DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6-15, 17 and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0108768 A1 to Hsu et al. (hereinafter “Hsu ‘768”) in further view of US 2020/0073230 A1 to Lin (hereinafter “Lin ‘230”).
Regarding claim 1, Hsu ‘768 discloses a method of lithographically patterning a material, the method comprising: forming a material to be patterned on a workpiece (method of photolithographically patterning a material on substrate for formation of IC; Figs. 1A-1B, 3A; paragraphs [0002]-[0003], [0015]); exposing an extreme ultraviolet (EUV) mask to an incident radiation (EUV mask 100 exposed to EUV light; paragraphs [0002]-[0004], [0015]), the EUV mask including: a substrate (substrate 101; paragraph [0015]); a reflective multilayer stack on the substrate (reflective multilayer 102 disposed upon substrate 101; Fig. 3A; paragraph [0017]); a multi-layer capping feature on the reflective multilayer stack (multilayered capping layers 104, 302 structure disposed upon reflective multilayer 102; Fig. 3A; paragraph [0040]), the multi-layer capping feature including a first capping layer interfacing with a topmost surface of the reflective multilayer stack, the first capping layer including an element having a first EUV extinction coefficient for EUV radiation having a wavelength of 13.5 nm (EUV radiation at 13.5 nm may be incident upon capping layers, where capping layer 104 interfacing with topmost surface of reflective multilayer 102 may comprise ruthenium, where EUV radiation at 13.5 nm may be incident upon capping layers; Fig. 3A; paragraphs [0015], [0033], [0038], [0040]) and a second capping layer including an element having a second EUV extinction coefficient for EUV radiation having a wavelength of 13.5 nanometers, the first EUV extinction coefficient being different from the second EUV extinction coefficient (EUV radiation at 13.5 nm may be incident upon capping layers, where capping layer 302 may comprise ruthenium with another chemical element having an atomic number less than that of ruthenium inherently having a different EUV extinction coefficient for such EUV radiation than a material having a larger atomic number used in the capping layer 104; paragraphs [0015], [0033], [0038], [0040]), wherein the first capping layer comprises chromium (Cr), rhodium (Rh), zinc (Zn), zirconium (Zr), silver (Ag), cadmium (Cd) or alloys thereof (capping layer 104 may utilize materials having a smaller atomic number than ruthenium, such as chromium and zirconium; paragraphs [0038], [0040]); and a patterned absorber layer on the multi-layer capping feature (patterning absorption layer 106 disposed upon multilayered capping layers 104, 302 structure; Fig. 3A; paragraphs [0019], [0040]); absorbing a portion of the incident radiation in the patterned absorber layer (patterning layer 106 absorbs incident light; paragraphs [0019]-[0020]); transmitting a portion of the incident radiation through the first capping layer and the second capping layer (portion of the incident light reaches reflective multilayer 102 through capping layers 104, 302; Fig. 3A; paragraph [0020]); reflecting a portion of the incident radiation from the reflective multilayer stack (reflective multilayer 102 reflects portion of incident light; Fig. 3A; paragraph [0020]); directing a portion of the incident radiation that is reflected by the reflective multilayer stack to the material to be patterned on the workpiece (reflective multilayer 102 directs light towards material to be patterned on substrate for formation of IC; paragraphs [0002]-[0003], [0015]); and developing the material to be patterned (material to be patterned on substrate is for formation of IC; paragraphs [0002]-[0003], [0015]).
Hsu ‘768 fails to disclose a second capping layer interfacing the first capping layer.
However, Lin ‘230 discloses a second capping layer interfacing the first capping layer (one or more metallic layers 100 contacting one another are used as capping layers which physically contact capping layer 40 in a pellicle for an EUV mask to prevent contamination of the EUV mask; Fig. 11; paragraphs [0044], [0046], [0050], [0055]).
Hsu ‘768 and Lin ‘230 are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of semiconductor devices utilizing capping layers on EUV masks to prevent contamination thereof. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hsu ‘768 to incorporate the teaching of Lin ‘230 in order to potentially provide prevention of interdiffusion, enhanced oxidation and corrosion resistance, and improved EUV reflectance.
Regarding claim 4, Hsu ‘768 in view of Lin ‘230 discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the second capping layer comprises Cu, Ir, Pt, Pd or alloys thereof (capping layer 302 may utilize materials having a smaller atomic number than ruthenium, such as copper; paragraphs [0038], [0040]).
