Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 and 8-15 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 7, 8 and 14-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11448976 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because see the mapping in the following table:
.
Instant Application Claim Number
Claim Number of US 11448976 B2
1 and 14
1
2
2
3
3
4
4
6
8
8
7
9
14
10
15
11
16
12
17
13
18
15
19
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8, 9, 12, 13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zaal et al. [US 20050002010 A1, hereafter Zaal].
As per Claim 1, Zaal teaches a substrate holder 2 for use in a lithographic apparatus (See fig. 1) and configured to support a substrate W, the substrate holder comprising:
a main body 2 (fig. 2, Para 50) having a main body surface (See fig. 4);
a plurality of support elements (9, 10) projecting from the main body surface, wherein each support element has a distal end surface configured to support the substrate and a first height (See fig. 4, Para 50, wherein a height of approximately 100µ);
a seal unit comprising a first seal member 11 projecting from the main body surface (See fig. 4, Para 53), the first seal member 11 having an upper surface and a second height less than the first height and being positioned radially outward of and surrounding the plurality of support elements (9, 10), the upper surface having a contact region configured to contact the substrate during loading and/or unloading of the substrate (See fig. 4, Para 57); and
wherein a position of the contact region is arranged at a distance from the plurality of support elements sufficient enough such that during the loading and/or unloading of the substrate, a force applied to the first seal member by the substrate is greater than a force applied to the plurality of support elements by the substrate (See fig. 4, Para 58, wherein a frictional energy applied at the further member 13 is greater than at the support elements 9, 10).
As per Claim 2, Zaal teaches the substrate holder of claim 1, wherein the contact region is positioned adjacent to a radially outer edge of the first seal member and the radial distance from a radially outer edge of the distal end surface to the contact region is greater than 1,000 microns (See fig. 4, Para 59, wherein 3 mm outside last burl) and preferably, greater than 1,500 microns, and/or wherein the length of the first seal member in a radial direction is greater than 300 microns, and preferably, greater than 500 microns (See fig. 4, wherein an element 13 has a dimension in the radial direction larger than the 500 micron diameter burls).
As per Claim 3, Zaal teaches the substrate holder of claim 1, wherein a profile of the contact region, in a cross section through the first seal member in a radial direction, has a shape which is configured such that during the loading and/or unloading of the substrate, the substrate contacts the first seal member via at least two different points of the profile, and/or the substrate holder further comprising at least one further member projecting from the main body surface and having an upper surface, the at least one further member being positioned radially outward of and surrounding the seal unit, the upper surface of the further member having a contact region configured to contact the substrate during loading and/or unloading of the substrate, wherein a position of the contact region of the further member is arranged at a distance from the plurality of support elements sufficient enough such that during the loading and/or unloading of the substrate, a force applied to the further member by the substrate is greater than a force applied to the plurality of support elements by the substrate (See fig. 4, Para 53, wherein forces the bottom surface to move into the direction of the centre of the wafer holder 2, illustrated by arrow P).
As per Claim 8, Zaal teaches a substrate holder 2 for use in a lithographic apparatus (See fig. 1) and configured to support a substrate 1 (See fig. 2, Para 50), the substrate holder comprising:
a main body 2 (See fig. 2, Para 50)having a main body surface (See fig. 4);
a plurality of support elements (9, 10) projecting from the main body surface, wherein each support element has a distal end surface configured to support the substrate and a first height (See fig. 4, Para 50, wherein a height of approximately 100µ);
a seal unit comprising a first seal member 11 projecting from the main body surface, the first seal member 11 having an upper surface and a second height less than the first height and being positioned radially outward of the plurality of and surrounding the support elements (9 and 10), and the upper surface having a contact region configured to contact the substrate during loading and/or unloading of the substrate (Para 53); and
wherein a profile of the contact region, in a cross section through the first seal member in a radial direction, has a shape which is configured such that during the loading and/or unloading of the substrate, the substrate contacts the first seal member via at least two different points of the profile (Para 53, wherein the outer rim 11 or even a further rim element 13 that may be used to absorb the scraping energy associated with the release action).
As per Claim 9, Zaal teaches the substrate holder of claim 3, wherein the shape of the profile is linear from the upper surface of the first seal member to a radially outer edge of the first seal member, and/or wherein the shape of the profile comprises multiple linear portions from an upper surface of the first seal member to a radially outer edge of the first seal member, and/or wherein the shape of the profile is substantially step-shaped, and/or wherein the shape of the profile is curved from an upper surface of the first seal member to a radially outer edge of the first seal member (See fig. 4).
As per Claim 12, Zaal teaches the substrate holder of claim 1, wherein the seal unit comprises a second seal member 11 projecting from the main body surface and positioned radially inward of the first seal member, the second member configured to restrict the passage of liquid between the substrate and the main body surface radially inward past the second seal member, and/or wherein the first seal member is configured to provide a pressure drop radially inward of the first seal member relative to the pressure in a region radially outward of the seal unit (See fig. 4, Para 53).
As per Claim 13, Zaal teaches the substrate holder of claim 12, wherein the first seal member is configured to provide a low pressure region between the first seal member and the second seal member (Para 53).
