DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 9-10, 15 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 2: [at] a control system
Claim 2, line 1: The method of claim 1, wherein[:]
Claim 4, line 1: The method of claim 1, wherein[:]
Claim 5, line 3: [the method] further [comprises,] comprising
Claim 9, lines 1-2: The method of claim 1, [wherein: the method ] further [comprises,] comprising
Claim 10, line 2: [at] a control system
Claim 15, line 2: [at] a control system
Claim 15, line 20: as a function of time[:] ;
Claim 20, line 1: The method of claim 15, wherein[:]
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claim 15 is directed to a method of operating a transportation system (i.e., a process). Therefore, claim 15 is within at least one of the four statutory categories.
Regarding Prong I of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed
to determine whether they recite subject matter that falls within one of the follow groups of abstract ideas: a) mathematical concepts, b) certain methods of organizing human activity, and/or c) mental processes.
Claim 15 includes limitations that recite an abstract idea (emphasized below) and will be
used as a representative claim for the remainder of the 101 rejection. Claim 15 recites:
A method of operating a transportation system, comprising:
at a control system configured to determine respective paths for respective vehicles and
to provide the respective paths to the respective vehicles:
receiving a trip request specifying an origin boarding zone and a destination boarding zone;
selecting a vehicle for the trip request;
determining a deconflicted spacetime trajectory for the trip request, the deconflicted spacetime trajectory configured to avoid contact with other vehicles in the transportation system and extending from the origin boarding zone, along at least a portion of a trunk lane of a roadway system, to the destination boarding zone,
the determining including: for a first trajectory segment from a parking spot at the origin boarding zone to the trunk lane:
comparing the first trajectory segment to respective trajectory segments of other respective vehicles scheduled to travel in the origin boarding zone during a same time as the vehicle; and
selecting a departure time from the parking spot that results in the first trajectory segment avoiding all other respective trajectory segments; and for a second trajectory segment along the trunk lane, the trunk lane associated with a set of moving position-targets that define non-intersecting vehicle positions along the trunk lane as a function of time:
selecting a moving position-target that is not assigned to another vehicle
The examiner submits that the foregoing bolded limitation(s) constitute a “mental process” because under its broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim covers performance of the limitation in the human mind. But for the recitation of “a control system” nothing in the claim elements precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, “determining…”, “comparing…” and “selecting…” in the context of this claim encompasses a person looking at data collected and forming a simple judgement. Additionally, the “determining…”, “comparing…” and “selecting…” steps are not too complicated to be performed with the aid of pen and paper. Accordingly, the claim recites at least one abstract idea.
Regarding Prong II of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether the claim, as a whole, integrates the abstract into a practical application. As noted in the 2019 PEG, it must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application”.
In the present case, the additional limitations beyond the above-noted abstract idea are as
follows (where the underlined portions are the “additional limitations”) while the bolded portions
continue to represent the “abstract idea”:
A method of operating a transportation system, comprising:
at a control system configured to determine respective paths for respective vehicles and
to provide the respective paths to the respective vehicles:
receiving a trip request specifying an origin boarding zone and a destination boarding zone;
selecting a vehicle for the trip request;
determining a deconflicted spacetime trajectory for the trip request, the deconflicted spacetime trajectory configured to avoid contact with other vehicles in the transportation system and extending from the origin boarding zone, along at least a portion of a trunk lane of a roadway system, to the destination boarding zone,
the determining including: for a first trajectory segment from a parking spot at the origin boarding zone to the trunk lane:
comparing the first trajectory segment to respective trajectory segments of other respective vehicles scheduled to travel in the origin boarding zone during a same time as the vehicle; and
selecting a departure time from the parking spot that results in the first trajectory segment avoiding all other respective trajectory segments; and for a second trajectory segment along the trunk lane, the trunk lane associated with a set of moving position-targets that define non-intersecting vehicle positions along the trunk lane as a function of time:
selecting a moving position-target that is not assigned to another vehicle
For the following reason(s), the examiner submits that the above identified additional
limitations do not integrate the above-noted abstract idea into a practical application.
