DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In claims 3, 5 and 7, the terms “the adding” and “the additive” lack proper antecedent basis.
Claims 4 and 6 fail to cure the indefiniteness of their base claims, and are therefore also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-15, 17-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Suen et al (US 2013/0061876 A1).
As to claim 1, Suen discloses a planarization method 500, comprising:
providing a substrate 101 (Fig. 3B, Fig. 4A), wherein the substrate includes a first region 111 (silicon nitride, [0025]) and a second region 117 (conductive material tungsten, copper, cobalt [0029], [0043]) having different degrees of hydrophobicity or hydrophilicity (inherently because they are made from different materials); and
polishing the substrate with a polishing slurry 501 (Fig. 5A, [0046]) and performing a surface treatment by the polishing slurry to adjust the degree of hydrophobicity or hydrophilicity of at least one of the first region and the second region (“to adjust the hydrophilicity of the first polishing stop layer 111” [0046]),
wherein the first region comprises a metal material including cobalt, copper or tungsten [0029], the second region comprises a dielectric material including silicon nitride compound [0025], the polishing slurry and the upper surface of the second region have a first contact angle, and the polishing slurry and the upper surface of the first region have a second contact angle, wherein the surface treatment causes a reduction of a contact angle difference between the first contact angle and the second contact angle during the polishing (inherent as a result of adjusting the hydrophilicity; “contact angle[] which may be used as a measure of the hydrophilic nature”, [0059]).
As to claim 2, Suen discloses that the surface treatment comprises transforming a material of the first region into another material having a degree of hydrophobicity or hydrophilicity different from a degree of hydrophobicity or hydrophilicity of the material of the first region (see rejection of claim 1 where contact angle is a measure of hydrophilicity, Fig. 9A).
As to claim 3, Suen discloses adding additional acids [0047], which function as a pH adjuster as cited.
As to claims 5-6, Suen discloses to include an anionic surfactant as cited [0048], [0051].
As to claim 7, Suen discloses to include a corrosion inhibitor [0048].
As to claim 9, see the rejection of claim 1. Further, the method of Suen reduces contact angle, and therefore is expected to reduce a contact angle difference between the first contact angle and the second contact angle during the CMP operation to at least some extent.
As to claim 10, Suen has the same materials as in the instant invention, and therefore the same properties of hydrophobic and hydrophilic regions are expected. MPEP 2112.01, II (If the composition is physically the same, it must have the same properties).
As to claims 11-12, see the rejection of claims 3 and 5.
As to claim 13, see the rejection of claim 7.
As to claim 14, see the rejection of claim 1. Further, Suen discloses that the polishing is a CMP operation [0046].
As to claim 15, Suen discloses the same steps as recited, and therefore the same results of transforming the metal material into a metal oxide compound, and the pH adjuster modifies a pH value of the polishing slurry as cited are expected (see rejection of claim 3).
As to claim 17, see the rejection of claims 5-6. Because the same steps are conducted as in the instant invention, the same results of the surfactant bonding to the upper surface of the metal material during the CMP operation are expected.
As to claim 18, see the rejection of claim 6.
As to claim 20, Suen teaches in another embodiment that the polishing slurry further comprises an additional second surfactant [0046], which is an additive as cited.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suen et al (US 2013/0061876 A1), as applied to claims 3, 15, and 19, respectively, and further in view of KR 2009/0113999 A.
As to claims 4 and 16, Suen discloses to add acids such as citric acid or oxalic acid [0046], phosphoric acid [0046], or hydrofluoric acid [0047]. Sulfuric acid and nitric acid are other known pH adjusters as taught by KR ’999 (see last claim). It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include sulfuric acid or nitric acid as a pH adjuster in the method of Suen because that they are useful pH adjusters for CMP compositions, and are expected to give the predictable result of a slurry that adjusts hydrophilicity.
As to claim 19, Suen discloses to add a corrosion inhibitor, but fails to disclose its composition. KR ’999 teaches that a short chain corrosion inhibitor such as 1-alykl-5-aminotetrazole or 1-alkyl-5-hydoxy-tetrazole are known, useful corrosion inhibitors (paragraph bridging pages 5-6). It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the cited corrosion inhibitor in the method of Suen because KR ’999 teaches that they are useful corrosion inhibitors for CMP compositions, and are expected to give the predictable result of inhibiting corrosion.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is rejected under obvious-type double patenting, but is allowable over the prior art if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fails to suggest or disclose:
continuing polishing and performing a surface treatment by adjusting the polishing slurry to adjust the degree of hydrophobicity or hydrophilicity of at least one of the first region and the second region, wherein a contact angle difference between the first contact angle and the second contact angle is equal to or less than 30 degrees during the polishing, as in the context of claim 8.
The closest prior art, Suen et al (US 2013/0061876 A1), discloses a method with polishing (buffing CMP process 400, Fig. 4B, [0042]) that renders the silicon oxide layer 111 hydrophobic [0044]. Suen discloses to continue polishing with a second cleaning solution 501. [0050], A second cleaning buffing CMP process 500 changes the degree of hydrophobicity of the exposed second region because a hydrophobic surface is changed from hydrophobic to being hydrophilic. [0051]. Suen discloses that Figure 9B illustrates the change in contact angle by polishing with cleaning solution 501. [0059]. The contact angle changes from 22 to 5 degrees. (Fig.9B, [0059]). While the contact angle is changed, Suen does not disclose that the contact angle difference between the first contact angle and the second contact angle is equal to or less than 30 degrees during the polishing, as in the context of claim 8. Suen fails to disclose the first contact angle. The prior art also fails to suggest or disclose the value of the first contact angle relative to the second contact angle. Therefore, it is unclear that the contact angle difference is within the cited range, nor is there motivation to provide the cited contact angle difference, as in the context of claim 8.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. 10,777,423. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are anticipated or fully encompassed by claims 1-24 of the ’423 patent.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,373,879. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are anticipated or fully encompassed by claims 1-24 of the ’879 patent.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,300,508. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are anticipated or fully encompassed by claims 1-20 of the ’508 patent.
Conclusion
/ANITA K ALANKO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713