DETAILED ACTION
Examiner finds no 35 USC 101 rejections in the current claim language.
Double Patenting Considerations:
U.S. Pat. No. 12,608,681:
The claim language of related patent ‘681 (same assignee (Asana, Inc.) and no common inventors) does not disclose “responsive to selection of the meeting resource identifier from the work unit page, effectuate presentation of the video-conferencing meeting interface” (and other detailed steps), as seen in the independent claim language of the present Application.
Therefore, there are no double patenting rejections in the current Application with regard to ‘681.
U.S. Pat. No. 12,217,215:
The claim language of related patent ‘215 (same assignee (Asana, Inc.) and no common inventors) does not disclose “responsive to selection of the meeting resource identifier from the work unit page, effectuate presentation of the video-conferencing meeting interface” (and other detailed steps), as seen in the independent claim language of the present Application.
Therefore, there are no double patenting rejections in the current Application with regard to ‘215.
U.S. Pat. No. 12,159,262:
The claim language of related patent ‘262 (same assignee (Asana, Inc.) and no common inventors) does not disclose “responsive to selection of the meeting resource identifier from the work unit page, effectuate presentation of the video-conferencing meeting interface” (and other detailed steps), as seen in the independent claim language of the present Application.
Therefore, there are no double patenting rejections in the current Application with regard to ‘262.
U.S. Pat. No. 11,902,344:
The claim language of related patent ‘344 (same assignee (Asana, Inc.) and no common inventors) does not disclose “responsive to selection of the meeting resource identifier from the work unit page, effectuate presentation of the video-conferencing meeting interface” (and other detailed steps), as seen in the independent claim language of the present Application.
Therefore, there are no double patenting rejections in the current Application with regard to ‘344.
U.S. Pat. No. 11,405,435:
The claim language of related patent ‘435 (same assignee (Asana, Inc.) and no common inventors) does not disclose “responsive to selection of the meeting resource identifier from the work unit page, effectuate presentation of the video-conferencing meeting interface” (and other detailed steps), as seen in the independent claim language of the present Application.
Therefore, there are no double patenting rejections in the current Application with regard to ‘435.
U.S. Pat. No. App. No. 18/544,849 (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2025/0200517):
The claim language of related patent ‘849 (same assignee (Asana, Inc.) and no common inventors) does not disclose “responsive to selection of the meeting resource identifier from the work unit page, effectuate presentation of the video-conferencing meeting interface” (and other detailed steps), as seen in the independent claim language of the present Application.
Therefore, there are no double patenting rejections in the current Application with regard to ‘849.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 – 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites the limitation "a collaboration environment" in lines 4 – 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Examiner recommends the language “the collaboration environment”;
Claim 11 recites the limitation "a collaboration environment" in lines 3 – 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Examiner recommends the language “the collaboration environment”;
Claim 1 recites the limitation "a work unit record" in lines 6 – 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Examiner recommends the language “the work unit record”;
Claim 11 recites the limitation "a work unit record" in lines 5 – 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Examiner recommends the language “the work unit record”;
Claim 1 recites the limitation "a meeting" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Examiner recommends the language “the meeting”;
Claim 11 recites the limitation "a meeting" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Examiner recommends the language “the meeting”.
Examiner recommends a thorough review of the claim language in order to correct other possible antecedent basis concerns.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,316,470. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the mapping below.
Claim 1 of the present Application maps to claim 1 of ‘470.
