DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicants’ election, without traverse of Group I (claims 1-10) in the reply, filed on 11/20/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/20/2025.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 18/449822, filed on 08/15/2023.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “the plurality of first deposition openings are disposed in a different shape from the plurality of second deposition openings” of Claim 9 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
(1) The “and the second tension portions include a second upper tension portion and a second lower tension portion adjacent to the second mask and spaced apart in the first direction with the second body part disposed between the second upper tension portion and the second lower tension portion of the second tension portions, the first coupling portion protrudes from the first upper tension portion, the first body part, and the first lower tension portion in the second direction, and the second coupling portion protrudes from the second upper tension portion, the second body part, and the second lower tension portion in the second direction” of Claim 2 is objected because:
First, the “adjacent to the second mask” should be “adjacent to the first mask”, based on the similar feature in the “first tension portion include…” of Claim 2, see the “adjacent to the first mask” in the first paragraph of page 4.
Second, the “the first coupling portion protrudes from the first upper tension portion, the first body part, and the first lower tension portion in the second direction” is redundant, because same feature is already recited in the “first tension portion include…” of Claim 2, see the second paragraph of page 4.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20190368025, hereafter ‘025) in view of Lee et al. (US 20110139357, hereafter ‘357).
Regarding to Claim 1, ‘025 teaches:
Mask assembly (title, the claimed “A mask assembly”);
the frame 100 according to one embodiment of the present invention may include a frame opening 120 there inside (Fig. 4, [0071], the claimed “comprising: a frame extending in a first direction and a second direction intersecting each other, the frame including a frame opening”);
a structural auxiliary mask 200 fixed to a frame 100 (Fig. 3 or 6, [0068], the claimed “and a mask sheet coupled to the frame”);
see the illustration below, which is reproduced from Fig. 5 (the claimed “the mask sheet including: a first mask that includes: a first body part having: at least one first deposition opening corresponding to the frame opening; first tension portions protruding from sides of the first body part; and a first coupling portion extending from another side of the first body part; and a second mask that includes: a second body part having: at least one second deposition opening corresponding to the frame opening; second tension portions protruding from sides of the second body part; and a second coupling portion extending from another side of the second body part”);
‘025 does not explicitly teach the other limitations (BOLD and ITALIC letter) of:
Claim 1: wherein a bottom surface of the first coupling portion and an upper surface of the second coupling portion contact each other.
‘357 is analogous art in the field of mask (title). ‘357 teaches as shown in FIG. 9, the first mask member 110 is connected to the second mask member 120 to prepare a mask 100 ([0068], note Fig. 9 shows a bottom surface of the bonding portion 122 contacts an upper surface of the bonding portion 112).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have connected the coupling portions of the two masks in the illustration above, as taught by ‘357, for its suitability as known connecting configuration, such as connecting the bottom surface of the first coupling portion to the upper surface of the second coupling portion, with predictable result. The selection of something based on its known suitability for its intended use has been held to support a prima facie case of obviousness, see MPEP 2144.07.
Regarding to Claim 2,
See the first mask in the illustration above (or Fig. 5 of ‘025) showing the upper and lower tension portions adjacent to the second mask and extending in the Y direction and the coupling portions protruding from the upper and lower tension portion and body portion in the X direction (the claimed “wherein the first tension portions include a first upper tension portion and a first lower tension portion adjacent to the second mask and spaced apart in the first direction with the first body part disposed between the first upper tension portion and the first lower tension portion of the first tension portions, the first coupling portion protrudes from the first upper tension portion, the first body part, and the first lower tension portion in the second direction”);
See the second mask in the illustration above (or Fig. 5 of ‘025) showing the upper and lower tension portions adjacent to the first mask and extending in the Y direction and the coupling portions protruding from the upper and lower tension portion and body portion in the X direction (the claimed “and the second tension portions include a second upper tension portion and a second lower tension portion adjacent to the second mask and spaced apart in the first direction with the second body part disposed between the second upper tension portion and the second lower tension portion of the second tension portions, and the second coupling portion protrudes from the second upper tension portion, the second body part, and the second lower tension portion in the second direction”).
Regarding to Claim 3,
The illustration above (or Fig. 5 of ‘025) shows each width of the upper and lower tension portions and body parts is equal to each coupling portion in each mask (the claimed “wherein a width of the first lower tension portion, the first body part, and the first upper tension portion is equal to a width of the first coupling portion in the first direction, and a width of the second lower tension portion, the second body part, and the second upper tension portion is equal to a width of the second coupling portion in the first direction”).
