DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Claims 1-20 are directed to statutory categories of a system or device that is suitable to perform the method.
Step 2A Prong 1: Claims 1, 19, and 20 recite the method steps of “selecting alignment marks on a wafer for alignment of the wafer to a mask during a lithography process, wherein said selecting comprises:
generating an initial sample of a predetermined number of alignment marks by rule based sampling of the alignment marks on the wafer;
for at least one of the alignment marks in the initial sample, selecting the at least one of the alignment marks or a different alignment mark in a subset of the alignment marks on the wafer closest to the at least one of the alignment marks by data based sampling of the at least one of the alignment marks and the subset of the alignment marks; and
storing information for the selected at least one of the alignment marks or the selected different alignment mark in information for the selected alignment marks on the wafer for use in the alignment of the wafer to the mask during the lithography process.”
The process of selection by generating a rule based sampling scheme, selecting marks from that rule based sample scheme and associated marks from a data based sample, then storing information with respect to the selected mark of the sample is a mental process that be performed in the human mind with the use of pen and paper (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)). Gathering information of a number of alignment marks on an image of a wafer based on a rule and then selecting a group of the alignment marks for remembering or recording with pen and paper the selected information associated with the selected group in a data based sample is a mental process of collecting information, analyzing and selecting portions of the information and recording that information.
Step 2A Prong 2: Claim 1, 19, and 20 recite: “A system configured for determining information for alignment marks on a wafer for use in a lithography process, comprising: a computer system”, “A non-transitory computer-readable medium, storing program instructions executable on a computer system for performing a computer-implemented method”, and wherein the selecting is performed by a computer system”. The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional steps merely use a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.04(d) and 2106.05(f)).
Step 2B: Similar to step 2A prong 2, the additional elements recited by the claims are only insignificant extra-solution steps because the additional steps merely use a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.04(d) and 2106.05(f)).
Claim 2 inherits the abstract idea of claim 1. For steps 2A prong 2 and 2B: the additional identification of the type of data input is not integration into a practical application by the additional steps because the additional steps are only insignificant extra-solution steps of data type identification (see MPEP 2106.04(d) and 2106.05(g)).
Claim 3 adds to the abstract idea in Step 2A Prong 1 by identifying an alignment model and wafer map to use when performing the generation step of a mental process.
Claim 4 adds to the abstract idea in Step 2A Prong 1 by the application of a mathematical concept of using a cost function to adjust the sampling (see mathematical concepts MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I)).
Claims 5 and 6 add to the abstract idea in Step 2A Prong 1 by the application of limits on the number of marks used in a mental process.
Claim 7 and 8 add to the abstract idea in Step 2A Prongs 1 and 2 by the application of limits on the location of the marks used in a mental process.
Claim 9 adds to the abstract idea in Step 2A Prong 1 by replacement of alignment mark data with data of different alignment mark data in a mental process
Claims 10-18 add to the abstract idea in Step 2A Prong 1 by the application of a mathematical concept of calculating a cost function when applying the replacement perturbation of the selected alignment mark (see mathematical concepts MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cekli et al. [US 2019/0137892].
For claims 1, 19, and 20, Cekli teaches a system configured for determining information for alignment marks on a wafer for use in a lithography process, comprising:
a non-transitory computer-readable medium, storing program instructions executable on a computer system (computer control unit, see [0085] and [0157]) configured for selecting alignment marks on a wafer for alignment of the wafer to a mask during a lithography process (see Figs. 6 and 11), wherein said selecting comprises:
generating an initial sample of a predetermined number of alignment marks by rule based sampling of the alignment marks on the wafer (preliminary selection of measurement locations based on recipe, likely fingerprint, see [0076]-[0078]);
for at least one of the alignment marks in the initial sample, selecting the at least one of the alignment marks or a different alignment mark in a subset of the alignment marks on the wafer closest to the at least one of the alignment marks by data based sampling of the at least one of the alignment marks and the subset of the alignment marks (selecting a neighboring measurement based on identification of an outlier based on supplementary data, see [0111]-[0116] and Fig. 11); and
storing information for the selected at least one of the alignment marks or the selected different alignment mark in information for the selected alignment marks on the wafer for use in the alignment of the wafer to the mask during the lithography process (adjustment of the outlier based on the supplementary data to a neighboring measurement, see [0115]).
