DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/18/2025 and 02/26/2026 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-8 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Carlson (EP3789268A1).
Claim.1 Carlson discloses a working machine (see at least fig.1, p1, industrial truck, p2, they involve moving a load by means of a load carrier and a pallet), comprising: a main body including an angle sensor (see at least fig.1, p3, an industrial truck comprising, a tiller arm for maneuvering the industrial truck, a load carrier, an horizontal pivot angle sensor, a control unit, an hydraulic system for operating the load carrier, wherein the control unit operable to control functions of the industrial truck including travel and lifting function, wherein the angle sensor is operable to detect the pivot angle of the tiller arm around a vertical axis, wherein the load carrier is operable to be maneuvered to an elevated position, characterized in that, the industrial truck is arranged such that the angle sensor can send detected pivot angle values to the control unit) and an operation controller and configured to travel on a basis of rotational power of a motor (see at least fig.1-2, p35-38, a control unit that can control the drive motor and the speed of the industrial truck. It is preferred that the angle sensor 4 is positioned close to an axle that is concentric with the axis 7, he travel motor is often an AC motor but could be a DC motor. The travel motor is attached through a gearbox to a steerable wheel, which is steered by the tiller arm. This arrangement is the most preferred however; it is of course possible to have another wheel that is steerable and the travel motor acting on another wheel); and an operation unit connected to the main body and including an operation rod, a gripping portion, and a controller, the operation rod being connected to the main body, the gripping portion being connected to the operation rod and being configured to be gripped to assist the travel of the main body (see at least fig.1-2, p3, an industrial truck comprising, a tiller arm for maneuvering the industrial truck, a load carrier, an horizontal pivot angle sensor, a control unit, an hydraulic system for operating the load carrier, wherein the control unit operable to control functions of the industrial truck including travel and lifting function, wherein the angle sensor is operable to detect the pivot angle of the tiller arm around a vertical axis, wherein the load carrier is operable to be maneuvered to an elevated position, characterized in that, the industrial truck is arranged such that the angle sensor can send detected pivot angle values to the control unit, wherein the industrial truck is arranged such that control unit is operable to communicate with and control the hydraulic system of the industrial truck, wherein the control unit is arranged such that when the pivot angle of the tiller arm is determined by the sensor to be within a first predetermined range of pivot angles, the control unit controls the hydraulic system such that lowering of load carrier is disabled ,p34, the industrial truck 1 has a load carrier 3, in the form of a pair of forks. However, the load carrier can be of any type such as a claw gripping mechanism or a flatbed that can be raised etc. Further there are disclosed a vertical axis 7 for the tiller arm 2 around which it is rotatable. The load carrier may be arranged to only lift a load of the surface for low lift transport, or it may be arranged for example on a mast that allows for higher lift heights), the controller being arranged in the gripping portion being configured to accept an input operation for a travel direction of the main body, the angle sensor being configured to detect a relative angle between the main body and the operation rod, and the operation controller being configured to control the travel direction of the main body so as to align the input travel direction with the relative angle (see at least fig.1-3, p3, an industrial truck comprising, a tiller arm for maneuvering the industrial truck, a load carrier, an horizontal pivot angle sensor, a control unit, an hydraulic system for operating the load carrier, wherein the control unit operable to control functions of the industrial truck including travel and lifting function, wherein the angle sensor is operable to detect the pivot angle of the tiller arm around a vertical axis, wherein the load carrier is operable to be maneuvered to an elevated position, characterized in that, the industrial truck is arranged such that the angle sensor can send detected pivot angle values to the control unit, wherein the industrial truck is arranged such that control unit is operable to communicate with and control the hydraulic system of the industrial truck, wherein the control unit is arranged such that when the pivot angle of the tiller arm is determined by the sensor to be within a first predetermined range of pivot angles, the control unit controls the hydraulic system such that lowering of load carrier is disabled, p41, angle positions 20, 20a, 20b, 20ma, 20mb, 20na, 20nb for the tiller arm 2. The angle of the different positions is termed α, α1, α1, α2, α2, β and β. By definition when α is 0 ° the tiller arm 2 is in the longitudinal direction of the industrial truck and the direction of travel is straight ahead, i.e. angle position 20. Then there is a maximal angle clockwise and anti-clockwise for the tiller arm 2, i.e. when the tiller arm2 is in position 20ma or 20mb. Also, figure 3 disclose a middle angle position 20a, 20b being around 45 °. The endpoints 20ma and 20mb respectively has a respective angle α2. According the disclosure the valve 10 is locked in position for all angles including and above α1. In doing so, the load carrier cannot be lowered if the tiller arm has an angle falling within the range of αf1 to α2. Thus, a first predetermined range when lowering is disables is defined when α is in the range of α1 to α2. In arranging the industrial truck in this way, the section A as marked in fig.3 cannot be lowered onto the operator's feet. The section A should not be construed as only being the specific measure shown in the drawing it extends all along the load carrier and also along the section 9 of the housing 13 of the industrial truck 1 that is moving up and down with the load carrier 3).
