 02/20/2025. Claim(s) 1 - 11 are presently pending and are examined in this first action on the merits (FAOM). Priority Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s claim to priority based on Application JP2022-133585 filed 08/24/2022. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 02/20/2025 and 02/21/2025 have been considered by the Examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-3, 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Randol W Aikin et. al. US 10108202 (“ Aikin ”) in view of Yukio Shimizu et. al. JP2011020536 (“Shimizu”) . As per Claim 1, 10 and 11 , Aikin discloses , A navigation system for navigating a plurality of autonomous traveling devices that autonomously travel using power supplied from a battery (see at least Fig. 1, and (1) disclosure relates generally to navigation and energy management of a vehicle, and in particular to a vehicle which can be autonomously navigated in a peloton configuration with another vehicle, (47) vehicles 400 , 450 each include respective internal batteries 410 , 460 which can be electrically coupled to control elements of the respective vehicles, including motors) a processor configured to (see at least Fig. 6 and (82) Processors 610 may be any suitable processor capable of executing instructions) optimize a platoon formation based on a gradient resistance that occurs on at least one of the plurality of autonomous traveling devices that are caused to travel in the platoon formation including a mutually connected formation and changes in future traveling on an uphill road (see at least (38) one or more vehicle navigation systems included in one or more of the vehicles included in a peloton can, individually, at least partially collectively, etc., dynamically adjust the distance between any two vehicles participating in the peloton to minimize the total aerodynamic drag of the peloton, (38) The optimal distance between vehicles may depend on a variety of factors, including the shape of the vehicles, the speed, the presence of crosswinds, the relative pressure, the presence of other vehicles on the roadway, etc., (38) Dynamically adjusting the distance of the vehicles may be accomplished via a control method that monitors the power expenditure of the powertrain of each vehicle and adjusts the distance between the vehicles to minimize the total power expenditure. Control of the distance, measured by one or more onboard sensors, can be performed via some control algorithm implemented by one or more of the vehicle navigation systems navigate each autonomous traveling device to the optimized platoon formation., and (44) the dedicated peloton vehicle 310 D can enable vehicles 310 A-C to navigate along a driving route which exceeds the respective driving ranges of the separate vehicles 310 A-C without necessitating energy replenishment at a fixed energy replenishment facility, including a recharging station. Aikin does not disclose , optimize a platoon formation based on a gradient resistance that occurs on at least one of the plurality of autonomous traveling devices that are caused to travel in the platoon formation including a mutually connected formation and changes in future traveling on an uphill road Shimizu teaches , optimize a platoon formation based on a gradient resistance that occurs on at least one of the plurality of autonomous traveling devices that are caused to travel in the platoon formation including a mutually connected formation and changes in future traveling on an uphill road (see at least [Abstract] When running a hill in a non-load state during snowfall, the front axle 11 on the driving side in the dual-axle rear wheels is relatively lowered toward the ground contact surface G with respect to the rear axle 12 by turning the turning frame 8 toward the ground contact surface G. Consequently, a load carrying ratio of the front axle 11 is increased, and a road surface gripping force of the front axle 11 on the driving side is ensured to prevent or suppress the occurrence of slip, and [0019] A state when the dump truck 1 travels on an uphill road will be described with reference to FIG. For example, when traveling on an uphill with a gradient during snowfall, the hydraulic cylinder 23 is extended and the revolving frame 8 is turned downward by a predetermined angle about the support shaft 21 as shown in FIG.) Thus, Aikin discloses a vehicle, where a vehicle includes electrical motors which move the vehicle via consumption of electrical power, configured to be autonomously navigated in a vehicular peloton along a roadway and can augment driving ranges of the vehicles based on aerodynamic drag mitigation, which mitigates the amounts of energy which is expended by internal power sources of at least some of the vehicles. Shimizu teaches a vehicle comprising left and right front wheels which are drive wheels and rear left