Regarding the additional limitations of “receiving…” and “providing…”, the examiner submits that these limitations are insignificant extra-solution activities that merely use a computer (e.g. control system) to perform the process. In particular, the receiving step from external sources is recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as a general means of gathering data for use in the determining, comparing and selecting steps), and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. Additionally, providing step is also recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as a general means of data output for use in the determining, comparing and selecting steps) which is also a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. Lastly, the “control system” merely describes how to generally “apply” the otherwise mental judgements in a generic or general purpose vehicle control environment. The method of operating a transportation system is recited at a high level of generality and merely automates the determining, comparing and selecting steps.
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Further, looking at the additional limitation(s) as an ordered combination or as a whole, the limitation(s) add nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. For instance, there is no indication that the additional elements, when considered as a whole, reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to another technology or technical field, apply or use the above-noted judicial exception to effect a particular vehicle navigation or control problem, implement/use the above-noted judicial exception with a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is not more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (MPEP § 2106.05). Accordingly, the additional limitation(s) do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Regarding Step 2B of the 2019 PEG, representative independent claim 15 does not include
additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons as those discussed above with respect to determining that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a control system to perform the determining, comparing and selecting amounts to nothing more than applying the exception using a generic computer component. Generally applying an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. And as discussed above, the additional limitations of “receiving…” and “providing…”; the examiner submits that these limitations are insignificant extra-solution activities.
Further, a conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in
Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if they are more than what is well understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. The additional limitations of “receiving…” and “providing…” are well-understood, routine, and conventional activities, and the specification does not provide any indication that the control system is anything other than a conventional computer network component. MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), and the cases cited therein, including Intellectual Ventures I, LLC v. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307, 1321 (Fed. Cir. 2016), TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610 (Fed. Cir. 2016), and OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363 (Fed. Cir. 2015), indicate that mere collection or receipt of data over a network is a well‐understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner. Hence, the claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent claims 16-20 do not recite any further limitations that cause the claim to be patent eligible. Rather, the limitations of dependent claims are directed toward additional aspects of the judicial exception and/or well-understood, routine and conventional additional elements that do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Therefore, dependent claims 16-20 are not patent eligible under the same rationale as provided for in the rejection of Claim 15. Therefore, claims 15-20 are ineligible under 35 USC §101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spasovski et al. (US 20240311943 A1; hereinafter Spasovski) in view of Ichikawa et al. (US 20210349457 A1; hereinafter Ichikawa).
Regarding claim 1, Spasovski teaches a method of operating a transportation system (see at least, [0041] The integrated transportation system), comprising: at a control system configured to determine respective paths for respective vehicles and to provide the respective paths to the respective vehicles (see at least, [0162] The central computer may be responsible for coordinating and instructing individual vehicles within the fleet of vehicles to travel on certain routes based on any of a number of factors and criteria, such as customer destination, shortest travel time, and traffic volumes): receiving a trip request specifying an origin boarding zone and a destination boarding zone (see at least, [0020] The scheduling method may comprise selecting a vehicle available to serve the customer request for a trip from a starting location to a destination by one or more possible route); determining a path for the trip request (see at least, [0229] After a suitable route and schedule for carrying out the customer's trip request is found, the application may present this option to the requesting customer); assigning the trip request to a vehicle (see at least, [0241] selecting a vehicle for carrying out the customer's trip request…the opening station controller 230 or any road controllers 226 and 228 in the vicinity of the station is queried to locate a vehicle that is available and which is appropriate for making the
requested trip); determining, based at least in part on a location of a parking spot where the vehicle is parked at the origin boarding zone, an estimated transit duration of the vehicle from the parking spot to an entrance to the trunk lane (see at least,[0283] The timetable comprises a time and location for which an opening street controller at the exit of the station expects the vehicle to be present…the station controller 230 may instruct the vehicle to travel to a location within the station in close proximity to the exit and wait until the scheduled time to depart the station and begin the scheduled route).
