DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 1-12 are pending. Claim 12 is withdrawn. Claims 1-11 are presented for examination.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-11 in the reply filed on 6/4/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 12 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/4/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 1-5 and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ou et al. (U.S. PGPUB No. 2018/0061628) in view of Kim et al. (U.S. PGPUB No. 2013/0056817).
Regarding claims 1-5 and 9-11, Ou teaches a method for bottom-up filling of a recess (see Figures 4E and 4F) comprising: preparing a substrate having a recess in a surface thereof (see recess 403 in substrate 401, Figure 4A); forming a film in the recess (claims 1 and 2), wherein the film can be silicon nitride (claim 14); forming a sacrificial film in the recess (claim 1 and element 422, Figure 4A); removing the sacrificial film (claim 1); and filling the recess with the film of silicon nitride after removing the sacrificial film (claims 2 and 3). Ou teaches that the sacrificial film can be formed to have a lower step coverage than the silicon nitride film (see Figure 4A). Ou teaches that the sacrificial film can be formed two or more times during the forming of the silicon nitride film and that the sacrificial film is formed before forming the silicon nitride film (claims 1, 16 and 17). Ou also teaches forming the silicon nitride film by alternately supplying precursors of a silicon compound and a nitriding gas (0056-0057 and 0068), and that forming the sacrificial film is stopped before the sacrificial film is formed on a silicon nitride film at the bottom surface of the recess (see Figures 4E and 4F). Finally, Ou teaches that all the process steps can be performed in a single chamber including multiple stations (see Figure 7) and that the sacrificial layer can be etched with chlorine gas (0062). Ou fails to teach that the sacrificial film is an amorphous silicon film.
However, Kim teaches that amorphous silicon (0057) can be used in combination with silicon nitride (0058), where the amorphous silicon is a sacrificial layer (0057) that can be selectively etched with chlorine gas (0057). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ou’s process by substituting Kim’s sacrificial amorphous silicon layer for the sacrificial layer disclosed by Ou. One would have been motivated to make this substitution as one having ordinary skill in the art could have made this substitution with a reasonable expectation of success (particularly given that Kim teaches amorphous silicon as a sacrificial layer in a similar process that can also be etched with chlorine gas similar to Ou’s process), and the predictable result of providing a method for filling a recess completely from the bottom up without leaving gaps.
2. Claim(s) 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ou in view of Kim as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Aisou (U.S. Pat. No. 5885889).
Regarding claims 6-8, Ou in view of Kim make obvious claim 1, but fail to teach forming the amorphous silicon by simultaneously supplying a silicon-containing gas and an oxygen or phosphorous containing impurity gas followed by supplying the impurity containing gas after stopping supplying the silicon-containing gas.
However, Aisou teaches that it is known to form amorphous silicon by simultaneously supplying a silicon-containing gas and an impurity containing gas (column 9, lines 41-47), and then continuing to supply an impurity containing gas after stopping supplying the silicon-containing gas (column 9, lines 50-58). Aisou teaches that the impurity containing gas can be a phosphorous (phosphine) or oxygen (oxygen in nitrogen) containing gas (column 9, lines 50-52). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ou in view of Kim’s process by depositing the amorphous silicon film as disclosed by Aisou. One would have been motivated to make this modification as Aisou teaches that preparing the amorphous silicon in this manner segregates the dopant of the amorphous silicon and prevents diffusion of the amorphous silicon dopant/impurity (see Aisou at column 5, lines 20-39).
Conclusion
Claims 1-12 are pending.
Claim 12 is withdrawn.
Claims 1-11 are rejected.
/ROBERT S WALTERS JR/
August 21, 2026 Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717