and right wheels which are driven wheels (non-drive wheels), where the rear wheels are bought into a relatively uplifted state from the ground in order to ensure the road surface grip forces of the front wheels on an uphill road. As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Aikin with the slip prevention mechanism using optimization of the vehicle based on gradient resistance taught by Shimizu with a reasonable expectation of success, to increase the load sharing ratio of the front wheels, and to secure the road surface grip force of the driving-side front wheels, thereby preventing or suppressing the occurrence of slip [10]. As per Claim 2 , Aikin discloses , in the plurality of autonomous traveling devices, a wheel driven by the power supplied from the battery is defined as a drive wheel (see at least [3] where a vehicle includes electrical motors which move the vehicle via consumption of electrical power, replenishment of internal stored energy can include navigating the vehicle to an electrical charging station, but such stations may be absent along the present driving route of the vehicle, and recharging at such a station, even if located along the route, can be time consuming) Aikin does not disclose , in the plurality of autonomous traveling devices, a wheel driven by the power supplied from the battery is defined as a drive wheel, a wheel following the drive wheel is defined as a driven wheel, optimization of the platoon formation includes: optimization of the platoon formation to the mutually connected formation in which the driven wheel is separated from the uphill road. Shimizu teaches , in the plurality of autonomous traveling devices, a wheel driven by the power supplied from the battery is defined as a drive wheel, (see at least [0014] The biaxial rear wheel includes left and right front wheels 11 that are driving wheels) a wheel following the drive wheel is defined as a driven wheel (see at least [0014] and left and right rear wheels 12 that are non-driving wheels) optimization of the platoon formation includes: optimization of the platoon formation to the mutually connected formation in which the driven wheel is separated from the uphill road (see at least [0019] the rear wheel 12 is relatively lifted from the ground contact surface G, and a state in which much of the track load acts on the front wheel 11 that is a drive wheel is formed. Thereby, the road surface grip force of the front wheel 11 which is a drive wheel is ensured, and it can drive | work an uphill road, without falling into a slip state, and [0020] The rear wheel 12 does not need to be lifted completely from the ground contact surface G, and the share of the truck load by the front wheel 11 may be increased as compared with the rear wheel 12). Thus, Aikin discloses a vehicle, where a vehicle includes electrical motors which move the vehicle via consumption of electrical power, configured to be autonomously navigated in a vehicular peloton along a roadway and can augment driving ranges of the vehicles based on aerodynamic drag mitigation, which mitigates the amounts of energy which is expended by internal power sources of at least some of the vehicles. Shimizu teaches a vehicle comprising left and right front wheels which are drive wheels and rear left and right wheels which are driven wheels (non-drive wheels), where the rear wheels are bought into a relatively uplifted state from the ground in order to ensure the road surface grip forces of the front wheels on an uphill road. As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Aikin with the slip prevention mechanism using optimization of the vehicle based on gradient resistance taught by Shimizu with a reasonable expectation of success, to increase the load sharing ratio of the front wheels, and to secure the road surface grip force of the driving-side front wheels, thereby preventing or suppressing the occurrence of slip [10]. As per Claim 3 , Aikin does not disclose , the optimization of the platoon formation includes optimization of the platoon formation to the mutually connected formation in which the driven wheel is separated from the uphill road when the gradient resistance is greater than a grip force of the drive wheel on the uphill road. Shimizu teaches , the optimization of the platoon formation includes optimization of the platoon formation to the mutually connected formation in which the driven wheel is separated from the uphill road when the gradient resistance is greater than a grip force of the drive wheel on the uphill road (see at least [0010] it is possible to increase the load sharing ratio of the front wheels, and to secure the road surface grip force of the driving-side front wheels, thereby preventing or suppressing the occurrence of slip, and [0019] the rear wheel 12 is relatively lifted from the ground contact surface G, and a state in