Spasovski does not explicitly teach the path extending from the origin boarding zone and along at least a portion of a trunk lane of a roadway system, the trunk lane associated with a set of candidate moving position-targets defining vehicle position with respect to time along the trunk lane; selecting, based at least in part on the estimated transit duration, a moving position-target from the set of candidate moving position-targets; and causing the vehicle to: travel from the parking spot to the trunk lane; and travel along the portion of the trunk lane by following the selected moving position-target. However, Ichikawa teaches these limitations.
Ichikawa teaches the path extending from the origin boarding zone and along at least a portion of a trunk lane of a roadway system (see at least, Fig 2; [0043] The pick-up and drop-off area 3 is connected to an approach road 5 that guides vehicles from a public road to the pick-up and drop-off area 3, and an exit road 6 that guides vehicles from the pick-up and drop-off area 3 to the public road), the trunk lane associated with a set of candidate moving position-targets defining vehicle position with respect to time along the trunk lane (see least, Fig 2; P1, P2); selecting, based at least in part on the estimated transit duration, a moving position-target from the set of candidate moving position-targets (see at least, [0045] In the stop preparation mode, a pickup position P2 close to the user 2 and capable of
stopping is determined); and causing the vehicle to: travel from the parking spot to the trunk lane; and travel along the portion of the trunk lane by following the selected moving position-target (see at least, In the stop control mode, the automated driving vehicle 30 generates a target trajectory to the determined pickup position P2. Then, the automated driving vehicle 30 controls the travel device of the automated driving vehicle 30 so as to follow the generated target trajectory).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Spasovski to include the path extending from the origin boarding zone and along at least a portion of a trunk lane of a roadway system, the trunk lane associated with a set of candidate moving position-targets defining vehicle position with respect to time along the trunk lane; selecting, based at least in part on the estimated transit duration, a moving position-target from the set of candidate moving position-targets; and causing the vehicle to: travel from the parking spot to the trunk lane; and travel along the portion of the trunk lane by following the selected moving position-target as taught by Ichikawa in order determine a target of the pickup position on the road close to the matching positional coordinates based on the positional coordinates information (Ichikawa, [0048]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Spasovski and Ichikawa teaches the method of claim 1. Spasovski further teaches wherein: the origin boarding zone includes an output buffer zone for receiving vehicles exiting the origin boarding zone (see at least, [0283] the station controller 230 may instruct the vehicle to travel to a location within the station in close proximity to the exit and wait until the scheduled time to depart the station and begin the scheduled route).
Ichikawa further teaches the destination boarding zone includes an input buffer zone for receiving vehicles entering the destination boarding zone (see at least, Fig 2 [0043] The pick-up and drop-off area 3 is connected to an approach road 5 that guides vehicles from a public road to the pick-up and drop-off area ); and selecting the moving position-target comprises selecting an available moving position-target that is not assigned to any other vehicle between the output buffer zone at the origin boarding zone and the input buffer zone at the destination boarding zone (see at least, [0045] In the stop preparation mode, a pickup position P2 close to the user 2 and capable of stopping is determined, taking into account the actual congestion situation of the pick-up and drop-off area 3 for the automated driving vehicle 30 and a waiting position of the user 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Spasovski to include the destination boarding zone includes an input buffer zone for receiving vehicles entering the destination boarding zone; and selecting the moving position-target comprises selecting an available moving position-target that is not assigned to any other vehicle between the output buffer zone at the origin boarding zone and the input buffer zone at the destination boarding zone as taught by Ichikawa in order determine a target of the pickup position on the road close to the matching positional coordinates based on the positional coordinates information (Ichikawa, [0048]).
Regarding 3, the combination of Spasovski and Ichikawa teaches the method of claim 1. Spasovski further teaches wherein the path extends from the parking spot of the origin boarding zone to an input buffer position of the destination boarding zone (see at least, [0200] a vehicle is controlled to travel on a trip from a starting point to a destination point….Control of the vehicle may be transferred to a station controller 230 as the vehicle enters the destination station).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Spasovski and Ichikawa teaches the method of claim 3. Ichikawa further teaches wherein the input buffer position of the destination boarding zone is an outermost input buffer position (see at least, Fig 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Spasovski to include the input buffer position of the destination boarding zone is an outermost input buffer position as taught by Ichikawa in order determine a target of the pickup position on the road close to the matching positional coordinates based on the positional coordinates information (Ichikawa, [0048]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Spasovski and Ichikawa teaches the method of claim 4. Ichikawa further teaches wherein: the outermost input buffer position is a first input buffer position (see at least, Fig 2; [0043] The pick-up and drop-off area 3 is connected to an approach road 5 that guides vehicles from a public road to the pick-up and drop-off area 3, and an exit road 6 that guides vehicles from the pick-up and drop-off area 3 to the public road.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Spasovski to include the outermost input buffer position is a first input buffer position as taught by Ichikawa in order determine a target of the pickup position on the road close to the matching positional coordinates based on the positional coordinates information (Ichikawa, [0048]).
