DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Note
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs/columns and line numbers or figures in the references as applied to the claims below for convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations with the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to the Applicant’s definition which is not specifically set forth in the claims.
Information Disclosure Statements
The Information Disclosure Statement(s) (IDS) filed on 02/25/2025 and 02/18/2026 has/have been acknowledged.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware of, in the specification.
Status of Application
The list of claims 1-20 are pending in this application. In the claim set filed 02/25/2025:
Claim(s) 1, 9 and 16 is/are the independent claim(s) observed in the application.
Non-Final Rejection
Examiner’s Note on Allowable Subject Matter: The Applicant will note that the below Non-Final rejection does not provide prior art rejections for claim(s) 5, 13 and 20, as the Examiner was unable to find a combination of references to reasonably formulate prior art rejections of these claim(s).
However, the Examiner, is not able to object to these claims and indicate them as containing allowable subject matter, as claim(s) 5, 13 and 20 stand rejected under 35 USC § 101. However, if the Applicant is were to re-formulate the independent claim(s) such that it/they are patent eligible in view of 35 USC § 101, further amendment to the independent claims comprising the limitations presented in claim(s) 5, 13 and 20 (and all intervening dependent claims) would result in the Examiner finding the claims in condition for allowance, pending final search and consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 101
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claim(s) 1, 9 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite using a controller, comprising a memory, a processor, and a computer program stored on the memory and executable on the processor to perform the following screen interaction method: 1) obtaining an interactive instruction; 2) displaying an interactive interface in response to the interactive instruction; 3) acquiring an image to be interacted with in the sending screen area, the image to be interacted with corresponding to an application to be interacted with; 4) obtaining a moving instruction; and 5) moving the image to be interacted with from the sending screen area to the receiving screen area in response to the moving instruction.
The limitations of: 1) obtaining an interactive instruction; 2) displaying an interactive interface in response to the interactive instruction; 3) acquiring an image to be interacted with in the sending screen area, the image to be interacted with corresponding to an application to be interacted with; 4) obtaining a moving instruction; and 5) moving the image to be interacted with from the sending screen area to the receiving screen area in response to the moving instruction, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting a controller, comprising a memory, a processor, and a computer program stored on the memory and executable on the processor, nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for the a controller, comprising a memory, a processor, and a computer program stored on the memory and executable on the processor language, in the context of this claim encompasses the user manually performing steps of: determining an application to display on an interface and making the selection accordingly. The above claim limitations pertaining to steps: 1) obtaining an interactive instruction; 3) acquiring an image to be interacted with in the sending screen area, the image to be interacted with corresponding to an application to be interacted with; and 4) obtaining a moving instruction, comprise steps that perform “mere data gathering” and therefore recite Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity(Insignificant Pre-Solution Activity as explained in MPEP § 2106.05(g)). The above claim limitations pertaining to steps: 2) displaying an interactive interface in response to the interactive instruction; and 5) moving the image to be interacted with from the sending screen area to the receiving screen area in response to the moving instruction, comprise steps that perform “data outputting” in the form of displaying the above user-selected decisions on a display screen and therefore recite Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity(Insignificant Post-Solution Activity as explained in MPEP § 2106.05(g)). If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components and Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim(s) recite(s) an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only recites the following additional elements – a controller, comprising a memory, a processor, and a computer program stored on the memory and executable on the processor to perform the following screen interaction method: 1) obtaining an interactive instruction; 2) displaying an interactive interface in response to the interactive instruction; 3) acquiring an image to be interacted with in the sending screen area, the image to be interacted with corresponding to an application to be interacted with; 4) obtaining a moving instruction; and 5) moving the image to be interacted with from the sending screen area to the receiving screen area in response to the moving instruction. The controller, comprising a memory, a processor, and a computer program stored on the memory and executable on the processor is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim(s) is/are directed to an abstract idea.
The claim(s) does not/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of a controller, comprising a memory, a processor, and a computer program stored on the memory and executable on the processor to perform the following screen interaction method: 1) obtaining an interactive instruction; 2) displaying an interactive interface in response to the interactive instruction; 3) acquiring an image to be interacted with in the sending screen area, the image to be interacted with corresponding to an application to be interacted with; 4) obtaining a moving instruction; and 5) moving the image to be interacted with from the sending screen area to the receiving screen area in response to the moving instruction, amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Therefore, the claim(s) is/are not patent eligible.
Dependent claim(s) 2-8, 10-15 and 17-20 when analyzed as a whole, is/are held to be patent ineligible under 35 § U.S.C. 101 because the additional recited limitation(s) fail(s) to establish that the claim(s) is/are not directed to an abstract idea. The additional element(s), if any, in the dependent claim(s) is/are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons as with claim(s) 1, 9 and 16.
Examiner’s Note: With respect to dependent claims 2-8, 10-15 and 17-20, the additional claim limitations provided have not been found satisfactory to overcome the above rejections under 35 § U.S.C. 101 for at least the following reasons:
With respect to claim(s) 2, 10 and 17: Claims 2, 10 and 17 add recitation of an additional determination step pertaining to whether or not the vehicle is in a parked gear state to determine whether or not to display the application being considered, which is not satisfactory to overcome the above rejections under 35 § U.S.C. 101.
With respect to claim(s) 3, 11 and 18: Claims 3, 11 and 18 add recitation of determining and displaying a number of available display screens and display screen areas, which is not satisfactory to overcome the above rejections under 35 § U.S.C. 101.
With respect to claim(s) 4, 12 and 19: Claims 4, 12 and 19 add recitation of an additional determination step pertaining to the display capability of the selected application to determine whether or not to display the application being considered, which is not satisfactory to overcome the above rejections under 35 § U.S.C. 101.
With respect to claim(s) 5, 13 and 20: Claims 5, 13 and 20 add recitation of an additional determination step pertaining to the display capability of the selected application to determine whether or not to display the application being considered, which is not satisfactory to overcome the above rejections under 35 § U.S.C. 101.
With respect to claim(s) 6: Claim 6 adds recitation of an additional determination step pertaining to the position of the selected application on the screen to determine whether or not to display the application being considered, which is not satisfactory to overcome the above rejections under 35 § U.S.C. 101.
With respect to claim(s) 7: Claim 7 adds recitation of an additional determination step pertaining to the running state of the selected application to determine whether or not to display the application being considered, which is not satisfactory to overcome the above rejections under 35 § U.S.C. 101.
With respect to claim(s) 8: Claim 8 adds recitation of generic computing components, which is not satisfactory to overcome the above rejections under 35 § U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8, 9 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by RUI et al. (Chinese Patent Publication 113330395 A) referenced as Rui moving forward.