which much of the track load acts on the front wheel 11 that is a drive wheel is formed. Thereby, the road surface grip force of the front wheel 11 which is a drive wheel is ensured, and it can drive | work an uphill road, without falling into a slip state) Thus, Aikin discloses a vehicle, where a vehicle includes electrical motors which move the vehicle via consumption of electrical power, configured to be autonomously navigated in a vehicular peloton along a roadway and can augment driving ranges of the vehicles based on aerodynamic drag mitigation, which mitigates the amounts of energy which is expended by internal power sources of at least some of the vehicles. Shimizu teaches a vehicle comprising left and right front wheels which are drive wheels and rear left and right wheels which are driven wheels (non-drive wheels), where the rear wheels are bought into a relatively uplifted state from the ground in order to ensure the road surface grip forces of the front wheels on an uphill road. As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Aikin with the slip prevention mechanism using optimization of the vehicle based on gradient resistance taught by Shimizu with a reasonable expectation of success, to increase the load sharing ratio of the front wheels, and to secure the road surface grip force of the driving-side front wheels, thereby preventing or suppressing the occurrence of slip [10] . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aikin in view of Yukio Shimizu as applicable to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Joshua Coombs US20180186208 A1 (“ Coombs ”) As per Claim 4 , Aikin does not disclose , the optimization of the platoon formation includes optimization of the platoon formation to the mutually connected formation in which the driven wheel is separated from a downhill road when a propulsive force that changes due to gravity in future traveling on the downhill road that enables braking by a brake unit of the autonomous traveling device is greater than the grip force of the drive wheel on the downhill road. Coombs teaches, the optimization of the platoon formation includes optimization of the platoon formation to the mutually connected formation in which the driven wheel is separated from a downhill road when a propulsive force that changes due to gravity in future traveling on the downhill road that enables braking by a brake unit of the autonomous traveling device is greater than the grip force of the drive wheel on the downhill road (see at least Fig. 2, Fig. 5, [0041] the method can include automatically optimizing lift axle deployment and suspension height based on real-time conditions during driving (e.g., terrain conditions, weather conditions, etc.), [0041] the method can include actively adjusting the relative stiffness of the air suspension at each axle and/or fully- or partially-lifting liftable axles (e.g., lift axles) for any suitable purpose, such as: to improve fuel econ by transferring more load to lift axles having low rolling resistance tires, to improve suspension articulation over rough terrain by fully lifting the lift axles, etc., [0042] the method can include monitoring the vehicle level (e.g., whether the vehicle is level relative to a gravity vector, the number of degrees out of level the base of the vehicle cargo compartment is, etc.) at an on-board level sensor, [0042] The direction of the net force on various portions of the load (e.g., load vectors) can shift in cases wherein the vehicle is not level, and thus the method (e.g., implemented at a control system) can include determining the vehicle level and reporting the load vector(s) to a user and/or dynamically controlling the suspension system based on the load vector(s) (e.g., in order to adjust the load vectors, maintain the load vectors, etc., and [0046[ The vehicle condition parameter can include: … weather conditions (e.g., rain, sleet, snow, ice, wind, heat, etc.) associated with the vehicle location and/or planned route, terrain features (e.g., roadway banking angles, road surface quality, potholes, speedbumps, etc.) associated with the vehicle location and/or planned route). Thus, Aikin discloses a vehicle, where a vehicle includes electrical motors which move the vehicle via consumption of electrical power, configured to be autonomously navigated in a vehicular peloton along a roadway and can augment driving ranges of the vehicles based on aerodynamic drag mitigation, which mitigates the amounts of energy which is expended by internal power sources of at least some of the vehicles. Coombs teaches determining the vehicle level and reporting the load vector(s) to a user and/or dynamically controlling the suspension system based on the load vector(s). As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Aikin with partially-lifting liftable axles (e.g., lift axles) for any suitable purpose taught by Coombs with a reasonable expectation of success, to improve fuel econ by transferring more load to lift axles having low rolling resistance tires [0041] . