DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A1 in the reply filed on June 2, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 11-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on June 2, 2026.
Claims 8-10 and 15-18 will be examined on the merits, claims 1-7 having been cancelled and claims 11-14 having been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2018/0272391 to Sakurai et al.
As to claim 8, Sakurai discloses a substrate treatment device comprising: a placement platform configured to rotate a substrate (see Sakurai Fig. 1, ref.#10, paragraphs [0015]-[0016]); a cooling part configured to supply a cooling gas to a space between the placement platform and the substrate (see Sakurai Fig. 1, ref#30; paragraph [0018]); a liquid supplier configured to supply a liquid to a surface of the substrate opposite to the placement platform side (see Sakurai Fig. 1, ref#20; paragraph [0017]); a detector above the surface of the substrate, the detector being configured to detect a start of freezing of the liquid (see Sakurai Fig. 1, ref.#40; paragraphs [0045]; [0052]); and a controller controlling at least one of the rotation of the substrate, a flow rate of the cooling gas, or a supply rate of the liquid to cause the liquid on the surface of the substrate to reach a supercool state (see Sakurai paragraphs [0056]-[0057] disclosing the controller), when the controller determines based on a signal from the detector that freezing of the liquid in the supercooled state has started, the controller starts thawing the frozen liquid after a prescribed interval has elapsed from the start of the freezing of the liquid (see Sakurai paragraphs [0045], [0049]-[0057] and Fig. 7A-7C disclosing controller determines freezing based on detector when temperature rises from T1 to T2 and then starts thawing after temperature reaches lowest temperature T3 (read as after a prescribed interval has elapsed from the start of freezing)). Sakurai further discloses that the controller can repeatedly perform a set of processes a predetermined number of times and the set of processes includes causing the liquid to reach a supercooled state, freezing the liquid in the supercooled state and starting a thawing of the frozen liquid after a prescribed interval has elapsed from the start of the freezing of the liquid (see Sakurai Figs. 7A-C; paragraphs [0052]-[0054]) and that the controller is configured to determine a start of the freezing the liquid in the supercooled state for each set of processes that are repeatedly executed and start the thawing of the frozen liquid (see Sakurai Figs. 7A-C; paragraphs [0045] and [0049]-[0057]).
As to claim 9, Sakurai discloses that the controller determines the start of the freezing of the liquid by using at least one of a temperature of a film of the liquid detected by the detector or at least one of a temperature of a film of a mixture of the liquid and the frozen liquid detected by the detector (see Sakurai paragraphs [0045], [0049]-[0057] and Fig. 7A-7C).
As to claim 10, Sakurai discloses that the detector detects a temperature of a surface of the liquid in the supercooled state at a prescribed time interval and the controller determines that the freezing of the liquid has started when the temperature of the liquid increases and a difference between one of the detected temperatures and the temperature detected directly before the one of the detected temperatures exceeds a prescribed threshold and/or a rate of the temperature increase exceeds a prescribed threshold (see Sakurai Figs. 7A-C; paragraphs [0045] and [0055]-[0057]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2018/0272391 to Sakurai et al. as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2020/0078833 to Takai et al.
Sakurai is relied upon as discussed above with respect to the rejection of claim 8.
As to claim 17, Sakurai does not explicitly disclose that the controller suppresses an occurrence of a crack in the frozen liquid to be thawed by setting the prescribed interval to a first interval, the controller causes a crack to occur in the frozen liquid to be thawed by setting the prescribed interval to a second interval and the second interval is greater than the first interval. Takai discloses that it is known in the art to configure a controller to suppress an occurrence of a crack in the frozen liquid to be thawed by setting the prescribed interval to a first interval, or to configure the controller to cause a crack to occur in the frozen liquid to be thawed by setting the prescribed interval to a second interval and the second interval is greater than the first interval (see Takai paragraphs [0077]-[0080]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Sakurai to further configure the controller to suppress an occurrence of a crack in the frozen liquid to be thawed by setting the prescribed interval to a first interval, or to configure the controller to cause a crack to occur in the frozen liquid to be thawed by setting the prescribed interval to a second interval and the second interval is greater than the first interval based on the type of substrate as disclosed by Takai in order to optimize cleaning time based on the type of substrate to be cleaned (see Takai paragraph [0079]).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2018/0272391 to Sakurai et al. as applied to claims 8 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2018/0047559 to Kamiya et al.
Sakurai is relied upon as discussed above with respect to the rejection of claim 8.
As to claim 18, Sakurai discloses that the detector is a temperature sensor (see Sakurai paragraph [0045]). Kamiya discloses that radiation thermometers are known temperature sensors (see Kamiya paragraphs [0085] and [0163]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use a radiation thermometer as disclosed by Kamiya and the results would have been predictable (measuring temperature of liquid) (see MPEP 2143(I)(B) where simple substitution of one known element for another is prima facie obvious).