1. A system configured to link a meeting with a work unit record of a collaboration environment, the system comprising:
one or more physical processors configured by machine-readable instructions to (“A system configured to link meetings with work unit records of a collaboration environment, the system comprising: one or more physical processors configured by machine-readable instructions to”):
manage environment state information maintaining a collaboration environment, the collaboration environment being configured to facilitate interaction by users with the collaboration environment, the environment state information including a work unit record including work information for a unit of work (“manage environment state information maintaining a collaboration environment, the collaboration environment being configured to facilitate interaction by users with the collaboration environment, the environment state information including work unit records, the work unit records including work information associated with units of work managed, created, and/or assigned within the collaboration environment, the work unit records including a first work unit record including first work information for a first unit of work”);
in response to a request by a user to initiate a meeting regarding the work unit record with a second user, generate and store resource information in the work unit record, the resource information including a meeting resource identifier that facilitates access to a video-conferencing meeting interface (“in response to requests to initiate meetings regarding individual work unit records, generate and store resource information in the individual work unit records, the resource information including meeting resource identifiers that facilitate access to a video-conferencing meeting interface through which the users conduct the meetings, wherein the video-conferencing meeting interface is hosted by a video-conferencing application which is separate and distinct from the collaboration environment, such that in response to a first request by a first user to initiate a first meeting regarding the first work unit record with a second user, first resource information is generated and stored in the first work unit record, the first resource information including a first meeting resource identifier that facilitates access to the video-conferencing meeting interface”);
effectuate presentation of a work unit page for the work unit record in an instance of a graphical user interface of the collaboration environment, the work unit page displaying the meeting resource identifier (“effectuate presentation of work unit pages of the collaboration environment such that the work unit pages display the meeting resource identifiers that facilitate access to the video-conferencing meeting interface, such that presentation of a first work unit page for the first work unit record is effectuated so that the first work unit page displays the first meeting resource identifier”);
responsive to selection of the meeting resource identifier from the work unit page, effectuate presentation of the video-conferencing meeting interface (“responsive to selection of the meeting resource identifiers displayed in the work unit pages, effectuate presentation of the video-conferencing meeting interface by accessing the video-conferencing application, such that responsive to selection of the first meeting resource identifier from the first work unit page by the first user and/or the second user, presentation of the video-conferencing meeting interface is effectuated”);
effectuate a set of one or more actions in the collaboration environment based on content of the meeting (“effectuate one or more actions within the collaboration environment based on content of the meetings conducted through the video-conferencing meeting interface, and store results of the one or more actions in the environment state information, such that a first set of one or more actions is effectuated in the collaboration environment based on first content of the first meeting”); and
store results of the set of one or more actions in the environment state information (“results of the first set of one or more actions are stored in the environment state information”).
Claim 2 of the present Application maps to claim 2 of ‘470.
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more physical processors are further configured by the machine-readable instructions to:
generate agenda information for the meeting, the agenda information including a set of agenda items (“The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more physical processors are further configured by the machine-readable instructions to: generate agenda information for the meetings, the agenda information for individual meetings including individual sets of agenda items, such that first agenda information for the first meeting is generated, the first agenda information including a first set of agenda items”).
Claim 3 of the present Application maps to claim 3 of ‘470.
3. The system of claim 2, wherein the agenda information is generated based on user input by the user and/or automatically based on the work information (“The system of claim 2, wherein the agenda information is generated based on user input and/or automatically based on the work information of the individual work unit records, such that the first set of agenda items is generated based on first user input by the first user and/or automatically based on the first work information”).
Claim 4 of the present Application maps to claim 4 of ‘470.
4. The system of claim 2, wherein the video-conferencing meeting interface includes an agenda display portion displaying the agenda information (“The system of claim 2, wherein the video-conferencing meeting interface includes an agenda display portion displaying the agenda information for the individual meetings, such that the video-conferencing meeting interface presented to the first user includes the agenda display portion displaying the first set of agenda items”).
Claim 5 of the present Application maps to claim 5 of ‘470.
5. The system of claim 4, wherein the content of the meeting is derived from further user input into the agenda display portion of the video-conferencing meeting interface, and wherein the one or more physical processors are further configured by the machine-readable instructions to (“The system of claim 4, wherein the content of the meetings is derived from further user input into the agenda display portion of the video-conferencing meeting interface, and wherein the one or more physical processors are further configured by the machine-readable instructions to”):
determine the set of one or more actions from the further user input (“determine the one or more actions from the further user input into the agenda display portion of the video-conferencing meeting interface”).
Claim 6 of the present Application maps to claim 6 of ‘470.
6. The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more physical processors are further configured by the machine-readable instructions to (“The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more physical processors are further configured by the machine-readable instructions to”):
obtain meeting information conveying the content of the meeting (“obtain meeting information conveying the content of the meetings conducted through the video-conferencing meeting interface, such that first meeting information conveying the first content of the first meeting is obtained”); and
wherein the content of the meeting includes audio content, wherein the audio content triggers identification of the set of one or more actions (“wherein the content of the meetings includes audio content, wherein the audio content that triggers the one or more actions includes one or more trigger phrases and/or words, such that effectuating the one or more actions is based on identifying one or more of the trigger phrases and/or words from the audio content”).
Claim 7 of the present Application maps to claim 7 of ‘470.
7. The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more physical processors are further configured by the machine-readable instructions to (“The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more physical processors are further configured by the machine-readable instructions to”):
obtain meeting information conveying the content of the meeting (“obtain meeting information conveying the content of the meetings conducted through the video-conferencing meeting interface, such that first meeting information conveying the first content of the first meeting is obtained”); and
wherein the content of the meeting includes visual content, wherein the visual content triggers identification of the set of one or more actions (“wherein the content of the meetings includes visual content, wherein the visual content that triggers the one or more actions includes one or more trigger gestures and/or emotes, such that effectuating the one or more actions is based on identifying one or more of the trigger gestures and/or emotes from the visual content”).
