DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 10-17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Harfouche et al. [US 2024/0080579 A1].
Regarding claims 1 and 15, Harfouche et al. discloses a system (Figs. 1, 2, 4, 9) / a method (Fig. 6) comprising:
a stage (120) configured to support a workpiece (130), wherein a plurality of targets are defined on a surface of the workpiece (paragraph [0086], as shown in Figs. 1, 4 and 9);
a plurality of optical heads (250, 251) arranged above the stage (as show in Figs. 1, 2, 4 and 9), wherein each optical head comprises a camera configured to capture a first image of one of the plurality of targets positioned along an optical axis of the camera and a motion mechanism configured to translate the optical head along three axes relative to the stage and rotate the optical head along two axes that are orthogonal to the optical axis (paragraphs [0055] and [0088] teaches the camera system along an optical axis); and
a processor in electronic communication with the camera and the motion mechanism of each optical head (paragraph [0057] teaches the computer system), wherein for each optical head, the processor is configured to:
receive the first image of a target captured by the camera (paragraph [0054]);
determine a corrective movement of the optical head based on a misalignment of the optical axis of the camera relative to the target in the first image; and send instructions to the motion mechanism to move the optical head according to the corrective movement to align the optical axis with the target, such that the plurality of optical heads are each independently aligned with one the plurality of targets of the workpiece (paragraphs [0092] and [0096], see also Figs. 6 and 9).
Regarding claims 2 and 16, Harfouche et al. discloses wherein for each optical head, the misalignment of the optical axis of the camera relative to the target comprises at least one of a translational misalignment, an angular misalignment, or a focus misalignment (paragraphs [0054], [0088] and [0092], see also Figs. 1, 2, 4, 6).
Regarding claims 3, 4, 12 and 20, Harfouche et al. discloses wherein for each optical head, the corrective movement comprises a translation of the optical head to center the optical axis with a center of the target to correct for the translational misalignment, wherein for each optical head, the corrective movement comprises a rotation of the optical head to position the optical axis to be orthogonal to the target on the surface of the workpiece to correct for the angular misalignment (see claims 1 and 8).
Regarding claims 5, 6 and 17, Harfouche et al. discloses wherein each optical head further comprises an objective lens disposed in the optical axis, and the motion mechanism of each optical head comprises a linear actuator configured to translate the objective lens along the optical axis relative to the camera to adjust a focus of the camera with the target, wherein for each optical head, the corrective movement comprises a translation of the objective lens to correct for the focus misalignment (paragraph [0096] see also Fig. 9).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Harfouche et al. discloses wherein the plurality of optical heads are arranged in a one-dimensional array above the stage, wherein the plurality of optical heads are arranged in a two-dimensional array above the stage (as shown in Fig. 2).
Regarding claims 13, 14 and 19, Harfouche et al. discloses wherein the plurality of optical heads includes one fixed optical head and a plurality of movable optical heads, the stage is further configured to move the workpiece relative to the one fixed optical head, and the processor is further configured to: send instructions to the stage to move relative to the one fixed optical head to align the optical axis with one target, while the plurality of movable optical heads are independently aligned with remaining targets of the workpiece (paragraphs [0054], [0088] and [0092], see also Figs. 1, 2, 4, 6), wherein the one fixed optical head further comprises an objective lens disposed in the optical axis, and the motion mechanism of the one fixed optical head comprises a linear actuator configured to translate the objective lens relative to the camera along the optical axis to adjust a focus of the camera with the target (paragraph [0092]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harfouche et al. in view of Uziel et al. [US 2023/0324809 A1].
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Harfouche et al. discloses the system / the method, (as applied above).
Harfouche et al. does not teach wherein the motion mechanism of each optical head comprises: four X-linear bearings, including two upper X-linear bearings connected to an upper end of the optical head and two lower X-linear bearings connected to a lower end of the optical head; an X-linear actuator connected a rear end of the optical head by an X-rotary bearing, wherein the X-linear actuator is configured to translate the optical head along an X axis guided by the four X-linear bearings; four Z-linear actuators, including two upper Z-linear actuators connected to the two upper X-linear bearings by two upper rotary bearings and two lower Z-linear actuators connected to the two lower X-linear bearings by two lower rotary bearings, wherein cooperative movement of the two upper Z-linear actuators and the two lower Z-linear actuators is configured to translate the optical head along a Z axis, and opposing movement of the two upper Z-linear actuators and the two lower Z-linear actuators is configured to rotate the optical head about a pitch axis; four Y-linear bearings, including two upper Y-linear bearings connected to the two upper Z-linear actuators and two lower Y-linear bearings connected to the two lower Z-linear actuators; and two Y-linear motors, including an upper Y-linear motor connected to the two upper Y-linear bearings and a lower Y-linear motor connected to the two lower Y-linear bearings, wherein cooperative movement of the two Y-linear motors is configured to translate the optical head along a Y axis guided by the four Y-linear bearings, and opposing movement of the two Y-linear motors is configured to rotate the optical head about a roll axis, further comprising: an upper support arranged above the plurality of optical heads, wherein the two upper Y-linear bearings and the upper Y-linear motor of each motion mechanism are connected to the upper support; a lower support arranged below the plurality of optical heads, wherein the two lower Y-linear bearings and the lower Y-linear motor of each motion mechanism are connected to the lower support; and a vertical support connected to the upper support and the lower support, wherein the X-linear actuator is connected to the vertical support.
However, Uziel et al. discloses a metrology system for tall metrology with one or more air bearings configured to allow for a longitudinal movement of the coarse stage along the optical axis (paragraphs [0027], [0028], [0052] and [0053], see also Figs. 2A-3C).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the motion mechanism of each optical head with linear bearings and actuators, as taught by Uziel et al. in the system of Harfouche et al., because such a modification reduces misalignment of a field of view (paragraph [0060] of Uziel et al.).
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harfouche et al. in view of Skunes et al. [US 2012/0133920 A1].
Regarding claims 9 and 18, Harfouche et al. discloses the system / the method (as applied above).
Harfouche et al. does not teach wherein the motion mechanism of each optical head further comprises: one or more linear encoders, wherein the processor is further configured to: receive position signals from the one or more linear encoders from each of the plurality of optical heads; determine relative locations of the plurality of optical heads based on the position signals; and determine the corrective movement of each optical head based on the misalignment of the optical axis of the camera of the optical head relative to the target and the relative locations of the plurality of optical heads.
However, Skunes et al. discloses an optical inspection system configured to generate an inspection result as a function of the plurality of images and the plurality of structured light images, comprising one or more linear encoders (Fig. 1, item 20, see also paragraph [0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide an encoder, as taught by Skunes et al. in the system of Harfouche et al., wherein the processor is further configured to: receive position signals from the one or more linear encoders from each of the plurality of optical heads; determine relative locations of the plurality of optical heads based on the position signals; and determine the corrective movement of each optical head based on the misalignment of the optical axis of the camera of the optical head relative to the target and the relative locations of the plurality of optical heads because such a modification provides measurements to compensate for positional errors.
Conclusion
/DEORAM PERSAUD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882