DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgement is made that the instant application is a continuation of application PCT/EP2023/074063, filed on 9/1/2023, which claims priority from DE102022209869.2, filed on 9/20/2022.
Claim Objections
Claims 14, 17, 18, and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 14, lines 3-4, “a a cylindrical” should be changed to --a cylindrical-- to remove the repeated article.
Claim 17, line 1, “Optical system” should be changed to --An optical system-- to correct the missing article.
Claim 18, line 9, “the projection.” should be changed to --the projection optical unit-- to correct antecedence.
Claim 20, line 2, “the optical element” should be changed to --the optical component-- to correct antecedence.
Appropriate correction is required to place claims in better form.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ikeda (JP2005-317675, cited by 3/11/2025 IDS with accompanying English translation, referenced below).
Regarding claim 1, Ikeda discloses a holding device configured to hold an optical component comprising an optical surface with a polygonal border, the optical component comprising a cylindrical substrate body with a cylinder lateral wall with a polygonal cross section corresponding to the polygonal border of the optical surface (Figs. 1-8, abstract, pages 6 and 8 of English translation, a hexagonal lens assembly 14 is supported in a holding frame, and the hexagonal lens assembly 14 includes a cylinder lateral wall (see Figs. 2 and 4)), the holding device comprising:
a holding frame (Figs. 1-8, pg. 8, lens assembly 14 is supported by holding frame 15);
at least two bearing bodies configured to make bearing contact with the lateral wall of the substrate body via bearing portions of the lateral wall (Figs. 1-8, abstract, pgs. 8-9, and 11, the holding frame 15 comprises positioning members 16 to make contact with the walls of the hexagonal lens assembly 14); and
at least two pressing bodies configured to exert bearing pressures acting on the substrate body from opposite directions (Figs. 1-8, abstract, pgs. 8-9, and 11, the positioning members 16 include pressure blocks 30 and adjusting members 32 to exert pressures from opposing directions).
Regarding claim 2, Ikeda discloses wherein the at least two pressing bodies are configured to press directly on the lateral wall of the substrate body (Figs. 1-8, abstract, pgs. 8-9, and 11, the pressure blocks 30 and adjusting members 32 directly press the walls of the hexagonal lens assembly 14).
Regarding claim 3, Ikeda discloses wherein the at least two pressing bodies press on the lateral wall of the substrate body via assigned bearing portions of the lateral wall of the substrate body in one and the same cross-sectional plane (Figs. 1-8, abstract, pgs. 8-9, and 11, pressure blocks 30 and adjusting members 32 press the outer lateral wall of the hexagonal lens assembly 14 in the same plane).
Regarding claim 4, Ikeda discloses comprising exactly three pressing bodies (Figs. 3-4, pgs. 8-9, and 11, three positioning members 16 with pressure block 30 and two adjustment members 32a, 32b), wherein the exactly three pressing bodies define a holding plane via their assigned bearing portions (Figs. 3-4, pgs. 8-9, 11, the pressure block 30 and two adjustment members 32a, 32b define a holding plane in which they exert pressures on the hexagonal lens assembly 14).
Regarding claim 5, Ikeda discloses wherein the holding plane is perpendicular to a cross-sectional plane of the cylinder lateral wall (Figs. 3-4, pgs. 8-9, 11, the pressure block 30 and two adjustment members 32a, 32b define the holding plane perpendicular to the cross-sectional plane of the lateral wall of the hexagonal lens assembly 14).
Regarding claim 6, Ikeda discloses comprising exactly three pressing bodies (Figs. 3-4, pgs. 8-9, and 11, three positioning members 16 with pressure block 30 and two adjustment members 32a, 32b), wherein the exactly three pressing bodies define a holding plane via their assigned bearing portions (Figs. 3-4, pgs. 8-9, 11, the pressure block 30 and two adjustment members 32a, 32b define a holding plane in which they exert pressures on the hexagonal lens assembly 14).
Regarding claim 7, Ikeda discloses wherein the holding plane is perpendicular to a cross-section plane of the cylinder lateral wall (Figs. 3-4, pgs. 8-9, 11, the pressure block 30 and two adjustment members 32a, 32b define the holding plane perpendicular to the cross-sectional plane of the lateral wall of the hexagonal lens assembly 14).
Regarding claim 8, Ikeda discloses wherein at least one of the at least two bearing bodies comprises a manipulator (Figs. 1-4, 7, pgs. 3, 9, and 11, adjustment screws 36 move and adjust the adjustment members 32, or 32a, 32b).
Regarding claim 9, Ikeda discloses wherein each of the at least two bearing bodies comprises a manipulator (Figs. 1-4, 7, pgs. 3, 9, and 11, adjustment screws 36 move and adjust the adjustment members 32, or 32a, 32b).
