DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8-11, 14 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gwon et al, US 2026/0064219 A1 (hereinafter “Gwon”).
Regarding claim 1, Gwon discloses a display device (FIG. 1 generally, and display device 110 at [0045]-[0046]), comprising:
a substrate (FIGS. 1-3, 12 and 14, substrate 111 and [0047]-[0048] and [0056] and [0080]-[0081], [0122]-[0125]) including a display area (FIGS. 1, 3-4, 7 and 12-14,display area DA at [0048]-[0049] and [0067]-[0069]) and a non-display area (FIGS. 1, 3-4, 7 and 12-14,non-display area NDA at [0048]-[0049] and [0067]-[0069]);
a pixel circuit portion (FIGS. 1-3 and 12-14 and subpixels SP at [0047]-[0049]) disposed on the substrate (101) and overlapping the display area (FIGS. 1-3 illustrating SP disposed on the substrate 101 and in the display area DA and [0047]-[0053] and [0068]);
an encapsulation layer (FIGS. 2-3 and 12 and 14 encapsulation layer 200) disposed on the pixel circuit portion (FIGS. 2-3 and 12 and 14 encapsulation layer 200 is disposed on the subpixel layer SP at [0080]-[0081]); and
a touch sensing portion disposed on the encapsulation layer (FIGS. 2-3 and 5-6 and [0109]-[0113] and touch sensor layer 210 with electrode pattern of touch electrodes, TE, TE-H and TE-V and [0186] and [0201]-[0202] and [0213]-[0215]),
wherein the touch sensing portion includes:
a first sensing insulating layer (FIGS. 3, 9-10, 12, and 14 first insulation layer 910 and [0272]-[0277] and [0335]-[0340] and [0373] and [0379]);
a second sensing insulating layer (920) disposed on the first sensing insulating layer (FIGS. 3, 9-10, 12, and 14 second insulation layer 920 and [0272]-[0276], [0283], [0335]-[0340] is disposed on first insulation layer 910);
a third sensing insulating layer (930) disposed on the second sensing insulating layer (FIGS. 3, 9-10, 12, and 14 third insulation layer 930 and [0272]-[0276], [0283], [0335]-[0340] and [0373] and [0379] is disposed on second insulation layer 920);
a fourth sensing insulating layer disposed on the third sensing insulating layer (FIGS. 3, 9-10, 12, and 14 fourth insulation layer 940 and [0272]-[0276], [0283], [0335]-[0338] is disposed on third insulation layer 930); and
a sensing electrode disposed between the first sensing insulating layer and the second
sensing insulating layer (FIG. 3 and electrodes TE1 and TE2; FIGS. 9-10, 12, and 14 and TLs, TL3, TL5 between first insulation layer 910 and second insulation layer 920 and at [0284]-[0294] and [0320]-[0323] and [0357]),
wherein, in the non-display area (FIGS. 12-14 NDA), an end of the fourth sensing insulating layer (940/353) is positioned inward from an end of the second sensing insulating layer (FIGS. 3 and 9 with fourth insulating layer 940 described as having the same configuration as touch protection layer 353 and the second insulating layer 920 either corresponds with touch buffer layer 351 and another layer not included in touch sensor layer 210 of FIG. 3 at [0272]-[0278]; as illustrated in FIG. 3, 353 corresponding with 940 ends in the NDA at a position inward from the end of 351 corresponding with 920 of FIG. 9 and similarly FIGS. 12-14, see FIG. 3 annotated below).
Regarding claim 8, Gwon discloses the display device of claim 1 (see above), wherein the first sensing insulating layer and the third sensing insulating layer include an inorganic insulating material (FIGS. 3 and 9 and [0193]-[0195] and [0275]-[0276] noting the interchangeability of organic and inorganic materials), and the second sensing insulating layer and the fourth sensing insulating layer include an organic insulating material (FIGS. 3 and 9 and [0193]-[0195] and [0275]-[0276], noting the interchangeability of organic and inorganic materials).
Regarding claim 9, Gwon discloses the display device of claim 8 (see above), wherein the second sensing insulating layer and the fourth sensing insulating layer include a same material (FIGS. 3 and 9 and [0193]-[0195] and [0275]-[0276], noting the interchangeability of organic and inorganic materials and therefore two layers may be of the same material).
Regarding claim 10, Gwon discloses the display device of claim 1 (see above), wherein the touch sensing portion further includes a lower insulating layer (FIGS. 3 and 9 with encapsulation layer 343 serving as insulation and [0184] and [0329]) positioned between the first sensing insulating layer (351/910) and the encapsulation layer (FIGS. 3 and 9 and lower layers of the encapsulation layer 342 and 341 [0184] and [0329]).
