DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Lafarre et al (US 2013/0077065) in view of Ottens et al (U.S.Pat. 9,188,882 B2).
With respect to claims 1, 7 and 15, Lafarre discloses a wafer stage (figure 7) comprising: a wafer stage to position an immersion hood over a first particle capture area (35) in the wafer stage; moving the wafer stage to position the immersion hood over a second particle capture area (31) in the wafer stage (see col.7, lines 40-45). Lafarre further discloses a plurality of sensors (such as: a first sensor ) positioned for accurately positioning the wafer (W) onto the wafer stage (see paragraph [0053]).
As to claims 2-6 and 8-12 and 19-20, the wafer stage is configured to move the wafer (W) in the X-Y and Z directions (see figure 1). In the broadest sense, these directions (X-Y and Z) can be considered as the first, second routing tracks as recited in the claims. Thus, Ottens discloses substantially all of the limitations of the instant claims. Lafarre does not expressly disclose moving the wafer stage to position the immersion hood over the sensors and to define the routing tracks over the particle capture area and to position the immersion hood over an area of receiving wafer on the wafer stage, or to align a position of the immersion hood relative to the wafer stage as recited in the claims. Ottens discloses an immersion exposure apparatus having an immersion hood/a liquid confinement structure (12) placed over a wafer stage. Ottens teaches moving the wafer stage with respect to a structure in a first, second and third directions and with respect to the immersion hood/liquid confinement structure (see claims 1-5 of Ottens). In view of such teachings, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to move the wafer stage of Lafarre in the first and second routing tracks with respect to the immersion hood as well as to calibrate the position of the immersion hood relative to the wafer stage as suggested by Ottens. The purpose of doing so would have been to properly expose a desired pattern onto the substrate as intended.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,092,958 (“Lee”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are directed to substantially the same inventive concept of controlling an immersion lithography wafer stage by positioning an immersion hood over one or more particle capture areas and moving the wafer stage to define a routing track over the particle capture area before wafer processing, thereby reducing particles prior art to lithographic exposure (for example see claim 1 of Lee).
Specifically, Lee teaches positioning the immersion hood over a sensor, positioning the immersion hood over a particle capture are, moving the wafer stage such that the immersion hood traverses the particle capture area long a routing track, and thereafter proceeding with wafer processing. Lee further teaches that the routing track may assume various configurations and that the immersion hood may subsequently be positioned for wafer processing following the particle removal operation. It is noted that the instant claims are written somewhat more broadly than the patented claims, the differences therefore do not render the claimed invention patentably distinct. For example, whereas the patented claims recite first and second particle capture areas and corresponding sensors, the instant claims broadly reticle only a first particle capture area and a first sensor. Likewise, the instant claims omit certain structural and operational limitations present in the patented claims. These omissions merely broaden the scope of protection sought and would have been obvious modifications of the patented invention rather than a distinct inventive concept.
Independent claim 9 additionally recites flowing immersion fluid during definition of the routing track. Lee likewise teaches supplying immersion fluid while the immersion hood traverses the particles the particle capture area and controlling the immersion fluid during the cleaning operation. Accordingly, this limitation merely recites an obvious operational implementation of the patented process.
Independent claim 15 further recites patterning the wafer after the routing operation. Lee likewise performs the routing operation as part of an immersion lithography process preceding wafer exposure. Incorporating the conventional wafer patterning step following the routine operation merely defines the intended lithographic use of the cleaned wafer stage and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Dependent claims 2-8 and 10-20 merely recite particular routing geometries, flow parameters, recycling operations, stage speeds, wavelengths, vacuum chuck operation, and other implementation details that constitute obvious variations or routine optimization of the patented process and therefore likewise fail to define a patentably distinct invention.
Accordingly, claims 1-20 of the instant application are rejected under the doctrine of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,092,958 B2.
HUNG HENRY NGUYEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2882
Hvn
7/28/26
/HUNG V NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882