With respect to claim 1, Rui discloses:
“obtaining an interactive instruction” [Rui; In at least the paragraphs and figures cited Rui discloses a wake-up gesture that the user of a vehicle may use to trigger a multi-screen interaction function, which has been interested as patentably indistinct from the Applicant's broadly recited "interactive instruction;" ¶: 0077, 0078];
“displaying an interactive interface in response to the interactive instruction, the interactive interface comprising a sending screen area and a receiving screen area” [Rui; In at least the paragraphs and figures cited, Rui discloses that a driver may use a plurality of gestures to trigger a process of mirroring an application from a source screen to a target screen, wherein the disclosed source screen and target screen have been interpreted as patentably indistinct from the Applicant's broadly recited "sending screen" and "receiving screen," respectively; ¶: 0043];
“acquiring an image to be interacted with in the sending screen area, the image to be interacted with corresponding to an application to be interacted with” [Rui; In at least the paragraphs and figures cited, Rui discloses that the system may generate a sub-image that is displayed in the center of the source display screen (see Fig. 6), which has been interpreted as patentably indistinct from the Applicant's broadly recited "acquiring an image to be interacted with in the sending screen area;" Fig. 6; ¶: 0103, 0104];
“obtaining a moving instruction; and moving the image to be interacted with from the sending screen area to the receiving screen area in response to the moving instruction, to display a mirror image of the application to be interacted with on a vehicle-mounted screen corresponding to the receiving screen area” [Rui; In at least the paragraphs and figures cited, Rui discloses that the system may allow the user to move the image on both the source screen and target screen in accordance with the recognized gesture, which has been interpreted as patentably indistinct from the Applicant's broadly recited "moving the image to be interacted with from the sending screen area to the receiving screen area in response to the moving instruction;" Fig. 6; ¶: 0103, 0104].
With respect to claim 8, Rui discloses: “A controller, comprising a memory, a processor, and a computer program stored on the memory and executable on the processor, wherein the processor is configured to implement the interaction method according to claim 1” [Rui; "This application provides a computing device, including a memory and a processor, wherein the memory stores executable code, and when the processor executes the executable code, it implements any of the methods described above;" ¶: 0148; See also: Fig. 1; ¶: 0073].
With respect to claim 9, Rui discloses:
“A vehicle, comprising a controller and at least one vehicle-mounted screen connected to the controller, wherein the controller comprises a memory, a processor, and a computer program stored on the memory and executable on the processor, and the processor is configured to perform operations comprising:” [Rui; "This application provides a computing device, including a memory and a processor, wherein the memory stores executable code, and when the processor executes the executable code, it implements any of the methods described above;" ¶: 0148; See also: Fig. 1; ¶: 0073];
“obtaining an interactive instruction” [Rui; In at least the paragraphs and figures cited Rui discloses a wake-up gesture that the user of a vehicle may use to trigger a multi-screen interaction function, which has been interested as patentably indistinct from the Applicant's broadly recited "interactive instruction;" ¶: 0077, 0078];
“displaying an interactive interface in response to the interactive instruction, the interactive interface comprising a sending screen area and a receiving screen area” [Rui; In at least the paragraphs and figures cited, Rui discloses that a driver may use a plurality of gestures to trigger a process of mirroring an application from a source screen to a target screen, wherein the disclosed source screen and target screen have been interpreted as patentably indistinct from the Applicant's broadly recited "sending screen" and "receiving screen," respectively; ¶: 0043];
“acquiring an image to be interacted with in the sending screen area, the image to be interacted with corresponding to an application to be interacted with” [Rui; In at least the paragraphs and figures cited, Rui discloses that the system may generate a sub-image that is displayed in the center of the source display screen (see Fig. 6), which has been interpreted as patentably indistinct from the Applicant's broadly recited "acquiring an image to be interacted with in the sending screen area;" Fig. 6; ¶: 0103, 0104];
“obtaining a moving instruction; and moving the image to be interacted with from the sending screen area to the receiving screen area in response to the moving instruction, to display a mirror image of the application to be interacted with on a vehicle-mounted screen corresponding to the receiving screen area” [Rui; In at least the paragraphs and figures cited, Rui discloses that the system may allow the user to move the image on both the source screen and target screen in accordance with the recognized gesture, which has been interpreted as patentably indistinct from the Applicant's broadly recited "moving the image to be interacted with from the sending screen area to the receiving screen area in response to the moving instruction;" Fig. 6; ¶: 0103, 0104].
With respect to claim 16, Rui discloses:
“A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, comprising a computer program, wherein the computer program is executable by a processor, to cause the processor to perform operations comprising:” [Rui; "Memory 104 may include volatile memory, such as random-access memory (RAM); memory 104 may also include non-volatile memory, such as read-only memory (ROM), flash memory, hard disk drive (HDD), or solid state drive (SSD); memory 104 may also include combinations of the above types of memory;" Fig. 1; ¶: 0073;
"This application provides a computing device, including a memory and a processor, wherein the memory stores executable code, and when the processor executes the executable code, it implements any of the methods described above;" ¶: 0148];
“obtaining an interactive instruction” [Rui; In at least the paragraphs and figures cited Rui discloses a wake-up gesture that the user of a vehicle may use to trigger a multi-screen interaction function, which has been interested as patentably indistinct from the Applicant's broadly recited "interactive instruction;" ¶: 0077, 0078];
“displaying an interactive interface in response to the interactive instruction, the interactive interface comprising a sending screen area and a receiving screen area” [Rui; In at least the paragraphs and figures cited, Rui discloses that a driver may use a plurality of gestures to trigger a process of mirroring an application from a source screen to a target screen, wherein the disclosed source screen and target screen have been interpreted as patentably indistinct from the Applicant's broadly recited "sending screen" and "receiving screen," respectively; ¶: 0043];
“acquiring an image to be interacted with in the sending screen area, the image to be interacted with corresponding to an application to be interacted with” [Rui; In at least the paragraphs and figures cited, Rui discloses that the system may generate a sub-image that is displayed in the center of the source display screen (see Fig. 6), which has been interpreted as patentably indistinct from the Applicant's broadly recited "acquiring an image to be interacted with in the sending screen area;" Fig. 6; ¶: 0103, 0104];
“obtaining a moving instruction; and moving the image to be interacted with from the sending screen area to the receiving screen area in response to the moving instruction, to display a mirror image of the application to be interacted with on a vehicle-mounted screen corresponding to the receiving screen area” [Rui; In at least the paragraphs and figures cited, Rui discloses that the system may allow the user to move the image on both the source screen and target screen in accordance with the recognized gesture, which has been interpreted as patentably indistinct from the Applicant's broadly recited "moving the image to be interacted with from the sending screen area to the receiving screen area in response to the moving instruction;" Fig. 6; ¶: 0103, 0104].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 10 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rui in view of CANSINO et al. (United States Patent Publication 2017/0185362 A1) referenced as Cansino moving forward.
