DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ning et al. (US 2024/0048068) in view of Xiao et al. (CN105703470).
Regarding claim 1, Ning teaches An uninterruptible power supply (see figures 5; and par. [0002], “circuit control in an uninterruptible power supply”), comprising: a rectifying module (fig. 5@ LEG B; and par. [0005], “the dual-use leg B can implement a rectification (AC-DC) function”), a battery (fig. 5@ [BAT-, BAT+), wherein: the rectifying module (LEG B) is connected between mains electricity and a busbar (fig. 5@ [BUS+, BUS-]), and comprises a first rectifying sub-module and a second rectifying sub-module (see figure 5 and par. [0005]); the positive electrode of the battery (fig. 5@ BAT+) is connected with respective alternating-current ports of the first rectifying sub-module via relays (see figure 5); the negative electrode of the battery (fig. 5@ BAT-) is connected with respective alternating-current ports of the second rectifying sub-module via relays (see figure 5).
However, Ning does not explicitly teach a charge-discharge module, wherein the charge-discharge module is connected between the battery and the busbar, and comprises at least : a first switching device connected between a positive electrode and a negative electrode of the battery, and a second switching device connected between the negative electrode of the battery and a negative electrode of the busbar; and a capacitor is connected between the positive electrode and the negative electrode of the battery.
Xiao teaches a charge-discharge module (see figure 5), wherein the charge-discharge module is connected between the battery (fig. 5@ [BAT+, BAT-]) and the busbar, and comprises at least : a first switching device connected between a positive electrode and a negative electrode of the battery ([BAT+, BAT-]), and a second switching device connected between the negative electrode of the battery and a negative electrode of the busbar; and a capacitor (fig. 5@ upper capacitor and lower capacitor) is connected between the positive electrode and the negative electrode of the battery ([BAT+, BAT-]), (see figure 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ning with the teachings of Xiao by having a charge-discharge module, wherein the charge-discharge module is connected between the battery and the busbar, and comprises at least : a first switching device connected between a positive electrode and a negative electrode of the battery, and a second switching device connected between the negative electrode of the battery and a negative electrode of the busbar; and a capacitor is connected between the positive electrode and the negative electrode of the battery in order to improves safety and efficiency and prevents high inrush currents during connection, protects components from voltage spikes, manages pre-charge states smoothly, and allows safe isolation and energy buffering during power fluctuations.
Regarding claim 2, the combination teaches one end of the first rectifying sub-module (LEG B) is connected with a positive electrode of the busbar (BUS+), and the other end of the first rectifying sub-module is connected with a midpoint of the busbar; and one end of the second rectifying sub-module is connected with the midpoint of the busbar, and the other end of the second rectifying sub-module is connected with the negative electrode of the busbar (BUS-), (see figure 5; Ning).
Regarding claim 3, the combination teaches a first relay is connected between a first common end of the capacitor and the first switching device, and the positive electrode of the battery ([BAT+); and a second relay is connected between a second common end of the capacitor and the first switching device, and the negative electrode of the battery (BAT-), (see figure 5; Xiao).
Regarding claim 4, the combination teaches wherein the charge-discharge module further comprises: a third switching device connected between the positive electrode of the battery and a positive electrode of the busbar (see figure 5; Xiao).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-10 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/XUAN LY/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836