Regarding claim 10, Ikeda discloses wherein: the at least two pressing bodies press on the lateral wall of the substrate body via assigned bearing portions of the lateral wall of the substrate body in one and the same cross-sectional plane (Figs. 1-8, abstract, pgs. 8-9, and 11, pressure blocks 30 and adjusting members 32 press the outer lateral wall of the hexagonal lens assembly 14 in the same plane); and
at least one of the at least two bearing bodies comprises a manipulator (Figs. 1-4, 7, pgs. 3, 9, and 11, adjustment screws 36 move and adjust the adjustment members 32, or 32a, 32b).
Regarding claim 11, Ikeda discloses wherein the at least two bearing bodies comprises three bearing bodies (Figs. 1-8, abstract, pgs. 8-9, and 11, at least three positioning members 16 in Figs. 1, 3, and 7).
Regarding claim 12, Ikeda discloses wherein the three pressing bodies define a holding plane via their assigned bearing portions (Figs. 3-4, pgs. 8-9, 11, the pressure block 30 and two adjustment members 32a, 32b define a holding plane in which they exert pressures on the hexagonal lens assembly 14).
Regarding claim 13, Ikeda discloses wherein the three bearing bodies define a concave contact geometry (Figs. 3-4, pgs. 8-9, 11, three positioning members 16 define concave contact surfaces), and a convex cross-sectional region of the optical component is pressable into the concave contact geometry via the at least one of the at least two pressing bodies (Figs. 3-4, pgs. 8-9, 11, the hexagonal lens assembly 14 includes convex surfaces that contact the surfaces of the three pressure blocs 30 of three positioning members 16).
Regarding claim 14, Ikeda discloses an optical assembly (Figs. 1-8, abstract, pgs. 6 and 8, a hexagonal lens assembly) comprising:
an optical component (Figs. 1-8, abstract, pgs. 6 and 8, a hexagonal lens assembly 14), comprising:
an optical surface with a polygonal border (Figs. 1-8, abstract, pgs. 6 and 8, a hexagonal lens assembly 14); and
a a cylindrical substrate body with a cylinder lateral wall with a polygonal cross section corresponding to the polygonal border of the optical surface (Figs. 1-7, abstract, pgs. 6 and 8, hexagonal lens assembly 14 includes a hexagonal cross-section); and
a holding device (Figs. 1-8, pg. 8, lens assembly 14 is supported by holding frame 15 in the optical apparatus 10), comprising:
a holding frame (Figs. 1-8, pg. 8, lens assembly 14 is supported by holding frame 15);
at least two bearing bodies making bearing contact with the lateral wall of the substrate body via bearing portions of the lateral wall (Figs. 1-8, abstract, pgs. 8-9 and 11, the holding frame 15 comprises positioning members 16 to make contact with the walls of the hexagonal lens assembly 14); and
at least two pressing bodies exerting bearing pressures acting on the substrate body from opposite directions (Figs. 1-8, abstract, pgs. 8-9 and 11, the positioning members 16 include pressure blocks 30 and adjusting members 32 to exert pressures from opposing directions).
Regarding claim 15, Ikeda discloses wherein the at least two pressing bodies press against mutually parallel surfaces of the lateral wall (Figs. 1-7, pgs. 8-9 and 11, the pressure blocks 30 press against parallel sides of the hexagonal lens assembly 14).
Regarding claim 16, Ikeda discloses an optical unit (Figs. 1-8, abstract, pgs. 6 and 8, an exposure apparatus illumination optical apparatus), comprising:
an optical assembly according to claim 14 (see claim 14 rejection above, Figs. 1-8, abstract, pgs. 6 and 8, a hexagonal lens assembly 14),
wherein the optical unit is an illumination optical unit configured to illuminate an object field (Figs. 1-8, abstract, pgs. 3, 6-8, the lens assembly 14 is in the illumination optical device 10 of the illumination optical system 41 configured to illuminate the reticle R in the exposure apparatus).
Regarding claim 17, Ikeda discloses optical system (Figs. 1-8, abstract, pgs. 6-8, an exposure apparatus illumination optical apparatus), comprising:
an illumination optical unit comprising an optical assembly according to claim 14 (see claim 14 rejection above, Figs. 1-8, abstract, pgs. 6-8, illumination optical system 41 comprises a hexagonal lens assembly 14); and
a projection optical unit (Fig. 8, pages 6-7, projection optical system 42),
wherein the illumination optical unit configured to illuminate an object field of the projection optical unit, and the projection optical unit is configured to image the object field into an image field of the projection optical unit (Figs. 1-8, pgs. abstract, pgs. 3, 6-8, the lens assembly 14 is in the illumination optical system 41 configured to illuminate the reticle R. The image of the reticle R is projected by projection optical system 42 onto the wafer W).
