DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-9 and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vandevelde et al. (US 2015/0190232) in light of Van Der Zel (US 2012/0139142), Takada et al. (US 2017/0254378), Chentemirov et al. (US 4,241,138) and Kyomoto et al. (US 2015/0141545).
Claims 1, 5-6 and 16: Vandevelde teaches a process for producing a prosthesis (Abst.) comprising the steps of: fabricating a prosthesis from a core material comprising ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene (¶ 0028); positioning the core in a vessel for hot compression (i.e. claimed pressure vessel) (¶¶ 0040-0042); filling the vessel with titanium powder having an average grain size (i.e. claimed particle size) of 20-500µm (¶¶ 0021, 0040-0042); and performing hot compression to form a titanium coating on at least a portion of the polyethylene prosthesis core (¶¶ 0040-0042). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP § 2144.05(I). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have selected a D50 particle size of 200-250 µm or 225 µm.
Vandevelde is silent concerning how high the titanium is filled. Van Der Zel teaches a process of coating a prosthesis with titanium via compression molding (Abst.) and explains that the titanium particles are filled in a manner wherein they fully cover the core (¶ 0101). Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have selected a fill amount corresponding to 110% of the height of the core in order to have ensure complete coverage with the predictable expectation of success.
Vandevelde is silent regarding how pressure is applied. Takada teaches a process of hot compression and explains that the pressure is applied to the materials by providing a sealing pressure plate in contact with the materials (¶ 0087, e.g.). Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is prima facie obvious. MPEP § 2143. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have selected a pressure plate as the means for compression in Vandevelde with the predictable expectation of success.
Vandevelde teaches a pressure of 20-100 bars and a temperature up to 200˚C, but fails to teach a pressure of 10-50 MPa or a specific duration of compression. Chentemirov teaches a process of hot compression and explains that the spacing between particles can be controlled by controlling the pressure, temperature and duration of the process (3:30-37). Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have selected a pressure of 10-50 MPa and a duration of 10-600 minutes depending on the desired spacing on the final product.
Vandevelde implicitly teaches a cooling step, but fails to provide any details. Kyomoto teaches a method of coating a prosthesis via hot molding (Abst.) and explains that the part should be gradually cooled to a set temperature at a controlled rate to 25˚C after molding before releasing the pressure (i.e. claimed further uncontrolled cooling to ambient) (¶¶ 0082-0083). Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is prima facie obvious. MPEP § 2143. Thus, because Vandevelde is silent regarding how cooling is achieved and because Kyomoto teaches a controlled cooling to 25˚C followed by an uncontrolled cooling to ambient is a suitable means for cooling, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have employed the cooling of Kyomoto with the predictable expectation of success.
Claim 4: Vandevelde does not discuss whether the titanium serves as a working fluid. However, the modified process of Vandevelde teaches the same process steps using the same materials as those which applicant discloses to cause titanium to act as a working fluid. Thus, this feature is considered inherent in the cited art.
Claims 7-9: Vandevelde teaches that the prosthesis is an acetabular cup which is sized to fit a patient’s femoral head (Abst.; ¶ 0002).
Claim 12: Vandevelde teaches that the polyethylene is vitamin E enriched (¶ 0030).
Claim 13: Vandevelde teaches that the core is sized to fit a patient’s femoral head (¶ 0002). Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have selected a core size of 5-9 mm depending on the patient.
Claim 14: Vandevelde teaches a coating thickness of 50-800 µm (¶ 0044). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP § 2144.05(I). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have selected a thickness of 300-500µm.
Claim 15: Vandevelde teaches titanium coverage of 70-90% (i.e. not a unitary whole) (¶ 0046).
Claims 2 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vandevelde, Van Der Zel, Takada, Chentemirov and Kyomoto in light of Kim et al. (US 2018/0363147).
Claims 2 and 3: Vandevelde is silent concerning whether the vessel is hermetically sealed or not. Kim teaches a process of hot compression (Abst.) and explains that the vessel may or may not be hermetically sealed (¶ 0054). Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is prima facie obvious. MPEP § 2143. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have either hermetically sealed or not hermetically sealed the vessel in Vandevelde with the predictable expectation of success.
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vandevelde, Van Der Zel, Takada, Chentemirov and Kyomoto in light of Oral et al. (US 2012/0041094).
Claims 10 an 11: Vandevelde does not specify whether an oven is used. Oral teaches a method of making medical implants (Abst.) via compression molding (¶ 0616) and explains that the process occurs in a preheated oven (¶ 0616). Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is prima facie obvious. MPEP § 2143. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have used a preheated oven for the process of Vandevelde with the predictable expectation of success.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,320,007. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘007 Patent claims the same subject matter as the instant claims.
Conclusion
/ROBERT A VETERE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712