DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 25 JUN 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 11 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 25 JUN 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-6, and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mishra ‘271 (US PGPub 2021/0348271).
Claim 1 – Mishra ‘271 teaches s cleaning method for a film-forming apparatus configured to form a film over a plurality of substrates housed in a process chamber (PG 0024), the cleaning method comprising:
(a) supplying a cleaning gas into the process chamber, thereby removing the film deposited in an interior of the process chamber (PG 0028);
(b) after (a), coating the interior of the process chamber with a molybdenum nitride film (PG 0045, passivation after etching to prevent memory effects during further molybdenum or molybdenum nitride deposition makes explicit the intent to perform further deposition after cleaning; PG 0026, e.g. molybdenum nitride deposited); and
(c) after (b), coating the interior of the process chamber with a molybdenum film (PG 0045, passivation after etching to prevent memory effects during further molybdenum or molybdenum nitride deposition makes explicit the intent to perform further deposition after cleaning; PG 0026, e.g. molybdenum nitride deposited).
Mishra ‘271 does not expressly teach or suggest an embodiment where deposited material comprising both compounds is present and deposited in the claimed order; therefore, Mishra ‘271 does not anticipate Claim 1. However, the combination of separate elements disclosed as capable of being present together (e.g. a material containing both compounds) and the selection of the order of their deposition (a binary choice) is held as prima facie obvious.
Claim 2 – Mishra ‘271 renders obvious the cleaning method according to claim 1, wherein (a) is performed after the molybdenum film is formed over the plurality of substrates in the process chamber (PG 0043, film deposition occurs on the substrates and the reaction tube walls, after which the chamber is cleaned; the wafer boat holds a plurality of substrates).
Claim 5 – Mishra ‘271 renders obvious the cleaning method according to claim 1, but does not expressly teach or suggest wherein (c) is performed at a temperature that is higher than a temperature at which (b) is performed. It is well settled that differences in temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such evidence is critical; see further MPEP 2144.05(II)A. There are only three possible temperature relationships between constant temperatures in steps b and c – b is higher than, equal to, or lower than c. Selecting a temperature relationship such that the desired depositions can occur is held as prima facie obvious in the absence of evidence that the relationship is critical.
Claim 6 – Mishra ‘271 renders obvious the cleaning method according to claim 1, wherein (c) is performed at a temperature that is same as a temperature at which (b) is performed. It is well settled that differences in temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such evidence is critical; see further MPEP 2144.05(II)A. There are only three possible temperature relationships between constant temperatures in steps b and c – b is higher than, equal to, or lower than c. Selecting a temperature relationship such that the desired depositions can occur is held as prima facie obvious in the absence of evidence that the relationship is critical.
Claim 8 – Mishra ‘271 renders obvious the cleaning method according to claim 1, wherein the cleaning gas is a fluorine gas (PG 0037, e.g. fluorine among several alternatives).
Claim 9 – Mishra ‘271 renders obvious the cleaning method according to claim 1, wherein a first surface and a second surface are in the process chamber (PG 0042, boat containing wafers 320 and wafer boat holder 330) and(b) includes coating the first surface and the second surface with the molybdenum nitride film (the ALD gases permeate the chamber; therefore deposition happens throughout the chamber on exposed surfaces). Mishra ‘271 does not expressly teach or suggest wherein the second surface is maintained at a temperature that is lower than a temperature of the first surface. It is well settled that differences in temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such evidence is critical; see further MPEP 2144.05(II)A. There are only three possible temperature relationships between constant temperatures in the cited locations – one is higher than, equal to, or lower than the other. Selecting a temperature relationship such that the desired depositions can occur is held as prima facie obvious in the absence of evidence that the relationship is critical.
Claim 10 – Mishra ‘271 renders obvious the cleaning method according to claim 9, wherein the first surface is a surface of a substrate holder configured to hold the plurality of substrates, and the second surface is a surface of a support configured to support the substrate holder (PG 0042, boat containing wafers 320 and wafer boat holder 330).
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mishra ‘271 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zope ‘809 (US PGPub 2021/0407809).
Claim 3 – Mishra ‘271 renders obvious the cleaning method according to claim 1, wherein (b) includes supplying a molybdenum-containing gas and a second reactant alternately into the process chamber (PG 0039-0040; in an ALD process as contemplated by PG 0036, alternate supply is core to the process). The second reactant is not expressly suggested or disclosed as a nitrogen-containing gas; molybdenum nitride is an expressly stated desired reaction product. Zope ‘809 is drawn to ALD formation of molybdenum-containing films (Abstract, PG 0022). In films containing nitrogen, Zope ‘809 PG 0068 discloses ammonia as a nitrogen-containing gas that contributes nitrogen to the film. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made or filed to have modified the invention of Mishra ‘271 to select ammonia as the second reactant in the process of Mishra ‘271 when molybdenum nitride deposition is performed, because Mishra ‘271 discloses ALD processes where molybdenum nitride is formed and Zope ‘809 discloses that ammonia is a known ALD reactant to incorporate nitrogen into molybdenum-containing films.
Claim 4 – Mishra ‘271 renders obvious the cleaning method according to claim 1, wherein (c) includes supplying a molybdenum-containing gas and a second reactant alternately into the process chamber (PG 0039-0040; in an ALD process as contemplated by PG 0036, alternate supply is core to the process). The second reactant is not expressly suggested or disclosed as a reducing gas; molybdenum is an expressly stated desired reaction product. Zope ‘809 is drawn to ALD formation of molybdenum-containing films (Abstract, PG 0022). In films containing nitrogen, Zope ‘809 PG 0068 discloses hydrogen as a reducing agent at PG 0022 and discloses at PG 0066-0068 that hydrogen can remove halides from the molybdenum source; it is noted that Mishra ‘271 contemplates molybdenum halides as source reactants (PG 0048). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made or filed to have modified the invention of Mishra ‘271 to select hydrogen as the second reactant in the process of Mishra ‘271 when molybdenum deposition is performed, because Mishra ‘271 discloses ALD processes where molybdenum is formed from e.g. molybdenum halide precursors and Zope ‘809 discloses that hydrogen is a reducing agent that can remove halide ligands from molybdenum halide precursors when forming molybdenum-containing films.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claim 7 requires wherein (a), (b), and (c) are performed in a state in which no substrate is in the process chamber. This is a process where the depositions in steps (b) and (c) are intentional material rather than incidental and undesired deposition by-products as in Mishra ‘271; the concept of deliberately forming those layers after cleaning, in combination with the limitations of claim 1, would be clear of the prior art.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL G MILLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712