CTNF 19/173,421 CTNF 85056 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Status of Application Claims 1-20 are pending and presented for examination. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim s 3 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities: “RO2” should correctly be “RO3” . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-36 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(d): (d) REFERENCE IN DEPENDENT FORMS.—Subject to subsection (e), a claim in dependent form shall contain a reference to a claim previously set forth and then specify a further limitation of the subject matter claimed. A claim in dependent form shall be construed to incorporate by reference all the limitations of the claim to which it refers. The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, fourth paragraph: Subject to the following paragraph [i.e., the fifth paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112], a claim in dependent form shall contain a reference to a claim previously set forth and then specify a further limitation of the subject matter claimed. A claim in dependent form shall be construed to incorporate by reference all the limitations of the claim to which it refers. 07-36-01 AIA 1. Claim s 3, 5 and 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claims 3 and 13 depend from claims 2 and 12, respectively, and recite that there can be a Si-OH group when RO4 is hydrogen. However, claims 2 and 12 do not allow a R4 to be an OH group. Therefore, claims 3 and 13 actually broaden the range of compounds encompassed by the formula of claims 2 and 12 rather than providing only further limitations. Similarly, claim 5 depends from claim 4 and recites that there can be a Si-OH group when RO2 is hydrogen. However, claim 4 does not allow R2 to be an OH group. Therefore, claim 5 actually broadens the range of compounds encompassed by the formula of claim 4 . Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA 1. Claim(s) 1, 2, 6 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Mallick et al. (U.S. PGPUB No. 2014/0051264) . Regarding claims 1, 2, 6 and 9, Mallick teaches precursors having the structures: PNG media_image1.png 102 284 media_image1.png Greyscale (0023) which meet the limitations of the carbosilanes having the structure as claimed in claims 2, 6 and 9. Mallick teaches all the limitations of claims 1, 2, 6 and 9; therefore, Mallick anticipates the claims . 07-15-aia AIA 2. Claim(s) 1-3 and 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Vrtis et al. (U.S. PGPUB No. 2018/0122632) . I. Regarding claims 1-3, Vrtis teaches precursors having the structures: PNG media_image2.png 98 170 media_image2.png Greyscale (0028) which meet the limitations of the carbosilanes having the structure as claimed in claims 1-3. Vrtis teaches all the limitations of claims 1-3; therefore, Vrtis anticipates the claims. II. Regarding claims 10-13, Vrtis teaches a gas mixture including the precursors (0038), an oxidant gas, such as oxygen (0036), and a carrier gas, such as argon (0041). Vrtis teaches all the limitations of claims 10-13; therefore Vrtis anticipates the claims . 07-15-aia AIA 3. Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Phillips et al. (U.S. PGPUB No. 2014/0120739) . Regarding claims 1-5, Phillips teaches precursors which can be tris(triethoxysilyl)methane (claim 19) which meet the limitations of the carbosilanes having the structure as claimed in claims 1-5. Phillips teaches all the limitations of claims 1-5; therefore, Phillips anticipates the claims . 07-15-aia AIA 4. Claim(s) 1, 2, 7, 9-12 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Singh et al. (U.S. PGPUB No. 2003/0194880) . I. Regarding claims 1, 2, 7 and 9, Singh teaches a precursor comprising a combination (0011) of precursors comprising a cyclic organosilicon, such as octamethylcyclotetrasiloxane (0012) or 1,3,5-trisilano-2,4,6-trimethylene (0012, which has the structure as claimed in claim 9) and aliphatic organosilicons, such as PNG media_image3.png 20 106 media_image3.png Greyscale (0013). Singh teaches all the critical limitations of claims 1, 2, 7 and 9; therefore, Singh anticipates the claims. II. Regarding claims 10-12 and 17, Singh further teaches a gas mixture (0020) comprising the precursors as listed above in combination with an inert gas, such as argon (0016) and an oxidizing gas (0020), such as oxygen (0015). Singh teaches all the critical limitations of claims 10-12 and 17; therefore, Singh anticipates the claims . 07-15-aia AIA 5. Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 10-12 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Todd (WO 02/065516) . I. Regarding claims 1, 2 and 4, Todd teaches a precursor comprising trisilymethane (0046, which meets the limitations of the formulas of claims 2 and 4). Todd teaches all the critical limitations of claims 1, 2 and 4; therefore, Todd anticipates the claims. II. Regarding claims 10-12 and 14, Todd further teaches a gas mixture (0046) comprising the precursos as listed above in combination with an inert gas, such as helium (0046) and a carbon source, such as carbon dioxide (0033). Todd teaches all the critical limitations of claims 10-12 and 14; therefore, Todd anticipates the claims . 