DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
Improper cross hatching for figures 2C-2G. The different parts appear to have the same cross hatching.
Poor/ fuzzy line and text quality (Figures 1 and 2A are acceptable, 2B-2G is poor. 6-9 is very poor).
Shading of parts (Figure 3, 4A-C, 5A-E). See MPEP Rule 1.84(m) regarding shading.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2023049389 A1 to CANDIANI.
Regarding claim 1: CANDIANI discloses 1. A flow control valve (Abstract), comprising:
a housing 108 including a central bore 112 extending axially there through, the central bore configured to convey subsurface fluids there through (Figs 2a,b);
an opening 113 located in a sidewall of the housing (Fig. 2A,[0032]);
a flow trim 102 coupled with the housing and covering the opening 113 (Figure 2a,b), the flow trim including one or more flow trim ports 106 configured to allow the subsurface fluids to pass between the housing and a subterranean formation surrounding the housing (Figs 2a,b);
a sliding sleeve 104 disposed in the central bore of the housing, the sliding sleeve configured to move between a first state covering the one or more flow trim ports and engaging a housing seal 110 and second state disengaging from the housing seal and exposing at least a portion of the one or more flow trim ports (Figs 2a,b, see also [0006],[0032], [0035]), wherein a size or position of the one or more flow trim ports are configured to prevent the housing seal from eroding (Figures 2A,2B this is also the same configuration as applicant and would work in the same manner.)
However fails to disclose while providing at least a 1.5 KSI pressure differential between an outside of the housing and the central bore as the sliding sleeve moves past a nearest most flow trim port to the housing seal.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have designed the components of the valve such that it would be providing at least a 1.5, KSI pressure differential between an outside of the housing and the central bore as the sliding sleeve moves past a nearest most flow trim port to the housing seal, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claims 2-4: CANDIANI wherein the one or more flow trim ports are configured to prevent the housing seal from eroding (Figs. 2a,2b this is a similar configuration to applicants where the flow path is not directed toward the seal and would work in the same manner.), however does not explicitly detail while providing at least a 2.0, 2.5 or 3.0 KSI pressure differential.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have designed the components of the valve such that it would be providing at least a 2.0, 2.5, or 3.0 KSI pressure differential, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 5: CANDIANI discloses 5. The flow control valve a recited in claim 1, wherein the size or position of the one or more flow trim ports are configured to improve turbulence properties created as the subsurface fluids pass through the nearest most flow trim port to prevent the housing seal from eroding (Figs. 2a,2b this is a similar configuration to applicants where the flow path is not directed toward the seal and would work in the same manner.) however is silent on” providing at least the 1.5 KSI pressure differential.”
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have designed the components of the valve such that it would be providing at least a 1.5 KSI pressure differential, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 6: CANDIANI discloses 6. The flow control valve as recited in claim 1, wherein the nearest most flow trim port is one of a circumferential ring of multiple similar sized flow trim ports (Figure 2a, 2b, [0033]).
Regarding claim 7: CANDIANI discloses 7. The flow control valve as recited in claim 6, wherein the circumferential ring of multiple similar sized flow trim ports is a first circumferential ring, and further including a second circumferential ring of multiple similar sized flow trim ports is positioned further from the housing seal than the first circumferential ring, wherein the second circumferential ring of multiple similar sized flow trim ports are larger than the first ring of multiple similar sized ports.(best seen in Figure 2b, [0033])
Regarding claim 8: CANDIANI discloses the claimed invention except wherein the nearest most flow trim port is a distance (d) of at least 60 mm from the housing seal.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to wherein the nearest most flow trim port is a distance (d) of at least 60 mm from the housing seal., since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 10: CANDIANI discloses 10. The flow control valve as recited in claim 1, further including an electric actuator [0004] coupled with the sliding sleeve [0029], the electric actuator configured to move the sliding sleeve between the first state and the second state.[0030]
Claim(s) 9 and 11-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2023049389 A1 to CANDIANI in view of US 20180202251 A1 to El Mallawany.
Regarding claim 9: CANDIANI discloses the claimed invention except wherein the housing seal is a metal-to-metal seal
El Mallawany teaches a metal to metal seal 26 for a sliding sleeve.
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date (AIA ) to have modified CANDIANI and use a metal to metal seal in the style of El Mallawany so as to have “an improved metal to metal seal for reliable low and high pressure sealing.”[0004]
Regarding claim 11: CANDIANI discloses a method, a flow control valve (Abstract), comprising:
a housing 108 including a central bore 112 extending axially there through, the central bore configured to convey subsurface fluids there through (Figs 2a,b);
an opening 113 located in a sidewall of the housing (Fig. 2A,[0032]);
a flow trim 102 coupled with the housing and covering the opening 113 (Figure 2a,b), the flow trim including one or more flow trim ports 106 configured to allow the subsurface fluids to pass between the housing and a subterranean formation surrounding the housing (Figs 2a,b);
a sliding sleeve 104 disposed in the central bore of the housing, the sliding sleeve configured to move between a first state covering the one or more flow trim ports and engaging a housing seal 110 and second state disengaging from the housing seal and exposing at least a portion of the one or more flow trim ports (Figs 2a,b, see also [0006],[0032], [0035]), wherein a size or position of the one or more flow trim ports are configured to prevent the housing seal from eroding (Figures 2A,2B this is also the same configuration as applicant and would work in the same manner.) and
actuating the sliding sleeve between the first state and the second state.[0008]
However fails to disclose positioning a downhole tool within a wellbore extending through one or more subterranean formations, the downhole tool having the flow control valve and providing at least a 1.5 KSI pressure differential between an outside of the housing and the central bore as the sliding sleeve moves past a nearest most flow trim port to the housing seal.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have designed the components of the valve such that it would be providing at least a 1.5, KSI pressure differential between an outside of the housing and the central bore as the sliding sleeve moves past a nearest most flow trim port to the housing seal, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
El Mallawany teaches a flow control valve 20 positioned in a wellbore extending through one or more subterranean formations (Figure 1).
