DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Regarding claims 7 and 8, the “(SOC)” is viewed as an example of “a film of a coating type organic lower. The phrase "for example" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Katsunuma et al. (US 20230058079A1).
With respect to claims 1, 4, Katsunuma teaches an etching method comprising: etching a mask MK, made of an inorganic SiON film, formed on a organic film OF (para 34; fig. 2)
; etching the organic film OF in a step ST1 using sulfur containing gas such as COS gas, which would form deposits on the surfaces on the etching target film EF formed below the organic film OF since it is the same etching gas as that of claimed invention (para 59; fig. 5A)
; removing a deposit on the EF layer in a step STR, the deposit would include PF layer and any deposits formed from using the COS gas in the etching step of the OF (fig 6A; para 119)
; etching the organic film OF with step ST3 after removing the deposits by repeating the steps above until reaching the EF surface (para 118; fig. 6B)
.
With respect to claim 2, the etching step of etching the organic film OF after removing the deposit can be the same as the step ST1, in which an etching gas includes hydrogen (para 59, 117).
With respect to claim 3, the deposit from the etching step of the organic film OF using COS gas or from the depositing of the protective film PF using a gas mixture including O2, would provide an oxide-based deposited film.
With respect to claim 7, the organic film OF is a spin-on carbon film (SOC) or an amorphous carbon film (para 33).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 6, 8-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katsunuma as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Une et al. (TW 201421581A).
With respect to claims 5, 6, Katsunuma doesn’t teach etching the inorganic layer MK using a mask exposed to EUV, which provides a chemically amplified photoresist. However, he teaches using a photoresist mask for the etching (para 34) and using photoresist mask exposed to EUV is practiced and used by one skilled in the art as shown here by Une for etching layers including inorganic layer (page 2, 3). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use EUV mask or chemically amplified photoresist because it has been successfully provide a mask for etching the inorganic layer with expected results.
.
With respect to claim 8, Katsunuma teaches the organic film OF is a spin-on carbon film (SOC) or an amorphous carbon film (para 33).
With respect to claim 9, Katsunuma describes the STR step to remove the organic protective film PF and any deposits from the etching step of the organic film OF using COS gas may be the same as the processing gas used in step ST1 (para 119), in which the second radio frequency power 64 used as a bias radio-frequency power, or claimed radio frequency power supplied to a sample stage, may not be used (para 56, 59). Therefore, a radio frequency power supplied to the sample stage would be 0 W during the step STR removing the organic protective film PF and any deposits from the etching step of the organic film OF.
With respect to claims 10 and 12, Katsunuma teaches the etching step of etching the organic film OF after removing the deposit can be the same as the step ST1, in which an etching gas includes hydrogen (para 59, 117).
With respect to claim 11, Katsunuma teaches the organic film OF can be etched with COS gas.
/DUY VU N DEO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713
9/17/2026