Claim 8 of the present Application maps to claim 8 of ‘470.
8. The system of claim 1, wherein the set of one or more actions includes:
generating a second work unit record; and/or modifying a third work unit record (“The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more actions include: generating the individual work unit records for the individual users based on the content of the meetings by storing information defining the individual work unit records as part of the environment state information; and/or modifying the individual work unit records based on the content of the meetings by storing information defining modifications of the individual work unit records as part of the environment state information”).
Claim 9 of the present Application maps to claim 9 of ‘470.
9. The system of claim 8, wherein the set of one or more actions includes the generating the second work unit record (“The system of claim 8, wherein the one or more actions include the generating the individual work unit records, and wherein the individual work unit records are generated based on context of the meetings”).
Claim 10 of the present Application maps to claim 10 of ‘470.
10. The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more physical processors are further configured by the machine-readable instructions to (“The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more physical processors are further configured by the machine-readable instructions to”):
obtain input information conveying user input by the user into the work unit page of the work unit record, the user input conveying the request to initiate the meeting (“obtain input information conveying user input into the work unit pages of the collaboration environment, individual work unit pages providing access to the individual work unit records, the user input conveying the requests to initiate the meetings regarding the individual work unit records with one or more of the users of the collaboration environment …”).
Claims 11 – 20 are similarly mapped to claims 11 – 20 of ‘470 and are rejected under non-statutory double patenting.
The current claim language is not rejected under statutory double patenting because the independent claims of the present Application are broader than the claim language in ‘470.
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 9 and 11 – 19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,792,028. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the mapping below.
Claim 1 of the present Application maps to claim 1 of ‘028.
1. A system configured to link a meeting with a work unit record of a collaboration environment, the system comprising (“A system configured to link meetings with work unit records of a collaboration environment, the system comprising”):
one or more physical processors configured by machine-readable instructions to (“one or more physical processors configured by machine-readable instructions to”):
manage environment state information maintaining a collaboration environment, the collaboration environment being configured to facilitate interaction by users with the collaboration environment, the environment state information including a work unit record including work information for a unit of work (“manage environment state information maintaining a collaboration environment, the collaboration environment being configured to facilitate interaction by users with the collaboration environment, the environment state information including work unit records, the work unit records including work information associated with units of work managed, created, and/or assigned within the collaboration environment, the work unit records including a first work unit record including first work information for a first unit of work”);
in response to a request by a user to initiate a meeting regarding the work unit record with a second user, generate and store resource information in the work unit record, the resource information including a meeting resource identifier that facilitates access to a video-conferencing meeting interface (“in response to the requests to initiate the meetings regarding the individual work unit records, generate and store resource information in the individual work unit records, the resource information including meeting resource identifiers that facilitate access to a video-conferencing meeting interface through which the users conduct the meetings, wherein the video-conferencing meeting interface is hosted by a video-conferencing application which is separate and distinct from the collaboration environment, such that in response to the first request, first resource information is stored in the first work unit record, the first resource information including a first meeting resource identifier that facilitates access to the video-conferencing meeting interface”);
effectuate presentation of a work unit page for the work unit record in an instance of a graphical user interface of the collaboration environment, the work unit page displaying the meeting resource identifier (“effectuate presentation of the work unit pages of the collaboration environment such that the work unit pages display the meeting resource identifiers that facilitate access to the video-conferencing meeting interface, such that the first work unit page is presented and displays the first meeting resource identifier”);
responsive to selection of the meeting resource identifier from the work unit page, effectuate presentation of the video-conferencing meeting interface (“responsive to selection of the meeting resource identifiers displayed in the work unit pages, effectuate presentation of the video-conferencing meeting interface by accessing the video-conferencing application, such that responsive to selection of the first meeting resource identifier from the first work unit page by the first user, the video-conferencing meeting interface is presented to the first user”);
effectuate a set of one or more actions in the collaboration environment based on content of the meeting (“effectuate one or more actions within the collaboration environment based on the content of the meetings conducted through the video-conferencing meeting interface, and store results of the one or more actions in the environment state information, such that a first set of one or more actions is effectuated in the collaboration environment based on the first content, and results of the first set of one or more actions are stored in the environment state information”); and
store results of the set of one or more actions in the environment state information (“store results of the one or more actions in the environment state information, such that a first set of one or more actions is effectuated in the collaboration environment based on the first content, and results of the first set of one or more actions are stored in the environment state information”).
