DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 & 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Clark (US PG Pub 2008/0233288; hereafter ‘288).
Claim 1: ‘288 is directed towards a method comprising:
forming, by a cyclic process, a dopant concentration gradient in a doped hafnium zirconium oxide (HZO) layer on a substrate (abstract and ¶s 8, 32, 87-90, 100, 101, 105, & 114), the cyclic process comprising:
providing a substrate in a reaction chamber (abstract);
pulsing one or more hafnium precursors into the reaction chamber, wherein at least a part of the substrate is contacted with the one or more hafnium precursors (abstract);
pulsing one or more zirconium precursors into the reaction chamber, wherein at least a part of the substrate is contacted with the one or more zirconium precursors (abstract);
pulsing one or more oxygen reactants into the reaction chamber, wherein at least a part of the substrate is contacted with the one or more oxygen reactants (abstract);
pulsing one or more dopant precursors into the reaction chamber, wherein at least a part of the substrate is contacted with the one or more dopant precursors (abstract); and
purging the reaction chamber (¶ 8).
As noted, ‘288 implicitly teaches forming a dopant concentration gradient.
However, if ‘288 does not necessarily anticipate forming a dopant concentration gradient, it does teach that concentrations can be controlled based on desired results.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to form a gradient concentration of the dopant because differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
‘288 does not explicitly teach “the dopant concentration in the doped HZO layer ranges between about 0.0 to about 20.0% from a first interface to a second interface, wherein the dopant concentration is lowest proximate the first interface and highest proximate the second interface.
As noted above, ‘288 teaches repeating the steps in any order any number of times to obtain the desired film (see ¶s 8, 32, 87-90, 100, 101, 105, & 114).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to form a gradient concentration of the dopant as claimed because ‘288 teaches the steps can be repeated in any order any number of times and differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Claim 2: ‘288 teaches repeating one or more of operations a), b), c), d), or e), in any order, until the doped HZO layer having a first predetermined thickness is deposited on the substrate (abstract and ¶s 32, 87-90, 100, 101, 105, & 114).
Claim 3: Pulsing the one or more dopant precursors into the reaction chamber further comprises depositing a first concentration of dopant elements proximate to to a surface or interface of the doped HZO layer exposing the substrate to an annealing process forming the dopant concentration gradient (‘288 further teaches annealing the doped HZO layers, ¶s 20 & 23).
Claim 4: The process of ‘288 further discloses forming a first HZO sub-layer having a first concentration of dopant elements and a second HZO sub-layer having a second concentration of dopant elements, wherein the first concentration of dopant elements is different from the second concentration of dopant elements (¶ 114).
Claim 5: ‘288 teaches controlling constituent concentrations by tuning the pulse ratios of the different constituents (see ¶ 114).
Claim 7: The one or more dopant precursors comprise an element selected from Si, Al, and Ga (abstract & ¶ 65).
Claims 8-18 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘288 as applied above, and further in view of Chen et al. (US PG Pub 2020/0035807; hereafter ‘807).
Claim 8: ‘288 does not teach forming the HZO layers on a ZrO2 seed layer.
However, ‘288 teaches that the HZO layers are suitable as high-dielectric constant materials for semiconductor devices (¶ 2).
And, ‘807, which is directed towards a semiconductor device (title) teaches forming a multilayer stack of high dielectric multilayer stack (118, Fig. 19 and ¶ 106) which can be any combination of ZrO2, HZO, and TiO2 in any order (¶ 106 & 108).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to form a multilayer stack comprising a first layer of ZrO2, followed by the HZO stack of ‘288, and capped with a layer of TiO2 because a prior art’s disclosure of possible combinations renders all combinations obvious (See Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 807 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (holding that the prior art’s disclosure of over 1200 possible combinations rendered all possible formulations obvious)).
