DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “continuous ultrasonic welding tool” in claim 4; “first pressurization element” in claims 5 and 6; and “second pressurization element” in claims 5 and 6.
The limitation “continuous ultrasonic welding tool” recites the generic placeholder “tool” coupled with the functional modifier “welding” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the function claimed. This will be interpreted as: structure 610, shown in figure 9; and equivalents thereof.
The limitation “first pressurization element” recites the generic placeholder “element” coupled with the functional modifier “pressurization” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the function claimed. This will be interpreted as: structure 614, shown in figure 9; and equivalents thereof.
The limitation “second pressurization element” recites the generic placeholder “element” coupled with the functional modifier “pressurization” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the function claimed. This will be interpreted as: structure 616, shown in figure 9; and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the part" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim limitation “movement system” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Applicant does not disclose a structure of a movement system required by the claim. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by GONCHAROVA et al. (US 2023/0234301).
Regarding claim 1, GONCHAROVA teaches a method of ultrasonically bonding two thermoplastic composites 1 and 13 by placing a thermoplastic film 3 on a first thermoplastic component, melting the thermoplastic film, stamping the film with an energy director stamp 4 to form an energy director 11, and ultrasonically welding a second thermoplastic component to the first with the energy director sandwiched therebetween (para. 44, 46, and 52; figs. 1, 5, and 6).
Regarding claim 3, GONCHAROVA teaches the director comprises a plurality of protrusions 11 on the first substrate 1 out of the film 3 (fig. 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GONCHAROVA as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of BEGROW et al. (US 2018/0093444).
Regarding claim 4, GONCHAROVA does not teach a continuous ultrasonic welding tool. BEGROW teaches another method for sonically bonding thermoplastic composite laminates wherein the welding tool is a continuous welding tool 200 (paras. 39-41, and 93), wherein it would have been obvious to utilize a continuous welding tool in the method of GONCHAROVA in order to produce a plurality of products without requiring additional time to reset the equipment, and automating a manual process has been held per se obvious (MPEP 2144.04).
Claim(s) 2, 9-11, 14, 17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GONCHAROVA, in view of HULL (US 2015/0290873).
Regarding claims 2, 9, 14, and 20, GONCHAROVA teaches a method of ultrasonically bonding two thermoplastic composites 1 and 13 by placing a thermoplastic film 3 on a first thermoplastic component, melting the thermoplastic film, stamping the film with an energy director stamp 4 to form an energy director with spaced protrusions 11, and ultrasonically welding a second thermoplastic component to the first with the energy director sandwiched therebetween (para. 44, 46, and 52; figs. 1, 5, and 6). GONCHAROVA teaches evenly spaced protrusions (fig. 5), but does not teach that the protrusions are arranged in a grid pattern. HULL teaches a method of ultrasonically bonding composite laminates, wherein the anvil director is arranged in a grid pattern by a stamp with a waffle shaped pattern, and that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize a grid pattern of HULL as that of the protruding pattern of GONCHAROVA in order to increase surface area and distribute vibration with minimal damage to workpiece (HULL; paras. 59-61; fig. 8).
Regarding claims 10-11, HULL teaches a width of the energy director extends in a lengthwise direction across the length of the weld (para. 61; fig. 3).
Regarding claim 17, GONCHAROVA teaches stamping the film with structuring tool and a pressure plate separately (para. 46), but it would have been obvious to unify the two to form a stamp block because making integral has been held per se obvious (MPEP 2144.04).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the references as combined as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of BROWN (US 2021/0001562).
Regarding claim 12, the references do not teach additively manufacturing the energy director. BROWN teaches another method of ultrasonically bonding thermoplastics, wherein the energy director is applied via additive manufacturing (BROWN; para. 13), where it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to create the energy director of the references as combined via additive manufacturing in order to quickly and uniformly create such a layer as a common method in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Claims 13, 15-16, and 18-19 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record does not teach or fairly suggest a pressure application system and movement system as construed that applies pressure ahead of and before the sonotrode; manufacturing the director by additively manufacturing an energy director primitive and subsequently machining the primitive to form a final energy director; wherein the shaping steps comprises rolling a roller along the film strip; or wherein some of the energy director protrusions have different thicknesses.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: DIKER (US 20214/0375357) and BROWN (US 2021/0001562).
/NICKOLAS R HARM/Examiner, Art Unit 1745
/PHILIP C TUCKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1745