DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/27/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Fujita (US 2019/0204592 A1), and alternative embodiments, in view of Sato et al. (US 2017/0320309 A1) in view of Mansfield et al. (US 2023/0126320 A1) in view of Cho et al. (US 2016/0034109 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Fujita discloses a vehicle projection display device ([0024] discloses: 100, HUD) that displays an image ([0008] discloses: system displays an image) by projecting display light from an emission port ([0029] discloses: K, opening portions) onto a projection target member ([0029] discloses: 2, windshield), comprising:
a translucent cover panel ([0033] discloses: 9, cover, made of glass) through which the display light passes ([0033] discloses: 9, cover, allowing image light to pass therethrough), the translucent cover being formed in a plate shape for closing the emission port ([0049] discloses: 9, cover and 11, protection member, are formed of a think plate having a planar shape; therefore considered plate shape; Figure 1 depicts: 9, cover, closing the emission port, K, opening portions) and having an emission surface that emits the display light toward the projection target member (Figure 1 depicts: 9, cover, having emission surface, top surface, that emits light toward 2, windshield, considered the projection target member), first light sources ([0053] discloses: 12a, light emitting element) that emits light, and
the first light source and a sensor ([0053] discloses: 12b, light receiving element) are located so as to be opposed to each other via the emission surface in the width direction (Figure 3 depicts: 12a, light emitting element and 12b, light receiving element, located so as to be opposed to each other, via the emission surface in the width direction, left hand side of Figure 3 to right hand side of Figure 3, i.e., across the width of 9, cover).
Fujita fails to disclose a device wherein a height of the emission surface varying with respect to a front-rear direction of a vehicle; first and second infrared light sources that emit infrared light along the emission surface; and an infrared sensor that can detect the infrared light directly reaching from the first infrared light source and reflected infrared light obtained by reflecting the infrared light from the second infrared light source by an object on the emission surface, wherein the second infrared light source is arranged lateral to the emission surface in a width direction orthogonal to the front-rear direction so as to be aligned with the infrared sensor in the front-rear direction, and is provided corresponding to a position at a first height of the emission surface in the front-rear direction, and are provided corresponding to a position at a second height, which is lower than the first height, of the emission surface in the front-rear direction. Fujita and Sato are related because both disclose head up displays.
Sato teaches a device wherein a height of the emission surface varying with respect to a front-rear direction of a vehicle ([0025] teaches: light transmissive cover has a curved surface such that the vehicle back side is higher than the vehicle front side, thus wherein a height of the emission surface varying with respect to a front-rear direction of a vehicle). Fujita and Mansfield are related because both disclose optical devices.
Mansfeld, in an analogous art of infrared emitters, teaches first ([0051] teaches: 8, second emitter, configured to emit infrared light) and second infrared light sources ([0051] teaches: 7, first emitter, configured to emit infrared light) that emit infrared light along the emission surface ([0054] teaches: object within the monitored environment, considered the infrared target, analogous to the emission surface); and
an infrared sensor ([0054] teaches: 9, receiver) that can detect the infrared light directly reaching from the first infrared light source ([0054] teaches: 9, receiver, configured to receive light without reflection by an object within the environment from 8, second emitter) and reflected infrared light obtained by reflecting the infrared light from the second infrared light source by an object on the emission surface ([0054] teaches: 9, receiver, configured to receive light emitted by 7, first emitter after refection by an object within monitored environment).
Fujita in an alternative embodiment teaches a device wherein the second infrared (Mansfield teaches the sources are infrared) light source is arranged lateral to the emission surface in a width direction orthogonal to the front-rear direction so as to be aligned with the infrared sensor in the front-rear direction ([0059] teaches: the light emitting element and light receiving elements may be arranged at small intervals along short sides facing each other of the connecting portion; Examiner notes that direction Y is expressly the vehicle driving direction, so X is the transverse/vehicle width direction, arranging the pairs at the short sides therefore places the element laterally on opposite sides in the width direction), and is provided corresponding to a position at a first height of the emission surface in the front-rear direction (Figure 4 depicts: 8, connecting portion that houses the alternate embodiment of the light source elements, arranged corresponding to a position at a first height of the HUD and therefore corresponding to a height of the top side of 9, cover). Fujita and Cho are related because both disclose optical display devices.