Claim 9: ‘288 is directed towards a method (abstract) comprising:
providing a substrate in a reaction chamber (abstract);
forming a nanolaminate structure on the substrate comprising a first HZO sub-layer and a second HZO sub-layer, by a cyclic process (abstract), the cyclic process comprising:
pulsing one or more hafnium precursors into the reaction chamber, wherein at least a part of the substrate is contacted with the one or more hafnium precursors (abstract);
pulsing one or more zirconium precursors into the reaction chamber, wherein at least a part of the substrate is contacted with the one or more zirconium precursors (abstract);
pulsing one or more oxygen reactants into the reaction chamber, wherein at least a part of the substrate is contacted with the one or more oxygen reactants (abstract);
purging the reaction chamber (¶ 8).
wherein the first HZO sub-layer and the second HZO sub-layer comprise different concentrations of Hf and wherein the first HZO sub-layer and the second HZO sub-layer comprise different concentrations of Zr (abstract and ¶s 32, 87-90, 100, 101, 105, & 114).
However, if ‘288 does not necessarily anticipate forming first and second HZO layer with different concentrations of Hf & Zr it does teach that concentrations can be controlled based on desired results.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to form a first and second HZO layer with different concentrations of Hf & Zr because differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
‘288 does not teach forming the HZO layers on a ZrO2 seed layer.
However, ‘288 teaches that the HZO layers are suitable as high-dielectric constant materials for semiconductor devices (¶ 2).
And, ‘807, which is directed towards a semiconductor device (title) teaches forming a multilayer stack of high dielectric multilayer stack (118, Fig. 19 and ¶ 106) which can be any combination of ZrO2, HZO, and TiO2 in any order (¶ 106 & 108).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to form a multilayer stack comprising a first layer of ZrO2, followed by the HZO stack of ‘288, and capped with a layer of TiO2 because a prior art’s disclosure of possible combinations renders all combinations obvious (See Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 807 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (holding that the prior art’s disclosure of over 1200 possible combinations rendered all possible formulations obvious)).
Claim 10: ‘288 teaches repeating one or more of operations a), b), c), or d), in any order, until each of the first and second HZO sub-layers having a first predetermined thickness are deposited on the substrate (abstract and ¶s 32, 87-90, 100, 101, 105, & 114).
Claim 11: Differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Claim 12: ‘288 further teaches pulsing one or more dopant precursors into the reaction chamber, wherein at least a part of the substrate is contacted with the one or more dopant precursors (abstract).
Claim 13: ‘288 further teaches forming, by a cyclic process, a dopant concentration gradient in a doped hafnium zirconium oxide (HZO) layer on a substrate (abstract and ¶s 32, 87-90, 100, 101, 105, & 114).
‘288 teaches controlling constituent concentrations by tuning the pulse ratios of the different constituents (see ¶ 114).
However, if ‘288 does not necessarily anticipate forming a dopant concentration gradient, it does teach that concentrations can be controlled based on desired results.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to form a gradient concentration of the dopant because differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Claim 14: The one or more dopant precursors comprise an element selected from Si, Al, and Ga (abstract & ¶ 65).
Claims 15-17: Differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Claim 18: ‘288 does not teach forming the HZO layers between ZrO2 and a TiO2 layers as claimed.
However, ‘288 teaches that the HZO layers are suitable as high-dielectric constant materials for semiconductor devices (¶ 2).
And, ‘807, which is directed towards a semiconductor device (title) teaches forming a multilayer stack of high dielectric multilayer stack (118, Fig. 19 and ¶ 106) which can be any combination of ZrO2, HZO, and TiO2 in any order (¶ 106 & 108).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to form a multilayer stack comprising a first layer of ZrO2, followed by the HZO stack of ‘288, and capped with a layer of TiO2 because a prior art’s disclosure of possible combinations renders all combinations obvious (See Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 807 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (holding that the prior art’s disclosure of over 1200 possible combinations rendered all possible formulations obvious)).
Claim 20: ‘288 further teaches forming one or more additional HZO sub-layers each having a different concentration of dopant elements from at least one other HZO sub-layers (see ¶s 127-128).
Double Patenting
Claims 9-18, & 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,757,654 in view of ‘807.
Claim 9: See claim 1.
Though the copending does not explicitly teach forming a gradient it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to form a gradient because differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
‘933 does not teach forming the film on a ZrO2 seed layer.