Spasovski further teaches the method further comprises, in accordance with a determination that a second input buffer position downstream of the first input buffer position is scheduled to be unoccupied at a time of arrival of the vehicle at the destination boarding zone, sending an updated trajectory segment to the vehicle (see at least, [0281] interim instructions may be provided to the vehicle from the station controller 230, which include making modifications to the vehicle's route based on the locations of other parked vehicles and the presence of other vehicles which will enter the vehicle's current path of travel), the updated trajectory segment terminating at the second input buffer position (see at least, [0281] Upon arriving at the destination, the vehicle controller 232 can communicate to the instructing station controller 230 that it has completed this task, whereupon the vehicle awaits further instructions).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Spasovski and Ichikawa teaches the method of claim 1. Ichikawa further teaches wherein selecting the moving position-target from the set of candidate moving position-targets includes selecting a moving position-target that is configured to pass the origin boarding zone after the vehicle arrives at the entrance to the trunk lane (see at least, Fig 2, [0076] Once the pickup position P2 is determined by the stop preparation processing, the procedure proceeds to the next step S108…stop control of the automated driving vehicle 30 is performed…the automated driving vehicle 30
is stopped at the pickup position P2 by controlling the travel device 37).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Spasovski to include selecting the moving position-target from the set of candidate moving position-targets includes selecting a moving position-target that is configured to pass the origin boarding zone after the vehicle arrives at the entrance to the trunk lane as taught by Ichikawa in order determine a target of the pickup position on the road close to the matching positional coordinates based on the positional coordinates information (Ichikawa, [0048]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Spasovski and Ichikawa teaches the method of claim 1. Spasovski
further teaches wherein the set of candidate moving position-targets define non- intersecting vehicle positions along the trunk lane as a function of time (see at least, [0243] creating a timetable according to which subsequent local controllers along the selected route reserve specific allowed positions 22 for that vehicle at certain times. This timetable simultaneously restricts other vehicles from occupying or reserving the allowed positions 22 at the times that the vehicle is scheduled to occupy the allowed position 22).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Spasovski and Ichikawa teaches the method of claim 1. Spasovski
further teaches further comprising causing the vehicle to delay travel from the parking spot to the trunk lane for a delay duration (see at least, [0283] the station controller 230 may instruct the vehicle to travel to a location within the station in close proximity to the exit and wait until the scheduled time to depart the station and begin the scheduled route), the delay duration based at least in part on a time when the moving position-target is configured to pass the origin boarding zone (see at least, [0283] queueing areas for vehicles waiting to exit are provided near the exits of stations 120).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Spasovski and Ichikawa teaches the method of claim 1. Spasovski further teaches wherein: the method further comprises determining a spacetime trajectory for the vehicle, the spacetime trajectory defining at least a position, a speed, and an acceleration of the vehicle as a function of time from the parking spot to the moving position-target (see at least, [0246] The vehicle position at a given time P(t) may be tracked with the equation P(t)=P.sub.T+f(t) where P.sub.T is the vehicle's absolute position at the time of entry at the local controller and f(t) represents the travel of a vehicle on its scheduled route at a time of interest); and causing the vehicle to travel from the parking spot to the trunk lane comprises causing the vehicle to traverse the spacetime trajectory (see at least, [0246] above formula can be used for determining a vehicle's position from the starting point at a station by calculating the distance travelled by the vehicle along its route through areas controlled by one or more local controllers).