Claim.2 Carlson discloses wherein the angle sensor is arranged at a connection portion between the main body and the operation rod (see at least fig.1-3, p3, the angle sensor is operable to detect the pivot angle of the tiller arm around a vertical axis, the control unit is arranged such that when the pivot angle of the tiller arm is determined by the sensor to be within a first predetermined range of pivot angles, p41, angle positions 20, 20a, 20b, 20ma, 20mb, 20na, 20nb for the tiller arm 2. The angle of the different positions is termed α, α1, α1, α2, α2, β and β. By definition when α is 0 ° the tiller arm 2 is in the longitudinal direction of the industrial truck and the direction of travel is straight ahead, i.e. angle position 20. Then there is a maximal angle clockwise and anti-clockwise for the tiller arm 2, i.e. when the tiller arm2 is in position 20ma or 20mb. Also, figure 3 disclose a middle angle position 20a, 20b being around 45 °. The endpoints 20ma and 20mb respectively has a respective angle α2. According the disclosure the valve 10 is locked in position for all angles including and above α1. In doing so, the load carrier cannot be lowered if the tiller arm has an angle falling within the range of αf1 to α2. Thus, a first predetermined range when lowering is disables is defined when α is in the range of α1 to α2. In arranging the industrial truck in this way, the section A as marked in fig.3 cannot be lowered onto the operator's feet. The section A should not be construed as only being the specific measure shown in the drawing it extends all along the load carrier and also along the section 9 of the housing 13 of the industrial truck 1 that is moving up and down with the load carrier 3).
Claim.3 Carlson discloses wherein the connection portion is provided at a center of a turning position of the main body (see at least fig.1-3, p41, angle positions 20, 20a, 20b, 20ma, 20mb, 20na, 20nb for the tiller arm 2. The angle of the different positions is termed α, α1, α1, α2, α2, β and β. By definition when α is 0 ° the tiller arm 2 is in the longitudinal direction of the industrial truck and the direction of travel is straight ahead, i.e. angle position 20. Then there is a maximal angle clockwise and anti-clockwise for the tiller arm 2, i.e. when the tiller arm2 is in position 20ma or 20mb. Also, figure 3 disclose a middle angle position 20a, 20b being around 45 °. The endpoints 20ma and 20mb respectively has a respective angle α2. According the disclosure the valve 10 is locked in position for all angles including and above α1. In doing so, the load carrier cannot be lowered if the tiller arm has an angle falling within the range of αf1 to α2. Thus, a first predetermined range when lowering is disables is defined when α is in the range of α1 to α2. In arranging the industrial truck in this way, the section A as marked in fig.3 cannot be lowered onto the operator's feet. The section A should not be construed as only being the specific measure shown in the drawing it extends all along the load carrier and also along the section 9 of the housing 13 of the industrial truck 1 that is moving up and down with the load carrier 3).
Claim.4 Carlson discloses wherein the operation controller is configured to change a control amount of a traveling method of the main body depending on an amount of difference between the input travel direction and the relative angle (see at least fig.1-3, p3, the control unit operable to control functions of the industrial truck including travel and lifting function, wherein the angle sensor is operable to detect the pivot angle of the tiller arm around a vertical axis, wherein the load carrier is operable to be maneuvered to be an elevated position, p41, angle positions 20, 20a, 20b, 20ma, 20mb, 20na, 20nb for the tiller arm 2. The angle of the different positions is termed α, α1, α1, α2, α2, β and β. By definition when α is 0 ° the tiller arm 2 is in the longitudinal direction of the industrial truck and the direction of travel is straight ahead, i.e. angle position 20).