‘807, which is directed towards a semiconductor device (title) teaches forming a multilayer stack of high dielectric multilayer stack (118, Fig. 19 and ¶ 106) which can be any combination of ZrO2, HZO, and TiO2 in any order (¶ 106 & 108).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to form a multilayer stack comprising a first layer of ZrO2, followed by the HZO stack of ‘288, and capped with a layer of TiO2 because a prior art’s disclosure of possible combinations renders all combinations obvious (See Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 807 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (holding that the prior art’s disclosure of over 1200 possible combinations rendered all possible formulations obvious)).
Claims 10-17 & 20: See claims 1-15.
Additionally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Claim 18: ‘807, which is directed towards a semiconductor device (title) teaches forming a multilayer stack of high dielectric multilayer stack (118, Fig. 19 and ¶ 106) which can be any combination of ZrO2, HZO, and TiO2 in any order (¶ 106 & 108).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to form a multilayer stack comprising a first layer of ZrO2, followed by the HZO stack of ‘288, and capped with a layer of TiO2 because a prior art’s disclosure of possible combinations renders all combinations obvious (See Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 807 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (holding that the prior art’s disclosure of over 1200 possible combinations rendered all possible formulations obvious)).
Claims 9-18, & 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-29 of copending Application No. 18/898,409 (reference application) in view of ‘807. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are combinations and permutations of the copending claims.
Claim 9: See claim 1.
Though the copending does not explicitly teach forming a gradient it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to form a gradient because differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
‘933 does not teach forming the film on a ZrO2 seed layer.
‘807, which is directed towards a semiconductor device (title) teaches forming a multilayer stack of high dielectric multilayer stack (118, Fig. 19 and ¶ 106) which can be any combination of ZrO2, HZO, and TiO2 in any order (¶ 106 & 108).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to form a multilayer stack comprising a first layer of ZrO2, followed by the HZO stack of ‘288, and capped with a layer of TiO2 because a prior art’s disclosure of possible combinations renders all combinations obvious (See Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 807 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (holding that the prior art’s disclosure of over 1200 possible combinations rendered all possible formulations obvious)).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 10-17 & 20: See claims 1-29.
Additionally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 18: ‘807, which is directed towards a semiconductor device (title) teaches forming a multilayer stack of high dielectric multilayer stack (118, Fig. 19 and ¶ 106) which can be any combination of ZrO2, HZO, and TiO2 in any order (¶ 106 & 108).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to form a multilayer stack comprising a first layer of ZrO2, followed by the HZO stack of ‘288, and capped with a layer of TiO2 because a prior art’s disclosure of possible combinations renders all combinations obvious (See Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 807 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (holding that the prior art’s disclosure of over 1200 possible combinations rendered all possible formulations obvious)).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/16/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In regards to applicant’s argument that a gradient concentration as claimed cannot constitute merely a difference in concentration; the Office does not find this argument convincing because ‘288 recognizes that the Hf, Zr, O, and dopant cycles can be performed in any order any number of times which renders obvious a gradient concentration in the layers and as put forth above, differences in concentration are prima facie obvious unless there is a showing of critical and unexpected. The Examiner notes that applicant has not provided any evidence of critical and unexpected results and thus it is apparent that ‘228 renders the claimed concept obvious.
The examiner asserts that the arguments of counsel cannot take the place of evidence in the record. In re Schulze, 346 F.2d 600, 602, 145 USPQ 716, 718 (CCPA 1965). MPEP 2145(I).
In regards to applicant’s argument that ¶ 108 does not provide that HZO, ZrO2, and TiO2 can be deposited in any order; applicant is advised that ¶ 106 does teach any order and thus as put forth above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to form a multilayer stack comprising a first layer of ZrO2, followed by the HZO stack of ‘288, and capped with a layer of TiO2 because a prior art’s disclosure of possible combinations renders all combinations obvious (See Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 807 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (holding that the prior art’s disclosure of over 1200 possible combinations rendered all possible formulations obvious)).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/James M Mellott/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759