DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,796,917 B2 and claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,292,687 B2, both issued to Yang et al. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of application 19/084239 are directed to the same invention of the claims of US 11,796,917 B2 and US 12,292,687 B2. In this instance the claims of application 19/084239 are broader than that of U.S. 11,796,917 B2 and US 12,292,687 B2. As such, the claims of application 19/084239 are met by the claims of US 11,796,917 B2 and US 12,292,687 B2.
Claims 1-20 are similar to claims 1-20 of US 11,796,917 B2 and US 12,292,687 B2, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Arai [US 2007/0273852 A1].
Regarding claim 1, Arai discloses a pattern formation method (paragraph [0001]), comprising: adjusting a width of an extreme ultraviolet (EUV) radiation beam and a location of the EUV radiation beam on a reticle in accordance with a pattern area size of a pattern area of the reticle such that a size of the EUV radiation beam on the reticle is the same as the pattern area size of the pattern area of the reticle; scanning the EUV radiation beam on the reticle; and exposing a photo resist layer with a reflected EUV radiation beam from the reticle (paragraphs [0088]-[0124] teaches main controller obtains the spectral width of the laser beam suitable for the reticle that is used, and sends the information to laser controller as a spectral width setting desired value).
Regarding claim 2, Arai discloses wherein an increase of intensity per unit area of the reflected EUV radiation beam on the reticle after the adjusting the width is greater when the width before adjustment is W1 compared to an increase of intensity per unit area of the reflected EUV radiation beam on the reticle after the adjusting the width when the width before adjustment is W2 and W1>W2 (paragraphs [0049] and [0075]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arai in view of Schwab [WO 2013/174680 A2].
Regarding claims 3, 8 and 15, Arai discloses a method of adjusting a beam width of an extreme ultraviolet (EUV) radiation beam, determining an extent of reflected EUV radiation beam on the reticle; receiving a width of layout patterns on the reticle from a database; and continuing the moving and the determining until the width of the reflected EUV radiation beam on the reticle is the same as the width of the layout patterns on the reticle (paragraphs [0088]-[0124] teaches main controller obtains the spectral width of the laser beam suitable for the reticle that is used, and sends the information to laser controller as a spectral width setting desired value).
Aria does not teach transmitting the EUV radiation beam to a first mirror that comprises two or more facets; directing a reflected EUV radiation beam from the first mirror to the reticle; moving at least one facet of the two or more facets of the first mirror with respect to other facets of the two or more facets to modify a width of the reflected EUV radiation beam on the reticle.
However, Schwab discloses an adjustment device serves for adjusting mirrors (17, 25) for guiding used radiation (12) along a beam path (as shown in Figs. 2-7). Specifically Schwab discloses transmitting the EUV radiation beam to a first mirror that comprises two or more facets; directing a reflected EUV radiation beam from the first mirror to the reticle; moving at least one facet of the two or more facets of the first mirror with respect to other facets of the two or more facets to modify a width of the reflected EUV radiation beam on the reticle (as shown in Figs. 2-7, see also pages 12-26).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide an adjustment device serves for adjusting mirrors of two or more facet mirrors for guiding used radiation along a beam path, as taught by Schwab in the system of Aria wherein a beam width controller coupled with the two or more facets and configured to modify a width and a location of a reflected extreme ultraviolet (EUV) radiation beam reflected from the two or more facets to a reticle because such a modification provides a suitable alternative configuration of an adjustment device with increased sensitivity of the detected adjustment parameter in relation to a maladjustment of the mirrors to be adjusted (page 5 lines 4-9 of Schwab).
Regarding claims 4-7, Aria in view of Schwab discloses wherein the at least one facet is moved in a direction of EUV radiation beam transmission to adjust the width of the reflected EUV radiation beam from the first mirror on the reticle, wherein the at least one facet is moved in a lateral direction relative to the direction of EUV radiation beam transmission to laterally move the reflected EUV radiation beam from the first mirror on the reticle, wherein the EUV radiation beam originates from an EUV radiation source, and wherein the EUV radiation beam is reflected from a second mirror before impinging on the first mirror, wherein the second mirror comprises two or more second facets, the pattern formation method further comprising: adjusting a curvature of at least one second facet of the two or more second facets of the second mirror to adjust the width of the reflected EUV radiation beam from the first mirror on the reticle (as shown in Figs. 2-7, see also pages 12-26 of Schwab).
Regarding claims 9-11, Aria in view of Schwab discloses wherein the adjusting the width of the third EUV radiation beam comprises moving at least one first facet of the two or more first facets of the first mirror with respect to other first facets of the two or more first facets and moving at least one second facet of the two or more second facets of the second mirror with respect to other second facets of the two or more second facets, wherein the two or more first facets of the first mirror are disposed side by side in two separate facet sections, and wherein each facet section comprises one or more first facets, wherein the two separate facet sections of the first mirror comprise a first facet section and a second facet section, and wherein the moving the at least one first facet of the two or more first facets comprises moving at least one first facet of the first facet section or the second facet section (as shown in Figs. 2-7, see also pages 12-26 of Schwab).
Regarding claims 9-11, Aria in view of Schwab discloses further comprising: independently moving each one of the first facets of the first mirror and moving each one of the second facets of the second mirror to adjust the width of the third EUV radiation beam on the reticle; and moving the first facets and the second facets by an actuator coupled and controlled by a beam width controller, further comprising: sending one or more first voltages by the beam width controller to the actuator to move the first facets; and sending one or more second voltages by the beam width controller to the actuator to move the second facets, further comprising: independently moving one or more first facets along a transmission direction of the first EUV radiation beam to reduce the width of the third EUV radiation beam on the reticle; and independently moving one or more second facets along the direction of the first EUV radiation beam to reduce the width of the third EUV radiation beam on the reticle (as shown in Figs. 2-7, see also pages 12-26 of Schwab).
Regarding claims 16-20, Aria in view of Schwab discloses further comprising an actuator configured to move one or more facets with respect to other one or more facets of the two or more facets so that the width of the reflected EUV radiation beam reflected from the two or more facets to the reticle is modified, wherein a movement of the one or more facets is configured to reduce the width of the reflected EUV radiation beam on the reticle, wherein: the beam width controller is coupled to the actuator and configured to control the movement of the one or more facets via the actuator, further comprising: an image detector, wherein the reflected EUV radiation beam is directed by the two or more facets to the image detector, and wherein the image detector is configured to measure the reflected EUV radiation beam on the image detector, further comprising: an analyzer module coupled between the image detector and the beam width controller, wherein the analyzer module is configured to determine the width of the EUV radiation beam on the image detector, and wherein the analyzer module is configured to command the beam width controller to adjust the width of EUV radiation beam if the width of EUV radiation beam extends beyond layout patterns of the reticle (as shown in Figs. 2-7, see also pages 12-26 of Schwab).
Conclusion
/DEORAM PERSAUD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882