07-15-aia AIA 6. Claim(s) 1, 6, 10, 11 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Edelstein et al. (U.S. PGPUB No. 2006/0165891) . I. Regarding claims 1 and 6, Edelstein teaches a precursor having the structure PNG media_image4.png 80 168 media_image4.png Greyscale , where R is Me or Et (Figure 4B). Edelstein teaches all the limitations of claims 1 and 6; therefore, Edelstein anticipates the claims. II. Regarding claims 10, 11 and 15, Edelstein teaches a gas mixture (0061 and 0073) comprising the gaseous precursor as listed above (0061 and 0075), an oxidizing gas, such as oxygen (0061), and an inert gas, such as helium (0061 and 0073). Edelstein teaches all the critical limitations of claims 10, 11 and 15; therefore, Edelstein anticipates the claims . 07-15-aia AIA 7. Claim(s) 1, 2, 7, 9-12 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (U.S. PGPUB No. 2004/0137757) . I. Regarding claims 1, 2, 7 and 9, Li teaches a precursor comprising a combination (0009) of precursors comprising a cyclic organosilicon, such as octamethylcyclotetrasiloxane (0012) or 1,3,5-trisilano-2,4,6-trimethylene (0012, which has the structure as claimed in claim 9) and aliphatic organosilicons, such as PNG media_image3.png 20 106 media_image3.png Greyscale (0013). Li teaches all the critical limitations of claims 1, 2, 7 and 9; therefore, Li anticipates the claims. II. Regarding claims 10-12 and 17, Li further teaches a gas mixture (0020) comprising the precursors as listed above in combination with an oxidizing gas, such as oxygen (0015), and an inert gas, such as helium (0030). Li teaches all the critical limitations of claims 10-12 and 17; therefore, Li anticipates the claims. III. Regarding claims 18-20, Li teaches a method for forming a dielectric film (0019) comprising: disposing a substrate on a susceptor in a processing chamber (0017); controlling a pressure and temperature in the chamber (0023); delivering RF power into the chamber (0021); providing a gas mixture comprising the precursors as noted above (0020) and an oxidizing gas, such as oxygen (0015), and an inert gas, such as helium (0030); and applying a post-deposition process to the formed dielectric film (0031) which includes soaking in a plasma soaking gas (0031). Li teaches all the critical limitations of claims 18-20; therefore, Li anticipates the claims . 07-15-aia AIA 8. Claim(s) 1, 8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Seyferth et al. (“1,1,3,3-Tetramethyl-2,2,4,4-tetrakis(trimethylsilyl)-1,3-disilacyclobutane and its 1,3-digerma and 1,3-distanna analogs: Unexpected products from the reaction of bis(trimethylsilyl)bromomethyllithium with dimethyldihalo derivatives of silicon, germanium, and tin”) . I. Regarding claims 1 and 8, Seyferth teaches a precursor having the structure PNG media_image5.png 218 312 media_image5.png Greyscale which meets the limitation of the structure of claim 8 (formula III, page 259). Seyferth teaches all the limitations of claims 1 and 8; therefore, Seyferth anticipates the claims. II. Regarding claim 10, Seyferth teaches that the compounds sublimed to form a gas mixture with the atmosphere which includes nitrogen when melting points were taken in open capillary tubes (see General comments, page 264). Seyferth teaches all the critical limitations of claim 10; therefore, Seyferth anticipates the claim . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-22-aia AIA 9. Claim (s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vrtis as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Seyferth . Regarding claim 16, Vrtis teaches all the limitations of claims 10 and 11 (see above) including the precursor being a silacyclobutane (0029), but fails to teach the precursor having the structure as claimed in claim 16. However, Seyferth teaches a carbosilane silacyclobutane having a structure PNG media_image5.png 218 312 media_image5.png Greyscale (see above). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vrtis’s gas mixture by substituting Seyferth’s silacyclobutane for the silacyclobutane of Vrtis. One would have been motivated to make this modification as one could have substituted one silacyclobutane for another with a reasonable expectation of success (note that the structures are similar and the carbosilanes would react similarly to deposit a dielectric film), and the predictable result of providing a precursor gas mixture. Conclusion Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1-20 are rejected. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ROBERT S WALTERS JR whose telephone number is (571)270-5351. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 8-5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Dah-Wei Yuan can be reached at 571-272-1295. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ROBERT S WALTERS JR/ March 31, 2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717 Application/Control Number: 19/173,421 Page 2 Art Unit: 1717 Application/Control Number: 19/173,421 Page 3 Art Unit: 1717 Application/Control Number: 19/173,421 Page 4 Art Unit: 1717