In case the applicants argue that it does not explicitly teach the same width,
‘025 further teaches The structural auxiliary mask 200 may be configured such that sizes, shapes, widths (breadths), and the like of the plurality of shafts 220 are symmetrical so as to uniformly apply a tensile force to the frame 100 and the plurality of cell unit masks 300 ([0079]).
Therefore, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have configured such that the widths are same, for the purpose of uniformly applying a tensile force to the frame.
Regarding to Claims 4-5,
As discussed in the claim 1 rejection above the connection of the masks is obtained by contacting the bottom surface of the first coupling portion with the upper surface of the second coupling portion (see also Fig. 9 of ‘357), therefore, a thickness of the coupling portion is obviously thinner than a thickness of the upper and lower tension portions and body part of each mask. Further, the total thickness at the connected portions is equal to a thickness of the upper and lower tension portions and body part of each mask (the claimed “wherein a thickness of the first coupling portion is thinner than a thickness of the first lower tension portion, the first body part, and the first upper tension portion, and a thickness of the second coupling portion is thinner than a thickness of the second lower tension portion, the second body part, and the second upper tension portion” of Claim 4, and “wherein a sum of a thicknesses of the first coupling portion and the second coupling portion that overlap each other is equal to a thickness of the first body part or a thickness of the second body part” of Claim 5).
Regarding to Claim 6,
The illustration above (or Fig. 5 of ‘025) shows, at the connection of the masks, the coupling portion of each mask has a width, therefore, ‘025 intrinsically teaches all the limitation “wherein a coupling region overlapping the first coupling portion and the second coupling portion which overlap each other, has a width in the first direction”, and merely silent about the number ranges “of about 500 micrometers to about 5 millimeters”.
However, the width is a controllable parameter to determine the durability of the connection, for instance, narrower width connection is weaker than wider width connection, thus the width at the connection is result effective parameter to control the durability of the connection.
Consequently, even if the reference is silent about the number range as recited, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have found a width range, as claimed, for the purpose of providing appropriate durability, and/or since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, see MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding to Claim 8,
‘025 teaches these structural auxiliary mask openings 210 have a grid shape ([0078], see each of the first and second masks in the illustration above (or Fig. 5 of ‘025) showing a grid having n rows x m columns, herein n and m are natural numbers, the claimed “wherein the at least one first deposition opening and the at least one second deposition opening are provided in each of n rows x m columns, and the at least one first deposition opening and the at least one second deposition opening are disposed apart from each other in the first direction and the second direction, n and m being natural numbers”).
Regarding to Claim 9,
‘025 teaches These structural auxiliary mask openings 210 have a grid shape because of convenience of manufacturing and processing, but they need not necessarily be disposed in the grid shape such as when sizes of the structural auxiliary mask openings 210 are different or irregular ([0078], the claimed “wherein the at least one first deposition opening includes a plurality of first deposition openings, the at least one second deposition opening includes a plurality of second deposition openings, and the plurality of first deposition openings are disposed in a different shape from the plurality of second deposition openings”).
Regarding to Claim 10,
The illustration above (or Fig. 5 of ‘025) shows, at the connection of the masks, the coupling portion of each mask has a rectangular shape (the claimed “wherein each of the first coupling portion and the second coupling portion has a rectangular shape extending in the first direction”).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘025 and ‘357, as being applied to Claim 1 rejection above, further in view of Ha et al. (US 20200083451, hereafter ‘451).
Regarding to Claim 7,
‘025 and ‘357 do not explicitly teach the other limitations (BOLD and ITALIC letter) of:
Claim 7: wherein the frame, the first mask, and the second mask each comprise at least one of invar and stainless steel.
‘451 is analogous art in the field of mask (title). ‘451 teaches the mask stick assembly 300 may be a thin plate. The mask stick assembly 300 may include one of stainless steel, invar, nickel (Ni), cobalt (Co), a nickel alloy, and a Ni-Co alloy ([0050]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have formed the mask of ‘250, with one of stainless steel and invar, for its suitability as known stick mask material, with predictable result. The selection of something based on its known suitability for its intended use has been held to support a prima facie case of obviousness, see MPEP 2144.07.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1-10 are provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1-10, filed on 02/03/2025, of copending Application No. 18/646003 (reference application, hereafter ‘003).
This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 5-7 and 9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 6, 9, 13-14 of copending Application No. 18/449822 (reference application, hereafter ‘822).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the recited features in the claim 1-2, 6, 9, 13-14 teaches all the limitation of claims 1, 5-7, 9 with mere similar terms.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/AIDEN LEE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718