In response to amendment filed 03/02/2026, claims 1 and 15 have been amended. Claim 21 is new.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ADLIVANKIN; Evgeny et al. (US 20190345728 A1), in view of Jiang et al. (CN 219724005 U). Examiner relies on translated copy of and Jiang attached with this Office Action for citations.
In regards to claim 15, Adlivankin teaches, A cleaning device, comprising:
a body; (See fig. 1A)
a first water inlet disposed at a bottom of the body; (See fig. 1B, paragraph 39, A suction mechanism (e.g., a powered pump) may be configured to draw liquid from the pool into an inlet of the pool cleaner. Typically, the inlet is located on or near a bottom surface of the pool cleaner that faces the surface of the pool along which the pool cleaner is being propelled.)
a filtering unit at least partially disposed inside the body; (See paragraph 55, The liquid that enters intake port 22 may pass through filter 23 or another type of trapping that is configured to trap dirt or debris that is suspended in the liquid that flows into intake port 22. )
a first water outlet disposed at a top of the body; (See fig. 1A, paragraph 55, The filtered liquid may then be expelled via outflow port 24. For example, outflow port 24 may be located on a top or upper surface of robotic pool cleaner 10.)
a suction mechanism at least in fluid communication with the first water inlet, the filtering unit, and the first water outlet to form a water flow, wherein the water flow flows through the first water inlet, the filtering unit, and the first water outlet; (See paragraph 55, A suction system of robotic pool cleaner 10 may include a suction pump 26. For example, suction pump 26 may employ a rotating screw, impeller, propeller, centrifugal impeller, or other mechanism to draw liquid from the pool into intake port 22 on the bottom surface of robotic pool cleaner 10. As used herein, the bottom or bottom surface of robotic pool cleaner 10 refers to the side or surface of robotic pool cleaner 10 or of cleaner housing 12 that faces a pool surface that is being cleaned or over which robotic pool cleaner 10 is being propelled. The liquid that enters intake port 22 may pass through filter 23 or another type of trapping that is configured to trap dirt or debris that is suspended in the liquid that flows into intake port 22. The filtered liquid may then be expelled via outflow port 24. )
at least one roller brush assembly disposed at a bottom of a front portion of the body and configured to clean a to-be-cleaned surface; and (See paragraph 54, a cleaning brush 18 may rotate together with, or separately from (e.g., by a mechanism that is separate from the mechanism for driving), locomotion wheels 14. Cleaning brush 18 may loosen dirt or debris that adheres to the pool surface, to enable the dirt and debris to be lifted into robotic pool cleaner 10 by a suction system of robotic pool cleaner 10.)
a moving mechanism disposed on each of two sides of the body and configured to allow the cleaning device to move on the to-be-cleaned surface, (See fig. 1A, paragraph 53, Locomotion wheels 14 may be provided with tracks 16, or other traction-increasing surfaces or components (e.g., tires, suction cups, rubber or adhesive surfaces, or other types of components or surfaces). In some cases, transmission 20 may be controlled so as to rotate locomotion wheels 14 on different sides of robotic pool cleaner 10 at different rates,)
wherein the cleaning device further comprises: at least one first distance sensor disposed at the bottom of the body, adjacent to the moving mechanism, located behind the at least one roller brush assembly, and configured to detect a distance between the cleaning device and the to-be-cleaned surface under the cleaning device; and (See fig. 1B, sensor 30, paragraph 62, Sensors 30 may include one or more proximity sensors or rangefinders that enable sensing of a distance from a surface, such as a pool surface or waterline. Such distance sensors may be based on optical, acoustic, electromagnetic, mechanical, or other appropriate mechanisms. Sensors 30 may include a depth sensor (e.g., acoustic, optical, or other distance sensor))
Adlivankin does not specifically teach, at least one second distance sensor disposed on a first side surface of the body and configured to detect a distance between the first side surface of the cleaning device and an obstacle.
