DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
In view of applicant’s remarks/traversal, the restriction requirement, as set forth in the office action mailed on 09/22/2026, is hereby withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 line 12, the words “the fault photovoltaic module string” should read – the faulty photovoltaic module string –
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the trip switch is connected between the conversion circuit and an input end of a converter.” The trip switch 100 is physically located between the solar panels PV2+, PV1-, PV2- and the input end of a converter 300 as shown in applicant’s figure 3.
However, paragraph 0068 of the specification, applicant states that “the converter that includes a DC-DC conversion circuit.” It is unclear to the examiner how the trip switch is connected between the conversion circuit and itself. The conversion circuit and the converter are the same elements. The Examiner will interpret the claim as “the trip switch is connected between the photovoltaic module strings and an input of a converter.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 12, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lou WO2018072406.
Regarding claim 1, Lou discloses a photovoltaic system, comprising a conversion circuit, a power taking circuit, a trip switch, a switching power supply and a controller, wherein
the trip switch is connected between the conversion circuit and an input end of a converter [Fig. 1, the trip switch 4 is connected between the PV module and the input of the converter 3];
the power taking circuit is configured to take power from at least one photovoltaic module strings and supply power to the switching power supply [Fig. 1, the power take-off branch 61 takes from the PV module 1 and supply power to the switching power supply 6];
the switching power supply is configured to supply power to the controller and the trip switch when the power taking circuit provides power normally [Fig. 1, the switching power supply 6 supplies power to the controller 7 and 4 when the power take-ff branch 61 provides power normally]; and
the controller is configured to, when a photovoltaic module string has a fault, at least disconnect the trip switch corresponding to the fault photovoltaic module string, to disconnect connection between the faulty photovoltaic string and the conversion circuit [Fig. 1, the photovoltaic detecting unit 8 detects state information of the photovoltaic cell 1 and information is sent to the controller 7. The control system 7 makes specific control actions such as opening the first switch during abnormal condition].
Regarding claim 2, Lou discloses that the power taking circuit comprises a positive power taking circuit and[[/or]] a negative power taking circuit; and the positive power taking circuit is connected to a positive electrode of the at least one photovoltaic module string[[s]], and the negative power taking circuit is connected to a negative electrode of the at least one photovoltaic module string [Fig. 1, the power take-off branch 61 is connected to the positive terminal and negative terminal of the PV as shown].
Regarding claim 12, Lou discloses a control method of a photovoltaic system, wherein the photovoltaic system is a photovoltaic system according to claim 1; and wherein the method comprises: supplying power, by the switching power supply, to the trip switch when the power taking circuit provides power normally [Fig. 1, the switching power supply 6 supplies power to the controller 7 and 4 when the power take-ff branch 61 provides power normally]; closing the trip switch [Fig. 1, switch 4 is closed during normal operation]; and controlling the trip switch to be disconnected when there is a wiring fault in the photovoltaic module string [Fig. 1, the photovoltaic detecting unit 8 detects state information of the photovoltaic cell 1 and information is sent to the controller 7. The control system 7 makes specific control actions such as opening the first switch during abnormal condition].
Regarding claim 17, Lou discloses that the controller is further configured to disconnect the trip switch corresponding to the faulty photovoltaic string when the photovoltaic string has a fault [Fig. 1, the photovoltaic detecting unit 8 detects state information of the photovoltaic cell 1 and information is sent to the controller 7. The control system 7 makes specific control actions such as opening the first switch during abnormal condition].
Regarding claim 18, Lou discloses that a positive power taking circuit, and the positive power taking circuit is connected to a positive electrode of the at least one photovoltaic module string [Fig. 1, one branch of the power take circuit 61 is connected to the positive terminal of the photovoltaic cell 1 as shown].
Regarding claim 19, Lou discloses that a negative power taking circuit, and the negative power taking circuit is connected to a negative electrode of the at least one photovoltaic module string [Fig. 1, the other branch of the power take circuit 61 is connected to the negative terminal of the photovoltaic cell as shown].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Behrends et al. Publication No. US 2015/0077884.
Regarding claim 11, Behrends discloses a photovoltaic system, comprising: a switching power supply [Fig. 1, 6], a conversion circuit [Fig. 1, converter 5] and a trip switch [Fig. 1, switches 13.1, 13.2, 13.3], wherein the trip switch comprises a plurality of contacts [Fig. 1, plurality of contacts 13.1, 13.2, 13.3]. and each of the contacts is connected to a corresponding photovoltaic module string [Fig. 1, each of the contacts 13 is connected to a corresponding PV string 2.1, 2.2, 2.n]; a first end of the conversion circuit is connected to the photovoltaic module strings through the trip switch [Fig, 1, the input end of 5 is connected to the contacts of the trip switch], and a second end of the conversion circuit is connected to the switching power supply [Fig. 1, the output end of the converter 5 is connected to the switching power supply 6]; and the trip switch is connected to one of the photovoltaic module strings, and the trip switch is then connected to the other photovoltaic module strings if the switching power supply works normally, and the trip switch is not connected to the other photovoltaic module strings corresponding to the trip switch if the switching power supply does not work [Fig. 1, the contact 13.1 is connected to other PV strings 2.2 if the power supply works normally, and the contacts are opened and not connected to other PV strings if there is a fault].