Regarding claim 6, Hsu ‘768 in view of Lin ‘230 discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first capping layer comprises an alloy selected from CrRh, CrZn, CrZr, CrAg, CrCd, RhZr, RhZn, RhAg, RhCd, ZnZr, ZnAg, ZnCd, ZrAg, ZrCd and AgCd (capping layer 104 may utilize materials having a smaller atomic number than ruthenium, such as chromium and zirconium; paragraphs [0038], [0040]).
Regarding claim 7, Hsu ‘768 discloses a method of using an extreme ultraviolet (EUV) mask, comprising: exposing the EUV mask to an incident radiation (EUV mask 100 exposed to EUV light; paragraphs [0002]-[0004], [0015]), the EUV mask including: a substrate (substrate 101; paragraph [0015]); a reflective multilayer stack on the substrate (reflective multilayer 102 disposed upon substrate 101; Fig. 3A; paragraph [0017]); a multi-layer capping feature on the reflective multilayer stack (multilayered capping layers 104, 302 structure disposed upon reflective multilayer 102; Fig. 3A; paragraph [0040]), the multi-layer capping feature including a first capping layer interfacing with a topmost surface of the reflective multilayer stack and a second capping layer, the first capping layer and the second capping layer comprising different materials, and at least one of the first capping layer and the second capping layer comprising a material containing an element having a solid carbon solubility at 1000° C of less than 1.6 atomic percent (capping layer 302 may utilize ruthenium having a lesser solid carbon solubility value, approximately 0.25 atomic percent at 1000 degrees C, than the capping layer 104 interfacing with topmost surface of reflective multilayer 102, where layer 104 may utilize a material having a smaller atomic number, such as chromium with an approximate value of 0.75 atomic percent at 1000 degrees C; paragraphs [0038], [0040]); and a patterned absorber layer on the multi-layer capping feature (patterning absorption layer 106 disposed upon multilayered capping layers 104, 302 structure; Fig. 3A; paragraphs [0019], [0040]), wherein the first capping layer comprises copper (Cu), iridium (Ir), platinum (Pt), palladium (Pd) or alloys thereof (capping layer 104 may utilize materials having a smaller atomic number than ruthenium, such as copper; paragraphs [0038], [0040]); absorbing a portion of the incident radiation in the patterned absorber layer (patterning layer 106 absorbs incident light; paragraphs [0019]-[0020]); absorbing a first amount of a first portion of the incident radiation in the first capping layer; absorbing a second amount of a second portion of the incident radiation in the second capping layer, the first amount being different from the second amount (portion of the incident light absorbed by capping layers 104, 302 which have different transmissivity properties due to their different material compositions; Fig. 3A; paragraph [0020]); reflecting a portion of the incident radiation from the reflective multilayer stack (reflective multilayer 102 reflects portion of incident light; Fig. 3A; paragraph [0020]); and directing a portion of the incident radiation that is reflected by the reflective multilayer stack to a material to be patterned (reflective multilayer 102 directs light towards material to be patterned on substrate for formation of IC; paragraphs [0002]-[0003], [0015]).
Hsu ‘768 fails to disclose a second capping layer interfacing the first capping layer.
However, Lin ‘230 discloses a second capping layer interfacing the first capping layer (one or more metallic layers 100 contacting one another are used as capping layers which physically contact capping layer 40 in a pellicle for an EUV mask to prevent contamination of the EUV mask; Fig. 11; paragraphs [0044], [0046], [0050], [0055]).
Hsu ‘768 and Lin ‘230 are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of semiconductor devices utilizing capping layers on EUV masks to prevent contamination thereof. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hsu ‘768 to incorporate the teaching of Lin ‘230 in order to potentially provide prevention of interdiffusion, enhanced oxidation and corrosion resistance, and improved EUV reflectance.
Regarding claim 8, Hsu ‘768 in view of Lin ‘230 discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the first capping layer includes a material including an element having a first carbon solubility at 1000° C that is less than a second carbon solubility at 1000° C of an element of a material of the second capping layer (capping layer 302 may utilize ruthenium having a lesser solid carbon solubility value, approximately 0.25 atomic percent at 1000 degrees C, than the capping layer 104 which may utilize a material having a smaller atomic number, such as chromium with an approximate value of 0.75 atomic percent at 1000 degrees C; paragraphs [0038], [0040]).