Jiang further discloses, at least one second distance sensor disposed on a first side surface of the body and configured to detect a distance between the first side surface of the cleaning device and an obstacle. (See fig. 2, page 2, all four sides of the cleaning robot have distance sensor. Also see page 5, the distance sensor 1144 is used to sense the distance between the device and the forward obstacle)
Therefore, it would have been obvious by one of ordinary skilled in the art before the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the pool cleaning robot of Adlivankin to further comprise additional distance sensor taught by Jiang because obstacle awareness can be further improved by having distance sensor on all four sides of the device.
In regards to claim 16, Adlivankin-Jiang teaches the cleaning device according to claim 15, wherein the first water inlet is located behind the at least one roller brush assembly, and the at least one first distance sensor is located between the first water inlet and the at least one roller brush assembly. (See Adlivankin fig. 1B)
In regards to claim 17, Adlivankin-Jiang teaches the cleaning device according to claim 15, wherein the cleaning device comprises one first distance sensor, wherein the first distance sensor is centered at a front end of the bottom of the cleaning device. (See Adlivankin fig. 1B)
In regards to claim 18, Adlivankin-Jiang teaches the cleaning device according to claim 16, wherein the cleaning device comprises two first distance sensors, wherein the two first distance sensors are substantially symmetrically disposed at the bottom of the body, and the two first distance sensors are sensors of a same type or sensors of different types. (See Jiang fig. 2, 1144a-d, distance sensors)
In regards to claim 19, Adlivankin-Jiang teaches the cleaning device according to claim 16, wherein the cleaning device further comprises at least one third distance sensor, wherein the at least one third distance sensor is disposed at the front portion of the body and configured to detect a distance between the front portion of the cleaning device and an obstacle. (See Jiang fig. 2, 1144a-d, distance sensors. Also see page 5, the distance sensor 1144 is used to sense the distance between the device and the forward obstacle))
In regards to claim 20, Adlivankin-Jiang teaches the cleaning device according to claim 16, wherein at least one transmission channel is disposed inside the body, wherein a first opening located at the bottom of the body and a second opening located inside the body are disposed on two sides of the at least one transmission channel, and the at least one first distance sensor is adjacent to the second opening. (See Jiang fig. 2, 1144a-d, distance sensors. Also see page 5, the distance sensor 1144 is used to sense the distance between the device and the forward obstacle. Also see Adlivankin fig. 1A-1B, paragraphs 38, 53, Motor 28 may be housed inside cleaner housing 12 and may drive locomotion wheels 14 via transmission 20. Transmission 20 may include one or more shafts, gears, belts, pulleys, levers, or other transmission components. Locomotion wheels 14 may be provided with tracks 16, or other traction-increasing surfaces or components (e.g., tires, suction cups, rubber or adhesive surfaces, or other types of components or surfaces). In some cases, transmission 20 may be controlled so as to rotate locomotion wheels 14 on different sides of robotic pool cleaner 10 at different rates, e.g., so as to turn robotic pool cleaner 10.)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-14 and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowance
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The primary reason for the allowance of the Claim 1 is the inclusion of the limitation, " wherein the first distance sensor is configured to detect a distance between the cleaning device and a to-be-cleaned surface under the cleaning device… in a process of climbing the obstacle, if the obstacle is determined as a step at least based
on a detection value of the first distance sensor, controlling the cleaning device to move from a first surface of the step to a second surface of the step, wherein the step at least comprises the approximately vertical first surface and the approximately horizontal second surface" in conjunction with all disclosed steps of functions or all disclosed structures performing corresponding functions in claim 1.
Deng (CN 116594411 A) discloses The invention discloses an obstacle detection and control method of underwater robot, an underwater robot and a medium, applied to the underwater robot, the underwater robot comprises a trapping mechanism and a water pumping mechanism, wherein the obstacle detection and control method of underwater robot comprises the following steps: in the process of executing the cleaning task, obtaining the acceleration detected by the acceleration sensor and the distance value detected by the distance sensor; when the change amount of the acceleration in the preset time window is greater than the preset threshold value, and the distance value is greater than the distance threshold value, judging that the current position has the first type of obstacle; controlling the water pumping mechanism and the besieging mechanism to execute the first besieging action when the first type of obstacle is detected at the current position. The change of the acceleration of the underwater robot in the pre-set window and the distance value of the distance sensor are detected so as to judge the type of the obstacle in the swimming pool, and the obstacle removing action is executed based on the type of the obstacle to improve the cleaning range of the underwater robot (abstract, pages 8-9).
