Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koole et al. (2012/0182538) in view of Singamaneni et al. (2021/0396747).
Regarding claim 1, Koole teaches the majority of claim 1 including the illumination source, metal substrate, photoluminescent material, and detector system. (Koole, [0078], [0079], Figs. 6A-6B)
Koole lacks explicit teaching of the claimed nano-spacer and photoluminescent material being bound to the nano spacer to inhibit metal-induced quenching of the photoluminescent material.
Singamaneni teaches use of a nano-spacer to separate the photoluminescent material from the conductive [metal] surface in order to inhibit metal-induced quenching and thereby improve the performance of the photoluminescent material. (Singamaneni, [0136],[0137])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to use a nano-spacer as taught by Singamaneni in the inspection system of Koole in order to increase the brightness of the photoluminescent material.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Koole and Singamaneni further teaches the non-conductive nanomaterial includes at least one of:poly methyl methacrylate, one or more oligomers, one or more polymers, or silicon dioxide. (Singamaneni, [0168])
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Koole and Singamenani lacks explicit teaching of the one or more polymers include at least one of:polystyrene or poly acrylic acid.
However, Singamaneni teaches the use of polymers generally, indicating the primary trait necessary is uniform deposition to appropriate thickness. (Singamenani, [0167]) Selection of a known material based on its suitability for a particular purpose is obvious absent some unexpected result from the selection. See MPEP 2144.07
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Koole and Singamenani further teaches the non-conductive nanomaterial of the nano-spacer has a thickness of 15 nm. (Singamenani, [0167])
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Koole and Singamenani further teaches the non-conductive nanomaterial of the nano-spacer has a thickness of 35 nm. (Singamenani, [0167])
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Koole and Singamenani further teaches the illumination source is configured to excite the photoluminescent material of the substrate. (Koole, [0078], [0079], Figs. 6A-6B)
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Koole and Singamenani further teaches the photoluminescent material includes at least one of: one or more fluorophores. (Koole, [0078])
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Koole and Singamenani further teaches a controller communicatively coupled to the one or more detectors, the controller including one or more processors to execute program instructions causing the one or more processors to identify one or more defects on the surface of the substrate based on the photoluminescent emission detected from the one or more detectors. (Koole, [0017]; [0135])
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Koole and Singamenani further teaches the feature of interest includes a defect of interest. (Koole, [0078], [0079], Figs. 6A-6B)
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Koole and Singamenani further teaches the feature of interest includes a pattern of interest. (Koole, [0081])
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Koole and Singamenani further teaches the feature of interest includes a material of interest. (Koole, [0081])
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Koole and Singamenani further teaches the substrate includes a wafer. (Koole, [0006])
Regarding claims 13 to 18, claims 13-18 contain similar limitations as those of claim 1-7 above, except inasmuch as they are directed to the wafer under inspection rather than the inspection device. As Koole discloses both the device and the wafer (Koole, [0006]), claims 13-18 are rejected on the same grounds as claims 1-7.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Koole and Singamenani further teaches the patterned wafer includes an integrated circuit device. (Koole, [0005], [0006])
Regarding claim 20, the methods used to polish the wafer do not provide structure by which to differentiate the claimed apparatus from the prior art.
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Koole and Singamenani further teaches a dielectric material, wherein the dielectric material is interlaced with the metal substrate material to form a dielectric/metal interlaced pattern, wherein the non- conductive nanomaterial of the nano-spacer is deposited on a top surface of the dielectric/metal interlaced pattern of the patterned wafer. (Koole, [0124] et seq.)
Claims 22-24 are rejected on the same grounds as claims 9-11 above.
Regarding claims 25-29, these method claims contain limitations directed to subject matter addressed above and are therefore rejected on the same basis.
Conclusion
/EDWIN C GUNBERG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884