Regarding claim 11, Gwon discloses the display device of claim 10 (see above), wherein ends of the lower insulating layer and the first sensing insulating layer overlap (FIG. 3, ends of 343 and 351 overlap in the non-display area NDA).
Regarding claim 14, it is similar in scope to claim 1 above, the only difference being claim 14 claims wherein, in the non-display area, an end of the fourth sensing insulating layer overlaps an upper surface of the second sensing insulating layer (see annotated FIG. 3 above, end of 353 / 940 overlaps the upper surface of 351 / 920). Therefore, claim 14 is similarly analyzed and rejected as claim 1.
Regarding claim 17, Gwon discloses the display device of claim 14 (see above), wherein the touch sensing portion further includes a lower insulating layer positioned between the first sensing insulating layer and the encapsulation layer (FIGS. 3 and 9 with encapsulation layer 343 serving as insulation and [0184] and [0329]), and ends of the lower insulating layer and the first sensing insulating layer overlap (FIG. 3, ends of 343 and 351 overlap in the non-display area NDA).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-7 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gwon et al, US 2026/0064219 A1 (hereinafter “Gwon”) in view of Ko et al., US 2026/0059981 A1 (hereinafter “Ko”).
Regarding claim 2, Gwon discloses the display device of claim 1 (see above).
However, Gwon does not explicitly disclose wherein an end of the third sensing insulating layer is positioned inward from the end of the second sensing insulating layer.
In the same field of endeavor, Ko discloses a display device 100 at FIGS. 8-11 with first to fourth sensing insulation layers 173, 181, 183, and 186 wherein an end of the third sensing insulating layer is positioned inward from the end of the second sensing insulating layer (FIGS. 8-11, and 15 illustrating end of insulating layer 183 positioned inward from buffer layer 181 and [0231]-[0237] and [0240] and [0255]-[0266]).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the touch display device with insulation layers over the touch electrodes of Gwon to incorporate the positioning of the insulation layers as disclosed by Ko because the references are within the same field of endeavor, namely, insulation structures in the a touch display panel in the display and non-display areas. The motivation to combine these references would have been to improve reliability of the device, reducing energy needed to produce the display, and expanding the life of the display (see Ko at least at [0301]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 3, Gwon in view of Ko discloses the display device of claim 2 (see above), wherein the end of the third sensing insulating layer and the end of the fourth sensing insulating layer overlap (Ko FIGS. 8-11, and 15 illustrating end of insulating layer 186 overlapping 183 and [0231]-[0237] and [0240] and [0255]-[0266]).
Regarding claim 4, Gwon discloses the display device of claim 2 (see above), wherein the end of the third sensing insulating layer and the end of the fourth sensing insulating layer form a same inclined surface (Ko FIGS. 8-11, and 15 illustrating end of insulating layer 186 and end of 183 forming a sloped surface at their ends and [0231]-[0237] and [0240] and [0255]-[0266]).
Regarding claim 5, Gwon discloses the display device of claim 1 (see above).
However, Gwon does not explicitly disclose wherein the second sensing insulating layer covers an end of the first sensing insulating layer.
In the same field of endeavor, Ko discloses a display device 100 at FIGS. 8-11 with first to fourth sensing insulation layers 173, 181, 183, and 186 wherein the second sensing insulating layer covers an end of the first sensing insulating layer (Ko at FIGS. 9 and 181 covering 173 and [0220] and [0231]-[0237] and [0240] and [0255]-[0266]).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the touch display device with insulation layers over the touch electrodes of Gwon to incorporate the positioning of the insulation layers as disclosed by Ko because the references are within the same field of endeavor, namely, insulation structures in the a touch display panel in the display and non-display areas. The motivation to combine these references would have been to improve reliability of the device, reducing energy needed to produce the display, and expanding the life of the display (see Ko at least at [0301]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 6, Gwon in view of Ko discloses the display device of claim 5 (see above), wherein an end of the third sensing insulating layer is positioned inward from the end of the first sensing insulating layer (Ko FIGS. 8-11, and 15 illustrating end of insulating layer 183 positioned inward from 173 and [0231]-[0237] and [0240] and [0255]-[0266]).
Regarding claim 7, Gwon in view of Ko discloses the display device of claim 5 (see above), wherein the end of the fourth sensing insulating layer is positioned inward from the end of the first sensing insulating layer (Ko FIGS. 8-11, and 15 illustrating end of insulating layer 186 positioned inward from 173 and [0231]-[0237] and [0240] and [0255]-[0266]).
Regarding claim 15, it is similar in scope to claim 3 above. Therefore, claim 15 is similarly analyzed and rejected as claim 3.
Regarding claim 16, Gwon discloses the display device of claim 14 (see above).
