Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the AS/RS shuttle" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is noted that rails for the shuttle are introduced in previous claim 12, but the shuttle is not positively recited.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5 and 12-13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gravelle (US Pub App 2018/0148259).
Regarding claim 1, Gravelle a storage grid system for automated storage and retrieval comprising
a moment frame (Fig.11A) comprising a plurality of columns and a plurality of beams, joined in a rectilinear grid (Fig.4) which defines a plurality of storage cells (10),
wherein the plurality of storage cells comprises a set of interior storage cells, wherein each interior storage cell of the set defines six faces, each face bounded by an adjacent storage cell of the plurality (Figs.1-4).
Regarding claim 3, Gravelle further discloses wherein the set of interior storage cells defines a portal frame structure within the moment frame (Figs.1-34).
Regarding claim 4, Gravelle further discloses wherein each interior storage cell defines a six-way shuttle cell (Figs.1-4).
Regarding claim 5, Gravelle further discloses wherein an AS/RS robot is configured to shuttle a payload through each of the six faces of the interior storage cell (Figs.1-4).
Regarding claim 12, Gravelle further discloses wherein each beam comprises a set of rails (26, 28) for an AS/RS shuttle (36).
Regarding claim 13, Gravelle further discloses wherein the AS/RS shuttle is positionally indexed relative to a set of column features (Fig.5).
Claims 15-16, 19-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (US Pub App 2014/0182977).
Regarding claim 15, Chen discloses an automated storage and retrieval system (AS/RS) (capable of storing and retrieving) comprising:
a first column comprising a rolled tube (Fig.1);
four helical racks mounted to the first column, the four helical racks radially symmetric about a vertical axis of the first column (Fig.8); and
a set of beams comprising:
a first and second pair of beams mounted to the first column, a first plane orthogonal to the vertical axis and intersecting the first and second pairs of beams (Fig.8); and
a third and fourth pair of beams mounted to the first column, a second plane orthogonal to the vertical axis and intersecting the third and fourth pairs of beams (Fig.8),
wherein the first and second planes intersect each of the four helical racks (Fig.8).
Regarding claim 16, Chen further discloses the set of beams joins the first column to a first, second, third, and fourth column within a portal frame (Fig.8).
Regarding claim 19, Chen further discloses the portal frame defines an annular clearance region which encircles the first column between the first and second planes (Fig.8).
Regarding claim 20, Chen further discloses the system further comprises a set of diagonal braces which extend between the first and second planes, wherein the set of diagonal braces do not intersect the annular clearance region (Fig.8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gravelle (US Pub App 2018/0148259) in view of Kahan (US Pub App 2003/0200706).
Regarding claim 2, Gravelle further discloses wherein the plurality of storage cells further defines a set of peripheral storage cells (Figs.1-4).
Gravelle does not further specifically disclose the system further comprising a set of braces which reinforce columns along the diagonals of the exterior faces of a set of peripheral storage cells.
Kahan teaches an exoskeleton system for reinforcing tall building comprising diagonal bracing members connected between vertically spaced floor beams at an angle to both the floor beams and the columns (Abstract and Fig.1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified Gravelle in view of Kahan to have a set of braces which reinforce columns along the diagonals of the exterior faces of a set of peripheral storage cells in order to provide additional support to the system.
Claims 6-8, 14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gravelle (US Pub App 2018/0148259) in view of Chen (US Pub App 2014/0182977).
Regarding claim 6, Gravelle further discloses a first column of the plurality of columns is joined with a first, second, and third beam, a reference plane intersecting the first, second, and third beams (Fig.11a).
Gravelle does not further specifically disclose the first column comprises a set of helical racks which are radially symmetric about a long axis of the first column.
Chen teaches a vertical support structure includes a half tube and a mounting member. The half tube has an inner surface defining a receiving space and formed with a series of axially spaced-apart helical groove halves (Abstract, Para.7-9, Fig.8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified Gravelle in view of Chen to include a set of helical racks which are radially symmetric about a long axis of the first column to improve efficiency of the structure.
Regarding claim 7, Gravelle, as modified above, further teaches the first column comprises four helical racks, each bounding a respective storage cell of the plurality of storage cells (Chen, Fig.8).
Regarding claim 8, Gravelle, as modified above, further teaches wherein the set of helical racks comprises a first helical rack between the first and second beams, wherein the set of helical racks comprises a second helical rack between the second and third beams (Chen, Fig.8).
Regarding claim 14, Gravelle further discloses wherein a position of each beam joined to a first column of the plurality is indexed relative to a first hole pattern on the first column (Fig.11b).
Gravelle does not further specifically disclose wherein a set of helical racks is mounted to the first column and indexed against a second hole pattern on the column (Fig.11b).
Chen teaches a vertical support structure includes a half tube and a mounting member. The half tube has an inner surface defining a receiving space and formed with a series of axially spaced-apart helical groove halves (Abstract, Para.7-9, Fig.8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified Gravelle in view of Chen to include a set of helical racks which are radially symmetric about a long axis of the first column to improve efficiency of the structure.
Claim 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gravelle (US Pub App 2018/0148259) in view of Chen (US Pub App 2014/0182977) and Kirby (US Pub App 2014/0202968).
Regarding claim 11, Gravelle further discloses a first column of the plurality of columns is joined with a first, second, and third beam, a reference plane intersecting the first, second, and third beams (Fig.11a).
Gravelle does not further specifically disclose wherein the first and third beams are joined by a bolt through the first column.
Kirby teaches during the assembly of a flexible moment frame in the field and on the floor surface, a first set of load beams and cross beams are attached to the vertical posts. Opposite ends of a first load beam are attached to the first and second vertical posts, using bolts 40 (Para.29-31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified Gravelle in view of Kirby to include a bolt joining beams through a column in order to in order to increase strength.
Gravelle does not further specifically disclose wherein the first column comprises a first helical rack mounted on the first and second beams, wherein the set of helical racks comprises a second helical rack between the second and third beams.
Chen teaches a vertical support structure includes a half tube and a mounting member. The half tube has an inner surface defining a receiving space and formed with a series of axially spaced-apart helical groove halves (Abstract, Para.7-9, Fig.8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified Gravelle in view of Chen to include a set of helical racks which are radially symmetric about a long axis of the first column to improve efficiency of the structure.
Claims 9-10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gravelle (US Pub App 2018/0148259) in view of Tai et al (US Pub App 2003/0206789).
Regarding claim 9, Gravelle does not further specifically disclose wherein each of the columns defines an annular cross section in a first plane which is normal to a long axis of the column.
Tai teaches an automatic warehouse wherein main body supports are formed like a cylinder and have a circular cross section (Para.67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified Gravelle in view of Tai to have each of the columns defines an annular cross section in a first plane which is normal to a long axis of the column or any main body supports to have an annular cross section since columns of annular cross section are known to offer high strength for their weight and are excellent for structural columns.
Regarding claim 10, Gravelle further suggests by the taught combination wherein each column comprises a cylindrical tube (column Gravelle Figs.1-4, Tai Para.67).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17-18 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art of record fails to disclose or render obvious the claimed invention as set forth in claim 17 and subsequent dependent claims. The prior art of record does not disclose or render obvious the portal frame defines a first, second, third, and fourth cell between the first plane and the second planes, wherein an AS/RS shuttle is configurable to traverse along a path, between the first, second, third, and fourth cells, which encircles the first column.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Voloskov, Benedict, Razumov, Gravelle, Kirby and Perry-Eaton further disclose elements of discloses a storage grid system for automated storage and retrieval.
/SAUL RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3652
/ASHLEY K ROMANO/Examiner, Art Unit 3652