DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §§ 102 & 103
Claims 1-7, 9-17, & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Clark (US PG Pub 2008/0233288; hereafter ‘288).
Claim 1: ‘288 is directed towards a method comprising:
forming, by a cyclic process, a dopant concentration gradient in a doped hafnium zirconium oxide (HZO) layer on a substrate (abstract and ¶s 32, 87-90, 100, 101, 105, & 114), the cyclic process comprising:
providing a substrate in a reaction chamber (abstract);
pulsing one or more hafnium precursors into the reaction chamber, wherein at least a part of the substrate is contacted with the one or more hafnium precursors (abstract);
pulsing one or more zirconium precursors into the reaction chamber, wherein at least a part of the substrate is contacted with the one or more zirconium precursors (abstract);
pulsing one or more oxygen reactants into the reaction chamber, wherein at least a part of the substrate is contacted with the one or more oxygen reactants (abstract);
pulsing one or more dopant precursors into the reaction chamber, wherein at least a part of the substrate is contacted with the one or more dopant precursors (abstract); and
purging the reaction chamber (¶ 8).
As noted, ‘288 implicitly teaches forming a dopant concentration gradient.
However, if ‘288 does not necessarily anticipate forming a dopant concentration gradient, it does teach that concentrations can be controlled based on desired results.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to form a gradient concentration of the dopant because differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Claim 2: ‘288 teaches repeating one or more of operations a), b), c), d), or e), in any order, until the doped HZO layer having a first predetermined thickness is deposited on the substrate (abstract and ¶s 32, 87-90, 100, 101, 105, & 114).
Claim 3: Pulsing the one or more dopant precursors into the reaction chamber further comprises depositing a first concentration of dopant elements proximate to to a surface or interface of the doped HZO layer exposing the substrate to an annealing process forming the dopant concentration gradient (‘288 further teaches annealing the doped HZO layers, ¶s 20 & 23).
Claim 4: The process of ‘288 further discloses forming a first HZO sub-layer having a first concentration of dopant elements and a second HZO sub-layer having a second concentration of dopant elements, wherein the first concentration of dopant elements is different from the second concentration of dopant elements (¶ 114).
Claim 5: ‘288 teaches controlling constituent concentrations by tuning the pulse ratios of the different constituents (see ¶ 114).
Claim 6: It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to form a gradient concentration of the dopant because differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Claim 7: The one or more dopant precursors comprise an element selected from Si, Al, and Ga (abstract & ¶ 65).
Claim 9: ‘288 is directed towards a method (abstract) comprising:
providing a substrate in a reaction chamber (abstract);
forming a nanolaminate structure on the substrate comprising a first HZO sub-layer and a second HZO sub-layer, by a cyclic process (abstract), the cyclic process comprising:
pulsing one or more hafnium precursors into the reaction chamber, wherein at least a part of the substrate is contacted with the one or more hafnium precursors (abstract);
pulsing one or more zirconium precursors into the reaction chamber, wherein at least a part of the substrate is contacted with the one or more zirconium precursors (abstract);
pulsing one or more oxygen reactants into the reaction chamber, wherein at least a part of the substrate is contacted with the one or more oxygen reactants (abstract);
purging the reaction chamber (¶ 8).
wherein the first HZO sub-layer and the second HZO sub-layer comprise different concentrations of Hf and wherein the first HZO sub-layer and the second HZO sub-layer comprise different concentrations of Zr (abstract and ¶s 32, 87-90, 100, 101, 105, & 114).
However, if ‘288 does not necessarily anticipate forming first and second HZO layer with different concentrations of Hf & Zr it does teach that concentrations can be controlled based on desired results.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to form a first and second HZO layer with different concentrations of Hf & Zr because differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Claim 10: ‘288 teaches repeating one or more of operations a), b), c), or d), in any order, until each of the first and second HZO sub-layers having a first predetermined thickness are deposited on the substrate (abstract and ¶s 32, 87-90, 100, 101, 105, & 114).
Claim 11: Differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Claim 12: ‘288 further teaches pulsing one or more dopant precursors into the reaction chamber, wherein at least a part of the substrate is contacted with the one or more dopant precursors (abstract).
Claim 13: ‘288 further teaches forming, by a cyclic process, a dopant concentration gradient in a doped hafnium zirconium oxide (HZO) layer on a substrate (abstract and ¶s 32, 87-90, 100, 101, 105, & 114).
‘288 teaches controlling constituent concentrations by tuning the pulse ratios of the different constituents (see ¶ 114).
However, if ‘288 does not necessarily anticipate forming a dopant concentration gradient, it does teach that concentrations can be controlled based on desired results.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to form a gradient concentration of the dopant because differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Claim 14: The one or more dopant precursors comprise an element selected from Si, Al, and Ga (abstract & ¶ 65).
Claims 15-17: Differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Claim 20: ‘288 further teaches forming one or more additional HZO sub-layers each having a different concentration of dopant elements from at least one other HZO sub-layers (see ¶s 127-128).
Claims 8, 18, & 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘288 as applied above, and further in view of Chen et al. (US PG Pub 2020/0035807; hereafter ‘807).
Claims 8, 18, & 19: ‘288 does not teach forming the HZO layers between ZrO2 and a TiO2 layers as claimed.
However, ‘288 teaches that the HZO layers are suitable as high-dielectric constant materials for semiconductor devices (¶ 2).
And, ‘807, which is directed towards a semiconductor device (title) teaches forming a multilayer stack of high dielectric multilayer stack (118, Fig. 19 and ¶ 106) which can be any combination of ZrO2, HZO, and TiO2 in any order (¶ 108).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to form a multilayer stack comprising a first layer of ZrO2, followed by the HZO stack of ‘288, and capped with a layer of TiO2 because a prior art’s disclosure of possible combinations renders all combinations obvious (See Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 807 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (holding that the prior art’s disclosure of over 1200 possible combinations rendered all possible formulations obvious)).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7, 9-17, & 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 8-18, & 21 of copending Application No. 18/319,933 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are combinations and permutations of the copending claims.
Claims 1 & 9: See claim 1.
Though the copending does not explicitly teach forming a gradient it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to form a gradient because differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Claims 2-7, 10-17, & 20: See claims 1-3, 8-18, & 21.
Additionally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 8, 18, & 19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-3, 8-18, & 21 of copending Application No. 18/319,933 in view of ‘807.
Claims 8, 18, & 19: ‘807, which is directed towards a semiconductor device (title) teaches forming a multilayer stack of high dielectric multilayer stack (118, Fig. 19 and ¶ 106) which can be any combination of ZrO2, HZO, and TiO2 in any order (¶ 108).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to form a multilayer stack comprising a first layer of ZrO2, followed by the HZO stack of ‘288, and capped with a layer of TiO2 because a prior art’s disclosure of possible combinations renders all combinations obvious (See Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 807 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (holding that the prior art’s disclosure of over 1200 possible combinations rendered all possible formulations obvious)).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-29 of copending Application No. 18/898,409 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are combinations and permutations of the copending claims.
Claims 1 & 9: See claim 1.
Though the copending does not explicitly teach forming a gradient it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to form a gradient because differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Claims 2-8 & 10-20: See claims 1-29.
Additionally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/James M Mellott/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759