For claim 2, Cekli teaches input to the rule based sampling does not comprise data for the alignment marks on the wafer generated by a tool that performed a process on the wafer (preliminary selection based on recipe, see [0078]), and wherein input to the data based sampling comprises the data (historic data 1108 comprising alignment data, see [0118]).
For claim 3, Cekli teaches the rule based sampling generates the initial sample for a predetermined alignment model (measurements of preliminary selection, see [0080]-[0082]) and a definition of a full map of the alignment marks on the wafer (full set of measurement locations, see [0082]).
For claim 5, Cekli teaches the predetermined number comprises 10 to 50 of the alignment marks on the wafer (28, see [0081]).
For claim 6, Cekli teaches the predetermined number is user defined (defined by user, see [0082]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cekli in view of Irie et al. [US 5,525,808].
For claims 7 and 8, Cekli fails to teach the subset of the alignment marks comprises only the alignment marks on the wafer in fields neighboring a field in which the at least one of the alignment marks is located for a maximum of 8 of the alignment marks in the subset.
Irie teaches the subset of the alignment marks comprises only the alignment marks on the wafer in fields neighboring a field in which the at least one of the alignment marks is located for a maximum of 8 of the alignment marks in the subset (sample shots are surround be eight other sample shots, see Figs. 6 and 7, where if low reliability is determined the nearest sample shot is used, see col. 18 line 52 - col. 19 line 5 and col. 33 lines 13-63).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the grouping as taught by Irie in the correction as taught by Cekli in order to correct unreliable measurement based on the closest available reliable information to provide accurate alignment.
For claim 9, Cekli fails to teach the data based sampling comprises performing a perturbation for the at least one of the alignment marks by replacing the at least one of the alignment marks with at least two of the alignment marks in the subset thereby creating at least two different instances of the at least one of the alignment marks.
Irie teaches the data based sampling comprises performing a perturbation for the at least one of the alignment marks by replacing the at least one of the alignment marks with at least two of the alignment marks in the subset thereby creating at least two different instances of the at least one of the alignment marks (replacing the defective alignment marks with a pair of other alignment marks in the X and Y direction, see col. 33 lines 13-63).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the mark replacement as taught by Irie in the correction as taught by Cekli in order to correct unreliable measurement based on the closest available reliable information to provide accurate alignment.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cekli in view of Frisco et al. [US 2019/0243252].
For claim 4, Cekli fails to teach the rule based sampling is performed with a heuristic function comprising a weighted combination of multiple cost functions.
Frisco teaches the rule based sampling is performed with a heuristic function comprising a weighted combination of multiple cost functions (cost functions may be used to determine a first and second candidate solution based on the value of cost function, see [0077]-[0093].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the sampling based on cost functions as taught by Frisco in the recipe as taught by Cekli in order to optimize the throughput and accuracy of the sampling locations.
Subject Matter Relative to the Prior Art
Claim 10-18 are dependent upon a base claims rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103.
Frisco identifies sampling optimization based on an overlay cost function (see [0088]).
The cited prior art fails to teach the claimed subject matter of claim 10, including “for the at least one of the alignment marks and each of the at least two different instances, performing alignment modeling, applying an alignment correction difference to preexisting overlay data for two or more other wafers based on results of the alignment modeling thereby generating simulated overlay data for the two or more other wafers, and calculating an overlay stability cost function.” Claims 11-18 depend therefrom.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lee et al. [US 2015/0116686], Wildenberg et al. [US 2016/0334717], Lee et al. [US 2017/0352564], Riggs et al. [US 2018/0189964], Schmitt-Weaver et al. [US 2019/0064680], Ypma et al. [US 2019/0278188] Van Dongen et al. [US 2021/0255547], Nagy et al. [US 2022/0260933], Cramer et al. [US 2023/0141495], Werkman et al. [US 2024/0036479], and Iv et al. [US 2025/0369754] each teach systems for determining a sampling scheme.
/Steven H Whitesell/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759