DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 1-20 are pending and presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: “linear type silane having the Si-O-Si link” should correctly be “linear type siloxane having the Si-O-Si link”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
1. Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 10 recite the carbosilane is present in an amount from about 50% to 90% of the precursor composition. However, the claim does not define what the % is in relation to. For example, is the carbosilane present in 50-90 wt%, 50-90 vol% or 50-90 mol%? The metes and bounds of the claims are not clear; therefore, claims 1 and 10 are indefinite. Claims 2-9 and 11-17 depend from claim 1 or 10 and are indefinite for the same reasons. For examination purposes, if the prior art teaches any of a wt%, flow rate%, mol% and volume% that will be interpreted as meeting the limitations of the claim.
Claims 3 and 13 recite a formula but fail to recite what the groups R1, R2, R5 and R7 represent. Therefore, it is unclear exactly what compounds are encompassed by the formula. Thus, the metes and bounds of claims 3 and 13 are unclear and claims 3 and 13 are indefinite.
Similarly, claim 5 recites a formula but fails to recite what the groups R1, R6 and R7 represent. Therefore, claim 5 is indefinite for the same reasons as set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 1, 7, 9-11 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (U.S. PGPUB No. 2004/0137757).
I. Regarding claims 1, 7 and 9, Li teaches a precursor composition comprising a combination (0009) of precursors comprising a cyclic organosilicon carbosilane having an Si-C-Si structure, such as 1,3,5-trisilano-2,4,6-trimethylene (0012, which has the structure as claimed in claim 9) and acyclic organo-silicon compounds, such as dimethyldimethoxysilane (0013-0014). Li fails to explicitly teach the carbosilane having an Si-C-Si structure present in an amount from about 50-90%.
However, Li does teach that the cyclic carbosilane having an Si-C-Si can be present in the composition in an amount of 5-80 vol% (0019). Li teaches a range for the carbosilane that overlaps with the claimed range. Furthermore, overlapping ranges have been held as prima facie evidence of obviousness.
II. Regarding claims 10, 11 and 17, Li makes obvious the precursor composition (see above), and Li further teaches a gas mixture (0020) comprising the precursors as listed above in combination with an oxidizing gas, such as oxygen (0015), and an inert gas, such as helium (0030). Therefore, Li also makes obvious claims 10, 11 and 17.
3. Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 10-13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edelstein et al. (U.S. PGPUB No. 2006/0165891).
I. Regarding claims 1-3 and 6, Edelstein teaches a precursor composition comprising a first precursor comprising a carbosilane having the structure
, where R is Me or Et (Figure 4B and 0067) or the structure
(Figure 4B and 0067) in combination with a second precursor, such as octamethyltetrasiloxane (0068). Edelstein fails to explicitly teach the carbosilane present in an amount of about 50-90% of the composition.
However, Edelstein does teach that the first precursor can be provided at a flow rate of 10 mg/min - 5000 mg/min (0073) and the second precursor can be provided at a flow rate of 10 mg/min - 5000 mg/min (0073) which would provide the carbosilane in an amount in the composition that overlaps with the claimed range. Furthermore, overlapping range are prima facie evidence of obviousness.
II. Regarding claims 10-13 and 15, Edelstein makes obvious the precursor composition (see above) and also teaches a gas mixture (0061 and 0073) comprising the gaseous precursor as listed above (0061 and 0075), an oxidizing gas, such as oxygen (0061), and an inert gas, such as helium (0061 and 0073). Therefore, Edelstein also makes obvious claims 10-13 and 15.
4. Claim(s) 4, 5 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edelstein in view of Phillips et al. (U.S. PGPUB No. 2014/0120739).
Regarding claims 4, 5 and 14, Edelstein makes obvious the precursor composition and gas mixture as claimed in claims 1 and 10 (see above) for formation of a low-k dielectric (abstract), but fails to teach the carbosilane having the structure as claimed in claims 4, 5 and 14. However, Phillips teaches a precursor which can be tris(triethoxysilyl)methane (claim 19) which meet the limitations of the carbosilanes having the structure as claimed in claims 4, 5 and 14. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Edelstein’s precursor composition and gas mixture by substituting tris(triethoxysilyl)methane for Edelstein’s precursors. One would have been motivated to make this modification as one could have made this substitution with a reasonable expectation of success (particularly given that Edelstein teaches similar precursors that are only different by the inclusion of a methylene unit, see Figure 4B), and the predictable result of providing a composition for forming a low-k dielectric.
5. Claim(s) 8 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edelstein in view of Seyferth et al. (“1,1,3,3-Tetramethyl-2,2,4,4-tetrakis(trimethylsilyl)-1,3-disilacyclobutane and its 1,3-digerma and 1,3-distanna analogs: Unexpected products from the reaction of bis(trimethylsilyl)bromomethyllithium with dimethyldihalo derivatives of silicon, germanium, and tin”).
Regarding claims 8 and 16, Edelstein makes obvious all the limitations of claims 1 and 10 (see above) including the precursor being a silacyclobutane (see Edelstein at Figure 4A), but fails to teach the precursor having the structure as claimed in claims 8 and 16.
However, Seyferth teaches a carbosilane silacyclobutane having a structure
(formula III, page 259). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Edelstein’s precursor composition/gas mixture by substituting Seyferth’s silacyclobutane for the silacyclobutane of Edelstein. One would have been motivated to make this modification as one could have substituted one silacyclobutane for another with a reasonable expectation of success (note that the structures are similar and the carbosilanes would react similarly to deposit a dielectric film), and the predictable result of providing a precursor gas mixture.
6. Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Chandra et al. (U.S. PGPUB No. 2018/0023192).
Regarding claims 18-20, Li teaches a method for forming a dielectric film (0019) comprising: disposing a substrate on a susceptor in a processing chamber (0017); controlling a pressure and temperature in the chamber (0023); delivering RF power into the chamber (0021); providing a gas mixture comprising the precursors as noted above (0020) and an oxidizing gas, such as oxygen (0015), and an inert gas, such as helium (0030); and applying a post-deposition process to the formed dielectric film (0031) which includes soaking in a plasma soaking gas (0031). Li fails to teach providing the precursor gas mixture by pulsing the precursor into the processing chamber.
However, Chandra teaches a similar process for forming a dielectric film (Table XIII) using a carbosilane precursor (abstract) and teaches pulsing the carbosilane precursor (0040). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Li’s process by pulsing the precursor gas mixture into the chamber. One would have been motivated to make this modification as Chandra teaches that pulsing the precursor can allow for controlling film growth (0040).
Conclusion
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT S WALTERS JR/
September 23, 2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717