Response to Arguments
1. Applicant's arguments filed January 30th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the cited references fail to teach the limitations of the independent claims as “Tu…handles [a] direct conditional jump” and “Henzinger…handles [an] indirect unconditional branch instruction”, and thus “it is impossible to use [Henzinger’s jump table and indirect register] in Tu’s processor 104 that handles direct conditional branch instructions”.
In response to the above argument, Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant’s arguments rely entirely upon the unsubstantiated assertion that the disclosure of Henzinger is exclusively applicable to “unconditional” branch or jump instructions. However, this assertion is entirely unsupported by the disclosure of Henzinger, which at no point makes any mention of the indirect jump instructions (Henzinger 2:48-49, indirect computed jump instruction) being “unconditional”. In fact, the disclosure of Henzinger is largely related to the routinely understood aspect of jump and other branch instructions of their conditions and targets being difficult to know or compute until program runtime (Henzinger Abstract, Background). While Henzinger does clearly relate to the handling of “indirect” jump instructions, Henzinger at no point in the disclosure states that such jumps are exclusively “unconditional”, as asserted by Applicant. Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not considered persuasive and the rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tu et al (US 2014/0281440, herein Tu) in view of Henzinger et al (US 5,956,758, herein Henzinger).
Regarding claim 1, teaches a processor comprising a logic circuit configured to execute a conditional jump instruction of assembly code under indirect addressing using plural registers including a program counter as a table ([0027-0028], conditional jump using program counter based addressing), the processor being logically configured to execute after storing a jump-destination effective address, storing jump-destination effective addresses that differ from one another in memory space and have a possibility to be specified by a conditional jump instruction, or address offsets from a predetermined reference to jump-destination effective addresses that differ from one another in memory space and have a possibility to be specified by a conditional jump instruction, into plural reference registers respectively, and fetching and decoding a conditional jump instruction that is one instruction that quotes the register ([0047], [0051], [0056], [0068-0070], calculating effective jump address using bits from address registers and instruction);
a first step of acquiring a jump-destination effective address or an address offset from the reference register ([0045-0048], [0051], [0064], acquire address or offset), and;
a second step of setting the acquired jump-destination effective address, or a jump-destination effective address calculated from the acquired address offset, to a register serving as the program counter ([0045-0048], [0064], jump to acquired address).
Tu fails to teach the processor storing a destination address in an index register with an index register number, and acquiring the effective address or offset from the index register corresponding to the index register number.
Henzinger teaches a processor for executing a conditional jump instruction including storing a destination address in an index register with an index register number, and acquiring an effective address or address offset from the index register corresponding to the index register number (1:49-55, 2:48-63, using index register and values to stored and retrieve jump target addresses).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Tu and Henzinger to utilize index registers in determining jump destination addresses. While Tu is primarily directed toward the process of correcting a mispredicted destination address of a conditional jump instruction, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the use of index registers and jump tables for executing correctly predicted or completed jump instructions is a routine and conventional aspect of the microprocessor art. Therefore, the combination would merely entail a simple substitution of known prior art elements to achieve predictable results, and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Tu and Henzinger teaches the processor as claimed in claim 1, logically configured to execute, after storing, into an index register, an index register number that is an index to a jump-destination effective address, storing jump-destination effective addresses that differ from one another in memory space and have a possibility to be specified by a conditional jump instruction into plural reference registers, respectively, and fetching and decoding a conditional jump instruction that is one instruction that quotes the index register: a first step of acquiring a jump-destination effective address from the reference register corresponding to the index register number that is a content of the index register; and a second step of setting the jump-destination effective address to a register serving as the program counter (Tu [0035], fetch and decode, [0047], [0051], [0056], [0068-0070], calculating effective jump address using bits from address registers and instruction & Henzinger 1:49-55, 2:48-63, using index register and values to stored and retrieve jump target addresses).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Tu and Henzinger teaches the processor as claimed in claim 1, logically configured to execute, after storing, into an index register, an index register number that is an index to a jump-destination effective address, storing address offsets from the program counter to jump-destination effective addresses that differ from one another in memory space and have a possibility to be specified by a conditional jump instruction into plural reference registers, respectively, and fetching and decoding a conditional jump instruction that is one instruction that quotes the index register: a first step of acquiring an address offset from the reference register corresponding to the index register number that is a content of the index register; and a second step of setting, to a register serving as the program counter, a jump-destination effective address that is a result of adding the address offset to the program counter (Tu [0035], fetch and decode, [0047], [0051], [0056], [0068-0070], calculating effective jump address using bits from address registers, offsets, and instruction & Henzinger 1:49-55, 2:48-63, using index register and values to stored and retrieve jump target addresses).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Tu and Henzinger teaches the processor as claimed in claim 1, logically configured to execute, after storing, into a base resister, a base address in memory space, storing, into an index register, an index register number that is an index to a jump-destination effective address, storing address offsets from the base address to jump-destination effective addresses that differ from one another in memory space and have a possibility to be specified by a conditional jump instruction into plural reference registers, respectively, and fetching and decoding a conditional jump instruction that is one instruction that quotes the index register and the base resister: a first step of acquiring an address offset from the reference register corresponding to the index register number that is a content of the index register; and a second step of setting, to a register serving as the program counter, a jump-destination effective address that is a result of adding the address offset to the base address of the base resister (Tu [0035], fetch and decode, [0047], [0051], [0056], [0068-0070], calculating effective jump address using bits from address registers, offsets, and instruction, base address used to calculate destination address & Henzinger 1:49-55, 2:48-63, using index register and values to stored and retrieve jump target addresses).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Tu and Henzinger teaches the processor as claimed in claim 1, wherein the logic circuit is configured by a source code described in a hardware description language or by wired logic (Tu [0076], Henzinger 2:45).
Claims 6-9 refer to a medium embodiment including the limitations present in the processor embodiment of claims 1-4. Therefore, the above rejections for claims 1-4 are applicable to claims 6-9.
Claims 10-13 refer to a method embodiment including the limitations present in the processor embodiment of claims 1-4. Therefore, the above rejections for claims 1-4 are applicable to claims 10-13.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pagni (US 2004/0225869) discloses a processor that handles conditioned jump instructions by using an index register.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL J METZGER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2183