ADLIVANKIN; Evgeny et al. (US 20190345728 A1) discloses: A pool cleaner for cleaning a pool includes a housing, a pump for drawing liquid from the pool into the housing through an inlet and expelling the liquid through an outlet when the pool cleaner is submerged in the pool, a filter for trapping debris that is in the indrawn liquid, and a propulsion system for propelling the pool cleaner along a submerged surface within the pool. A controller is configured to determine a position of the pool cleaner on a stairway of the pool, and to control the propulsion system to stop ascending the stairway when the pool cleaner is determined to have ascended to a highest permissible stair of the stairway (Abstract).
The closest prior arts fail to disclose or suggest the specific combination of: classifying an obstacle as a step, distinguishing its approximately vertical first surface from its approximately horizontal second surface, based at least on the detection value of bottom-mounted first distance sensor, where that classification occurs dynamically during an ongoing climbing the obstacle process, whereas closest prior arts disclose obstacle detection first and then using that real-time classification to control the transition of climbing/cleaning the steps.
It would have not been obvious to one skilled in the art to combine all prior arts to teach the claim limitations before the effective filing date of instant application unless knowledge from the applicant's disclosure is obtained.
Examiner notes the above limitation is novel over the prior art in view of the entirety of the claim, not just the limitation presented alone. Examiner is pointing out the subject matter of the above-described claims of which is considered novel over the prior art for the benefit of the Applicant and cannot be considered novel alone, but in context of the entirety of the claim language.
Consequently, the prior arts of record individually and as a whole do not teach the claim limitation above.
Claims 2-14 depending on claim 1 respectively, therefore, are considered allowable on the basis as the independent claim as well as for the further limitations set forth.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regards to claim 15, applicant argues that Adlivankin fails to teach or suggest, wherein the cleaning device further comprises: at least one first distance sensor disposed at the bottom of the body, adjacent to the moving mechanism, located behind the at least one roller brush assembly, and configured to detect a distance between the cleaning device and the to-be-cleaned surface under the cleaning device;
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Adlivankin explicitly recites “Sensors 30 may include one or more proximity sensors or rangefinders that enable sensing of a distance from a surface, such as a pool surface or waterline” in paragraph 62. Also, fig. 1B and paragraph 27 recites that fig. 1B represents bottom side of the robotic pool cleaner, thus indicating sensor 30 being located at bottom side of the robotic pool cleaner.
Looking at fig. 1B of Adlivankin reproduced above, assuming sensor 30 is proximately located at the position shown, the sensor 30 meets claimed requirements: (1) disposed at bottom of body (2) adjacent to the moving mechanism (this limitation is automatically met since there are no clear metes and bounds on what constitutes “adjacent”. Whether locomotion wheel 14 being located up, left, right, or left, sensor 30 is “adjacent” to the wheel 14) (3) located behind the at least one roller brush assembly (sensor 30 located “behind” cleaning brush 18. Again, claim is unclear as to what constitutes a “behind”. Depending on which point of view a person is looking at, sensor 30 is located “behind” the brush 18) (4) detect a distance between cleaning device and to-be cleaned surface (taught in paragraph 62).
Even assuming that exact position of sensor 30 is unknown, Adlivankin explicitly points out that sensor 30 is placed at bottom of the cleaner. The question is “where” at bottom of the cleaner. However, the limitation is still met since claim does not specifically point out “adjacent to the moving mechanism”, “located behind the at least one roller brush assembly” relative to which point of view. That is, the claimed “Adjacent” and “Behind” is not clearly defined that sensor placed at any position on the bottom of the cleaner will satisfy the limitation.
Examiner further cites to Jones (US 10420447 B2), fig. 3B, cliff detector assembly 54CD which also appear to disclose claimed limitation.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN S LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668