Regarding claim 18, Ikeda discloses an illumination system (Figs. 1-8, abstract, pgs. 6-8, an exposure apparatus illumination optical apparatus), comprising:
a light source (Fig. 8, page 7, light source 47);
an optical system (Figs. 1-8, abstract, pgs. 6-8, an exposure apparatus illumination optical apparatus includes illumination optical system 41 and projection optical system 42), comprising:
an illumination optical unit comprising an optical assembly according to claim 14 (see claim 14 rejection above, Figs. 1-8, abstract, pgs. 6-8, illumination optical system 41 comprises a hexagonal lens assembly 14); and
a projection optical unit (Fig. 8, pages 6-7, projection optical system 42),
wherein the illumination optical unit configured to illuminate an object field of the projection optical unit, and the projection optical unit is configured to image the object field onto an image field of the projection (Figs. 1-8, pgs. abstract, pgs. 3, 6-8, the lens assembly 14 is in the illumination optical system 41 configured to illuminate the reticle R. The image of the reticle R is projected by projection optical system 42 onto the wafer W).
Regarding claim 19, Ikeda discloses a projection exposure apparatus (Figs. 1-8, abstract, pgs. 6-8, an exposure apparatus illumination optical apparatus), comprising:
an illumination system (Figs. 1-8, abstract, pgs. 6-8, the exposure apparatus includes the light source 47, illumination optical system 41 comprising illumination optical apparatus 10), comprising:
a light source (Fig. 8, page 7, light source 47);
an optical system (Figs. 1-8, abstract, pgs. 6-8, an exposure apparatus illumination optical apparatus includes illumination optical system 41), comprising:
an illumination optical unit comprising an optical assembly according to claim 14 (see claim 14 rejection above, Figs. 1-8, abstract, pgs. 6-8, illumination optical apparatus 10 comprises a hexagonal lens assembly 14); and
a projection optical unit (Fig. 8, pages 6-7, projection optical system 42),
a first holder configured to hold a first object in an object plane of the projection optical unit (Fig. 8, pgs. 6-7, reticle stage RST holds reticle R on the object side of the projection optical system 42); and
a second holder configured to hold a second object in an image plane of the projection optical unit (Fig. 8, pgs. 6-7, wafer stage WST holds wafer W in the image plane of the projection optical system 42),
wherein the illumination optical unit is configured to illuminate the first object when the first object is in the object field, and the projection optical unit is configured to image the illuminated object in the object field into the second object when the second object is in the image field (Figs. 1-8, pgs. abstract, pgs. 3, 6-8, the lens assembly 14 is in the illumination optical system 41 configured to illuminate the reticle R. The image of the reticle R is projected by projection optical system 42 onto the wafer W).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
Regarding claim 20, the prior art of record, either alone or in combination, fails to teach or render obvious determining an angle between two polygon faces of the cylinder lateral wall; determining a relative position of at least two mutually spaced-apart contact points by which the bearing bodies contact the cylinder lateral wall, one of the bearing bodies making contact with one of the two polygon faces and another one of the bearing bodies making contact with the other one of the two polygon faces, with respect to at least two frame points of the holding device; and determining a relative position of the cross section of the cylinder lateral wall with respect to the holding device from the determined angle and the determined relative position. These limitations in combination with all of the other limitations of the parent claim would render the claim non-obvious over the prior art of record if rewritten.
Ikeda discloses a manipulator that adjusts the bearing bodies (Figs. 1-4, 7, pgs. 3, 9, and 11, adjustment screws 36 move and adjust the adjustment members 32, or 32a, 32b), but Ikeda does not describe or render obvious determining an angle between two polygon faces of the cylinder lateral wall; determining a relative position of at least two mutually spaced-apart contact points by which the bearing bodies contact the cylinder lateral wall, one of the bearing bodies making contact with one of the two polygon faces and another one of the bearing bodies making contact with the other one of the two polygon faces, with respect to at least two frame points of the holding device; and determining a relative position of the cross section of the cylinder lateral wall with respect to the holding device from the determined angle and the determined relative position.
Holderer et al. (DE10255735, cited by 3/11/2025 IDS) discloses a holding frame (Figs. 1-8, reflector bar 8 is supported by support rods 9 and 10); at least two bearing bodies configured to make bearing contact with the lateral wall of the substrate body via bearing portions of the lateral wall (Figs. 1-8, the support rods include wires 11 and 12, and wires 11 contact walls of the reflector bar 8); and at least two pressing bodies configured to exert bearing pressures acting on the substrate body from opposite directions (Figs. 1-8, wires 11 are clamped on either side of the reflector bar 8). Holderer does not describe or render obvious determining an angle between two polygon faces of the cylinder lateral wall; determining a relative position of at least two mutually spaced-apart contact points by which the bearing bodies contact the cylinder lateral wall, one of the bearing bodies making contact with one of the two polygon faces and another one of the bearing bodies making contact with the other one of the two polygon faces, with respect to at least two frame points of the holding device; and determining a relative position of the cross section of the cylinder lateral wall with respect to the holding device from the determined angle and the determined relative position.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Li et al. (WO2017/162000) discloses a holder with three fixing arms to support surface of an optical element.
/CHRISTINA A RIDDLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882