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aikin in view of Shimizu and Coombs as applicable to Claim 4 above, and further in view of John Lahti et. al US 20210213948 (“ Lahti ”) . As per Claim 5 , Aikin discloses , the optimization of the platoon formation includes optimization of the platoon formation to the mutually connected formation that causes the battery of at least one of the plurality of autonomous traveling devices to collect regenerative power generated in each autonomous traveling device on the downhill road ([43] In some embodiments, at least some of the vehicles in a peloton can be directly coupled, via one or more connections, which can include one or more electrical connections, so that electrical power stored, generated, etc. by respective internal power sources, batteries, power supplies, some combination thereof, etc. of the electrically coupled vehicles in the peloton) Aikin does not specifically disclose , to collect regenerative power generated in each autonomous traveling device on the downhill road Lahti teaches , to collect regenerative power generated in each autonomous traveling device on the downhill road (see at least [0101] the Downhill Platoon PACC Following Distance may be another defined following distance specified or stored in the memory 114 , which the following vehicle 606 reaches while traveling down the decline grade 610 . Prior to reaching the beginning of the decline grade 610 , the following vehicle 606 may reach a following distance to the lead vehicle 604 greater than the Downhill Platoon PACC Following Distance, and [0105] While descending the incline grade 610 (e.g., between the positions 630 and 636 ), the following distance of the lead vehicle 604 and/or the following distance of the following vehicle 606 may increase to a distance sufficient to reduce or eliminate the energy efficiency benefits of drafting. The cruise control system 110 of the following vehicle 606 may reach the pre-roll-out following distance 633 at the position 636 on approach to the end of the decline grade 610 . However, as a result of the foregoing operation of the platoon determined based on an operational scheme for navigating decline grades according to a predictive adaptive cruise control technique disclosed herein, the vehicles of the platoon achieve energy efficiency benefits for coasting and potentially for regenerative braking that are greater than the energy efficiency benefits of drafting) Thus, Aikin discloses a vehicle, where a vehicle includes electrical motors which move the vehicle via consumption of electrical power, configured to be autonomously navigated in a vehicular peloton along a roadway and can augment driving ranges of the vehicles based on aerodynamic drag mitigation, which mitigates the amounts of energy which is expended by internal power sources of at least some of the vehicles. Lahti teaches determining the predictive speed trajectory information generated by a cruise control system where the information may specify regenerative braking of the vehicle based upon the features of upcoming section of road. As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Aikin with terrain based predictive cruise control method taught by Lahti with a reasonable expectation of success, to determine an operational scheme for energy efficient operation of the vehicle along the upcoming segment of road based on the terrain information [0006] . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aikin in view of Shimizu as applicable to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Stephen Kallenbach et. al. US20200250991 (“ Kallenbach ”) . As per Claim 6 , Aikin does not disclose , optimization of the platoon formation includes optimization of an arrangement direction of the plurality of autonomous traveling devices in the mutually connected formation based on air resistance depending on a travel speed generated on the plurality of autonomous traveling devices and a wind resistance depending on a wind speed acting on the plurality of autonomous traveling devices. Kallenbach teaches , optimization of the platoon formation includes optimization of an arrangement direction of the plurality of autonomous traveling devices in the mutually connected formation based on air resistance depending on a travel speed generated on the plurality of autonomous traveling devices and a wind resistance depending on a wind speed acting on the plurality of autonomous traveling devices (see at least [0008] The method includes determining a desired longitudinal offset and/or a desired transverse offset for at least one respective individual vehicle by determining at least one wind factor that characterizes how