DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Barrier applicator in claims 1 and 12, wherein “applicator” is a known generic placeholder in the art for a means for applying a material upon a desired surface;
Sacrificial substructure remover in claims 1 and 12, which is disclosed as a puncture plate which is a common term known in the art as a plate with puncturing means and imparts structure;
Movable structure in claims 1 and 12, disclosed in Fig. 7 and 8 as a reciprocating rod sacrificial substructure remover 520 from one position to another .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Crawford (US 4214741).
As to claim 1, Crawford discloses a needle pickup device (Abstract). Crawford discloses that the apparatus comprises of: a barrier applicator 28d capable of pressing down a sheet material upon a desired surface and sheet remover/holder comprising of a plate 17 and puncture pins 24 connected to at least a reciprocating rod 18 (Fig. 1a through 1c and Fig. 2 through 7 below).
Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim. Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969).
A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). Here, the apparatus of Crawford contains all of the structural limitations of claim 1.
As to claims 2-9, the apparatus of claim 1 is taught as seen above. Claims 2-7 are rejected for the same reasons as claim 1 above since they are drawn to method and materials worked upon limitations.
Claims 10-11 are rejected for the same reasons as claim 1 above because claim 1 recites the same apparatus structural limitations as claims 10-11.
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Uno (US 20120124952).
As to claim 10, Uno discloses a needling apparatus (¶237; Fig. 8 below). Uno discloses a movable plate 120 with puncture pins/needles 121 (Id.).
Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim. Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969).
A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). Here, the apparatus of Uno contains all of the structural limitations of claim 10.
As to claim 11, the apparatus of claim 10 is taught as seen above. Uno discloses that the movable puncture plate comprises of one or more puncture pin/needles (Id.).
Double Patenting
Claims 12-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 and 8-9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,322,615 in view of Crawford (US 4214741).
As to claim 12, claim 1 of ‘615 recites the same method limitations of removing a sacrificial substructure from a support structure except it does not specifically recite the sacrificial substructure detach tool. Crawford discloses a needle pickup device (Abstract). Crawford discloses that the apparatus comprises of: a barrier applicator 28d capable of pressing down a sheet material upon a desired surface and sheet remover/holder comprising of a plate 17 and puncture pins 24 connected to at least a reciprocating rod 18 (Fig. 1a through 1c and Fig. 2 through 7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use the sheet application/detach tool of Crawford in the method taught by claim 1 of ‘615 because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out such a substitution to achieve the predictable result of providing a known successful and conventional means for applying and removing a sheet material from a desired surface. “The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.” KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claims 2-4 and 8-9 of ‘615 respectively recite the same limitations of claims 13-15 and 19-20.
As to claim 16, the method of claim 15 is taught as seen above. The barrier applicator would be configured to receive the support structure having the sacrificial substructure adhered thereto by the adhesive layer.
As to claim 17, the method of claim 15 is taught as seen above. The barrier applicator is configured to apply the barrier to the sacrificial substructure by adhering the barrier to the sacrificial substructure with the adhesive layer of the sacrificial substructure.
As to claim 18, the method of claim 12 is taught as seen above. The sacrificial substructure remover is configured to secure the sacrificial substructure to the movable structure by piercing the sacrificial substructure with one or more puncture pins connected to the sacrificial substructure remover.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER C CAILLOUET/Examiner, Art Unit 1745
/GEORGE R KOCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745