DETAILED ACTION
In addressing the rejection ground, each claim may not have been separately discussed to the extent the claimed features are the same as or similar to the previously-discussed features; the previous discussion is construed to apply for the other claims in the same or similar way.
In the office action, “/” should be read as and/or as generally understood. For example, “A/B” means A and B, or A or B.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,368,444/11,545,983. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-20 is anticipated by claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,368,444/11,545,983.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US 2010/0183109) in view of O’Sullivan (US 6043695).
Regarding claim 16, Lin discloses a method of generating a periodic output waveform [e.g. figs. 4-5], comprising: generating [e.g. 1] a clock realignment signal [e.g. UP/DN]; and providing [e.g. 1] an output [e.g. DN/UP] to a first logic gate [e.g. 62/66 fig. 5] such that the output bypasses a filter [e.g. 3], wherein a charge pump [e.g. 2] configured to receive the output. Lin does not explicitly disclose the charge pump comprises a second logic gate. However, O’Sullivan discloses a charge pump [e.g. 41A, 41B, 42, MP1, MN1 fig. 10] comprises a second logic gate [e.g. 41A/42] configured to receive a first output.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Lin in accordance with the teaching of O’Sullivan regarding a charge pump in order to provide a detailed charge pump circuit.
Regarding claim 17, the combination discussed above discloses the method of claim 16, further comprising: providing the output to the second logic gate to generate pulses.
Regarding claim 18, the combination discussed above discloses the method of claim 17, wherein the first and second logic gates are a common type of logic gate [e.g. not gate and OR/AND gate are a common type of logic gate].
Conclusion
/PATRICK C CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836