prevailing wind in a vehicle environment acts on the at least one respective individual vehicle of the platoon, and specifying the desired transverse offset and/or the desired longitudinal offset for the at least one respective individual vehicle of the platoon in dependence upon the at least one wind factor in such a manner that an air resistance acting on the at least one respective individual vehicle of the platoon reduces under the prevailing wind, [0043] it is possible for the platooning control unit 20 to define a smaller desired longitudinal offset D_Soll_x than usual between the vehicles Fi, on the basis of which the actual longitudinal offset D_Ist_x is to be adjusted since minimum intervals may be selected to be smaller by way of coordinating the vehicles Fi and/or the infrastructure units 70 . Consequently, the air resistance at individual vehicles Fi in the platoon 100 LUi may be reduced to a greater extent than in the case of uncoordinated vehicles that are traveling one behind the other, and [0069] The wind factors vW, WR that are determined in the first step St′ are used in a second step St 2 for determining the desired transverse offset D_Soll_y and/or the desired longitudinal offset D_Soll_x, which is to be adjusted between two vehicles Fi of the platoon 100 , in order to optimize the air resistance LUi of the individual vehicles Fi in the platoon 100 and/or the total air resistance GLU of all the vehicles Fi with respect to the prevailing wind conditions of the apparent wind W 1 ). Thus, Aikin discloses a vehicle, where a vehicle includes electrical motors which move the vehicle via consumption of electrical power, configured to be autonomously navigated in a vehicular peloton along a roadway and can augment driving ranges of the vehicles based on aerodynamic drag mitigation, which mitigates the amounts of energy which is expended by internal power sources of at least some of the vehicles. Kallenbach teaches determining a desired longitudinal offset, i.e. an interval between vehicles of a platoon in the travel direction of the relevant vehicles, and/or a desired transverse offset, i.e. an interval between the vehicles of the platoon perpendicular to the travel direction of the relevant vehicles, in dependence upon the environmental conditions, in particular in dependence upon wind factors, with the result that the air resistance that is acting at least upon one of the vehicles is reduced. As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Aikin with platooning and longitudinal and/or transverse offset method taught by Kallenbach with a reasonable expectation of success, to ensure a safer and more fuel-efficient operation of the vehicles within the platoon under different wind conditions [0016]. As per Claim 7 , Aikin does not disclose , in the arrangement direction that is a vertical direction, among the plurality of autonomous traveling devices, an autonomous traveling device that follows an autonomous traveling device that performs lead traveling is defined as a following device, and the optimization of the platoon formation includes optimization of the arrangement direction in the mutually connected formation to the vertical direction in at least one of a case where the air resistance acts on the following device in a headwind state or a case where the air resistance acts on the following device in a windless state Kallenbach teaches , in the arrangement direction that is a vertical direction, among the plurality of autonomous traveling devices, an autonomous traveling device that follows an autonomous traveling device that performs lead traveling is defined as a following device, and the optimization of the platoon formation includes optimization of the arrangement direction in the mutually connected formation to the vertical direction in at least one of a case where the air resistance acts on the following device in a headwind state or a case where the air resistance acts on the following device in a windless state (see at least Fig. 2a, Fig. 2b, and [0020] With methods described herein, vehicles of the platoon are only arranged or coordinated in a safe and fuel-efficient manner, wherein it is also to be provided that desired positions or desired offsets (longitudinal and/or transverse) of vehicles within the platoon are determined in order to orient the vehicles with respect to one another and/or relative to a traffic lane) Thus, Aikin discloses a vehicle, where a vehicle includes electrical motors which move the vehicle via consumption of electrical power, configured to be autonomously navigated in a vehicular peloton along a roadway and can augment driving ranges of the vehicles based on aerodynamic drag mitigation, which mitigates the amounts of energy which is expended by internal power sources of at least some of the vehicles. Kallenbach teaches determining a desired