Regarding claim 10, Spasovski teaches a method of operating a transportation system (see at least, [0041] The integrated transportation system), comprising: at a control system configured to determine respective paths for respective vehicles and to provide the respective paths to the respective vehicles (see at least, [0162] The central computer may be responsible for coordinating and instructing individual vehicles within the fleet of vehicles to travel on certain routes based on any of a number of factors and criteria, such as customer destination, shortest travel time, and traffic volumes): detecting an upcoming arrival of a vehicle at a destination boarding zone (see at least, [0251] The scheduling
controller then evaluates whether the subsequent controller is able to accommodate the vehicle's
expected entry and exit times in that subsequent controller's area of control); selecting a parking spot, at the destination boarding zone, for the vehicle; in accordance with a determination that a downstream input buffer position of the set of input buffer positions is scheduled to be unoccupied at a time of arrival of the vehicle at the destination boarding zone (see at least, [0243] creating a timetable according to which subsequent local controllers along the selected route reserve specific allowed positions 22 for that vehicle at certain times. This timetable simultaneously restricts other vehicles from occupying or reserving the allowed positions 22 at the times that the vehicle is scheduled to occupy the allowed position 22), sending an updated trajectory segment to the vehicle, the updated trajectory segment: extending the path to the downstream input buffer position; and including a path segment extending from the downstream input buffer position to the parking spot; and causing the vehicle to traverse the updated trajectory segment (see at least, [0281] interim instructions may be provided to the vehicle from the station controller 230, which include making modifications to the vehicle's route based on the locations of other parked vehicles and the presence of other vehicles which will enter the vehicle's current path of travel. Upon arriving at the destination, the vehicle controller 232 can communicate to the instructing station controller 230 that it has completed this task).
Spasovski does not explicitly teach wherein the vehicle is travelling along a path that terminates at an outermost input buffer position of a set of input buffer positions at the destination boarding zone. However, Ichikawa teaches these limitations.
Ichikawa teaches wherein the vehicle is travelling along a path that terminates at an outermost input buffer position of a set of input buffer positions at the destination boarding zone (see at least, Fig 2; [0043] The pick-up and drop-off area 3 is connected to an approach road 5 that guides vehicles from a public road to the pick-up and drop-off area 3, and an exit road 6 that guides vehicles from the pick-up and drop-off area 3 to the public road).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Spasovski to include the vehicle is travelling along a path that terminates at an outermost input buffer position of a set of input buffer positions at the destination boarding zone as taught by Ichikawa in order determine a target of the pickup position on the road close to the matching positional coordinates based on the positional coordinates information (Ichikawa, [0048]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Spasovski and Ichikawa teaches the method of claim 10. Spasovski further teaches wherein travelling along the path comprises following a moving position-target defining vehicle position with respect to time along a trunk lane that is connected to the destination boarding zone (see at least, [0243] creating a timetable according to which subsequent local controllers along the selected route reserve specific allowed positions 22 for that vehicle at certain times. This timetable simultaneously restricts other vehicles from occupying or reserving the allowed positions 22 at the times that the vehicle is scheduled to occupy the allowed position 22)
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Spasovski and Ichikawa teaches the method of claim 10. Spasovski further teaches wherein selecting the parking spot comprises selecting a parking spot that is scheduled to be unoccupied at a time of arrival of the vehicle at the parking spot (see at least, [0243] creating a timetable according to which subsequent local controllers along the selected route reserve specific allowed positions 22 for that vehicle at certain times. This timetable simultaneously restricts other vehicles from occupying or reserving the allowed positions 22 at the times that the vehicle is scheduled to occupy the allowed position 22).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Spasovski and Ichikawa teaches the method of claim 10. Spasovski further teaches comprising: comparing the updated trajectory segment to respective trajectory segments of other respective vehicles scheduled to travel through the destination boarding zone during a same time as the vehicle (see at least, [0281] interim instructions may be provided to the vehicle from the station controller 230, which include making modifications to the vehicle's route based on the locations of other parked vehicles and the presence of other vehicles which will enter the vehicle's current path of travel); and in accordance with a determination that the updated trajectory segment intersects a respective trajectory segment of at least one of the other respective vehicles, delaying a departure of the vehicle from the downstream input buffer position to the parking spot along the updated trajectory segment (see at least, [0281] Upon arriving at the destination, the vehicle controller 232 can communicate to the instructing station controller 230 that it has completed this task, whereupon the vehicle awaits further instructions).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Spasovski and Ichikawa teaches the method of claim 13. Spasovski further teaches comprising, in accordance with a determination that the updated trajectory segment does not intersect any of the respective trajectory segments of the other respective vehicles, initiating the departure of the vehicle from the downstream input buffer position to the parking spot along the updated trajectory segment (see at least, [0283] the station controller 230 may instruct the vehicle to travel to a location within the station in close proximity to the exit and wait until the scheduled time to depart the station and begin the scheduled route).