With respect to claim 2, Rui does not specifically state:
“further comprising: acquiring a current gear state of a vehicle;”
“and in response to that the current gear state of the vehicle is a P gear state, displaying the interactive interface in response to the interactive instruction;”
“or in response to that the current gear state of the vehicle is not a P gear state, displaying an interactive confirmation interface, and in response to that an interactive confirmation instruction is acquired on the interactive confirmation interface, displaying the interactive interface in response to the interactive instruction.”
Cansino, which is in the same field of invention of control systems/methods for interacting between an input unit and an output display, teaches:
“further comprising: acquiring a current gear state of a vehicle” [Cansino; ¶: In at least the paragraphs and figures cited, Cansino discloses determining that a vehicle is parked by receiving a park signal when the driver shifts the gear shift level into park (Fig. 15 - step 1514 and accompanying ¶: 0152); Fig. 15, 16A, 16B; ¶: 0152-0155];
“and in response to that the current gear state of the vehicle is a P gear state, displaying the interactive interface in response to the interactive instruction” [Cansino; ¶: In at least the paragraphs and figures cited, Cansino further discloses in response to determining that vehicle is parked via the process disclosed above, subsequently presenting screen display 1610 in Fig. 16A, that provides an interactive interface for the user to select whether or to display the parked position via buttons 1614 or 1616 in Fig. 16A; Fig. 15, 16A, 16B; ¶: 0152-0155];
“or in response to that the current gear state of the vehicle is not a P gear state, displaying an interactive confirmation interface, and in response to that an interactive confirmation instruction is acquired on the interactive confirmation interface, displaying the interactive interface in response to the interactive instruction” [Cansino; ¶: This claim limitation does not require prior art mapping in order for the cited reference to teach the claimed invention due to use of the alternative "or" operator].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system/method for controlling multiple display screens using hand gestures on an input screen as disclosed by Rui to incorporate the teachings regarding only allowing a user to interact with a user interface under the condition that the vehicle is stationary/in a park gear as taught by Cansino with a reasonable expectation of success. By combining these inventions, the outcome is a system/method for controlling multiple display screens using hand gestures on an input screen that is more robust in its ability to reduce operator distraction when operating a vehicle [Cansino; ¶: 0084, 0140].
With respect to claim 10, Rui does not specifically state:
“further comprising: acquiring a current gear state of a vehicle;”
“and in response to that the current gear state of the vehicle is a P gear state, displaying the interactive interface in response to the interactive instruction;”
“or in response to that the current gear state of the vehicle is not a P gear state, displaying an interactive confirmation interface, and in response to that an interactive confirmation instruction is acquired on the interactive confirmation interface, displaying the interactive interface in response to the interactive instruction.”
Cansino teaches:
“further comprising: acquiring a current gear state of a vehicle” [Cansino; ¶: In at least the paragraphs and figures cited, Cansino discloses determining that a vehicle is parked by receiving a park signal when the driver shifts the gear shift level into park (Fig. 15 - step 1514 and accompanying ¶: 0152); Fig. 15, 16A, 16B; ¶: 0152-0155];
“and in response to that the current gear state of the vehicle is a P gear state, displaying the interactive interface in response to the interactive instruction” [Cansino; ¶: In at least the paragraphs and figures cited, Cansino further discloses in response to determining that vehicle is parked via the process disclosed above, subsequently presenting screen display 1610 in Fig. 16A, that provides an interactive interface for the user to select whether or to display the parked position via buttons 1614 or 1616 in Fig. 16A; Fig. 15, 16A, 16B; ¶: 0152-0155];
“or in response to that the current gear state of the vehicle is not a P gear state, displaying an interactive confirmation interface, and in response to that an interactive confirmation instruction is acquired on the interactive confirmation interface, displaying the interactive interface in response to the interactive instruction” [Cansino; ¶: This claim limitation does not require prior art mapping in order for the cited reference to teach the claimed invention due to use of the alternative "or" operator].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system/method for controlling multiple display screens using hand gestures on an input screen as disclosed by Rui to incorporate the teachings regarding only allowing a user to interact with a user interface under the condition that the vehicle is stationary/in a park gear as taught by Cansino with a reasonable expectation of success. By combining these inventions, the outcome is a system/method for controlling multiple display screens using hand gestures on an input screen that is more robust in its ability to reduce operator distraction when operating a vehicle [Cansino; ¶: 0084, 0140].
With respect to claim 17, Rui does not specifically state:
“further comprising: acquiring a current gear state of a vehicle;”
“and in response to that the current gear state of the vehicle is a P gear state, displaying the interactive interface in response to the interactive instruction;”
“or in response to that the current gear state of the vehicle is not a P gear state, displaying an interactive confirmation interface, and in response to that an interactive confirmation instruction is acquired on the interactive confirmation interface, displaying the interactive interface in response to the interactive instruction.”
Cansino teaches:
“further comprising: acquiring a current gear state of a vehicle” [Cansino; ¶: In at least the paragraphs and figures cited, Cansino discloses determining that a vehicle is parked by receiving a park signal when the driver shifts the gear shift level into park (Fig. 15 - step 1514 and accompanying ¶: 0152); Fig. 15, 16A, 16B; ¶: 0152-0155];
“and in response to that the current gear state of the vehicle is a P gear state, displaying the interactive interface in response to the interactive instruction” [Cansino; ¶: In at least the paragraphs and figures cited, Cansino further discloses in response to determining that vehicle is parked via the process disclosed above, subsequently presenting screen display 1610 in Fig. 16A, that provides an interactive interface for the user to select whether or to display the parked position via buttons 1614 or 1616 in Fig. 16A; Fig. 15, 16A, 16B; ¶: 0152-0155];
“or in response to that the current gear state of the vehicle is not a P gear state, displaying an interactive confirmation interface, and in response to that an interactive confirmation instruction is acquired on the interactive confirmation interface, displaying the interactive interface in response to the interactive instruction” [Cansino; ¶: This claim limitation does not require prior art mapping in order for the cited reference to teach the claimed invention due to use of the alternative "or" operator].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system/method for controlling multiple display screens using hand gestures on an input screen as disclosed by Rui to incorporate the teachings regarding only allowing a user to interact with a user interface under the condition that the vehicle is stationary/in a park gear as taught by Cansino with a reasonable expectation of success. By combining these inventions, the outcome is a system/method for controlling multiple display screens using hand gestures on an input screen that is more robust in its ability to reduce operator distraction when operating a vehicle [Cansino; ¶: 0084, 0140].
Claim(s) 3, 11 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rui in view of GUO (Chinese Patent Publication 117681654A) referenced as Guo moving forward.