Regarding claim 9, Hsu ‘768 in view of Lin ‘230 discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the second capping layer includes a material including an element having a second carbon solubility at 1000° C that is less than a first carbon solubility at 1000° C of an element of a material of the first capping layer (capping layer 302 may utilize ruthenium having a lesser solid carbon solubility value, approximately 0.25 atomic percent at 1000 degrees C, than the capping layer 104 which may utilize a material having a smaller atomic number, such as chromium with an approximate value of 0.75 atomic percent at 1000 degrees C, or vice versa; paragraphs [0038], [0040]).
Regarding claim 10, Hsu ‘768 in view of Lin ‘230 discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the second capping layer comprises ruthenium (Ru), niobium (Nb), silicon (Si), chromium (Cr) or alloys thereof (capping layer 302 may utilize materials having a smaller atomic number than ruthenium, such as copper; paragraphs [0038], [0040]).
Regarding claim 11, Hsu ‘768 in view of Lin ‘230 discloses the method of claim 7, wherein portions of the second capping layer are exposed in trenches of the patterned absorber layer and no portions of the first capping layer are exposed in the trenches of the patterned absorber layer (one of capping layers 104, 302 may be disposed upon the other with the bottom layer exposed within the trench formed; Fig. 3A; paragraph [0040]).
Regarding claim 12, Hsu ‘768 in view of Lin ‘230 discloses the method of claim 7, further comprising developing the material to be patterned (material to be patterned on substrate is for formation of IC; paragraphs [0002]-[0003], [0015]).
Regarding claim 13, Hsu ‘768 discloses a method of lithographically patterning a material, the method comprising: forming a material to be patterned on a workpiece (method of photolithographically patterning a material on substrate for formation of IC; Figs. 1A-1B, 3A; paragraphs [0002]-[0003], [0015]); exposing an extreme ultraviolet (EUV) mask to an incident radiation (EUV mask 100 exposed to EUV light; paragraphs [0002]-[0004], [0015]), the EUV mask including: a substrate (substrate 101; paragraph [0015]); a reflective multilayer stack on the substrate (reflective multilayer 102 disposed upon substrate 101; Fig. 3A; paragraph [0017]); a multi-layer capping feature on the reflective multilayer stack (multilayered capping layers 104, 302 structure disposed upon reflective multilayer 102; Fig. 3A; paragraph [0040]), the multi-layer capping feature including a first capping layer interfacing with a topmost surface of the reflective multilayer stack and a second capping layer, wherein the first capping layer comprises copper (Cu), iridium (Ir), platinum (Pt), palladium (Pd) or alloys thereof (capping layer 104 interfacing with topmost surface of reflective multilayer 102 may comprise ruthenium with another chemical element having an atomic number less than that of ruthenium, such as copper; paragraphs [0038], [0040]), and the second capping layer comprises ruthenium (Ru), niobium (Nb), silicon (Si), chromium (Cr) or alloys thereof (capping layer 302 may comprise ruthenium with another chemical element having an atomic number less than that of ruthenium, such as chromium; paragraphs [0038], [0040]); and a patterned absorber layer on the multi-layer capping feature (patterning absorption layer 106 disposed upon multilayered capping layers 104, 302 structure; Fig. 3A; paragraphs [0019], [0040]); absorbing a portion of the incident radiation in the patterned absorber layer (patterning layer 106 absorbs incident light; paragraphs [0019]-[0020]); transmitting a portion of the incident radiation through the first capping layer and the second capping layer (portion of the incident light reaches reflective multilayer 102 through capping layers 104, 302; Fig. 3A; paragraph [0020]); reflecting a portion of the incident radiation from the reflective multilayer stack (reflective multilayer 102 reflects portion of incident light; Fig. 3A; paragraph [0020]); directing a portion of the incident radiation that is reflected by the reflective multilayer stack to the material to be patterned on the workpiece (reflective multilayer 102 directs light towards material to be patterned on substrate for formation of IC; paragraphs [0002]-[0003], [0015]); and developing the material to be patterned (material to be patterned on substrate is for formation of IC; paragraphs [0002]-[0003], [0015]).
Hsu ‘768 fails to disclose a second capping layer interfacing the first capping layer.