Claim 2 of the present Application maps to claim 2 of ‘028.
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more physical processors are further configured by the machine-readable instructions to:
generate agenda information for the meeting, the agenda information including a set of agenda items (“The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more physical processors are further configured by the machine-readable instructions to: generate agenda information for the meetings, the agenda information for individual meetings including individual sets of agenda items, such that first agenda information for the first meeting is generated, the first agenda information including a first set of agenda items”).
Claim 3 of the present Application maps to claim 3 of ‘028.
3. The system of claim 2, wherein the agenda information is generated based on user input by the user and/or automatically based on the work information (“The system of claim 2, wherein the agenda information is generated based on further user input and/or automatically based on the work information of the individual work unit records, such that the first set of agenda items is generated based on further user input by the first user and/or automatically based on the first work information”).
Claim 4 of the present Application maps to claim 4 of ‘028.
4. The system of claim 2, wherein the video-conferencing meeting interface includes an agenda display portion displaying the agenda information (“The system of claim 2, wherein the video-conferencing meeting interface includes an agenda display portion displaying the agenda information for the individual meetings, such that the video-conferencing meeting interface presented to the first user includes the agenda display portion displaying the first set of agenda items”).
Claim 5 of the present Application maps to claim 5 of ‘028.
5. The system of claim 4, wherein the content of the meeting is derived from further user input into the agenda display portion of the video-conferencing meeting interface, and wherein the one or more physical processors are further configured by the machine-readable instructions to (“The system of claim 4, wherein the content of the meetings is derived from further user input into the agenda display portion of the video-conferencing meeting interface, and wherein the one or more physical processors are further configured by the machine-readable instructions to”):
determine the set of one or more actions from the further user input (“determine the one or more actions from the further user input into the agenda display portion of the video-conferencing meeting interface”).
Claim 6 of the present Application maps to claims 1 and 6 of ‘028.
6. The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more physical processors are further configured by the machine-readable instructions to:
obtain meeting information conveying the content of the meeting (claim 1 “obtain meeting information conveying content of the meetings conducted through the video-conferencing meeting interface, such that first meeting information conveying first content of the first meeting is obtained”); and
wherein the content of the meeting includes audio content, wherein the audio content triggers identification of the set of one or more actions (claim 6 “The system of claim 1, wherein the content of the meetings includes audio content, wherein the audio content that triggers the one or more actions includes one or more trigger phrases and/or words, such that effectuating the one or more actions is based on identifying one or more of the trigger phrases and/or words from the audio content”).
Claim 7 of the present Application maps to claims 1 and 7 of ‘028.
7. The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more physical processors are further configured by the machine-readable instructions to (claim 1 “one or more physical processors configured by machine-readable instructions to”):
obtain meeting information conveying the content of the meeting (claim 1 “obtain meeting information conveying content of the meetings conducted through the video-conferencing meeting interface”); and
wherein the content of the meeting includes visual content, wherein the visual content triggers identification of the set of one or more actions (“The system of claim 1, wherein the content of the meetings includes visual content, wherein the visual content that triggers the one or more actions includes one or more trigger gestures and/or emotes, such that effectuating the one or more actions is based on identifying one or more of the trigger gestures and/or emotes from the visual content”).
Claim 8 of the present Application maps to claim 8 of ‘028.
8. The system of claim 1, wherein the set of one or more actions includes:
generating a second work unit record; and/or modifying a third work unit record (“The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more actions include: generating the individual work unit records for the individual users based on the content of the meetings by storing information defining the individual work unit records as part of the environment state information, such that the first set of one or more actions includes generating a second work unit record for a second unit of work; and/or modifying the individual work unit records based on the content of the meetings by storing information defining modifications of the individual work unit records as part of the environment state information, such that the first set of one or more actions includes modifying the first work unit record for the first unit of work”).
Claim 9 of the present Application maps to claim 9 of ‘028.
9. The system of claim 8, wherein the set of one or more actions includes the generating the second work unit record (“The system of claim 8, wherein the one or more actions include the generating the individual work unit records, and wherein the individual work unit records are generated based on context of the meetings”).
Claim 10 of the present Application maps to claim 1 of ‘028.