Regarding claim 15, Spasovski teaches a method of operating a transportation system (see at least, [0041] The integrated transportation system), comprising: at a control system configured to determine respective paths for respective vehicles and to provide the respective paths to the respective vehicles (see at least, [0162] The central computer may be responsible for coordinating and instructing individual vehicles within the fleet of vehicles to travel on certain routes based on any of a number of factors and criteria, such as customer destination, shortest travel time, and traffic volumes): receiving a trip request specifying an origin boarding zone and a destination boarding zone (see at least, [0020] The scheduling method may comprise selecting a vehicle available to serve the customer request for a trip from a starting location to a destination by one or more possible route); selecting a vehicle for the trip request (see at least, [0241] selecting a vehicle for carrying out the customer's trip request…the opening station controller 230 or any road controllers 226 and 228 in the vicinity of the station is queried to locate a vehicle that is available and which is appropriate for making the requested trip);
determining a deconflicted spacetime trajectory for the trip request (see at least, [0229] After a suitable route and schedule for carrying out the customer's trip request is found, the application may present this option to the requesting customer), the deconflicted spacetime trajectory configured to avoid contact with other vehicles in the transportation system and extending from the origin boarding zone, along at least a portion of a trunk lane of a roadway system, to the destination boarding zone (see at least,[0283] The timetable comprises a time and location for which an opening street controller at the exit of the station expects the vehicle to be present…the station controller 230 may instruct the vehicle to travel to a location within the station in close proximity to the exit and wait until the scheduled time to depart the station and begin the scheduled route), the determining including: for a first trajectory segment from a parking spot at the origin boarding zone to the trunk lane (see at least, [0243] creating a timetable according to which subsequent local controllers along the selected route reserve specific allowed positions 22 for that vehicle at certain times. This timetable simultaneously restricts other vehicles from occupying or reserving the allowed positions 22 at the times that the vehicle is scheduled to occupy the allowed position 22): comparing the first trajectory segment to respective trajectory segments of other respective vehicles scheduled to travel in the origin boarding zone during a same time as the vehicle (see at least, [0281] interim instructions may be provided to the vehicle from the station controller 230, which include making modifications to the vehicle's route based on the locations of other parked vehicles and the presence of other vehicles which will enter the vehicle's current path of travel); and selecting a departure time from the parking spot that results in the first trajectory segment avoiding all other respective trajectory segments (see at least, [0243] creating a timetable according to which subsequent local controllers along the selected route reserve specific allowed positions 22 for that vehicle at certain times. This timetable simultaneously restricts other vehicles from occupying or reserving the allowed positions 22 at the times that the vehicle is scheduled to occupy the allowed position 22); and for a second trajectory segment along the trunk lane, the trunk lane associated with a set of moving position-targets that define non-intersecting vehicle positions along the trunk lane as a function of time (see at least, [0243] creating a timetable according to which subsequent local controllers along the selected route reserve specific allowed positions 22 for that vehicle at certain times. This timetable simultaneously restricts other vehicles from occupying or reserving the allowed positions 22 at the times that the vehicle is scheduled to occupy the allowed position 22).
Spasovski does not explicitly teach selecting a moving position-target that is not assigned to another vehicle. However, Ichikawa teaches these limitations.