Double Patenting
Claims 8-10, 15, 16 and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,278,120 to Nakamura et al. (“the ‘120 patent”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
As to claim 8, the ‘120 patent discloses a substrate treatment device, comprising: a placement platform configured to rotate a substrate; a cooling part configured to supply a cooling gas to a space between the placement platform and the substrate; a liquid supplier configured to supply a liquid to a surface of the substrate opposite to the placement platform side; a detector above the surface of the substrate, the detector being configured to detect a start of freezing of the liquid; and a controller configured to control a rotation of the substrate, a supply of the cooling gas, and a supply of the liquid, wherein the controller is configured to control at least one of the rotation of the substrate, a flow rate of the cooling gas, or a supply rate of the liquid to cause the liquid on the surface of the substrate to reach a supercooled state, the controller is configured to determine based on a signal from the detector that freezing of the liquid in the supercooled state has started, and the controller is configured to start thawing the frozen liquid after a prescribed interval has elapsed from the start of the freezing of the liquid (see ‘120 patent claim 1). The ‘120 patent further discloses the controller is configured to repeatedly perform a set of processes a predetermined number of times, and the set of processes includes: causing the liquid to reach a supercooled state; freezing the liquid in the supercooled state; and starting a thawing of the frozen liquid after a prescribed interval has elapsed from the start of the freezing of the liquid (see ‘120 patent claim 10). Regarding the recitation “the controller is configured to determine a start of the freezing the liquid in the supercooled state for each set processes that are repeatedly executed and start the thawing of the frozen liquid,” as discussed above, the ‘120 patent claim 1 discloses the controller is configured to determine based on a signal from the detector that freezing of the liquid in the supercooled state has started, and the controller is configured to start thawing the frozen liquid after a prescribed interval has elapsed from the start of the freezing of the liquid and is understood as doing so at the start of each process.
As to claim 9, the ‘120 patent discloses the controller is configured to determine the start of the freezing of the liquid by using: at least one of a temperature of a film of the liquid detected by the detector, a thickness of the film of the liquid detected by the detector, or a surface state of the film of the liquid detected by the detector, or at least one of a temperature of a film of a mixture of the liquid and the frozen liquid detected by the detector, a thickness of the film of the mixture of the liquid and the frozen liquid detected by the detector, or a surface state of the film of the mixture of the liquid and the frozen liquid detected by the detector (see the ‘120 patent claim 2).
As to claim 10, the ‘120 patent discloses the detector is configured to detect a temperature of a surface of the liquid in the supercooled state at a prescribed time interval, and the controller is configured to determine that the freezing of the liquid has started when the temperature of the liquid increases, and a difference between one of the detected temperatures and the temperature detected directly before the one of the detected temperatures exceeds a prescribed threshold, and/or a rate of the temperature increase exceeds a prescribed threshold (see the ‘120 patent claim 3).
As to claim 15, the ‘120 patent discloses the prescribed interval is predetermined, and the prescribed interval is an interval from an instant at which the freezing of the liquid in the supercooled state starts until a temperature of a surface of the frozen liquid reaches a temperature of not less than 5° C. and not more than 10° C. greater than a temperature at which a crack occurs in the frozen liquid (see the ‘120 patent claim 1).
As to claim 16, the ‘120 patent discloses the detector is configured to detect a temperature of a surface of the frozen liquid, and the controller is configured to control at least one of the rotation of the substrate, a flow rate of the cooling gas, or a supply rate of the liquid to cause the liquid on the surface of the substrate to reach a supercooled state, the controller is configured to determine based on a signal from the detector that freezing of the liquid in the supercooled state has started, and the controller is configured to start to thaw the frozen liquid when the temperature detected by the detector reaches a temperature of not less than 5° C. and not more than 10° C. greater than a predetermined temperature at which a crack occurs in the frozen liquid (see the ‘120 patent claim 15).
As to claim 18, the ‘120 patent discloses the detector is at least one of a radiation thermometer, a thermo-viewer, a thermocouple, a resistance thermometer bulb, a laser displacement meter, an ultrasonic displacement meter, an optical sensor, or an image sensor (see the ‘120 patent claim 14).
Allowable Subject Matter
In the even that Applicant can overcome the double patenting rejections of claims 15 and 16 above (without altering the scope of the claims as understood by the Examiner), claims 15 and 16 would be objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The cited prior art does not disclose that the prescribed interval is an interval from an instant at which the freezing of the liquid in the supercooled state starts until a temperature of a surface of the frozen liquid reaches a temperature of not less than 5 degrees C and not more than 10 degrees C greater than a temperature at which a crack occurs in the frozen liquid, or that even before the prescribed interval has elapsed, the controller starts to thaw the frozen liquid when the temperature detected by the detector reaches a temperature of not less than 5 degrees C and not more than 10 degrees C greater than a predetermined temperature at which a crack occurs in the frozen liquid.
Conclusion
/DOUGLAS LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714