However, Gwon does not explicitly disclose wherein an end of the third sensing insulating layer is positioned inward from an end of the second sensing insulating layer, and the end of the fourth sensing insulating layer is positioned inward from the end of the second sensing insulating layer.
In the same field of endeavor, Ko discloses a display device 100 at FIGS. 8-11 with first to fourth sensing insulation layers 173, 181, 183, and 186 wherein an end of the third sensing insulating layer is positioned inward from an end of the second sensing insulating layer (Ko FIGS. 8-11, and 15 illustrating end of insulating layer 183 positioned inward from 173 and [0231]-[0237] and [0240] and [0255]-[0266]), and the end of the fourth sensing insulating layer is positioned inward from the end of the second sensing insulating layer (Ko FIGS. 8-11, and 15 illustrating end of insulating layer 186 positioned inward from 173 and [0231]-[0237] and [0240] and [0255]-[0266]).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the touch display device with insulation layers over the touch electrodes of Gwon to incorporate the positioning of the insulation layers as disclosed by Ko because the references are within the same field of endeavor, namely, insulation structures in the a touch display panel in the display and non-display areas. The motivation to combine these references would have been to improve reliability of the device, reducing energy needed to produce the display, and expanding the life of the display (see Ko at least at [0301]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 12 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gwon et al, US 2026/0064219 A1 (hereinafter “Gwon”) in view of Lee et al., US 2026/0190709 A1 (hereinafter “Lee”).
Regarding claim 12, Gwon discloses the display device of claim 1 (see above).
However, Gwon does not explicitly disclose further comprising: a bending protection layer overlapping at least a portion of the second sensing insulating layer, wherein the bending protection layer covers at least a portion of an upper surface of the second sensing insulating layer, wherein a portion of the substrate that overlaps the bending protection layer has a curved shape.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee discloses a display device (200) with touch insulation layers at FIGS 11-12, 266, 277, 282, 290 further comprising:
a bending protection layer (FIGS. 4-5, 7-8, and 10-13 bending protective layer 300) overlapping at least a portion of the second sensing insulating layer (FIGS 11-12 with bending protective layer 300 overlapping the second touch insulation layer 277 therein and [0145]-[0153]), wherein the bending protection layer covers at least a portion of an upper surface of the second sensing insulating layer (FIGS 11-12 with bending protective layer 300 covers the upper surface of the second touch insulation layer 277 therein [0145]-[0153]), wherein a portion of the substrate (FIGS. 4-5, 7-8, and 10-13, substrate 201) that overlaps the bending protection layer has a curved shape (at the BDA area the substrate 201 overlaps with 300 and as described in [0006] and [0066] this substrate is designed to bend and curve underneath to hide the pad area under the display area, as the portion of substrate 201 in the BDA would have a curved shape).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the touch display device and structure of Gwon to incorporate the protection layer and flexible substrate as disclosed by Lee because the references are within the same field of endeavor, namely, touch display devices with insulating layers and flexible substrates. The motivation to combine these references would have been to reduce the visibility of the bezel area of the display device while protecting the components (see Lee at least at [0006]-[0010]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 18, Gwon discloses the display device of claim 14 (see above).
However, Gwon does not explicitly disclose further comprising: a bending protection layer overlapping at least a portion of the second sensing insulating layer, wherein a portion of the substrate that overlaps the bending protection layer has a curved shape.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee discloses a display device (200) with touch insulation layers at FIGS 11-12, 266, 277, 282, 290 further comprising: a bending protection layer (FIGS. 4-5, 7-8, and 10-13 bending protective layer 300) overlapping at least a portion of the second sensing insulating layer (FIGS 11-12 with bending protective layer 300 overlapping the second touch insulation layer 277 therein and [0145]-[0153]), wherein a portion of the substrate (FIGS. 4-5, 7-8, and 10-13, substrate 201) that overlaps the bending protection layer has a curved shape (at the BDA area the substrate 201 overlaps with 300 and as described in [0006] and [0066] this substrate is designed to bend and curve underneath to hide the pad area under the display area, as the portion of substrate 201 in the BDA would have a curved shape).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the touch display device and structure of Gwon to incorporate the protection layer and flexible substrate as disclosed by Lee because the references are within the same field of endeavor, namely, touch display devices with insulating layers and flexible substrates. The motivation to combine these references would have been to reduce the visibility of the bezel area of the display device while protecting the components (see Lee at least at [0006]-[0010]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gwon et al, US 2026/0064219 A1 (hereinafter “Gwon”) in view of Kwon et al., US 2018/0053790 A1 (hereinafter “Kwon”).