longitudinal offset, i.e. an interval between vehicles of a platoon in the travel direction of the relevant vehicles, and/or a desired transverse offset, i.e. an interval between the vehicles of the platoon perpendicular to the travel direction of the relevant vehicles, in dependence upon the environmental conditions, in particular in dependence upon wind factors, with the result that the air resistance that is acting at least upon one of the vehicles is reduced. As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Aikin with platooning and longitudinal and/or transverse offset method taught by Kallenbach with a reasonable expectation of success, to ensure a safer and more fuel-efficient operation of the vehicles within the platoon under different wind conditions [0016]. As per Claim 8 , Aikin does not disclose , the optimization of the platoon formation includes optimization of the arrangement direction in the mutually connected formation to the vertical direction in at least one of a case where the air resistance for the following device is greater than the wind resistance in a crosswind state or a case where the air resistance for the following device is greater than the wind resistance in a tailwind state. Kallenbach teaches , the optimization of the platoon formation includes optimization of the arrangement direction in the mutually connected formation to the vertical direction in at least one of (see at last Fig. 2a, Fig. 2b, Fig. 4, [0020] With methods described herein, vehicles of the platoon are only arranged or coordinated in a safe and fuel-efficient manner, wherein it is also to be provided that desired positions or desired offsets (longitudinal and/or transverse) of vehicles within the platoon are determined in order to orient the vehicles with respect to one another and/or relative to a traffic lane, [0017] determining a desired longitudinal offset, i.e. an interval between vehicles of a platoon in the travel direction of the relevant vehicles, and [0046] It is consequently possible to indicate as wind factors by way of example a wind direction WR and/or a wind speed vW that define the direction or the speed of the apparent wind W 1 that actually acts on the respective vehicle Fi) a case where the air resistance for the following device is greater than the wind resistance in a crosswind state (see at least [0047] In the case of a side wind, the actual yaw rate GIst does not change as a result of purely counter-steering, however, on account of the counter-steering the yaw rate Gp that is to be expected becomes greater or smaller depending upon the wind direction WR.) a case where the air resistance for the following device is greater than the wind resistance in a tailwind state (see at least [0047] In the case of a headwind or a tailwind (true wind W 1 ), i.e. parallel to the x-direction, a yaw rate difference dG of zero is accordingly to be expected and in the case of a side wind (true wind W 1 ), i.e. parallel to the y-direction, a yaw rate difference dG of greater than zero is to be expected since the driver counteracts the side wind by way of counter-steering.) Thus, Aikin discloses a vehicle, where a vehicle includes electrical motors which move the vehicle via consumption of electrical power, configured to be autonomously navigated in a vehicular peloton along a roadway and can augment driving ranges of the vehicles based on aerodynamic drag mitigation, which mitigates the amounts of energy which is expended by internal power sources of at least some of the vehicles. Kallenbach teaches determining a desired longitudinal offset, i.e. an interval between vehicles of a platoon in the travel direction of the relevant vehicles, and/or a desired transverse offset, i.e. an interval between the vehicles of the platoon perpendicular to the travel direction of the relevant vehicles, in dependence upon the environmental conditions, in particular in dependence upon wind factors, with the result that the air resistance that is acting at least upon one of the vehicles is reduced. As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Aikin with platooning and longitudinal and/or transverse offset method taught by Kallenbach with a reasonable expectation of success, to ensure a safer and more fuel-efficient operation of the vehicles within the platoon under different wind conditions [0016]. As per Claim 9 , Aikin does not disclose , the optimization of the platoon formation includes optimization of the arrangement direction in the mutually connected formation to a lateral direction in at least one of a case where the air resistance for the following device is smaller than the wind resistance in a crosswind state or a case where the air resistance for the following device is smaller than the wind resistance in a tailwind state. Kallenbach teaches , the optimization of the platoon formation includes optimization