Cho teaches a device wherein the first infrared light source and the infrared sensor are provided corresponding to a position at a second height, which is lower than the first height, of the emission surface in the front-rear direction (Figure 10 and [0138]-[0140] teaches: 910, surface overlay, curved in Y axis direction, with a plurality of IR emitters and plurality of IR receivers continuously along the same Y-axis direction; Examiner notes that Cho places opposed IR source/receiver pairs at multiple positions along the direction in which the sensing surface changes its position/height; therefore, the opposed infrared light source and infrared sensor are provided at each respective position corresponding to different portions/heights of the curved surface).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fujita in view of Sato, Mansfield, an alternative embodiment of Fujita and Cho and provide a device wherein a height of the emission surface varying with respect to a front-rear direction of a vehicle; first and second infrared light sources that emit infrared light along the emission surface; and an infrared sensor that can detect the infrared light directly reaching from the first infrared light source and reflected infrared light obtained by reflecting the infrared light from the second infrared light source by an object on the emission surface, wherein the second infrared light source is arranged lateral to the emission surface in a width direction orthogonal to the front-rear direction so as to be aligned with the infrared sensor in the front-rear direction, and is provided corresponding to a position at a first height of the emission surface in the front-rear direction, and are provided corresponding to a position at a second height, which is lower than the first height, of the emission surface in the front-rear direction. Doing so would allow for complementary transmission type and reflection type object detection while utilizing a common receiver, thereby improving object detection coverage while reducing duplication of sensing components.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Fujita (US 2019/0204592 A1), and alternative embodiments, in view of Sato et al. (US 2017/0320309 A1) in view of Mansfield et al. (US 2023/0126320 A1) in view of Cho et al. (US 2016/0034109 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Sobecki et al. (US 2023/0131471 A1).
Regarding claim 2, the modified Fujita discloses the vehicle projection display device according to claim 1.
Fujita fails to disclose wherein the first infrared light source emits the infrared light having a higher directivity than the infrared light from the second infrared light source. Fujita and Sobecki are related because both disclose optical systems.
Sobecki teaches wherein the first infrared light source emits the infrared light having a higher directivity than the infrared light from the second infrared light source ([0017] teaches: wider beam set of LED’s and marrow beam set of LED’s; [0056] teaches: infrared light emitting diodes).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fujita in view of Sobecki and provide wherein the first infrared light source emits the infrared light having a higher directivity than the infrared light from the second infrared light source. Doing so would allow for the first infrared light source to direct infrared light toward the opposed infrared sensor with a relatively narrow beam while allowing the second infrared light source to illuminate a broader region for reflection-based object detection, thereby improving the reliability and coverage of the respective detection paths.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Fujita (US 2019/0204592 A1), and alternative embodiments, in view of Sato et al. (US 2017/0320309 A1) in view of Mansfield et al. (US 2023/0126320 A1) in view of Cho et al. (US 2016/0034109 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Mandai et al. (US 2023/0258785 A1).
Regarding claim 3, the modified Fujita discloses the vehicle projection display device according to claim 1.
Fujita fails to disclose a device wherein the second infrared light source and the infrared sensor are mounted on a common substrate. Fujita and Mandai are related because both disclose optical system.