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date (AIA ) to have modified CANDIANI and use his flow control valve in a wellbore, in view of El Mallawany, as this is notoriously conventional and the intended purpose of the valve of CANDIANI.
Regarding claims 12-14: CANDIANI wherein the one or more flow trim ports are configured to prevent the housing seal from eroding (Figs. 2a,2b this is a similar configuration to applicants where the flow path is not directed toward the seal and would work in the same manner.), however does not explicitly detail while providing at least a 2.0, 2.5 or 3.0 KSI pressure differential.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have designed the components of the valve such that it would be providing at least a 2.0, 2.5, or 3.0 KSI pressure differential, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 15: CANDIANI discloses wherein the size or position of the one or more flow trim ports are configured to improve turbulence properties created as the subsurface fluids pass through the nearest most flow trim port to prevent the housing seal from eroding (Figs. 2a,2b this is a similar configuration to applicants where the flow path is not directed toward the seal and would work in the same manner.) however is silent on” providing at least the 1.5 KSI pressure differential.”
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have designed the components of the valve such that it would be providing at least a 1.5 KSI pressure differential, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 16: CANDIANI discloses wherein the nearest most flow trim port is one of a circumferential ring of multiple similar sized flow trim ports (Figure 2a, 2b, [0033]).
Regarding claim 17: CANDIANI discloses wherein the circumferential ring of multiple similar sized flow trim ports is a first circumferential ring, and further including a second circumferential ring of multiple similar sized flow trim ports is positioned further from the housing seal than the first circumferential ring, wherein the second circumferential ring of multiple similar sized flow trim ports are larger than the first ring of multiple similar sized ports.(best seen in Figure 2b, [0033])
Regarding claim 18: CANDIANI discloses the claimed invention except wherein the nearest most flow trim port is a distance (d) of at least 60 mm from the housing seal.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to wherein the nearest most flow trim port is a distance (d) of at least 60 mm from the housing seal., since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 19: CANDIANI discloses the claimed invention except wherein the housing seal is a metal-to-metal seal
El Mallawany teaches a metal to metal seal 26 for a sliding sleeve.
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date (AIA ) to have modified CANDIANI and use a metal to metal seal in the style of El Mallawany so as to have “an improved metal to metal seal for reliable low and high pressure sealing.”[0004]
Regarding claim 20: CANDIANI discloses further including an electric actuator [0004] coupled with the sliding sleeve [0029], the electric actuator configured to move the sliding sleeve between the first state and the second state.[0030]
Regarding claim 21: CANDIANI discloses
a flow control valve (abstract) including:
a housing 108 including a central bore 112 extending axially there through, the central bore configured to convey subsurface fluids there through (Figs 2a,b);
an opening 113 located in a sidewall of the housing (Fig. 2A,[0032]);
a flow trim 102 coupled with the housing and covering the opening 113 (Figure 2a,b), the flow trim including one or more flow trim ports 106 configured to allow the subsurface fluids to pass between the housing and a subterranean formation surrounding the housing (Figs 2a,b);
a sliding sleeve 104 disposed in the central bore of the housing, the sliding sleeve configured to move between a first state covering the one or more flow trim ports and engaging a housing seal 110 and second state disengaging from the housing seal and exposing at least a portion of the one or more flow trim ports (Figs 2a,b, see also [0006],[0032], [0035]), wherein a size or position of the one or more flow trim ports are configured to prevent the housing seal from eroding (Figures 2A,2B this is also the same configuration as applicant and would work in the same manner.)
However fails to explicitly disclose A well system, comprising: a wellbore extending through one or more subterranean formations; and a downhole tool located within the wellbore, the downhole tool having the flow control valve or providing at least a 1.5 KSI pressure differential between an outside of the housing and the central bore as the sliding sleeve moves past a nearest most flow trim port to the housing seal.
El Mallawany teaches a flow control valve 20 positioned in a wellbore extending through one or more subterranean formations (Figure 1)
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date (AIA ) to have modified CANDIANI and use his flow control valve in a wellbore, in view of El Mallawany, as this is notoriously conventional and the intended purpose of the valve of CANDIANI.[0002-0003]
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20230366292 A1 to Prost discloses a downhole inflow control valve with a sliding sleeve.
US 6041857 A to Carmody discloses an actuator for downhole tools including sliding sleeves.
US 8757252 B2 to Franklin discloses a wellbore inflow control with a sliding sleeve.
/STEVEN A MACDONALD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3674