As per Claim 15, Zaal teaches a lithographic apparatus comprising the substrate holder configured to support the substrate according to claim 1 (See fig. 1-2, Para 53).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zaal in view of Klomp et al. [US 20150370178 A1, hereafter Klomp].
As per Claim 4, Zaal teaches the substrate holder of claim 1.
Zaal does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of support elements, the first seal member, or both comprise a coating made of diamond-like carbon, diamond, silicon carbide, boron nitride or boron carbon nitride, and the coating forms the distal end surface of the plurality of support elements and/or forms the upper surface of the first seal member, and the contact region of the first seal member is on the coating, and/or the at least one further member comprising a coating made of diamond-like carbon, diamond, silicon carbide, boron nitride or boron carbon nitride, wherein the coating forms the upper surface of the further member and the contact region of the further member is on the coating of the further member.
Klomp teaches the dielectric used by embodiments of the invention to form the burls 10, 30 may be a material which provides sufficient wear resistance to allow the electrostatic clamp to have a useful lifetime. For example, the dielectric may be sufficiently wear resistant to allow tens of wafers (or one hundred wafers or more) to be held by and removed from the electrostatic clamp per hour, for a period of months. Diamond-like carbon (DLC) may provide sufficient wear resistance (Para 117 and 127).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at time the invention was made to incorporate the coating material as claimed in order to provide a substrate support subjected to less wear).
As per Claim 5, Zaal teaches a substrate holder 2 for use in a lithographic apparatus (See fig. 1) and configured to support a substrate W, the substrate holder comprising:
a main body 2 having a main body surface (See fig. 2 and 4, Para 50);
a plurality of support elements (9, 10) projecting from the main body surface, wherein each support element has a distal end surface configured to support the substrate and a first height (See fig. 4, Para 50);
a seal unit comprising a first seal member 11 projecting from the main body surface (Para 53), the first seal member 11 having a second height less than the first height and being positioned radially outward of and surrounding the plurality of support elements 9 and 10 (See fig. 4, Para 57), and
wherein a position of the contact region of the further member is arranged at a distance from the plurality of support elements sufficient enough such that during the loading and/or unloading of the substrate, a force applied to the further member by the substrate is greater than a force applied to the plurality of support elements by the substrate (See fig. 4, Para 58, wherein a frictional energy applied at the further member 13 is greater than at the support elements 9, 10).
Zaal does not explicitly teach at least one further member projecting from the main body surface and having an upper surface, the at least one further member being positioned radially outward of and surrounding the seal unit, the at least one further member comprising a coating forming the upper surface of the further member, the coating having a contact region configured to contact the substrate during loading and/or unloading of the substrate, wherein the coating is made of diamond-like carbon, diamond, silicon carbide, boron nitride or boron carbon nitride.
Klomp teaches the dielectric used by embodiments of the invention to form the burls 10, 30 may be a material which provides sufficient wear resistance to allow the electrostatic clamp to have a useful lifetime. For example, the dielectric may be sufficiently wear resistant to allow tens of wafers (or one hundred wafers or more) to be held by and removed from the electrostatic clamp per hour, for a period of months. Diamond-like carbon (DLC) may provide sufficient wear resistance (Para 117 and 127).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at time the invention was made to incorporate the coating material as claimed in order to provide a substrate support subjected to less wear.
As per Claim 6, Zaal in view of Klomp teaches the substrate holder of claim 4.
Zaal further disclosed wherein a profile of the contact region of the further member, in a cross section through the further member in a radial direction, has a shape which is configured such that during the loading and/or unloading of the substrate, the substrate contacts the further member via at least two different points of the profile (See fig. 4, Para 53, wherein the outer rim 11 or even a further rim element 13 that may be used to absorb the scraping energy associated with the release action).
As per Claim 7, Zaal in view of Klomp teaches the substrate holder of claim 4.
Zaal further disclosed wherein the further member has a third height less than the first height, and/or wherein the further member has an annular shape and comprises a plurality of segments, and/or wherein the further member comprises a plurality of further support elements (See fig. 4, Para 53).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zaal in view of Laurent et al. [US 9785055 B2, hereafter Laurent].
As per Claim 14, Zaal teaches the substrate holder of claim 1.
Zaal does not explicitly teach at least one extraction opening formed in the main body for the extraction of fluid into the main body from between the main body surface and the substrate, the at least one extraction opening being arranged radially inward of and adjacent to the first seal member, and/or wherein the substrate holder is configured to control the pressure between the main body and the substrate when the substrate is being loaded and/or unloaded.
Laurent teaches the first and second drains 10, 20 are each provided with an opening 12, 22 and a channel 16, 26. The channel 16, 26 is in fluid communication with the respective opening 12, 22 through a passageway 14, 24. The opening 12, 22 may be provided at one or more discrete locations around the periphery of the edge of the substrate W and may, in plan, be slits or circular openings or any other shape. In an embodiment three discrete circular openings are provided around the edge of the substrate W, for instance. An opening 12, 22 may only be a small opening, for example of 2 mm diameter, in the periphery of a substrate W (See fig. 6, Column 11 lines 8-16).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at time the invention was made to incorporate immersion lithography and extraction system as claimed in order to improve the quality of image transfer.
Conclusion
/MESFIN T ASFAW/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882