DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dezelah [US 20220181148] in view of Madhiwala [US 20230140367].
Claim 1: Dezelah teaches a method for depositing silicon nitride [title], wherein the method comprise placing the substrate on a susceptor in a reaction chamber [Fig. 3; 0075]; wherein the substrate comprises a trench [Fig. 2]; and introducing a silicon precursor into the reaction space [0006]; exposing the substrate to nitrogen containing gas to purge excess silicon precursor and by products [0030; 0038]. Dezelah further teaches the substrate is moved between sections, wherein there may be provided at least two section of a half reaction can take place and then moved to second half reaction zone to form the silicon nitride on the substrate and that this sequence may be repeated [0031]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to repeat the cycle of supplying the silicon precursor and purging step for a second time since the prior art teaches such technique can be desired. Dezelah also teaches exposing the substrate to reactive species generated by a plasma from nitrogen containing gas [0006]; and purging the substrate after supplying the plasma [0027]. However, Dezelah does not explicitly teach providing a first pulse of silicon precursor, purge and a second pulse of silicon precursor and purge. Madhiwala is provided.
Madhiwala teaches a method of depositing a silicon containing film [abstract], wherein the silicon precursor may be provided in multiple shorter pulses such as 2 to 30 pulses [0122] and purging may be provide after two silicon precursors [0122]. Madhiwala further teaches that these subcycles may be repeated two or more times [0023]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that two pulses of silicon precursor would lie within the teaching of two precursors pulses that do not react with each other and supplying the purge thereafter two pulses of silicon since Madhiwala teaches these deposition process schemes are operable and already known in the art.
Claim 2: Dezelah teaches the nitrogen-containing gas is provided continuously [0047].
Claims 3-4: Dezelah teaches introducing a hydrogen gas prior to the plasma step [0048] and can be provided continuously [0046].
Claim 5: Dezelah teaches the steps can be repeated a number of times to reach a desired thickness and coverage [0031]. Madhiwala teaches it is also known and operable to provide a process with continuous plasma [0076], wherein the plasma may be hydrogen gas plasma [0058]. Although Madhiwala does not explicitly teach introducing the plasma before step b, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select from a finite number of order in which the plasma, such as before step b, after step b, or at the same time as step b.
Claim 6: Dezelah teaches the silicon precursor can have a formula comprising SiH.sub.3X, wherein X is iodine or bromine [0007] such as SiH3l [0039].
Claim 7: Dezelah teaches the temperature may be between 200-400 degrees C [0058], where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (See MPEP 2144.05.I).
Claim 8: Dezelah teaches the pressure can be from 10-25 Torr [0060], where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (See MPEP 2144.05.I).
Claim 9: Dezelah teaches the RF power can be from 50-1000 W [0054], where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (See MPEP 2144.05.I).
Claim 10: Dezelah teaches the silicon nitride layer can have a step coverage greater than 98%, where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (See MPEP 2144.05.I).
Claim 11: although Dezelah does not explicitly teach the conformality ratio of thickness as claimed in claim 11, Dezelah does teaches it is desirable for the SiN to be deposited conformally on high aspect ratios to avoid voids [0024]; therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the conformality ratio of thickness in order to provide a conformal film on high aspect ratio structures without voids.
Claims 12 and 14: Dezelah teaches the silicon precursor may be provided between 0.01-0.05 seconds [0040], where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (See MPEP 2144.05.I).
Claims 13, 15 and 17: Dezelah teaches the purging times may range from 0.2 to 10 seconds [0043], where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (See MPEP 2144.05.I).
Claim 16: Dezelah teaches the duration for nitrogen plasma may range from 0.01 to 5 seconds [0052].
Claim 18: Dezelah teaches a substrate processing apparatus to perform claim 1 [Fig. 3; 0084].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 1-18 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. US 12494361 in view of Dezelah and Medhiwala. The related patent does not appear to teach the substrate comprises a trench. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a substrate with a trench for depositing silicon nitride since Dezelah teaches such substrate is suitable for depositing silicon nitride layers. Dezelah does not explicitly teach providing a first pulse of silicon precursor, purge and a second pulse of silicon precursor and purge. Madhiwala is provided.
Madhiwala teaches a method of depositing a silicon containing film [abstract], wherein the silicon precursor may be provided in multiple shorter pulses such as 2 to 30 pulses [0122] and purging may be provide after two silicon precursors [0122]. Madhiwala further teaches that these subcycles may be repeated two or more times [0023]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that two pulses of silicon precursor would lie within the teaching of two precursors pulses that do not react with each other and supplying the purge thereafter two pulses of silicon since Madhiwala teaches these deposition process schemes are operable and already known in the art.
Claims 1-18 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/610654 in view of Dezelah and Medhiwala. The related patent application does not appear to teach the substrate comprises a trench. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a substrate with a trench for depositing silicon nitride since Dezelah teaches such substrate is suitable for depositing silicon nitride layers. Dezelah does not explicitly teach providing a first pulse of silicon precursor, purge and a second pulse of silicon precursor and purge. Madhiwala is provided.
Madhiwala teaches a method of depositing a silicon containing film [abstract], wherein the silicon precursor may be provided in multiple shorter pulses such as 2 to 30 pulses [0122] and purging may be provide after two silicon precursors [0122]. Madhiwala further teaches that these subcycles may be repeated two or more times [0023]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that two pulses of silicon precursor would lie within the teaching of two precursors pulses that do not react with each other and supplying the purge thereafter two pulses of silicon since Madhiwala teaches these deposition process schemes are operable and already known in the art.
This is a provisional obviousness-type double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/MANDY C LOUIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718