However, Lin ‘230 discloses a second capping layer interfacing the first capping layer (one or more metallic layers 100 contacting one another are used as capping layers which physically contact capping layer 40 in a pellicle for an EUV mask to prevent contamination of the EUV mask; Fig. 11; paragraphs [0044], [0046], [0050], [0055]).
Hsu ‘768 and Lin ‘230 are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of semiconductor devices utilizing capping layers on EUV masks to prevent contamination thereof. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hsu ‘768 to incorporate the teaching of Lin ‘230 in order to potentially provide prevention of interdiffusion, enhanced oxidation and corrosion resistance, and improved EUV reflectance.
Regarding claim 14, Hsu ‘768 in view of Lin ‘230 discloses the method of claim 13, wherein the patterned absorber layer comprises an alloy of a transition metal selected from the group consisting of tantalum (Ta), ruthenium (Ru), chromium (Cr), platinum (Pt), gold (Au), iridium (Ir), titanium (Ti), niobium (Nb), rhodium (Rh), molybdenum (Mo), tungsten (W) and palladium (Pd), and at least one alloying element selected from the group consisting of ruthenium (Ru), chromium (Cr), tantalum (Ta), platinum (Pt), palladium (Pd), tungsten (W), gold (Au), iridium (Ir), titanium (Ti), niobium (Nb), rhodium (Rh), molybdenum (Mo), hafnium (Hf), boron (B), nitrogen (N), oxygen (O), silicon (Si), zirconium (Zr) and vanadium (V) (layer 106 may have material similar to that of layer 102 which may comprise Mo/Si layers; paragraphs [0017], [0019]).
Regarding claim 15, Hsu ‘768 in view of Lin ‘230 discloses the method of claim 14, the alloy further comprises interstitial elements selected from nitrogen (N), oxygen (O), boron (B), carbon (C), or combinations thereof (layer 106 may have material similar to that of layer 102 which may comprise Mo/Si or Mo/Be layers and other suitable materials that are configurable to highly reflect the EUV light; paragraphs [0017], [0019]).
Regarding claim 17, Hsu ‘768 in view of Lin ‘230 discloses the method of claim 13, wherein the first capping layer and the second capping layer independently have a thickness ranging from 0.5 nm to 5 nm (thickness of the capping layers may be within a range of about 2 to 7 nanometers; paragraph [0018]).
Regarding claim 19, Hsu ‘768 in view of Lin ‘230 discloses the method of claim 13, wherein portions of the second capping layer are exposed in trenches of the patterned absorber layer and no portions of the first capping layer are exposed in the trenches of the patterned absorber layer (one of capping layers 104, 302 may be disposed upon the other with the bottom layer exposed within the trench formed; Fig. 3A; paragraph [0040]).
Regarding claim 20, Hsu ‘768 in view of Lin ‘230 discloses the method of claim 13, wherein developing the material comprises removing portions of the material exposed to the radiation reflected from the EUV mask (material to be patterned on substrate is manipulated for formation of IC; paragraphs [0002]-[0003], [0015]).
Regarding claim 21, Hsu ‘768 in view of Lin ‘230 discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the second capping layer comprises a dielectric material (capping layer 304 may include a dielectric made from ruthenium, nitrogen, silicon, oxygen, and chromium; paragraph [0029]).
Regarding claim 22, Hsu ‘768 in view of Lin ‘230 discloses the method of claim 13, wherein the second capping layer comprises ruthenium niobium (RuNb), ruthenium boride (RuB), ruthenium silicide (RuSi), ruthenium dioxide (RuO2), ruthenium niobium oxide (RuNbO), niobium pentoxide (Nb2O5), silicon nitride (SiN), silicon oxynitride (SiON), chromium oxide (CrO), chromium nitride (CrN) or chromium oxynitride (CrON) (capping layer 304 may include multiple of ruthenium, nitrogen, silicon, oxygen, and chromium; paragraphs [0029], [0038], [0040]).
Claims 2-3 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu ‘768 as modified by Lin ‘230 in further view of US 2019/0146331 A1 to Lin et al. (hereinafter “Lin ‘331”).
Regarding claim 2, Hsu ‘768 in view of Lin ‘230 discloses the method of claim 1. Hsu ‘768 fails to disclose wherein the EUV extinction coefficient for EUV radiation having a wavelength of 13.5 nm of the element of the first capping layer is between 0 and 0.1.
