DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of group I, claims 1-18 in the reply filed on 05/18/26 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s)1-3, 5-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Smith [US 20200006073].
Claim 1: Smith teaches a substrate processing method [abs] comprising providing a substrate [abs], and supplying a first processing gas containing silane containing reactants such as aminosilane [0070-0072] to form a first layer on the substate [0066]; causing a second processing gas containing a metal halide containing gas to react with the first layer to form a metal containing film [0065-0066]. Alternatively, in the event that Smith does not anticipate claim 1 by providing an example, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select from the finite number of listed combinations of reactants and gases provided by Smith.
Claim 2: Smith teaches also etching the substrate with a plasma from a third processing gas [0048].
Claim 3: Smith teaches the substrate has a recess [abs].
Claim 5: Smith teaches the first gas is an aminosilane gas [0070].
Claim 6: Smith teaches the first gas contains at least one typical element among hydrogen [0070].
Claim 7: Smith teaches the metal halide containing gas comprises tungsten [0008].
Claim 8: Smith teaches the substrate temperature may be 200 to 400 degrees C [0007], where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (See MPEP 2144.05.I).
Claim 9: Smith teaches temperature is 150 degrees or lower [0032].
Claims 10-11: Smith teaches the deposition is performed by one or more cycles [0008], where it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that by performing more than one cycle the steps of repeating b and c and b to d are also naturally performed.
Claim 13: Smith teaches modifying the metal film with plasma [0048].
Claim 14: Smith teaches the steps can be performed in different chambers [0073].
Claim 15: Smith teaches the thickness of the film changes in depth direction of the recess by changing at least a processing time [0047].
Claim 16: Smith teaches the at least one of the first processing gas may be silane gas [0008].
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chandrashekar [US 20120009785].
Teaching of the prior art is aforementioned, where Smith teaches the recess has a sidewall, bottom, upper surface connected to upper end of the sidewall [Fig. 5], but does not appear to teach all the limitations of claim 4.
Claim 4: Chandrashekar teaches a substate recess that have sidewalls, bottom, and upper surface, and where the metal film can be thinner at the bottom than at the upper surface [Fig. 1]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide this step wise coverage in a high aspect ratio recess as taught by Chandrashekar so as to minimize large seams that can lead to high resistance and contamination for circuits [0002].
Claim(s) 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kow-Ming [SiH4 ‐ WF 6 Gas‐Phase Nucleated Tungsten as an Adhesion Layer in Blanket Chemical Vapor Deposition for Ultralarge Scale Integration].
Teaching of the prior art is aforementioned, but does not appear to teach the electric resistivity range. Kow-Ming is provided.
Claims 17-18: Kow-Ming teaches a method of forming a tungsten-based film using SiH4 and WF6 [abstract] wherein the resistivity lies about 167 [abstract]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the film such to have the claimed resistivity range since Kow-Ming teaches lower resistivity values are more desirable for circuits.
Conclusion
/MANDY C LOUIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718