Regarding claim 16, Behrens discloses a control method of a photovoltaic system, wherein the photovoltaic system is a photovoltaic system according to claim 11; and wherein the method comprises: connecting the trip switch to one of the photovoltaic module strings; and connecting the trip switch to the other photovoltaic module strings if it is determined that the switching power supply works normally, and not connecting the trip switch to the other photovoltaic module strings if it is determined that the switching power supply does not work [Fig. 1, the contact 13.1 is connected to other PV strings 2.2 if the power supply works normally, and the contacts are opened and not connected to other PV strings if there is a fault].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lou WO2018072406.
Regarding claim 9, Lou discloses a controller [Fig. 1, control system 7], a switching power supply [Fig. 1, 6], and a converter [Fig. 1, 3]. However, Lou does not explicitly disclose that both the controller and the switching power supply are provided inside a cabinet where the conversion circuit is housed.
It is well known and stand practice in the art of fault protection circuits to house interrelated electronic control components within a single protective electrical cabinet or enclosure. Combining a known controller, power supply, and converter inside a single cabinet represents a routine design choice. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange these components in a single cabinet to reduce external wiring and EMI, and to optimize space efficiency.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-8, 13-14, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance of claim 3: The prior art does not further comprise a bidirectional rectifier circuit, wherein the bidirectional rectifier circuit is connected between the power taking circuit and the switching power supply; and the bidirectional rectifier circuit is configured to rectify an output voltage and an output current of the power taking circuit and provide a rectified output voltage and a rectified output current to the switching power supply. This feature in combination with the rest of the claim limitations is not anticipated or rendered obvious by the prior art of record.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance of claim 5: The prior art does not further comprise that the DC-DC conversion circuit is connected between the trip switch and the switching power supply, a positive end of the DC-DC conversion circuit is connected to a positive end of the switching power supply through the fifth diode, and a negative end of the DC-DC conversion circuit is connected to a negative end of the switching power supply through the sixth diode. This feature in combination with the rest of the claim limitations is not anticipated or rendered obvious by the prior art of record.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance of claim 7: The prior art does not disclose that the power taking circuit further comprises a maintenance switch and a bidirectional rectifier circuit, and the bidirectional rectifier circuit is connected between the power taking circuit and the switching power supply, wherein the maintenance switch is connected between the at least two photovoltaic module strings and the bidirectional rectifier circuit, or the maintenance switch is connected between the bidirectional rectifier circuit and the switching power supply; and when the trip switch is to be closed, the maintenance switch is first closed if the maintenance switch is disconnected and then the trip switch is closed. This feature in combination with the rest of the claim limitations is not anticipated or rendered obvious by the prior art of record.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance of claim 13: The prior art does not disclose that the photovoltaic system further comprises a maintenance switch connected between the power taking circuit and the switching power supply; and wherein the method further comprises: closing the maintenance switch before closing the trip switch. This feature in combination with the rest of the claim limitations is not anticipated or rendered obvious by the prior art of record.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance of claim 14: The prior art does not disclose that photovoltaic system further comprises a DC-DC conversion circuit and a DC-AC conversion circuit; wherein an input end of the DC-DC conversion circuit is connected to the trip switch, and an output end of the DC-DC conversion circuit is connected to the DC-AC conversion circuit; and wherein the method further comprises: disconnecting the maintenance switch when the DC-AC conversion circuit fails. This feature in combination with the rest of the claim limitations is not anticipated or rendered obvious by the prior art of record.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance of claim 20: The prior art does not disclose that the power taking circuit further comprises a maintenance switch connected between the power taking circuit and the switching power supply; and when the trip switch is to be closed, the maintenance switch is first closed and then the trip switch is closed. This feature in combination with the rest of the claim limitations is not anticipated or rendered obvious by the prior art of record.
Claims 10 and 16 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance of claim 10: None of the prior art shown above or in PTO-892 disclose a photovoltaic system, comprising at least two sets of trip switches as follows: a first trip switch and a second trip switch, each of the at least two sets of trip switches comprises a plurality of contacts, and each contact is connected to a corresponding photovoltaic module string; the first trip switch is connected to positive electrodes of all photovoltaic module strings and negative electrodes of a subset of the photovoltaic module strings, and the second trip switch is connected to negative electrodes of a remaining photovoltaic module string, or, the first trip switch is connected to negative electrodes of all photovoltaic module strings and positive electrodes of a subset of the photovoltaic module strings, and the second trip switch is connected to the positive electrodes of a remaining photovoltaic module string. This feature in combination with the rest of the claim limitations is not anticipated or rendered obvious by the prior art of record.
Conclusion
DHARTI PATEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2836
/DHARTI H PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838