However, Lin ‘331 discloses wherein the EUV extinction coefficient for EUV radiation having a wavelength of 13.5 nm of the element of the first capping layer is between 0 and 0.1 (capping layer 210 utilizing absorptive materials to absorb EUV light having wavelength of 10-15 nm with an extinction coefficient of 0.01 to 0.04; paragraphs [0015], [0020]-[0021]).
Hsu ‘768 and Lin ‘331 are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of EUV masks. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hsu ‘768 to incorporate the teaching of Lin ‘331 in order to potentially provide preservation of mask reflectivity, reduced thickness sensitivity, and enhanced durability without sacrificing optics.
Regarding claim 3, Hsu ‘768 in view of Lin ‘230 discloses the method of claim 1. Hsu ‘768 fails to disclose wherein the EUV extinction coefficient for EUV radiation having a wavelength of 13.5 nm of the element of the second capping layer is between 0 and 0.1.
However, Lin ‘331 discloses wherein the EUV extinction coefficient for EUV radiation having a wavelength of 13.5 nm of the element of the second capping layer is between 0 and 0.1 (capping layer 210 utilizing absorptive materials to absorb EUV light having wavelength of 10-15 nm with an extinction coefficient of 0.01 to 0.04; paragraphs [0015], [0020]-[0021]).
Hsu ‘768 and Lin ‘331are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of EUV masks. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hsu ‘768 to incorporate the teaching of Lin ‘331 in order to potentially provide preservation of mask reflectivity, reduced thickness sensitivity, and enhanced durability without sacrificing optics.
Regarding claim 16, Hsu ‘768 in view of Lin ‘230 discloses the method of claim 13. Hsu fails to disclose wherein the first capping layer and the second capping layer independently have an extinction coefficient ranging between 0 and 0.1 and an index of refraction less than 0.97 relative to EUV wavelengths.
However, Lin ‘331 discloses wherein the first capping layer and the second capping layer independently have an extinction coefficient ranging between 0 and 0.1 and an index of refraction less than 0.97 relative to EUV wavelengths (capping layer 210 utilizing absorptive materials to absorb EUV light having wavelength of 10-15 nm with an extinction coefficient of 0.01 to 0.04 and refractive index between 0.88 and 1.02; paragraphs [0015], [0020]-[0021]).
Hsu ‘768 and Lin ‘331 are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of EUV masks. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hsu ‘768 to incorporate the teaching of Lin ‘331 in order to potentially provide preservation of mask reflectivity, reduced thickness sensitivity, and enhanced durability without sacrificing optics.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 22, 2026 have been fully considered. Applicant submitted substantive amendments to the independent claims with corresponding arguments. Applicant first asserts that Hsu ‘768 does not disclose the claimed elements amended into the independent claims. Examiner again points to paragraph [0038] of Hsu ‘768 which states “To best allow for interstitial diffusion, the atomic number of the secondary material should be smaller than the atomic number of the main material of the capping layer.” This paragraph then goes on to list a few specific examples, but not does limit the disclosure to any specific elements other than that the atomic number of the secondary material should be smaller than the atomic number of the main material of the capping layer. Paragraph [0011] specifically states “Specific examples of components and arrangements are described below to simplify the present disclosure. These are, of course, merely examples and are not intended to be limiting.” Therefore, subsequent paragraphs must be read in light of this context. Applicant further asserts that the secondary material may be introduced during an etch process, in line with paragraph [0025] which states “In the example where the secondary material is introduced into the capping layer in the same process of etching the patterning layer 106…” and so again must be read in light of paragraph [0011]. Applicant is attempting to read in limiting disclosure that does not exist in Hsu ‘768. Applicant finally asserts that Lin ‘230 should not be combined with Hsu ‘768 because Lin ‘230 discloses the capping layers on a pellicle on top of an EUV mask for preventing contamination of the EUV mask rather than disclosing capping layers on top of an EUV mask directly for preventing contamination of the EUV mask. Examiner uses the similar functionality and structural arrangement of Lin ‘230 relative the claimed EUV mask and the disclosure of Hsu ‘768 to justify the combination. Applicant does not dispute that Lin ‘230 discloses a second capping layer interfacing the first capping layer, which is the relevant content modifying Hsu ‘768. Therefore, Hsu ‘768 in view of Lin ‘230 renders obvious the amended independent claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/IAN DEGRASSE/Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/JEFF W NATALINI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2818