Ichikawa teaches selecting a moving position-target that is not assigned to another vehicle (see at least, [0045] In the stop preparation mode, a pickup position P2 close to the user 2 and capable of stopping is determined, taking into account the actual congestion situation of the pick-up and drop-off area
3 for the automated driving vehicle 30 and a waiting position of the user 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Spasovski to include selecting a moving position-target that is not assigned to another vehicle as taught by Ichikawa in order determine a target of the pickup position on the road close to the matching positional coordinates based on the positional coordinates information (Ichikawa, [0048]).
Regarding 16, the combination of Spasovski and Ichikawa teaches the method of claim 15. Ichikawa further teaches comprising determining a path for the trip request, the path extending from the origin boarding zone to the destination boarding zone (see at least, Fig 2; [0089] the traveling position of the automated driving vehicle 30 in the lane may be varied to ensure smooth movement of the vehicle within the pick-up and drop-off area 3…the vehicle controller 40 of the automated driving vehicle 30
generates the target trajectory to travel to the left in the lane).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Spasovski to include determining a path for the trip request, the path extending from the origin boarding zone to the destination boarding zone as taught by Ichikawa determine a target of the pickup position on the road close to the matching positional coordinates based on the positional coordinates information (Ichikawa, [0048]).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Spasovski and Ichikawa teaches the method of claim 15. Spasovski further teaches comprising providing, to the vehicle, a parametric representation of the deconflicted spacetime trajectory that defines a position setpoint, a velocity setpoint, and an acceleration setpoint for the vehicle as a function of time (see at least, [0246] The vehicle position at a given time P(t) may be tracked with the equation P(t)=P.sub.T+f(t) where P.sub.T is the vehicle's absolute position at the time of entry at the local controller and f(t) represents the travel of a vehicle on its scheduled route at a time of interest).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Spasovski and Ichikawa teaches the method of claim 17. Spasovski further teaches wherein the parametric representation of the deconflicted spacetime trajectory is configured to cause the vehicle to traverse the first trajectory segment and the second trajectory segment (see at least, [0246] above formula can be used for determining a vehicle's
position from the starting point at a station by calculating the distance travelled by the vehicle along its route through areas controlled by one or more local controllers).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Spasovski and Ichikawa teaches the method of claim 15. Spasovski further teaches comprising causing the vehicle to begin traversing the deconflicted spacetime trajectory at the departure time.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Spasovski and Ichikawa teaches the method of claim 15. Ichikawa further teaches wherein: the vehicle is a first vehicle (see at least, Fig 2; [0042] The automated driving vehicle 30 which has received the information of the vehicle dispatch request travels autonomously toward the desired dispatch location); the parking spot is a first parking spot (see at least, Fig 2, P2); and the respective trajectory segments of the other respective vehicles include a third trajectory segment of a second vehicle (see at least, Fig 2, V1)that is travelling from the trunk lane to a second parking spot (see at least, Fig 2, V2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Spasovski to include the vehicle is a first vehicle; the parking spot is a first parking spot; and the respective trajectory segments of the other respective vehicles include a third trajectory segment of a second vehicle that is travelling from the trunk lane to a second parking spot as taught by Ichikawa determine a target of the pickup position on the road close to the matching positional coordinates based on the positional coordinates information (Ichikawa, [0048]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sakurada et al. (US 20220261707 A1) discloses selecting, based at least in part on the estimated transit duration, a moving position-target from the set of candidate moving position-targets; and causing the vehicle to: travel from the parking spot to the trunk lane; and travel along the portion of the trunk lane by following the selected moving position-target (e.g. [0012] A
management device of an autonomous driving vehicle disclosed in this specification includes a congestion rate calculation unit, a vehicle dispatch reservation setting unit, and a waiting place setting unit).
Kamata et al. (US 20200191584 A1) discloses selecting, based at least in part on the estimated transit duration, a moving position-target from the set of candidate moving position-targets; and causing the vehicle to: travel from the parking spot to the trunk lane; and travel along the portion of the trunk lane by following the selected moving position-target (e.g. [0066] if the car-mounted device 20 of the vehicle 2a received the stopping position of the vehicle 2a from the server 4, it makes the vehicle 2a stop at the stopping position inside the drop-off area and drop off the customer 3a).
/TOYA PETTIEGREW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662