Mandai teaches a device wherein the second infrared light source and the infrared sensor are mounted on a common substrate ([0030] teaches: light source and light detector, on a common substrate).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fujita in view of Mandai and provide a device wherein the second infrared light source and the infrared sensor are mounted on a common substrate. Doing so would allow for the emitter and detector to be integrated into a common sensing assembly, thereby simplifying packaging and maintaining a predetermined spatial relationship between the optical components.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Fujita (US 2019/0204592 A1), and alternative embodiments, in view of Sato et al. (US 2017/0320309 A1) in view of Mansfield et al. (US 2023/0126320 A1) in view of Cho et al. (US 2016/0034109 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Choi et al. (US 2012/0127141 A1)
Regarding claim 4, the modified Fujita discloses the vehicle projection display device according to claim 1.
Fujita fails to disclose a device further comprising a case surrounding an outer periphery of the cover panel, wherein the case includes infrared transmitting portions, each configured to transmit infrared light therethrough. Fujita and Choi are related because both disclose optical systems.
Choi teaches a device further comprising a case surrounding an outer periphery of the cover panel (Figure 1 depicts: 1b, bezel par, considered the part of case, surround an outer periphery of 1a, display part, considered the cover panel), wherein the case includes infrared transmitting portions, each configured to transmit infrared light therethrough ([0057] teaches: 33, side surface part of 30, side case, transmits infrared light; thus teaching a case having infrared transmitting portions configured to transmit infrared light therethrough).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fujita in view of Choi and provide a device further comprising a case surrounding an outer periphery of the cover panel, wherein the case includes infrared transmitting portions, each configured to transmit infrared light therethrough. Doing so would allow for the infrared light sources and infrared sensor to remain protected and supported by the surrounding case while permitting infrared light to pass through the case, thereby improving packaging and protection of the sensing components without obstructing the infrared sensing paths.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Fujita (US 2019/0204592 A1), and alternative embodiments, in view of Sato et al. (US 2017/0320309 A1) in view of Mansfield et al. (US 2023/0126320 A1) in view of Cho et al. (US 2016/0034109 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Stent (US 2020/0184669 A1).
Regarding claim 6, the modified Fujita discloses the vehicle projection display device according to claim 1.
Fujita fails to disclose a device further comprising a control unit configured to control the first and second infrared light sources to emit infrared light at different timings. Fujita and Stent are related because both disclose optical systems.
Stent teaches a device further comprising a control unit configured to control the first and second infrared light sources to emit infrared light at different timings ([0041] teaches: controller to activate infrared illumination source, and a first infrared illumination source may be configured to operate while a second infrared source is deactivated; thus a control unit configured to control the first and second infrared light sources to emit infrared light at different timings).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fujita in view of Stent and provide a device further comprising a control unit configured to control the first and second infrared light sources to emit infrared light at different timings. Doing so would allow for the respective infrared emissions to be temporarily distinguished by the sensing system, thereby reducing interference between the infrared light sources and improving identification of the infrared light associated with each sensing path.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 5, the prior art fails to teach or suggest “wherein the infrared transmitting portions include a first infrared transmitting portion, a second infrared transmitting portion, and a third infrared transmitting portion each configured to transmit infrared light therethrough, wherein the first infrared light source is disposed outside the case so as to face the first infrared-transmitting portion, the infrared sensor is disposed outside the case so as to face the second infrared-transmitting portion, and the second infrared light source is disposed outside the case so as to face the third infrared- transmitting portion” along with the other structural limitations positively recited in claims 5, 4 and 1 in a manner that would support a rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 102 or § 103, based on the prior art of record and the search requirements of MPEP § 904.
Regarding claim 7, the prior art fails to teach or suggest “cause the second infrared light source to emit the infrared light at a second timing among the different timings, the second timing being different from the first timing, in response to determining that the object is not present between the infrared sensor and the first infrared light source” along with the other structural limitations positively recited in claims 7, 4 and 1 in a manner that would support a rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 102 or § 103, based on the prior art of record and the search requirements of MPEP § 904.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Nakamura et al. (US 2002/0166273 A1) and Koseki et al. (US 2015/0146299 A1) both disclose relevant optical systems but fails to remedy the deficiencies of the prior art.
John Sipes
Examiner
Art Unit 2872
/J.C.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BUMSUK WON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872