Regarding claim 19, Gwon discloses an electronic device ([0002]), comprising:
a display device (FIG. 1 generally, and display device 110 at [0045]-[0046]);
wherein the display device includes:
a substrate (FIGS. 1-3, 12 and 14, substrate 111 and [0047]-[0048] and [0056] and [0080]-[0081], [0122]-[0125]) including a display area (FIGS. 1, 3-4, 7 and 12-14,display area DA at [0048]-[0049] and [0067]-[0069]) and a non-display area (FIGS. 1, 3-4, 7 and 12-14,non-display area NDA at [0048]-[0049] and [0067]-[0069]);
a pixel circuit portion (FIGS. 1-3 and 12-14 and subpixels SP at [0047]-[0049]) disposed on the substrate (101) and overlapping the display area (FIGS. 1-3 illustrating SP disposed on the substrate 101 and in the display area DA and [0047]-[0053] and [0068]);
an encapsulation layer (FIGS. 2-3 and 12 and 14 encapsulation layer 200) disposed on the pixel circuit portion (FIGS. 2-3 and 12 and 14 encapsulation layer 200 is disposed on the subpixel layer SP at [0080]-[0081]); and
a touch sensing portion disposed on the encapsulation layer (FIGS. 2-3 and 5-6 and [0109]-[0113] and touch sensor layer 210 with electrode pattern of touch electrodes, TE, TE-H and TE-V and [0186] and [0201]-[0202] and [0213]-[0215]),
wherein the touch sensing portion includes:
a first sensing insulating layer (FIGS. 3, 9-10, 12, and 14 first insulation layer 910 and [0272]-[0277] and [0335]-[0340] and [0373] and [0379]);
a second sensing insulating layer (920) disposed on the first sensing insulating layer (FIGS. 3, 9-10, 12, and 14 second insulation layer 920 and [0272]-[0276], [0283], [0335]-[0340] is disposed on first insulation layer 910);
a third sensing insulating layer (930) disposed on the second sensing insulating layer (FIGS. 3, 9-10, 12, and 14 third insulation layer 930 and [0272]-[0276], [0283], [0335]-[0340] and [0373] and [0379] is disposed on second insulation layer 920);
a fourth sensing insulating layer disposed on the third sensing insulating layer (FIGS. 3, 9-10, 12, and 14 fourth insulation layer 940 and [0272]-[0276], [0283], [0335]-[0338] is disposed on third insulation layer 930); and
a sensing electrode disposed between the first sensing insulating layer and the second
sensing insulating layer (FIG. 3 and electrodes TE1 and TE2; FIGS. 9-10, 12, and 14 and TLs, TL3, TL5 between first insulation layer 910 and second insulation layer 920 and at [0284]-[0294] and [0320]-[0323] and [0357]),
wherein, in the non-display area (FIGS. 3, 12-14 NDA), an end of the fourth sensing insulating layer is positioned on an upper surface of the second sensing insulating layer (FIGS. 3 and 9 with fourth insulating layer 940 described as having the same configuration as touch protection layer 353 and the second insulating layer 920 either corresponds with touch buffer layer 351 and another layer not included in touch sensor layer 210 of FIG. 3 at [0272]-[0278]; as illustrated in FIG. 3, 353 corresponding with 940 ends in the NDA at a position inward from the end of 351 corresponding with 920 of FIG. 9 and similarly FIGS. 12-14, see FIG. 3 annotated below, 353/940 positioned on an upper surface of 351/920).
However, Gwon does not explicitly disclose a cover window positioned on the display device.
In the same field of endeavor, Kwon discloses a touch display device (100) with a cover window positioned on the display device (FIG. 1B cover layer 114 at [0061]-[0066] and [0072]-[0076]).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the touch display device with insulation structure of Gwon to incorporate the cover glass / layer as disclosed by Kwon because the references are within the same field of endeavor, namely, touch input display devices with insulation layers and a bendable area. The motivation to combine these references would have been to improve protection of the display device (see Kwon at least at [0061]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 20, Gwon in view of Kwon discloses the electronic device of claim 19 (see above), further comprising: a protective layer positioned on a rear surface of the substrate (at FIG. 1B, Kwon discloses a substrate base layer with a support layer 108 at [0051] for added rigidity, a protective component where needed).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art does not disclose the following combination of limitations of claim 13:
a light blocking layer positioned in the non-display area,
wherein a minimum distance from the light blocking layer to the second sensing insulating layer is greater than a minimum distance from the light blocking layer to the fourth sensing insulating layer,
wherein the light blocking layer is an area where at least two of a first color filter, a second color filter, and a third color filter having different colors overlap.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shin, US 2025/0098490 A1: Abstract and FIGS. 5-7 with touch insulation layers extending into the non-display area;
Hong et al., US 2025/0366354 A1: Abstract and FIGS. 6-8 with insulation and protective layers in the bending region;
/SARVESH J NADKARNI/Examiner, Art Unit 2629