of the arrangement direction in the mutually connected formation to a lateral direction in at least one of (see at least Fig. 2a, Fig. 2b, Fig. 4, [0020] With methods described herein, vehicles of the platoon are only arranged or coordinated in a safe and fuel-efficient manner, wherein it is also to be provided that desired positions or desired offsets (longitudinal and/or transverse) of vehicles within the platoon are determined in order to orient the vehicles with respect to one another and/or relative to a traffic lane, [0017] determining ... a desired transverse offset, i.e. an interval between the vehicles of the platoon perpendicular to the travel direction of the relevant vehicles, in dependence upon the environmental conditions, in particular in dependence upon wind factors, with the result that the air resistance that is acting at least upon one of the vehicles is reduced, and [0046] It is consequently possible to indicate as wind factors by way of example a wind direction WR and/or a wind speed vW that define the direction or the speed of the apparent wind W 1 that actually acts on the respective vehicle Fi) a case where the air resistance for the following device is smaller than the wind resistance in a crosswind state (see at least [0047] In the case of a side wind, the actual yaw rate GIst does not change as a result of purely counter-steering, however, on account of the counter-steering the yaw rate Gp that is to be expected becomes greater or smaller depending upon the wind direction WR.) a case where the air resistance for the following device is smaller than the wind resistance in a tailwind state (see at least [0047] In the case of a headwind or a tailwind (true wind W 1 ), i.e. parallel to the x-direction, a yaw rate difference dG of zero is accordingly to be expected and in the case of a side wind (true wind W 1 ), i.e. parallel to the y-direction, a yaw rate difference dG of greater than zero is to be expected since the driver counteracts the side wind by way of counter-steering). Thus, Aikin discloses a vehicle, where a vehicle includes electrical motors which move the vehicle via consumption of electrical power, configured to be autonomously navigated in a vehicular peloton along a roadway and can augment driving ranges of the vehicles based on aerodynamic drag mitigation, which mitigates the amounts of energy which is expended by internal power sources of at least some of the vehicles. Kallenbach teaches determining a desired longitudinal offset, i.e. an interval between vehicles of a platoon in the travel direction of the relevant vehicles, and/or a desired transverse offset, i.e. an interval between the vehicles of the platoon perpendicular to the travel direction of the relevant vehicles, in dependence upon the environmental conditions, in particular in dependence upon wind factors, with the result that the air resistance that is acting at least upon one of the vehicles is reduced. As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Aikin with platooning and longitudinal and/or transverse offset method taught by Kallenbach with a reasonable expectation of success, to ensure a safer and more fuel-efficient operation of the vehicles within the platoon under different wind conditions [0016] . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicants should take note of the prior art in the PTO-892 . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ASHUTOSH PANDE whose telephone number is (571)272-6269. The examiner can normally be reached Monday -Friday 9:00am -5:00 PM EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Fadey Jabr can be reached at 5712721516. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /A.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3668 /Fadey S. Jabr/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668 Application/Control Number: 19/058,812 Page 2 Art Unit: 3668 Application/Control Number: 19/058,812 Page 4 Art Unit: 3668 Application/Control Number: 19/058,812 Page 5 Art Unit: 3668 Application/Control Number: 19/058,812 Page 6 Art Unit: 3668 Application/Control Number: 19/058,812 Page 7 Art Unit: 3668 Application/Control Number: 19/058,812 Page 8 Art Unit: 3668 Application/Control Number: 19/058,812 Page 9 Art Unit: 3668 Application/Control Number: 19/058,812 Page 10 Art Unit: 3668 Application/Control Number: 19/058,812 Page 11 Art Unit: 3668 Application/Control Number: 19/058,812 Page 12 Art Unit: 3668 Application/Control Number: 19/058,812 Page 13 Art Unit: 3668 Application/Control Number: 19/058,812 Page 14 Art Unit: 3668 Application/Control Number: 19/058,812 Page 15 Art Unit: 3668 Application/Control Number: 19/058,812 Page 16 Art Unit: 3668 Application/Control Number: 19/058,812 Page 17 Art Unit: 3668 Application/Control Number: 19/058,812 Page 19 Art Unit: 3668 Application/Control Number: 19/058,812 Page 20 Art Unit: 3668