10. The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more physical processors are further configured by the machine-readable instructions to (claim 1 “one or more physical processors configured by machine-readable instructions to”):
obtain input information conveying user input by the user into the work unit page of the work unit record, the user input conveying the request to initiate the meeting (claim 1 “obtain input information conveying user input into work unit pages of the collaboration environment, individual work unit pages providing access to individual work unit records, the user input including requests to initiate meetings regarding the individual work unit records with one or more of the users of the collaboration environment, the input information conveying first user input by a first user into a first work unit page of the first work unit record, the first user input including a first request to initiate a first meeting regarding the first work unit record with a second user”).
Claims 11 – 20 are similarly mapped to claims 11 – 19 of ‘028 and are rejected under non-statutory double patenting.
The current claim language is not rejected under statutory double patenting because the independent claims of the present Application are broader than the claim language in ‘028.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henriksen et al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2014/0200944) in view of Pandey et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 11,095468)
1. A system configured to link a meeting with a work unit record of a collaboration environment, the system comprising:
one or more physical processors configured by machine-readable instructions to:
manage environment state information maintaining a collaboration environment, the collaboration environment being configured to facilitate interaction by users with the collaboration environment, the environment state information including a work unit record including work information for a unit of work (Fig. 44A; paragraph 137; paragraph 136 “The window has two separate tabs: one containing all tasks associated with the running meeting, and another tab containing all open tasks associated with the entire Meeting Series. This aspect of the Meeting Series facilitates efficient meeting management and individual and collective performance evaluation”);
in response to a request by a user to initiate a meeting regarding the work unit record with a second user, generate and store resource information in the work unit record, the resource information including an identifier that facilitates access to a video-conferencing meeting interface (Fig. 1; Abstract “Each meeting has a plurality of tasks associated with the meeting. The tasks are assigned to members. The members can access the task list for an individual meeting or the entire Meeting Series”; paragraph 131 “start a new Meeting Series …”);
effectuate presentation of a work unit page for the work unit record in an instance of a graphical user interface of the collaboration environment, the work unit page displaying the identifier (Fig. 30; paragraph 10; paragraph 32; paragraph 40 “a dashboard chart display …”);
responsive to selection of the identifier from the work unit page, effectuate presentation of the video-conferencing meeting interface (Fig. 30; paragraphs 10, 32, 40);
effectuate a set of one or more actions in the collaboration environment based on content of the meeting (paragraph 30); and
store results of the set of one or more actions in the environment state information (Fig. 30; paragraph 74; Fig. 1; paragraph 95).
However, Henriksen do not explicitly disclose meeting resource identifiers.
In the same field of invention (meeting scheduling and tasks lists), Pandey disclose meeting resource identifiers (Fig. 3C; col. 18, lines 26 – 43).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the at the time of filing to combine the resource identifiers of Pandey into the invention of Henriksen in order to better facilitate the Henriksen scheduling and task list accessing.
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more physical processors are further configured by the machine-readable instructions to:
generate agenda information for the meeting, the agenda information including a set of agenda items (Fig. 21; paragraph 31).
3. The system of claim 2, wherein the agenda information is generated based on user input by the user and/or automatically based on the work information (Fig. 21).
4. The system of claim 2, wherein the video-conferencing meeting interface includes an agenda display portion displaying the agenda information (Fig. 21; paragraph 31 “meeting agenda …”; Fig. 34; paragraph 78).
5. The system of claim 4, wherein the content of the meeting is derived from further user input into the agenda display portion of the video-conferencing meeting interface, and wherein the one or more physical processors are further configured by the machine-readable instructions to:
determine the set of one or more actions from the further user input (Fig. 34; paragraph 78; paragraph 31).
6. The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more physical processors are further configured by the machine-readable instructions to:
obtain meeting information conveying the content of the meeting; and
wherein the content of the meeting includes audio content, wherein the audio content triggers identification of the set of one or more actions (paragraphs 98, 99).
7. The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more physical processors are further configured by the machine-readable instructions to:
obtain meeting information conveying the content of the meeting; and
wherein the content of the meeting includes visual content, wherein the visual content triggers identification of the set of one or more actions (paragraphs 98, 99).
8. The system of claim 1, wherein the set of one or more actions includes:
generating a second work unit record; and/or modifying a third work unit record (paragraph 155).
9. The system of claim 8, wherein the set of one or more actions includes the generating the second work unit record (paragraph 25).
10. The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more physical processors are further configured by the machine-readable instructions to:
obtain input information conveying user input by the user into the work unit page of the work unit record, the user input conveying the request to initiate the meeting (paragraph 25).
Regarding claims 11 – 20, the rejection of claims 1 – 10 under 35 USC 103 applies fully.
For future email communications (including interview agendas), Applicant should file the appropriate PTO form (PTO/SB/439) or file an air interview request.
/KENNETH R COULTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2445
/KRC/