Claim.5 Carlson discloses wherein the operation controller is configured to change travel speed of the main body in response to the input operation (see at least fig.1-3, p35, the communication can also be to a local control unit that evaluates the signals from the sensor, this in turn then communicating with a control unit that can control the drive motor and the speed of the industrial truck, p30, a lorry or an industrial vehicle capable of performing long distance transports on public roads at speeds exceeding 20 km/h. Truck is meant a vehicle that operates very locally and rarely travels more than 500 meter between loading and offloading operations).
Claim.6 Carlson discloses wherein in a case where the operation rod is removed from the main body, the operation controller is configured to control the travel direction of the main body without using the detected relative angle (see at least fig.1-3, p35, the angle sensor 4 can thus detect the position of the tiller arm 2 in a horizontal plane, and output the position to the truck computer 5. The communication to the truck computer is made either by wire or by wireless communication. The communication can also be to a local control unit that evaluates the signals from the sensor. This in turn then communicating with a control unit that can control the drive motor and the speed of the industrial truck. Itis preferred that the angle sensor 4 is positioned close to an axle that is concentric with the axis 7. However, it is also thinkable, for example, that the angle sensor need not detect at the axis 7 but could be positioned in the handle 14 of the tiller arm 2 and be detecting by means of accelerometers or gyros, which position the tiller arm 2 has, p53, the operator is not prevented from lowering when there is no need to prevent the lowering).
Claim.7 Carlson discloses wherein in a case where the operation controller determines that the travel direction of the main body is uncontrollable, the operation controller stops controlling the travel direction of the main body (see at least fig.1-3, p35, the angle sensor 4 can thus detect the position of the tiller arm 2 in a horizontal plane, and output the position to the truck computer 5. The communication to the truck computer is made either by wire or by wireless communication. The communication can also be to a local control unit that evaluates the signals from the sensor. This in turn then communicating with a control unit that can control the drive motor and the speed of the industrial truck. Itis preferred that the angle sensor 4 is positioned close to an axle that is concentric with the axis 7. However, it is also thinkable, for example, that the angle sensor need not detect at the axis 7 but could be positioned in the handle 14 of the tiller arm 2 and be detecting by means of accelerometers or gyros, which position the tiller arm 2 has, p53, the operator is not prevented from lowering when there is no need to prevent the lowering).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carlson (EP3789268A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Frick (US20220167552A1).
Claim.8 Carlson does not discloses wherein the working machine is a grass mower, a collector, or a spreader.
However, Frick discloses wherein the working machine is a grass mower, a collector, or a spreader (see at least fig.1, 6, p25, commercial mowing products, other working machines or vehicles (e.g., debris blowers/vacuums, aerators, dethatches, material spreaders, snow throwers, weeding machines for weed treatment/remediation, mobile watering/treating vehicles, etc.), indoor working vehicles such as vacuums and floor scrubbers/cleaners, construction and utility vehicles (e.g., trenchers), observation vehicles, and load transportation (e.g., including transport of people and objects). Furthermore, the autonomous machines described herein may employ various types of navigation, such as random, modified random, or specific path planning, to carry out their intended functionality, p27, machine 100 may perform work (e.g., mow grass)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the instant application to modify Carlson to include wherein the working machine is a grass mower, a collector, or a spreader by Frick in order to provide a mobile sentry mode for surveilling and observing a property (see Frick’s abstract).
Conclusion
Related References
The relevant art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Ito (US9731760B2) discloses a traveling machine body supported by a pair of left and right driving wheels; a pair of left motor and the right motor configured to independently drive the driving wheels; a riding part disposed behind the traveling machine body and connected to the traveling machine body, and configured to enable riding of a worker; a handle connected to the traveling machine body so as to be swingable left and right with respect to the traveling machine body; a plurality of load sensors for detecting a forward and backward weight shift of the worker who is riding on the riding part; a rotation angle sensor for detecting a leftward and rightward swinging operation amount of the handle; and a controller for controlling operation of the left and right motors based on detection values by the plurality of load sensors and the rotation angle sensor.
Phillip (US11116130B2) discloses a utility machine, such as an outdoor power equipment unit such as a lawn mower, includes a work unit performing work in addition to motive power for the utility machine and a trailer occupied by an operator in a standing position. The operator may seamlessly step onto the trailer to operate the machine in stand-on mode and step off the trailer to operate the machine in walk-behind mode. The trailer remains in the deployed condition in both stand-on mode and walk-behind mode.
/SHARDUL D PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3664