With respect to claim 3, Rui does not specifically state:
“wherein the displaying the interactive interface in response to the interactive instruction, comprises: acquiring a number of screens supporting a screen interaction function based on the interactive instruction;”
“displaying first screen areas on the interactive interface, a number of the first screen areas and the number of screens supporting the screen interaction function being the same, and each of the first screen areas corresponding to one vehicle-mounted screen; and determining the sending screen area and the receiving screen area from the first screen areas.”
Guo, which is in the same field of invention of control systems/methods for interacting between an input unit and an output display, teaches:
“wherein the displaying the interactive interface in response to the interactive instruction, comprises: acquiring a number of screens supporting a screen interaction function based on the interactive instruction” [Guo; In at least the paragraphs and figures cited, Guo teaches a control method for using a mobile terminal (denoted 110 in Fig. 1) to control a plurality of vehicle-mounted display devices (denoted 121-126 in Fig. 1). Guo teaches that after establishing a connection between the vehicle and the mobile terminal: "the mobile terminal 110 can determine the number of displays and device information of the displays in the vehicle 120 based on the vehicle information;" ¶: 0061; See also: Fig. 1, 2A, 2B, ¶: 0030-0038, 0060, 0062];
“displaying first screen areas on the interactive interface, a number of the first screen areas and the number of screens supporting the screen interaction function being the same, and each of the first screen areas corresponding to one vehicle-mounted screen; and determining the sending screen area and the receiving screen area from the first screen areas” [Guo; In at least the paragraphs and figures cited, Guo further teaches that the user may configure a display template corresponding to each display screen based on the number of display screens determined in the prior step. In view of the above, the Examiner has interpreted the disclosed plurality of vehicle-mounted display devices (denoted 121-126 in Fig. 1) as patentably indistinct from the Applicant's broadly recited "receiving screen area from the first screen areas;" and the disclosed mobile terminal interface (denoted 110 in Fig. 1) as patentably indistinct from the Applicant's broadly recited "sending screen area;" Fig. 1, 2A, 2B; ¶: 0030-0038, 0060-0062].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system/method for controlling multiple display screens using hand gestures on an input screen as disclosed by Rui to incorporate the teachings regarding determining a number of screens available to interact with a mobile device and subsequently allowing a user to customize a display template across the number of screens based on the determined number as taught by Guo with a reasonable expectation of success. By combining these inventions, the outcome is a system/method for controlling multiple display screens using hand gestures on an input screen that is more robust in its ability to quickly display vehicle data after receiving the display template data fed back by the mobile terminal thereby reducing user waiting time and improving user experience. [Guo; ¶: 0038].
With respect to claim 11, Rui does not specifically state:
“wherein the displaying the interactive interface in response to the interactive instruction, comprises: acquiring a number of screens supporting a screen interaction function based on the interactive instruction;”
“displaying first screen areas on the interactive interface, a number of the first screen areas and the number of screens supporting the screen interaction function being the same, and each of the first screen areas corresponding to one vehicle-mounted screen; and determining the sending screen area and the receiving screen area from the first screen areas.”
Guo teaches:
“wherein the displaying the interactive interface in response to the interactive instruction, comprises: acquiring a number of screens supporting a screen interaction function based on the interactive instruction” [Guo; In at least the paragraphs and figures cited, Guo teaches a control method for using a mobile terminal (denoted 110 in Fig. 1) to control a plurality of vehicle-mounted display devices (denoted 121-126 in Fig. 1). Guo teaches that after establishing a connection between the vehicle and the mobile terminal: "the mobile terminal 110 can determine the number of displays and device information of the displays in the vehicle 120 based on the vehicle information;" ¶: 0061; See also: Fig. 1, 2A, 2B, ¶: 0030-0038, 0060, 0062];
“displaying first screen areas on the interactive interface, a number of the first screen areas and the number of screens supporting the screen interaction function being the same, and each of the first screen areas corresponding to one vehicle-mounted screen; and determining the sending screen area and the receiving screen area from the first screen areas” [Guo; In at least the paragraphs and figures cited, Guo further teaches that the user may configure a display template corresponding to each display screen based on the number of display screens determined in the prior step. In view of the above, the Examiner has interpreted the disclosed plurality of vehicle-mounted display devices (denoted 121-126 in Fig. 1) as patentably indistinct from the Applicant's broadly recited "receiving screen area from the first screen areas;" and the disclosed mobile terminal interface (denoted 110 in Fig. 1) as patentably indistinct from the Applicant's broadly recited "sending screen area;" Fig. 1, 2A, 2B; ¶: 0030-0038, 0060-0062].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system/method for controlling multiple display screens using hand gestures on an input screen as disclosed by Rui to incorporate the teachings regarding determining a number of screens available to interact with a mobile device and subsequently allowing a user to customize a display template across the number of screens based on the determined number as taught by Guo with a reasonable expectation of success. By combining these inventions, the outcome is a system/method for controlling multiple display screens using hand gestures on an input screen that is more robust in its ability to quickly display vehicle data after receiving the display template data fed back by the mobile terminal thereby reducing user waiting time and improving user experience. [Guo; ¶: 0038].
With respect to claim 18, Rui does not specifically state:
“wherein the displaying the interactive interface in response to the interactive instruction, comprises: acquiring a number of screens supporting a screen interaction function based on the interactive instruction;”
“displaying first screen areas on the interactive interface, a number of the first screen areas and the number of screens supporting the screen interaction function being the same, and each of the first screen areas corresponding to one vehicle-mounted screen; and determining the sending screen area and the receiving screen area from the first screen areas.”
Guo teaches:
“wherein the displaying the interactive interface in response to the interactive instruction, comprises: acquiring a number of screens supporting a screen interaction function based on the interactive instruction” [Guo; In at least the paragraphs and figures cited, Guo teaches a control method for using a mobile terminal (denoted 110 in Fig. 1) to control a plurality of vehicle-mounted display devices (denoted 121-126 in Fig. 1). Guo teaches that after establishing a connection between the vehicle and the mobile terminal: "the mobile terminal 110 can determine the number of displays and device information of the displays in the vehicle 120 based on the vehicle information;" ¶: 0061; See also: Fig. 1, 2A, 2B, ¶: 0030-0038, 0060, 0062];
“displaying first screen areas on the interactive interface, a number of the first screen areas and the number of screens supporting the screen interaction function being the same, and each of the first screen areas corresponding to one vehicle-mounted screen; and determining the sending screen area and the receiving screen area from the first screen areas” [Guo; In at least the paragraphs and figures cited, Guo further teaches that the user may configure a display template corresponding to each display screen based on the number of display screens determined in the prior step. In view of the above, the Examiner has interpreted the disclosed plurality of vehicle-mounted display devices (denoted 121-126 in Fig. 1) as patentably indistinct from the Applicant's broadly recited "receiving screen area from the first screen areas;" and the disclosed mobile terminal interface (denoted 110 in Fig. 1) as patentably indistinct from the Applicant's broadly recited "sending screen area;" Fig. 1, 2A, 2B; ¶: 0030-0038, 0060-0062].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system/method for controlling multiple display screens using hand gestures on an input screen as disclosed by Rui to incorporate the teachings regarding determining a number of screens available to interact with a mobile device and subsequently allowing a user to customize a display template across the number of screens based on the determined number as taught by Guo with a reasonable expectation of success. By combining these inventions, the outcome is a system/method for controlling multiple display screens using hand gestures on an input screen that is more robust in its ability to quickly display vehicle data after receiving the display template data fed back by the mobile terminal thereby reducing user waiting time and improving user experience. [Guo; ¶: 0038].
