DETAILED ACTION
The action is responsive to the following communications: the Application filed April 11, 2025. This application is a CON of 18/506,213.
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 13 and 17 are independent.
The present application is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on November 10, 2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of US Patent No. 12,300,312. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Instant Application
US Patent 12,300,312
Comment
Claim 1. A device comprising:
a voltage supply line coupled to a bit line and a complementary bit line; and
a circuit configured to charge the bit line by:
transferring a charge from the voltage supply line to the bit line while the voltage supply line is electrically isolated from a voltage source and the complementary bit line.
Claim 1. A device comprising:
a bit line and a complementary bit line coupled to a memory cell;
a voltage supply line coupled to the memory cell; and
a circuit configured to charge the bit line by:
charging the voltage supply line to a first voltage level while the voltage supply line is electrically isolated from the bit line; and
transferring a charge from the voltage supply line to the bit line while the voltage supply line is electrically isolated from a voltage source and the complementary
bit line.
Note footnote1
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 and 17-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 17 are device claims. However, claims 1 and 17 also claim using the apparatus, such as charging, transferring and storing without additional limitations which focus on the capabilities of the apparatus. A single claim which claims both an apparatus and using the apparatus is indefinite. See MPEP 2173.05(p). Clarification is required.
Claims 2-12 and 18-20 are rejected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claims 1 and 14, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ito (US 4,893,278).
Regarding independent claims 1, 13 and 17, Ito discloses a device (see FIG. 3) comprising:
a voltage supply line (drain node of Q5 or Q6, i.e., supplying bit line voltage) coupled to a bit line (D0 or D1) and a complementary bit line (/D0 or /D1); and
a circuit configured to charge the bit line by:
transferring a charge from the voltage supply line to the bit line while the voltage supply line is electrically isolated from a voltage source and the complementary bit line (see FIG. 4: øpc = “L” and øeq1 = “H”) (see FIG. 4 along with FIG. 3, and accompanying disclosure).
Regarding claim 2, which depends from claim 1, Ito discloses the circuit is further configured to electrically isolate the voltage supply line from the bit line by opening a second switch (see FIG. 3: one of Q8-Q11).
Regarding claim 3, which depends from claim 1, Ito discloses the circuit is further configured to transfer the portion of the charge from the voltage supply line to the bit line by closing a second switch (see FIG. 3: one of Q8-Q11).
Regarding claims 4-5, which depends from claim 1, Ito discloses the circuit is further configured to charge the voltage supply line while the voltage supply line is electrically isolated from the bit line by opening a second switch and closing a first switch; and the first switch is coupled between the voltage supply line and the voltage source (see FIG. 3: one of Q8-Q11, Q5).
Regarding claims 6-7, which depends from claim 1, Ito discloses a third switch (one of Q8-Q11) coupled between the bit line or the voltage supply line and the complementary bit line; and a gate terminal of the second switch and a gate terminal of the third switch are coupled to each other (see FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 9, which depends from claim 1, Ito discloses the circuit is further configured to electrically isolate the voltage supply line from the bit line and the complementary bit line by opening second and third switches (see FIGS. 3-4 and accompanying disclosure).
Regarding claim 14, which depends from claim 13, Ito discloses transferring the charge to the bit line or the complementary bit line includes capacitively storing the charge on the bit line or the complementary bit line, the method further comprising: charging the voltage supply line to the first voltage level by closing a first switch and opening second and third switches; storing the charge on the bit line by opening the second switch; and storing the charge on the complementary bit line by opening the third switch (see e.g., FIGS. 3-4 and accompanying disclosure).
Regarding claim 15, which depends from claim 13, Ito discloses accessing a memory cell using the charge on the bit line, the charge on the complementary bit line, and the charge on the voltage supply line (see e.g., FIGS. 3-4 and accompanying disclosure).
Regarding claim 16, which depends from claim 13, Ito discloses charging the voltage supply line includes charging the voltage supply line to the voltage source (see e.g., FIGS. 3-4 and accompanying disclosure).
Regarding claim 18, which depends from claim 17, Ito discloses the circuit is further configured to charge the voltage supply line while the voltage supply line is electrically isolated from the bit line and the complementary bit line by closing a first switch (e.g., FIG. 3: Q5-Q6).
Regarding claim 19, which depends from claim 17, Ito discloses the circuit is further configured to electrically isolate the voltage supply line from the bit line and the complementary bit line by opening second and third switches (e.g., FIG. 3: Q8-Q11).
Regarding claim 20, which depends from claim 13, Ito discloses the circuit is further configured to access a memory cell using the charge on the voltage supply line (see e.g., FIGS. 3-4 and accompanying disclosure).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 10-11 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito (US 4,893,278).
Regarding claim 8, Ito teaches the limitations of claim 1.
FIG. 3 of Ito does not explicitly disclose the voltage supply line is directly coupled to a memory cell.
However, the virtual voltage supply line directly coupled to a memory cell is a well-known technology for a type of memory for its purpose.
For support, see Ito’s FIGS 5-9 and accompanying disclosure.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize virtual supply voltages coupled to memory cells because these conventional technology are well established in the art of the memory devices.
Regarding claims 10-11, Ito teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Ito does not explicitly disclose the circuit is further configured to charge the voltage supply line to the first voltage level by storing a charge in a line capacitor of the voltage supply line; and the circuit is further configured to charge the bit line to the second voltage level by sharing a charge stored in a line capacitor of the voltage supply line with a line capacitor of the bit line.
Instead, Ito discloses charging voltage level to a bit line (see e.g., FIGS 3-4 and accompanying disclosure).
However, charging voltage level to a bit line implies charging bit line capacitor, i.e., charging voltage level to a line capacitor (e.g., parasitic capacitor) of bit line and complementary bit line is a well-known technology for a type of semiconductor memory device for its purpose.
For support, of the above asserted facts, see for example, Reddy (US 5,525,918), FIG. 1: C1-C4.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize capacitor for storing charges because these conventional technology are well established in the art of the memory devices.
Claim 12 is rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito (US 4,893,278) in view of Huber (US 2015/0029807).
Regarding claim 12, Ito teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Ito does not explicitly disclose the circuit is further configured to charge the complementary bit line prior to or after the bit line.
Huber teaches the deficiencies in e.g., FIGS. 4-5 and accompanying disclosure, i.e., PRCHB0 for BL and PRCHB1 for BLB.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the teaching of Huber to the teaching of Ito such that a memory, as taught by Ito, utilizes cascade charging , as taught by Huber, for the purpose of achieving different charging scheme, thereby minimizing peak to peak current for saving power.
Conclusion
/SUNG IL CHO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2825
1 Re independent claims 1, 13 and 17, claims of US Patent recites all the claimed limitations. The various dependent claims are anticipated by/obvious in view of the conflicting patent.