Claim(s) 4, 7, 12, 15 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rui in view of LIU et al. (United States Patent Publication 2024/0220184 A1) referenced as Liu moving forward.
With respect to claim 4, Rui does not specifically state:
“wherein the acquiring the image to be interacted with in the sending screen area comprises: determining a currently running application on a vehicle-mounted screen corresponding to the sending screen area, and determining whether the currently running application supports a screen interaction function”
“and in response to determining that the currently running application supports the screen interaction function, acquiring the image to be interacted with based on a current interface of the currently running application”
“or in response to determining that the currently running application does not support the screen interaction function, determining an application to be selected that supports the screen interaction function and that is on the vehicle-mounted screen corresponding to the sending screen area, and acquiring the image to be interacted with based on the application to be selected.”
Liu, which is in the same field of invention of control systems/methods for interacting between an input unit and an output display, teaches:
“wherein the acquiring the image to be interacted with in the sending screen area comprises: determining a currently running application on a vehicle-mounted screen corresponding to the sending screen area, and determining whether the currently running application supports a screen interaction function” [Liu; In at least the paragraphs and figures cited, Liu teaches a method for interacting with a mobile phone in order to display applications on a separate screen by first determining if the selected application supports extend-screen display functionality, which has been interpreted as patentably indistinct from the Applicant's broadly recited "screen interaction function;" Fig. 6A-2, 6C, 6D; ¶: 0157-0159];
“and in response to determining that the currently running application supports the screen interaction function, acquiring the image to be interacted with based on a current interface of the currently running application” [Liu; In at least the paragraphs and figures cited, Liu further teaches that, if an application supports extend-screen display functionality such as the gallery application, the screen may display the currently running gallery application in the full-screen mode depicted for example in Fig. 6C; Fig. 6A-2, 6C, 6D; ¶: 0157-0159];
“or in response to determining that the currently running application does not support the screen interaction function, determining an application to be selected that supports the screen interaction function and that is on the vehicle-mounted screen corresponding to the sending screen area, and acquiring the image to be interacted with based on the application to be selected” [Liu; In at least the paragraphs and figures cited, Liu further teaches that, if an application does NOT support extend-screen display functionality such as the music application, the screen may instead display a standard user interface (denoted 26 in Fig. 6D) directly from the mobile device used to provide the input, wherein the disclosed standard user interface has been interpreted as patentably indistinct from the Applicant's broadly recited "application to be selected that supports the screen interaction function and that is on the vehicle-mounted screen corresponding to the sending screen area;" Fig. 6A-2, 6C, 6D; ¶: 0157-0159].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system/method for controlling multiple display screens using hand gestures on an input screen as disclosed by Rui to incorporate the teachings regarding determining a screen extension capability of a selected app to cast to a second display as taught by Liu with a reasonable expectation of success. By combining these inventions, the outcome is a system/method for controlling multiple display screens using hand gestures on an input screen that is more robust in its ability to provide the user with modular display capabilities for various applications such that after mirroring the intended display from the sending device to the receiving device, the sending device may be subsequently used for other operations without interrupting the running application [Liu; ¶: 0003-0006].
With respect to claim 7, Rui does not specifically state:
“wherein the moving the image to be interacted with from the sending screen area to the receiving screen area in response to the moving instruction, to display the mirror image of the application to be interacted with on the vehicle- mounted screen corresponding to the receiving screen area comprises: moving the image to be interacted with from the sending screen area to the receiving screen area in response to the moving instruction, and acquiring a current application state corresponding to the application to be interacted with;”
“and in response to that the current application state is a running state, displaying the mirror image of the application to be interacted with corresponding to the image to be interacted with; or in response to that the current application state is not a running state, controlling the vehicle- mounted screen corresponding to the sending screen area to run the application to be interacted with, and displaying the mirror image of the application to be interacted with corresponding to the image to be interacted with.”
Liu teaches:
“wherein the moving the image to be interacted with from the sending screen area to the receiving screen area in response to the moving instruction, to display the mirror image of the application to be interacted with on the vehicle- mounted screen corresponding to the receiving screen area comprises: moving the image to be interacted with from the sending screen area to the receiving screen area in response to the moving instruction, and acquiring a current application state corresponding to the application to be interacted with” [Liu; In at least the paragraphs and figures cited, Liu teaches a method for interacting with a mobile phone in order to display applications on a separate screen by first determining if the selected application is currently running (see for example ¶: 0162 - "when the mobile phone 100 determines that the mobile phone 100 currently does not run the application 1 in the Display0, the mobile phone 100 starts a user interface 1 of the application 1 in the Display1"); ¶: 0160-0165];
“and in response to that the current application state is a running state, displaying the mirror image of the application to be interacted with corresponding to the image to be interacted with; or in response to that the current application state is not a running state, controlling the vehicle- mounted screen corresponding to the sending screen area to run the application to be interacted with, and displaying the mirror image of the application to be interacted with corresponding to the image to be interacted with” [Liu; Liu further teaches that after starting the selected application, the application is further projected onto the second display screen accordingly. The above citations have been interpreted as patentably indistinct from the Applicant's broadly recited "and in response to that the current application state is a running state, displaying the mirror image of the application to be interacted with corresponding to the image to be interacted with; or in response to that the current application state is not a running state, controlling the vehicle- mounted screen corresponding to the sending screen area to run the application to be interacted with, and displaying the mirror image of the application to be interacted with corresponding to the image to be interacted with;" ¶: 0160-0165].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system/method for controlling multiple display screens using hand gestures on an input screen as disclosed by Rui to incorporate the teachings regarding determining a screen extension capability of a selected app to cast to a second display as taught by Liu with a reasonable expectation of success. By combining these inventions, the outcome is a system/method for controlling multiple display screens using hand gestures on an input screen that is more robust in its ability to provide the user with modular display capabilities for various applications such that after mirroring the intended display from the sending device to the receiving device, the sending device may be subsequently used for other operations without interrupting the running application [Liu; ¶: 0003-0006].
With respect to claim 12, Rui does not specifically state:
“wherein the acquiring the image to be interacted with in the sending screen area comprises: determining a currently running application on a vehicle-mounted screen corresponding to the sending screen area, and determining whether the currently running application supports a screen interaction function;”
“and in response to determining that the currently running application supports the screen interaction function, acquiring the image to be interacted with based on a current interface of the currently running application;”
“or in response to determining that the currently running application does not support the screen interaction function, determining an application to be selected that supports the screen interaction function and that is on the vehicle-mounted screen corresponding to the sending screen area, and acquiring the image to be interacted with based on the application to be selected.”
Liu, which is in the same field of invention of control systems/methods for interacting between an input unit and an output display, teaches:
“wherein the acquiring the image to be interacted with in the sending screen area comprises: determining a currently running application on a vehicle-mounted screen corresponding to the sending screen area, and determining whether the currently running application supports a screen interaction function” [Liu; In at least the paragraphs and figures cited, Liu teaches a method for interacting with a mobile phone in order to display applications on a separate screen by first determining if the selected application supports extend-screen display functionality, which has been interpreted as patentably indistinct from the Applicant's broadly recited "screen interaction function;" Fig. 6A-2, 6C, 6D; ¶: 0157-0159];
“and in response to determining that the currently running application supports the screen interaction function, acquiring the image to be interacted with based on a current interface of the currently running application” [Liu; In at least the paragraphs and figures cited, Liu further teaches that, if an application supports extend-screen display functionality such as the gallery application, the screen may display the currently running gallery application in the full-screen mode depicted for example in Fig. 6C; Fig. 6A-2, 6C, 6D; ¶: 0157-0159];
“or in response to determining that the currently running application does not support the screen interaction function, determining an application to be selected that supports the screen interaction function and that is on the vehicle-mounted screen corresponding to the sending screen area, and acquiring the image to be interacted with based on the application to be selected” [Liu; In at least the paragraphs and figures cited, Liu further teaches that, if an application does NOT support extend-screen display functionality such as the music application, the screen may instead display a standard user interface (denoted 26 in Fig. 6D) directly from the mobile device used to provide the input, wherein the disclosed standard user interface has been interpreted as patentably indistinct from the Applicant's broadly recited "application to be selected that supports the screen interaction function and that is on the vehicle-mounted screen corresponding to the sending screen area;" Fig. 6A-2, 6C, 6D; ¶: 0157-0159].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system/method for controlling multiple display screens using hand gestures on an input screen as disclosed by Rui to incorporate the teachings regarding determining a screen extension capability of a selected app to cast to a second display as taught by Liu with a reasonable expectation of success. By combining these inventions, the outcome is a system/method for controlling multiple display screens using hand gestures on an input screen that is more robust in its ability to provide the user with modular display capabilities for various applications such that after mirroring the intended display from the sending device to the receiving device, the sending device may be subsequently used for other operations without interrupting the running application [Liu; ¶: 0003-0006].
With respect to claim 15, Rui does not specifically state:
“wherein the moving the image to be interacted with from the sending screen area to the receiving screen area in response to the moving instruction, to display the mirror image of the application to be interacted with on the vehicle-mounted screen corresponding to the receiving screen area comprises: moving the image to be interacted with from the sending screen area to the receiving screen area in response to the moving instruction, and acquiring a current application state corresponding to the application to be interacted with;”
“and in response to that the current application state is a running state, displaying the mirror image of the application to be interacted with corresponding to the image to be interacted with; or in response to that the current application state is not a running state, controlling the vehicle- mounted screen corresponding to the sending screen area to run the application to be interacted with, and displaying the mirror image of the application to be interacted with corresponding to the image to be interacted with.”
Liu teaches:
“wherein the moving the image to be interacted with from the sending screen area to the receiving screen area in response to the moving instruction, to display the mirror image of the application to be interacted with on the vehicle- mounted screen corresponding to the receiving screen area comprises: moving the image to be interacted with from the sending screen area to the receiving screen area in response to the moving instruction, and acquiring a current application state corresponding to the application to be interacted with” [Liu; In at least the paragraphs and figures cited, Liu teaches a method for interacting with a mobile phone in order to display applications on a separate screen by first determining if the selected application is currently running (see for example ¶: 0162 - "when the mobile phone 100 determines that the mobile phone 100 currently does not run the application 1 in the Display0, the mobile phone 100 starts a user interface 1 of the application 1 in the Display1"); ¶: 0160-0165];
“and in response to that the current application state is a running state, displaying the mirror image of the application to be interacted with corresponding to the image to be interacted with; or in response to that the current application state is not a running state, controlling the vehicle- mounted screen corresponding to the sending screen area to run the application to be interacted with, and displaying the mirror image of the application to be interacted with corresponding to the image to be interacted with” [Liu; Liu further teaches that after starting the selected application, the application is further projected onto the second display screen accordingly. The above citations have been interpreted as patentably indistinct from the Applicant's broadly recited "and in response to that the current application state is a running state, displaying the mirror image of the application to be interacted with corresponding to the image to be interacted with; or in response to that the current application state is not a running state, controlling the vehicle- mounted screen corresponding to the sending screen area to run the application to be interacted with, and displaying the mirror image of the application to be interacted with corresponding to the image to be interacted with;" ¶: 0160-0165].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system/method for controlling multiple display screens using hand gestures on an input screen as disclosed by Rui to incorporate the teachings regarding determining a screen extension capability of a selected app to cast to a second display as taught by Liu with a reasonable expectation of success. By combining these inventions, the outcome is a system/method for controlling multiple display screens using hand gestures on an input screen that is more robust in its ability to provide the user with modular display capabilities for various applications such that after mirroring the intended display from the sending device to the receiving device, the sending device may be subsequently used for other operations without interrupting the running application [Liu; ¶: 0003-0006].
With respect to claim 19, Rui does not specifically state:
“wherein the acquiring the image to be interacted with in the sending screen area comprises: determining a currently running application on a vehicle-mounted screen corresponding to the sending screen area, and determining whether the currently running application supports a screen interaction function;”
“and in response to determining that the currently running application supports the screen interaction function, acquiring the image to be interacted with based on a current interface of the currently running application;”
“or in response to determining that the currently running application does not support the screen interaction function, determining an application to be selected that supports the screen interaction function and that is on the vehicle-mounted screen corresponding to the sending screen area, and acquiring the image to be interacted with based on the application to be selected.”
Liu, which is in the same field of invention of control systems/methods for interacting between an input unit and an output display, teaches:
“wherein the acquiring the image to be interacted with in the sending screen area comprises: determining a currently running application on a vehicle-mounted screen corresponding to the sending screen area, and determining whether the currently running application supports a screen interaction function” [Liu; In at least the paragraphs and figures cited, Liu teaches a method for interacting with a mobile phone in order to display applications on a separate screen by first determining if the selected application supports extend-screen display functionality, which has been interpreted as patentably indistinct from the Applicant's broadly recited "screen interaction function;" Fig. 6A-2, 6C, 6D; ¶: 0157-0159];
“and in response to determining that the currently running application supports the screen interaction function, acquiring the image to be interacted with based on a current interface of the currently running application” [Liu; In at least the paragraphs and figures cited, Liu further teaches that, if an application supports extend-screen display functionality such as the gallery application, the screen may display the currently running gallery application in the full-screen mode depicted for example in Fig. 6C; Fig. 6A-2, 6C, 6D; ¶: 0157-0159];
“or in response to determining that the currently running application does not support the screen interaction function, determining an application to be selected that supports the screen interaction function and that is on the vehicle-mounted screen corresponding to the sending screen area, and acquiring the image to be interacted with based on the application to be selected” [Liu; In at least the paragraphs and figures cited, Liu further teaches that, if an application does NOT support extend-screen display functionality such as the music application, the screen may instead display a standard user interface (denoted 26 in Fig. 6D) directly from the mobile device used to provide the input, wherein the disclosed standard user interface has been interpreted as patentably indistinct from the Applicant's broadly recited "application to be selected that supports the screen interaction function and that is on the vehicle-mounted screen corresponding to the sending screen area;" Fig. 6A-2, 6C, 6D; ¶: 0157-0159].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system/method for controlling multiple display screens using hand gestures on an input screen as disclosed by Rui to incorporate the teachings regarding determining a screen extension capability of a selected app to cast to a second display as taught by Liu with a reasonable expectation of success. By combining these inventions, the outcome is a system/method for controlling multiple display screens using hand gestures on an input screen that is more robust in its ability to provide the user with modular display capabilities for various applications such that after mirroring the intended display from the sending device to the receiving device, the sending device may be subsequently used for other operations without interrupting the running application [Liu; ¶: 0003-0006].
Claim(s) 6 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rui in view of Nan et al. (United States Patent Publication 2013/0219343 A1) referenced as Nan moving forward.
With respect to claim 6, Rui does not specifically state:
“wherein the moving the image to be interacted with from the sending screen area to the receiving screen area in response to a moving instruction, to display the mirror image of the application to be interacted with on the vehicle-mounted screen corresponding to the receiving screen area comprises: moving the image to be interacted with from the sending screen area to the receiving screen area in response to the moving instruction, and detecting whether the image to be interacted with is within an effective range of the receiving screen area;”
“and in response to that the image to be interacted with is within the effective range of the receiving screen area, displaying the mirror image of the application to be interacted with on the vehicle-mounted screen corresponding to the receiving screen area;”
“or in response to that the image to be interacted with is not within the effective range of the receiving screen area, returning the image to be interacted with to the sending screen area.”
Nan, which is in the same field of invention of control systems/methods for interacting between an input unit and an output display, teaches:
“wherein the moving the image to be interacted with from the sending screen area to the receiving screen area in response to a moving instruction, to display the mirror image of the application to be interacted with on the vehicle-mounted screen corresponding to the receiving screen area comprises: moving the image to be interacted with from the sending screen area to the receiving screen area in response to the moving instruction, and detecting whether the image to be interacted with is within an effective range of the receiving screen area” [Nan; In at least the paragraphs and figurers cited Nan teaches a control method for operating a touch-screen device that comprises a series of immersive interfaces, such as the Example presented by the Fig. 19 and 20. Nan further teaches that a user selects a desired application from a list, such as the list of selectable applications denoted by user interface 2002 in Fig. 20, which the Examiner has interpreted as patentably indistinct from the Applicant's broadly recited "sending screen area." Nan then teaches that the user may perform a gesture (such as a drag operation) on the selected application, and in response the system presents an enlarged thumbnail of the selected application, such as the example thumbnail, 1602 denoted in Fig. 16), wherein the enlarged thumbnail at the edge of the interface 304(Fig. 16) has been interpreted as patentably indistinct from the Applicant's broadly recited "receiving screen area." Fig. 6 discloses further information pertaining to the region distribution of the touch-screen display; Fig. 6, 16, 19, 20; ¶: 0059, 0110-0124];
“and in response to that the image to be interacted with is within the effective range of the receiving screen area, displaying the mirror image of the application to be interacted with on the vehicle-mounted screen corresponding to the receiving screen area” [Nan; In at least the paragraphs and figurers cited Nan further teaches that once the user completes the above recited drag restore and lifts their finger the selected application may enlarge and populate the user interface (304 in Fig. 16) with an enlarged version of the previously recited thumbnail (1602 in Fig. 16), which has been interpreted as patentably indistinct from the Applicant's broadly recited "displaying the mirror image of the application to be interacted with on the vehicle-mounted screen corresponding to the receiving screen area;" Fig. 6, 16, 19, 20; ¶: 0059, 0110-0124];
“or in response to that the image to be interacted with is not within the effective range of the receiving screen area, returning the image to be interacted with to the sending screen area” [Nan; This claim limitation does not require prior art mapping in order for the cited reference to teach the claimed invention due to use of the alternative "or" operator].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system/method for controlling multiple display screens using hand gestures on an input screen as disclosed by Rui to incorporate the teachings regarding recognizing drag gestures and subsequently projecting a display based on a recognized drag gesture with respect to the position of the gesture and various regions of an input screen as taught by Nan with a reasonable expectation of success. By combining these inventions, the outcome is a system/method for controlling multiple display screens using hand gestures on an input screen that is more robust in its ability to enable selection of this user interface through a simple gesture that is both easy-to-use and remember to prevent known issues pertaining to user making accidental selections [Nan; ¶: 0002, 0003].
With respect to claim 14, Rui does not specifically state:
“wherein the moving the image to be interacted with from the sending screen area to the receiving screen area in response to a moving instruction, to display the mirror image of the application to be interacted with on the vehicle-mounted screen corresponding to the receiving screen area comprises: moving the image to be interacted with from the sending screen area to the receiving screen area in response to the moving instruction, and detecting whether the image to be interacted with is within an effective range of the receiving screen area;”
“and in response to that the image to be interacted with is within the effective range of the receiving screen area, displaying the mirror image of the application to be interacted with on the vehicle-mounted screen corresponding to the receiving screen area;”
“or in response to that the image to be interacted with is not within the effective range of the receiving screen area, returning the image to be interacted with to the sending screen area.”
Nan teaches:
“wherein the moving the image to be interacted with from the sending screen area to the receiving screen area in response to a moving instruction, to display the mirror image of the application to be interacted with on the vehicle-mounted screen corresponding to the receiving screen area comprises: moving the image to be interacted with from the sending screen area to the receiving screen area in response to the moving instruction, and detecting whether the image to be interacted with is within an effective range of the receiving screen area” [Nan; In at least the paragraphs and figurers cited Nan teaches a control method for operating a touch-screen device that comprises a series of immersive interfaces, such as the Example presented by the Fig. 19 and 20. Nan further teaches that a user selects a desired application from a list, such as the list of selectable applications denoted by user interface 2002 in Fig. 20, which the Examiner has interpreted as patentably indistinct from the Applicant's broadly recited "sending screen area." Nan then teaches that the user may perform a gesture (such as a drag operation) on the selected application, and in response the system presents an enlarged thumbnail of the selected application, such as the example thumbnail, 1602 denoted in Fig. 16), wherein the enlarged thumbnail at the edge of the interface 304(Fig. 16) has been interpreted as patentably indistinct from the Applicant's broadly recited "receiving screen area." Fig. 6 discloses further information pertaining to the region distribution of the touch-screen display; Fig. 6, 16, 19, 20; ¶: 0059, 0110-0124];
“and in response to that the image to be interacted with is within the effective range of the receiving screen area, displaying the mirror image of the application to be interacted with on the vehicle-mounted screen corresponding to the receiving screen area” [Nan; In at least the paragraphs and figurers cited Nan further teaches that once the user completes the above recited drag restore and lifts their finger the selected application may enlarge and populate the user interface (304 in Fig. 16) with an enlarged version of the previously recited thumbnail (1602 in Fig. 16), which has been interpreted as patentably indistinct from the Applicant's broadly recited "displaying the mirror image of the application to be interacted with on the vehicle-mounted screen corresponding to the receiving screen area;" Fig. 6, 16, 19, 20; ¶: 0059, 0110-0124];
“or in response to that the image to be interacted with is not within the effective range of the receiving screen area, returning the image to be interacted with to the sending screen area” [Nan; This claim limitation does not require prior art mapping in order for the cited reference to teach the claimed invention due to use of the alternative "or" operator].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system/method for controlling multiple display screens using hand gestures on an input screen as disclosed by Rui to incorporate the teachings regarding recognizing drag gestures and subsequently projecting a display based on a recognized drag gesture with respect to the position of the gesture and various regions of an input screen as taught by Nan with a reasonable expectation of success. By combining these inventions, the outcome is a system/method for controlling multiple display screens using hand gestures on an input screen that is more robust in its ability to enable selection of this user interface through a simple gesture that is both easy-to-use and remember to prevent known issues pertaining to user making accidental selections [Nan; ¶: 0002, 0003].
Prior Art (Not relied upon)
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the attached form 892.
PARK et al. (United States Patent Publication 2012/0208466 A1) discloses: A method of facilitating communications between a mobile terminal and a display device includes determining an orientation of a mobile terminal with respect to a display device that is physically distinct of the mobile terminal, and determining a manner in which wireless content data is to be communicated between the display device and the mobile terminal. The method includes wirelessly transmitting the content data between the display device and the mobile terminal based on the determined manner. The determined manner of the communication can be based on determining whether the mobile terminal faces a display screen of the display device for wirelessly transmitting the content data from the mobile terminal to the display device or determining whether the mobile terminal faces away from the display screen of the display device for wirelessly transmitting the content data from the display device to the mobile terminal.
Bharadwaj (United States Patent Publication 2018/0129519 A1) discloses: Embodiments herein achieve a method for emulating an application running in a secondary device on a primary device. The method includes receiving, by the primary device, information of an event associated with the application running in the secondary device. Further, the method includes emulating, by the primary device, a graphical representation of the application running in the secondary device based on the information of the event. Furthermore, the method includes displaying, by the primary device, the graphical representation of the application running in the secondary device.
RUSH et al. (United States Patent Publication 2020/0218487 A1) discloses: Systems and methods for selecting a control mode to launch an application in a vehicle are described. For one embodiment, a system for selecting control modes for launching applications in a vehicle with a dashboard screen can include a computing device embedded in the vehicle, the computing device connected to the dashboard screen and a control display; and an operating system installed on the computing device, the operating system running a multi-display controller and one or more applications. The multi-display controller is to receive a request from the control display for launching an application, determine a control mode used to launch the application based on an integration level indicator of the application, and launch the application in the determined control mode. A metabar and a global widget can be created on top of the dashboard screen. The metabar is permanently displayed across the dashboard screen, and can contain environmental and driving-related information. The global widget appears contextually in response to a state change of a system component in the vehicle.
He (United States Patent Publication 2023/0342105 A1) discloses: A display method comprises a first device projecting a first window interface to a second device after receiving a screen projection instruction entered by a user. The first device receives an instruction for running a second window interface, and may send a task identity of the second window interface and a security protection instruction to the second device after determining that the second window interface includes a security flag bit. Further, the second device displays the first window interface and a security interface, where the security interface is a projected interface of the second window interface.
Chen et al. (United States Patent Publication 2024/0086231 A1) discloses: This application provides a task migration system and method. The system includes a first terminal and a second terminal. The second terminal runs a first application. The first terminal opens a recent task interface after receiving a user operation, where the recent task interface includes an identifier of the second terminal; after receiving a user operation performed on the identifier of the second terminal, displays, in the recent task interface, at least one task card corresponding to an application run by the second terminal in the background; and after receiving a user operation performed on a first task card corresponding to the first application, runs the first application, and displays a first user interface of the first application.
Liu et al. (United States Patent Publication 2024/0184505 A1) discloses: A first electronic device displays a floating window on display content of a home screen. A first user interface is displayed in the floating window, the display content of the home screen is determined based on image data in a home screen display region, and display content of the floating window is determined based on image data in a first extended display region. A first operation on the floating window is detected, and the first electronic device casts, the display content of the floating window to a second electronic device based on the image data in the first extended display region. The first electronic device switches, in response to a first instruction, the display content of the floating window to a second user interface based on an application window run in the first extended display region.
Zheng et al. (United States Patent Publication 2025/0110622 A1) discloses: Embodiments of this application disclose a vehicle cockpit screen operation method and a related device. The method includes: A head unit device obtains attribute information of an operation on a first screen in a plurality of screens in a cockpit; the head unit device determines a second screen from the plurality of screens based on the attribute information; and the head unit device displays a mirror interface of the second screen on the first screen. In embodiments of this application, when different screens in the cockpit need to be operated, only mirrors of the different screens need to be switched, and a user does not need to change a location of the user, thereby improving convenience of an operation on a screen in a vehicle cockpit. In addition, there is no need to add physical hardware to implement operations on the different screens in the cockpit. This can reduce hardware costs.
Conclusion
/RAMI NABIH BEDEWI/Examiner, Art Unit 3666C